DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 3 recites “when the first MCU or the second MCU malfunctions, the MCU that does not malfunction is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the first EPB motor driver or the second EPB motor driver”. Based on the language of the claim, there is an instance where the first MCU could fail, but the first EPB motor driver still be used. There is also an instance where the second MCU could fail, but the second EPB motor driver still be used. However, this does not appear to be shown in the description. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 4, 6, 9, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “some braking performance” in claims 4, 6, 9, 16, and 19 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “some braking performance” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al US 2022/0289162.
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses an electronic brake system control device, the device comprising: a first brake controller 10 comprising a motor position sensor (see paragraph [0071]), a first motor driver 122 configured to drive a hydraulic brake, a valve driver, a first electronic parking brake (EPB) motor driver 118 configured to drive an EPB, and a first main control unit (MCU) 102; and a second brake controller 20 comprising a second motor driver 200 configured to drive the hydraulic brake, a second EPB motor driver 210 configured to drive the EPB, and a second MCU 204, wherein the first MCU is configured to control the first motor driver to drive the hydraulic brake, and the second MCU is configured to control the second motor driver to drive the hydraulic brake. See paragraphs [0019] and [0057]-[0078].
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al discloses wherein the EPB comprises a first EPB and a second EPB, the first MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the first EPB motor driver, and the second MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the second EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0048], [0049], [0061], and [0062].
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU or the second MCU malfunctions, the MCU that does not malfunction is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the first EPB motor driver or the second EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU malfunctions, the second MCU is configured to drive the first motor driver or the second motor driver to maintain some braking performance of the hydraulic brake. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU malfunctions, the second MCU is configured to perform a brake boosting system (BBS) function. See paragraphs [0004] and [0026].
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to drive the first motor driver or the second motor driver to maintain some braking performance of the hydraulic brake. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al discloses wherein the EPB comprises a first EPB and a second EPB, the second MCU is configured to drive both the first EPB and the second EPB through the second EPB motor driver, and the first MCU is configured to drive the first EPB motor through the first EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0048], [0049], [0061], and [0062].
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to drive the first EPB through the first EPB motor driver to maintain some braking performance of the EPB. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lee et al discloses wherein the first brake controller and the second brake controller are included in one package 50. See FIG. 2.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al discloses an electronic brake system control device, the device comprising: a first brake controller 10 comprising a motor position sensor (see paragraph [0071]), a first motor driver 122 configured to drive a hydraulic brake, a valve driver, a first EPB motor driver 118 configured to drive an EPB, and a first main control unit (MCU) 102; and a second brake controller 20 comprising a second EPB motor driver 200 configured to drive the EPB, and a second MCU 204, wherein the first MCU is configured to control the first motor driver to drive the hydraulic brake. See paragraphs [0019] and [0057]-[0078].
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al discloses wherein the EPB comprises a first EPB and a second EPB, the first MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the first EPB motor driver, and the second MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the second EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0048], [0049], [0061], and [0062].
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU or the second MCU malfunctions, the MCU that does not malfunction is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the first EPB motor driver or the second EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU malfunctions, the second MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the second EPB motor driver to maintain braking performance. See paragraphs [0004] and [0026].
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the first MCU malfunctions, the second MCU is configured to perform a brake boosting system (BBS) function. See paragraphs [0004] and [0026].
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to drive the first motor driver to maintain some braking performance of the hydraulic brake. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al discloses wherein the EPB comprises a first EPB and a second EPB, the second MCU is configured to drive the first EPB and the second EPB through the second EPB motor driver, and the second MCU is configured to drive the first EPB through the first EPB motor driver. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to drive the first EPB through the first EPB motor driver to maintain some braking performance of the EPB. See paragraphs [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, as applied above, in view of Liu CN 114056308 (English translation provided).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lee et al discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to perform functions of the BBS, an antilock braking system (ABS), an electronic stability control (ESC). See paragraphs [0004], [0026], [0053], [0060], and [0069]-[0073].
Lee et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Liu discloses wherein, when the second MCU malfunctions, the first MCU is configured to perform an electronic brake-force distribution (EBD). See page 2 of 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the EBD as disclosed by Liu in the system of Lee et al for safety purposes.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747