Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024, 07/28/2025, 09/04/2025, 11/24/2025, and 06/23/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on September 10th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 10.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are not of sufficient quality. Specifically, the reference numbers and figure numbers are difficult to read; the reference numbers are completely unreadable in numerous instances throughout all of the drawings. For example in Fig. 3, it is unclear whether the number towards the bottom is a 25 or a 29. There are several other similar instances where the reference number is also unreadable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following claimed features are not shown clearly in the drawings: the positioning unit, the connection device, the positioning device, the accommodating device, the pivoting mechanism, and the drive unit. While they each have a reference number and an arrow, the arrow for each of these features are just pointing at a general, vague location instead of a particular structural element, making several of these features indistinguishable from each other. It is unclear if these features include any of the same structural features as each other or if they are completely distinct from each other. The specification does not provide further clarity as to the distinction between each of these elements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“positioning unit for positioning an optical unit” in claims 1, 9-10, and 14
“the control unit being realized to detect a pivoting of the optical unit out of or into the beam path and transmit it to the microscope” in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the control unit” in line 2 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It is unclear if the control unit is referring to the control device introduces earlier or if it is a new/different device. For the purposes of examination, examiner assumes “the control device
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yamada discloses an observation device (10) having a positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007; Fig. 3; ¶0020, ¶0022) for positioning an optical unit (12) (601-603; Fig. 2; ¶0022) in a beam path (13) of a microscope (12; Fig. 3; ¶0047) between an objective (13; Fig. 3; ¶0047) of the microscope (12) and before an eye to be observed (11; Fig. 3; ¶0047), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprising a connection device (14) (piece attached to 1007 and 14; Fig. 3), a positioning device (15) (4, 5, 1001-1007; Fig. 3; ¶0020), an accommodating device (16) (4, 5; Fig. 3; ¶0022) and the optical unit (601-603), the optical unit (601-603) comprising a lens (601; Fig. 3; ¶0017), which serves to observe a fundus of the eye (Fig. 3; ¶0038), and a further optical element (602; Fig. 3; ¶0017), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprising a pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005; Fig. 3; ¶0019) by means of which the optical unit (601-603) is pivotable out of or into the beam path (Fig. 3; ¶0019), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) being couplable to the microscope (12) by means of the connection device (Fig. 3), the lens (601) being adapted on the positioning device (4, 5, 1001-1007) by means of the accommodating device (4, 5) (Fig. 3), wherein the further optical element (602) is disposed below the pivoting mechanism (1003-1005) (Fig. 3), the further optical element (602) being movable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path relative to the microscope (12) by means of the positioning device (4, 5, 1001-1007) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).1
Regarding claim 2, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the positioning device (15) (4, 5, 1001-1007) has a lens barrel (24) (piece that is holding 601 in Fig. 3) which is disposed on the pivoting mechanism (1003-1005) in a pivotable manner (Fig. 3; ¶0019; examiner notes that in the instant application drawings, there does not appear to be a lens barrel disposed directly on the pivoting mechanism, therefore this limitation is met by Yamada which shows a lens barrel functionally connected to the pivoting mechanism in a pivotable manner).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the lens (601) is an ophthalmoscopy lens (17) (¶0017), the further optical element (602) being at least one lens (18) (602) having positive refractive power (¶0017) and serving to adjust the beam path (13) (Fig. 3; ¶0017), the lens (601) in the lens barrel (24) (Fig. 3) being disposed movably in the longitudinal direction of the beam path below the pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the positioning device (15) (4, 5, 1001-1007) has a drive unit (51) (1007; Fig. 3; ¶0019) by means of which a position of the further optical element (602) is settable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path (13) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 4, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the drive unit (51) (1007) is disposed on the connection device (14) (piece attached to 1007 and 14) above the pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005) (Fig. 3) or below the pivoting mechanism on the lens barrel (24).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the accommodating device (16) (4, 5) is realized having a further lens barrel (27) (piece that is holding 602 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses a shielding unit (the lens barrels which hold 601 and 602; Fig. 3) for shielding an optical path of the positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007) (Fig. 3), the shielding unit being composed of at least one optically shielded or closed lens barrel (24, 27) (the pieces which hold 601 and 602 are closed around the side of the lenses and it is implicit from Fig. 3 that they would shield light from entering the optical path through the side).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada discloses a microscope (12; Fig. 3; ¶0047) having an observation device (10) according to claim 11 (Fig. 3; ¶0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20140107831 A), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 6, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 4, as set forth above. Yamada is silent as to the drive unit, specifically Yamada does not disclose the drive unit (51) comprises a step motor (52) coupled to a coupling (54) of the drive unit to the lens barrel (24) via a belt drive (53) or a transmission.
However, Lee teaches an observation device comprising a lens (320; Figs. 5, 7; ¶0017) for observing a fundus of an eye (¶0001), a lens barrel (90; Fig. 7; ¶0017), and a drive unit for positioning the lens (320) (Figs. 5, 7; ¶0017), wherein the drive unit comprises a step motor (98; Fig. 7; ¶0017) coupled to a coupling of the drive unit to the lens barrel (90) (there necessarily must be a coupling between the drive unit and the lens barrel; Fig. 7) via a belt drive or a transmission (¶0017).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the step motor and belt drive or transmission as taught by Lee for the purpose of moving the lens (¶0017 of Lee).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the observation device according to claim 6, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Lee explicitly disclose the coupling (54) is separable or connectable by means of the pivoting mechanism (19).
However, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Additionally, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would be motivated to position the coupling with the pivoting mechanism and have the coupling be separable by means of the pivoting mechanism for the purpose of being easily able to remove the optical unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Lee to incorporate the coupling be separable by means of the pivoting mechanism for the purpose of being easily able to remove the optical unit.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Lee (KR 20140107831 A) and further in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the observation device according to claim 6, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the further optical element (602) being movable by means of a rotation of the lens barrel (24) (when 1001 rotates the optical unit the lens barrel would necessarily rotate, thereby moving the further optical element).
Neither Yamada nor Lee disclose the coupling (54) is a magnetic coupling (60) composed of two rings (44, 57) which are able to transfer a torque by means of magnets (63).
However, Tripathi teaches a similar observation device comprising an optical unit (16; Fig. 1; ¶0024) in a beam path (13) of a microscope (18; Fig. 1; ¶0023) between an objective (18L; Fig. 1) of the microscope (82) and before an eye to be observed (¶0023); the optical unit (16) comprising a lens (26; Fig. 1; ¶0024), which serves to observe a fundus of the eye (¶0023) and further comprising a lens barrel (25; Fig. 1; ¶0030) with a coupling (Fig. 1; ¶0024) to another element (Fig. 1; ¶0024), wherein the coupling is a magnetic coupling (¶0024) composed of two rings (24, 34; Figs. 1, 3; ¶0024, ¶0030) which are able to transfer a torque by means of magnets (necessarily follows that they would be able to do this given the same structure and function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Lee to incorporate the magnetic coupling composed of two rings which are able to transfer a torque by means of magnets as taught by Tripathi for the purpose of securely and temporarily connecting the lens barrel to the drive unit (¶0030 of Tripathi).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Zumkehr et al. (US 20220225870 A1), hereinafter Zumkehr).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprises a control device (64) (implicit that there is a control device to control the drive motor 1001; ¶0018). Yamada does not disclose the control unit being realized to detect a pivoting of the optical unit (12) out of or into the beam path (13) and to transmit it to the microscope.
However, Zumkehr discloses a similar observation device comprising a microscope (¶0001) for observing an eye (¶0008), an optical unit (4; Fig. 1; ¶0044), and a positioning unit comprising a pivoting mechanism (30; Fig. 3; ¶0049), and further comprising a control unit (46a, 46b, 50; Fig. 3; ¶0066, ¶0080), wherein the control unit (46a, 46b) is realized to detect a pivoting of the optical unit (4) (Fig. 3; ¶0067-¶0069, ¶0082) and transmit it (¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate control unit being realized to detect a pivoting of the optical unit out of or into the beam path and to transmit it to the microscope as taught by Zumkehr for the purpose of determining the positions of the components (¶0082 of Zumkehr).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Ma et al. (US 20180180865 A1), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 10, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprises a control device (64) (implicit from ¶0019 that there must be something to control 1007 to drive 1006), the drive unit (51) (1007) being controllable by means of the control device in such a manner that the further optical element (602) is movable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path (13) to a presupposed position by means of the drive unit (1007) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Yamada does not disclose a rotation of the lens barrel (24) being detectable by means of a sensor of the control device.
However, Ma teaches an observation device for a microscope (¶0003) comprising a sensor (¶0052) for detecting the rotation of a device (¶0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the sensor as taught by Ma for the purpose of detecting the rotation position (¶0052 of Ma).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada discloses the observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Yamada does not disclose the further lens barrel (27) is composed of an upper section (28) and of a lower section (29), the lower section being mounted loosely or in a spring-loaded manner on the upper section in such a manner that the lower section is insertable into the upper section.
However, Tripathi teaches a similar observation device comprising an optical unit (16; Fig. 1; ¶0024) in a beam path (13) of a microscope (18; Fig. 1; ¶0023) between an objective (18L; Fig. 1) of the microscope (82) and before an eye to be observed (¶0023); the optical unit (16) comprising a lens (26; Fig. 1; ¶0024), which serves to observe a fundus of the eye (¶0023) and further comprising a further lens barrel (25; Fig. 1; ¶0030) composed of an upper section (28B; Fig. 3; ¶0033) and of a lower section (28A; Fig. 3; ¶0033), the lower section (28A) being mounted loosely on the upper section (28B) in such a manner that the lower section (28A) is insertable into the upper section (28B) (Fig. 3; ¶0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the further lens barrel composed of an upper section and a lower section, the lower section being mounted loosely on the upper section as taught by Tripathi for the purpose of collapsing away from the patient’s eye in response to contact therewithin (¶0033 of Tripathi).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1) and further in view of Ito (US 20220291477 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada in view of Tripathi discloses the observation device according to claim 12, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi discloses at least one manually actuable projection (49) is realized on the lower section (29), the projection passing through a longitudinal slot (34), which is realized in the upper section (28), and being movable along the longitudinal slot.
However, Ito teaches an observation device comprising a lens barrel (100; Figs. 4-5; ¶0052) with an upper section (11; Figs. 4-5; ¶0050) and a lower section (23; Figs. 4-5; ¶0050), the lower section (23) being insertable into the upper section (11), and further comprising at least one manually actuable projection (23a; Figs. 4-5; ¶0051) realized on the lower section (23; Figs. 4-5; ¶0051), the projection (23a) passing through a longitudinal slot (11e; Figs. 4-5; ¶0060), which is realized in the upper section (11), and being movable along the longitudinal slot (11e) (Figs. 4-5; ¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi to incorporate the projection and longitudinal slot as taught by Ito for the purpose of moving the lens along the optical axis in the lens barrel.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/983,292 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are coextensive such that there exist devices which could simultaneously be claimed under both the scope of the claims can be used to claim property rights to the same devices. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding 18/983,292 – this is in the same family as the instant application, i.e. they have a substantially similar specification and all the same drawings. Regarding the differences between them, ‘292 and the instant application both are claiming different aspects of the same invention – for example, ‘292 has further limitations regarding the accommodating device being made of plastic material, the lens barrel being made of metal, and a cover unit; likewise instant application has further limitations of a step motor. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in Figs. 1-10 of both instant application and ‘292) that reads on both instant application claims 1-15 and claims 1-16 of ‘292. Thus, the device in the substantially similar specification could be covered by either of these claim sets, so as to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees either the claims need to mutually exclude each other or a terminal disclaimer may be filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mann (US 20100265460 A1) and Sander (US 20040156017 A1) disclose similar ophthalmic microscopes with at least a lens, a further optical element, and a positioning unit.
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 October 9th, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 As noted in the drawing objection above, the instant application drawings show vague, overlapping regions for at least the following: the positioning unit, the positioning device, the optical unit, the accommodating device, the positioning device, and the pivoting mechanism. It appears that in several instances each of these are not completely distinct structures but rather than each of these may comprise several of the same structures as each other. Therefore, and in combination with the 112(f) interpretation above, it is interpreted that each of these can be mapped using several of the same elements as each other.