DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1, 9-11, 14-16, 19-20 in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 14-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0230382 by Wang et al. in view of US 8784199 by Henrick et al.
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a video processing method, the method comprising:
obtaining, by an electronic device, color information and transparency information of each pixel in a video frame of a video (paragraph 0045-0048 teaches “Specifically, an encoding apparatus obtains the RGBA data corresponding to the first image in the picture file, and separates the RGBA data, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image. Data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data. The RGBA data is a color space representing red, green, blue, and transparency information (Alpha). The RGBA data corresponding to the first image is separated into the RGB data and the transparency data. The RGB data is color data included in the RGBA data, and the transparency data is transparency data included in the RGBA data. For example, if the data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data, because the first image is formed by many pixels, and each pixel corresponds to one piece of RGBA data, the first image formed by N pixels includes N pieces of RGBA data”);
generating a color picture corresponding to the video frame based on the color information, and generating a transparency picture corresponding to the video frame based on the transparency information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0048 teaches “Therefore, in some embodiments, the encoding apparatus may separate the RGBA data of the first image, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image, for example, separate the first image formed by the foregoing N pixels, and then obtain RGB data and transparency data of each pixel of the N pixels,”);
obtaining at least one spliced picture based on splicing processing of the color picture and the transparency picture according to preset configuration information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0080 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus encapsulates the first stream data generated from the RGB data of the first image, and the second stream data generated from the transparency data of the first image to the stream data segment of the picture file. The first stream data and the second stream data are complete stream data corresponding to the first image, that is, the RGBA data of the first image may be obtained by decoding the first stream data and the second stream data.”);
performing video conversion processing on the at least one spliced picture, to obtain a transparency spliced video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0082 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus judges whether the first image corresponding to the k.sup.th frame is the last frame in the picture file of the dynamic format, and if the first image is the last frame, it indicates that encoding on the picture file of the dynamic format has been completed, and then step 207 is performed; or if the first image is not the last frame, it indicates that the picture file of the dynamic format still has an image that has not been encoded, and then step 206 is performed.”);
performing special effect video rendering based on the preset configuration information and the transparency spliced video, to obtain a transparency special effect video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0129 teaches “In some embodiments, the picture header information may further include a user customized information data segment, and the user customized information data segment includes a user customized information start code, a length of the user customized information, and user customized information; and the user customized information includes Exchangeable Image File (EXIF) information, for example, an aperture, a shutter, white balance, International Organization for Standardization (ISO), a focal length, a date, a time, and the like during photographing, a photographing condition, a camera brand, a model, color encoding, sound recorded during photographing, global positioning system data, a thumbnail, and the like, and the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user. This is not limited in this embodiment.”, paragraph 0237); and
applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0137 teaches “Image feature information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the image feature information data segment of the picture file, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte, and a field DO is used.”, paragraph 0149 teaches “User customized information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the user customized information, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte. For example, a bit string ‘0x000001BC’ identifies beginning of the user customized information.”, paragraph 0152 teaches “It should be noted that, the foregoing is only exemplary description, and in this embodiment, a name of each piece of information included in the picture header information, a location of each piece of information in the picture header information, and a quantity of bits occupied by each piece of information are not limited.”, paragraph 0129 teaches “the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user.”, paragraph 0151 teaches “User customized information: it is used to encapsulate data that a user may introduce, for example, information such as EXIF, and a quantity of occupied bytes may be determined according to a length of the user customized information.”).
Wang et al. fails to disclose applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation.
Henrick et al. discloses applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation (col. 1 lines 62-col. 2 lines 6 teaches “Whichever embodiment is used, a game map may specify locations that may be navigated during gameplay. For example, a user may navigate different locations of the game, where each location may be represented by a map tile that together with other map tiles form the game map.”, col. 10 lines 37-41 teaches “In an operation 210, the image file may be communicated. For example, the image file may be communicated to convey (via the encoded map/tile information) at least a portion of the game map to a gameplay device on which a user may play the game.”, col. 4 lines 33-65 teaches “In some embodiments, the tile information may include a position indicator that indicates a position on game map 180 at which the map tile should be placed. For example, the position indicator may include a unique map tile number, a grid space indicator, and/or other information that can be used to position a map tile on game map 180.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ability to include applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation, as taught by Henrick et al. into the system of Wang et al., because such incorporation would allow smooth playback of the program, thus increase user accessibility of the system.
Regarding claim 9, the method the method further comprises:
performing video decoding on the transparency spliced video, to obtain decoded format data of each spliced picture in the transparency spliced video (in addition to discussion above, Wang et al., paragraph 0080 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus encapsulates the first stream data generated from the RGB data of the first image, and the second stream data generated from the transparency data of the first image to the stream data segment of the picture file. The first stream data and the second stream data are complete stream data corresponding to the first image, that is, the RGBA data of the first image may be obtained by decoding the first stream data and the second stream data.”, paragraph 0132-0134; Henrick et al., col. 8 lines 50-col. 9 lines 12 teaches “Gameplay device 140 may include one or more processors configured to execute one or more modules such as an image decoding module 142, a map information module 144, a game map generation module 146, and/or other modules. Gameplay device 140 may receive image file 160 from game server 120 and/or an intermediate device, decode the image file, obtain the map information based on the decoded image file, generate game map 180 based on the map information, and generate an interface for gameplay using the game map …..Image decoding module 142 may be configured to decode the image file received from game server 120. The decoded image file may be further processed in order to obtain the numerical values encoded therein using various file specifications related to the image file format used by the image file. In some embodiments, image decoding module 142 may be configured to always decode image file 160 based on a preset image file format such as PNG..”);
performing data format conversion on the decoded format data, to obtain color format data of each spliced picture, the color format data includes a color data part and a transparency data part (as discussed above); and
performing special effect video rendering based on the preset configuration information and the color data part and the transparency data part of the spliced picture, to obtain the transparency special effect video (as discussed above).
The motivation for combining references has been discussed in independent claim above.
Regarding claim 10, the method the method further comprises:
determining, based on the preset configuration information, a mapping relationship between each color sub-data in the color data part and each transparency sub-data in the transparency data part (in addition to discussion above, Wang et al., fig. 3, paragraph 0128-0129 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus encapsulates the picture header information to the picture header information data segment of the picture file. The picture header information includes an image file identifier, a decoder identifier, a version number, and the image feature information; the image file identifier is used to indicate a type of the picture file, and the decoder identifier is used to indicate an identifier of an encoding/decoding standard used for the picture file; and the version number is used to indicate a profile of the encoding/decoding standard used for the picture file. In some embodiments, the picture header information may further include a user customized information data segment, and the user customized information data segment includes a user customized information start code, a length of the user customized information, and user customized information; and the user customized information includes Exchangeable Image File (EXIF) information, for example, an aperture, a shutter, white balance, International Organization for Standardization (ISO), a focal length, a date, a time, and the like during photographing, a photographing condition, a camera brand, a model, color encoding, sound recorded during photographing, global positioning system data, a thumbnail, and the like, and the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user. This is not limited in this embodiment.”; Henrick et al., col. 6 lines 57-67 teaches “Map information formatter module 128 may record the numerical values that represent tile information in a manner that maintains a pixel position-to-map tile position association, as illustrated in FIGS. 4-6. In some embodiments, for example, map information formatter module 128 may associate a single pixel at a first position of image file 160 with multiple map tiles on game map 180. In these embodiments, numerical values that ordinarily specify base colors and/or transparency may be used to respectively specify tile information for a plurality of map tiles.”, col. 7 lines 5-28);
determining the color sub-data and the transparency sub-data that have the mapping relationship of a same pixel (as discussed above);
determining position information of the color sub-data of each pixel in the color picture as position information of the pixel (as discussed above); and
performing special effect video rendering of each pixel based on the position information, to obtain the transparency special effect video (as discussed above).
The motivation for combining references has been discussed in independent claim above.
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses a video processing apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: obtain color information of each pixel and transparency information of each pixel in a video frame of a video (paragraph 0045-0048 teaches “Specifically, an encoding apparatus obtains the RGBA data corresponding to the first image in the picture file, and separates the RGBA data, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image. Data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data. The RGBA data is a color space representing red, green, blue, and transparency information (Alpha). The RGBA data corresponding to the first image is separated into the RGB data and the transparency data. The RGB data is color data included in the RGBA data, and the transparency data is transparency data included in the RGBA data. For example, if the data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data, because the first image is formed by many pixels, and each pixel corresponds to one piece of RGBA data, the first image formed by N pixels includes N pieces of RGBA data”);
generate a color picture corresponding to the video frame based on the color information, and generate a transparency picture corresponding to the video frame based on the transparency information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0048 teaches “Therefore, in some embodiments, the encoding apparatus may separate the RGBA data of the first image, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image, for example, separate the first image formed by the foregoing N pixels, and then obtain RGB data and transparency data of each pixel of the N pixels,”);
obtain at least one spliced picture based on splicing processing of the color picture and the transparency picture according to preset configuration information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0080 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus encapsulates the first stream data generated from the RGB data of the first image, and the second stream data generated from the transparency data of the first image to the stream data segment of the picture file. The first stream data and the second stream data are complete stream data corresponding to the first image, that is, the RGBA data of the first image may be obtained by decoding the first stream data and the second stream data.”);
perform video conversion processing on the at least one spliced picture, to obtain a transparency spliced video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0082 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus judges whether the first image corresponding to the k.sup.th frame is the last frame in the picture file of the dynamic format, and if the first image is the last frame, it indicates that encoding on the picture file of the dynamic format has been completed, and then step 207 is performed; or if the first image is not the last frame, it indicates that the picture file of the dynamic format still has an image that has not been encoded, and then step 206 is performed.”);
perform special effect video rendering based on the preset configuration information and the transparency spliced video, to obtain a transparency special effect video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0129 teaches “In some embodiments, the picture header information may further include a user customized information data segment, and the user customized information data segment includes a user customized information start code, a length of the user customized information, and user customized information; and the user customized information includes Exchangeable Image File (EXIF) information, for example, an aperture, a shutter, white balance, International Organization for Standardization (ISO), a focal length, a date, a time, and the like during photographing, a photographing condition, a camera brand, a model, color encoding, sound recorded during photographing, global positioning system data, a thumbnail, and the like, and the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user. This is not limited in this embodiment.”, paragraph 0237); and
apply the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0137 teaches “Image feature information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the image feature information data segment of the picture file, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte, and a field DO is used.”, paragraph 0149 teaches “User customized information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the user customized information, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte. For example, a bit string ‘0x000001BC’ identifies beginning of the user customized information.”, paragraph 0152 teaches “It should be noted that, the foregoing is only exemplary description, and in this embodiment, a name of each piece of information included in the picture header information, a location of each piece of information in the picture header information, and a quantity of bits occupied by each piece of information are not limited.”, paragraph 0129 teaches “the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user.”, paragraph 0151 teaches “User customized information: it is used to encapsulate data that a user may introduce, for example, information such as EXIF, and a quantity of occupied bytes may be determined according to a length of the user customized information.”).
Wang et al. fails to disclose apply the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation.
Henrick et al. discloses apply the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation (col. 1 lines 62-col. 2 lines 6 teaches “Whichever embodiment is used, a game map may specify locations that may be navigated during gameplay. For example, a user may navigate different locations of the game, where each location may be represented by a map tile that together with other map tiles form the game map.”, col. 10 lines 37-41 teaches “In an operation 210, the image file may be communicated. For example, the image file may be communicated to convey (via the encoded map/tile information) at least a portion of the game map to a gameplay device on which a user may play the game.”, col. 4 lines 33-65 teaches “In some embodiments, the tile information may include a position indicator that indicates a position on game map 180 at which the map tile should be placed. For example, the position indicator may include a unique map tile number, a grid space indicator, and/or other information that can be used to position a map tile on game map 180.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ability to include apply the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation, as taught by Henrick et al. into the system of Wang et al., because such incorporation would allow smooth playback of the program, thus increase user accessibility of the system.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 9 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform:
obtaining, by an electronic device, color information and transparency information of each pixel in a video frame of a video (paragraph 0045-0048 teaches “Specifically, an encoding apparatus obtains the RGBA data corresponding to the first image in the picture file, and separates the RGBA data, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image. Data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data. The RGBA data is a color space representing red, green, blue, and transparency information (Alpha). The RGBA data corresponding to the first image is separated into the RGB data and the transparency data. The RGB data is color data included in the RGBA data, and the transparency data is transparency data included in the RGBA data. For example, if the data corresponding to the first image is the RGBA data, because the first image is formed by many pixels, and each pixel corresponds to one piece of RGBA data, the first image formed by N pixels includes N pieces of RGBA data”);
generating a color picture corresponding to the video frame based on the color information, and generating a transparency picture corresponding to the video frame based on the transparency information (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0048 teaches “Therefore, in some embodiments, the encoding apparatus may separate the RGBA data of the first image, so as to obtain the RGB data and the transparency data of the first image, for example, separate the first image formed by the foregoing N pixels, and then obtain RGB data and transparency data of each pixel of the N pixels,”);
obtaining at least one spliced picture based on splicing processing of the color picture and the transparency picture according to preset configuration information; performing video conversion processing on the at least one spliced picture, to obtain a transparency spliced video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0080 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus encapsulates the first stream data generated from the RGB data of the first image, and the second stream data generated from the transparency data of the first image to the stream data segment of the picture file. The first stream data and the second stream data are complete stream data corresponding to the first image, that is, the RGBA data of the first image may be obtained by decoding the first stream data and the second stream data.”);
performing special effect video rendering based on the preset configuration information and the transparency spliced video, to obtain a transparency special effect video (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0082 teaches “Specifically, the encoding apparatus judges whether the first image corresponding to the k.sup.th frame is the last frame in the picture file of the dynamic format, and if the first image is the last frame, it indicates that encoding on the picture file of the dynamic format has been completed, and then step 207 is performed; or if the first image is not the last frame, it indicates that the picture file of the dynamic format still has an image that has not been encoded, and then step 206 is performed.”, paragraph 0129 teaches “In some embodiments, the picture header information may further include a user customized information data segment, and the user customized information data segment includes a user customized information start code, a length of the user customized information, and user customized information; and the user customized information includes Exchangeable Image File (EXIF) information, for example, an aperture, a shutter, white balance, International Organization for Standardization (ISO), a focal length, a date, a time, and the like during photographing, a photographing condition, a camera brand, a model, color encoding, sound recorded during photographing, global positioning system data, a thumbnail, and the like, and the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user. This is not limited in this embodiment.”, paragraph 0237); and
applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application (in addition to discussion above, paragraph 0137 teaches “Image feature information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the image feature information data segment of the picture file, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte, and a field DO is used.”, paragraph 0149 teaches “User customized information start code: it is a field used to indicate a start location of the user customized information, and is, for example, indicated by using one byte. For example, a bit string ‘0x000001BC’ identifies beginning of the user customized information.”, paragraph 0152 teaches “It should be noted that, the foregoing is only exemplary description, and in this embodiment, a name of each piece of information included in the picture header information, a location of each piece of information in the picture header information, and a quantity of bits occupied by each piece of information are not limited.”, paragraph 0129 teaches “the user customized information includes information that may be customized and set by a user.”, paragraph 0151 teaches “User customized information: it is used to encapsulate data that a user may introduce, for example, information such as EXIF, and a quantity of occupied bytes may be determined according to a length of the user customized information.”).
Wang et al. fails to disclose applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation.
Henrick et al. discloses applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation (col. 1 lines 62-col. 2 lines 6 teaches “Whichever embodiment is used, a game map may specify locations that may be navigated during gameplay. For example, a user may navigate different locations of the game, where each location may be represented by a map tile that together with other map tiles form the game map.”, col. 10 lines 37-41 teaches “In an operation 210, the image file may be communicated. For example, the image file may be communicated to convey (via the encoded map/tile information) at least a portion of the game map to a gameplay device on which a user may play the game.”, col. 4 lines 33-65 teaches “In some embodiments, the tile information may include a position indicator that indicates a position on game map 180 at which the map tile should be placed. For example, the position indicator may include a unique map tile number, a grid space indicator, and/or other information that can be used to position a map tile on game map 180.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ability to include applying the transparency special effect video to a specific position of an application in response to a special effect triggering operation, as taught by Henrick et al. into the system of Wang et al., because such incorporation would allow smooth playback of the program, thus increase user accessibility of the system.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 9 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in the corresponding claim 10 above.
Conclusion
/NIGAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484