Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024, 07/18/2025, 08/13/2025, 09/04/2025, and 06/23/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 17 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 11.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on September 11 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the requirement does not establish distinctness under MPEP § 806.05(h) and the requirement does not establish a serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that the requirement does not establish distinctness under MPEP § 806.05(h). Specifically, applicant argues that the recited elements required by Group I that were not required by Group II were introduced dependent claims and not in independent claim 1, that the only product with which the method of claim 17 can be practiced is the product of claim 1, and that the method is nothing other than the use of the claimed device – therefore distinctness is not established. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The dependent claims include all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend. They are a part of the invention and are what make the invention distinct from other inventions. By having the dependent claim limitations of Group include elements such as a cover unit, a drive unit, the further optical element having at least one positive lens, and the lens barrel having an upper and lower section mounted together, applicant has constructively set the observation device of Group I to include these features. These features are not included in the method of observing an eye of Group II. Therefore, the method of observing an eye can be performed by a materially different product, such as one with a negative lens, or one without a cover unit. Further, as another example, the observation device can be used in a different process such as inspecting a microelectronic circuit or semiconductor wafer, etc. Although claim 17 is the method of using the product of claim 1, this does not apply to the full product of Group I encompassed in claims 1-16, therefore Group I and Group II are distinct.
Applicant argues that the requirement does not establish a serious search of examination burden. Specifically, applicant argues that “a generalized recitation of the burden standard does not establish the serious burden that restriction requires.” However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification: As stated before, Group I is classified in G02B 7/023, G02B 7/026, and G02B 7/005 and Group II is classified in G02B 7/023. Examiner further notes Group I is additionally classified in A61B 2090/037, A61B 2090/0813, and A61B 2090/0814, which Group II is not classified in. A search for Group I would include a search in A61B 2090/037, A61B 2090/0813, and A61B 2090/0814. A search for Group II would not include a search in these subclasses. The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter: Group I includes subject matter of a cover unit, a drive unit, a further optical element being at least one positive lens, the further optical element being movable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path relative to the microscope, a tear strip, a further lens barrel having a lower section which is loosely mounted in an upper section, etc. Group II does not include any of this subject matter. A search for Group I would require a search of search terms relating to a cover unit, a drive unit, a further optical element being at least one positive lens, the further optical element being movable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path relative to the microscope, a tear strip, a further lens barrel having a lower section which is loosely mounted in an upper section, etc. A search for Group II would not. The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries): see above.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are not of sufficient quality. Specifically, the reference numbers and figure numbers are difficult to read; the reference numbers are completely unreadable in numerous instances throughout all of the drawings. For example in Fig. 3, it is unclear whether the number towards the bottom is a 25 or a 29. There are several other similar instances where the reference number is also unreadable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following claimed features are not shown clearly in the drawings: the positioning unit, the connection device, the positioning device, the accommodating device, the pivoting mechanism, and the drive unit. While they each have a reference number and an arrow, the arrow for each of these features are just pointing at a general, vague location instead of a particular structural element, making several of these features indistinguishable from each other. It is unclear if these features include any of the same structural features as each other or if they are completely distinct from each other. The specification does not provide further clarity as to the distinction between each of these elements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“positioning unit for positioning an optical unit” in claim 1
“at least one connecting element which requires a destruction of the connecting element when separating the cover unit from the positioning device” in claim 7
“at least one connecting element which requires a destruction of the connecting element when separating the accommodating device from the positioning device” in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the limitation “the accommodating device being at least predominantly, preferably completely, made of plastic material” raises clarity issues. It is unclear how this limitation should be interpreted and it is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of the above claim limitations are and would be needed to meet the above claim limitations.
The word “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or not. The broader limitation followed by the narrower “preferred” limitation makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear since it is unclear whether the broader limitation is within the claimed scope or if the “preferred” limitation is required, see MPEP 2173.05(d).
For the purposes of examination, examiner assumes the limitations following the word “preferably” are optional and therefore assumes “the accommodating device being at least predominantly
Claims 2-16 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore inherit the same issues.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the pivotable lens barrel” raises clarity issues. It is unclear if the pivotable lens barrel is referring to the lens barrel introduced earlier or if it is a new/different device. For the purposes of examination, examiner assumes “the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yamada discloses an observation device (10) having a positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007; Fig. 3; ¶0020, ¶0022) for positioning an optical unit (12) (601-603; Fig. 2; ¶0022) in a beam path (13) of a microscope (12; Fig. 3; ¶0047) between an objective (13; Fig. 3; ¶0047) of the microscope (12) and before an eye to be observed (11; Fig. 3; ¶0047; examiner notes this is directed towards intended use), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprising a connection device (14) (piece attached to 1007 and 14; Fig. 3), a positioning device (15) (4, 5, 1001-1007; Fig. 3; ¶0020), an accommodating device (16) (4, 5; Fig. 3; ¶0022) and the optical unit (601-603), the optical unit (601-603) comprising a lens (601; Fig. 3; ¶0017), which serves to observe a fundus of the eye (Fig. 3; ¶0038; examiner notes this is directed towards intended use), and a further optical element (602; Fig. 3; ¶0017), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) comprising a pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005; Fig. 3; ¶0019) by means of which the optical unit (601-603) is pivotable out of or into the beam path (Fig. 3; ¶0019), the positioning unit (4, 5, 1001-1007) being couplable to the microscope (12) by means of the connection device (Fig. 3), the lens (601) being adapted on the positioning device (4, 5, 1001-1007) by means of the accommodating device (4, 5) (Fig. 3), the positioning device (4, 5, 1001-1007) has a lens barrel (24) (piece that is holding 601 in Fig. 3) which is disposed on the pivoting mechanism (1003-1005) in a pivotable manner (Fig. 3; ¶0019; examiner notes that in the instant application drawings, there does not appear to be a lens barrel disposed directly on the pivoting mechanism, therefore this limitation is met by Yamada which shows a lens barrel functionally connected to the pivoting mechanism in a pivotable manner). 1
Yamada is silent as to the materials of the accommodating device and the lens barrel; specifically, Yamada does not disclose the accommodating device being at least predominantly, preferably completely, made of plastic material, and the lens barrel being at least predominantly or completely made of metal.
However, Tripathi teaches a similar observation device (Fig. 4) comprising a microscope (18; Fig. 4; ¶0034), a lens (26; Fig. 4; ¶0032) to observe an eye (¶0003), an accommodating device (35; Fig. 4; ¶0035), and a lens barrel (32; Fig. 4; ¶0032), wherein the accommodating device (35) is made of plastic material (¶0035) and the lens barrel (32) is made of metal (¶0032). It has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair and Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have modified Yamada to incorporate the accommodating device being made of plastic and the lens barrel being made of metal as taught by Tripathi for the purpose of securely connecting the lens to the microscope (¶0032, ¶0035 of Tripathi).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada in view of Tripathi discloses the observation device according to claim 1. Yamada further discloses the further optical element (602) is disposed below the pivoting mechanism (1003-1005) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada in view of Tripathi discloses the observation device according to claim 1. Yamada further discloses the further optical element (602) is movable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path relative to the microscope (12) by means of the positioning device (4, 5, 1001-1007) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada in view of Tripathi discloses the observation device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the lens (601) is an ophthalmoscopy lens (17) (¶0017), the further optical element (602) being at least one lens (18) (602) having positive refractive power (¶0017) and serving to adjust the beam path (Fig. 3; ¶0017), the lens (601) in the lens barrel (24) (Fig. 3) being disposed movably in the longitudinal direction of the beam path below the pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Claim(s) 5-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1) and further in view of Annen et al., hereinafter Annen (US 20220378540 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada in view of Tripathi discloses the observation device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi explicitly disclose the observation device (10) comprises a cover unit (66) made of plastic material for sterilely covering the pivotable lens barrel (24) of the positioning device (15).
However, Annen teaches a similar observation device (Fig. 1A) comprising a microscope (Fig. 1A), a lens (201; Fig. 2A; ¶0028) for observing a fundus of an eye (¶0002), and a lens barrel (201; Fig. 2A; ¶0028), and further comprising a cover unit (202, 600; Figs. 2, 6; ¶0028, ¶0038) made of plastic material (¶0029) for sterilely covering the lens (201) (Fig. 2; ¶0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi to incorporate the cover unit made of plastic as taught by Annen to sterilely cover the lens barrel of Yamada in view of Tripathi for the purpose of providing a sterile cover that can only be used once (¶0004 of Annen).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses the observation device according to claim 5, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi disclose the cover unit (66) has an upper sterile cover (67) for at least partially covering an end surface (69) of the lens barrel (24) and a lower sterile cover (68) for at least partially covering a circumferential surface (70) of the lens barrel.
However, Annen further teaches the cover unit (202, 600) has an upper sterile cover (210; Fig. 2; ¶0028) for at least partially covering an end surface of the lens (201) (Fig. 2) and a lower sterile cover (212; Fig. 2; ¶0028) for at least partially covering a circumferential surface of the lens (201) (Fig. 2; ¶0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi to incorporate the cover unit made of plastic as taught by Annen to sterilely cover the lens barrel of Yamada in view of Tripathi for the purpose of providing a sterile cover that can only be used once (¶0004 of Annen).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses the observation device according to claim 5, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi disclose the cover unit (66) is realized with at least one connecting element (71, 79) which requires a destruction of the connecting element when separating the cover unit from the positioning device (15).
However, Annen further teaches the cover unit (202, 600) is realized with at least one connecting element (607; Fig. 6; ¶0039) which requires a destruction of the connecting element (607) when separating the cover unit (202, 600) from the device (Fig. 6; ¶0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi to incorporate the cover unit made of plastic as taught by Annen to sterilely cover the lens barrel of Yamada in view of Tripathi for the purpose of providing a sterile cover that can only be used once (¶0004 of Annen).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses the observation device according to claim 5, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi disclose the cover unit (66) has at least one tear strip (83) by means of which the cover unit is at least partially destroyable.
However, Annen further teaches the cover unit (202, 600) has at least one tear strip (607; Fig. 6; ¶0039) by means of which the cover unit (202, 600) is at least partially destroyable (¶0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi to incorporate the cover unit made of plastic as taught by Annen to sterilely cover the lens barrel of Yamada in view of Tripathi for the purpose of providing a sterile cover that can only be used once (¶0004 of Annen).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 5, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Tripathi disclose the accommodating device (16) is realized with at least one connecting element (39) which requires a destruction of the connecting element when separating the accommodating device from the positioning device (15).
However, Annen further teaches an accommodating device (212 - portion of cover unit 202 which holds the lens 201; Fig. 2) and at least one connecting element (607; Fig. 6; ¶0039) which requires a destruction of the connecting element (607) when separating the accommodating device (212) (Figs. 2, 6; ¶0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen to incorporate a connecting element which requires a destruction of the connecting element as taught by Annen to the accommodating device of Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen for the purpose of having the lens be disposable and replaceable (¶0004 of Annen).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 5, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the accommodating device (16) (4, 5) is realized having a further lens barrel (27) (piece that is holding 602 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 10, as set forth above. Neither Yamada nor Annen disclose the further lens barrel (27) is composed of an upper section (28) and of a lower section (29), the lower section being mounted loosely or in a spring-loaded manner on the upper section in such a manner that the lower section is insertable into the upper section.
However, Tripathi teaches a similar observation device comprising an optical unit (16; Fig. 1; ¶0024) in a beam path (13) of a microscope (18; Fig. 1; ¶0023) between an objective (18L; Fig. 1) of the microscope (82) and before an eye to be observed (¶0023); the optical unit (16) comprising a lens (26; Fig. 1; ¶0024), which serves to observe a fundus of the eye (¶0023) and further comprising a further lens barrel (25; Fig. 1; ¶0030) composed of an upper section (28B; Fig. 3; ¶0033) and of a lower section (28A; Fig. 3; ¶0033), the lower section (28A) being mounted loosely on the upper section (28B) in such a manner that the lower section (28A) is insertable into the upper section (28B) (Fig. 3; ¶0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen to incorporate the further lens barrel composed of an upper section and a lower section, the lower section being mounted loosely on the upper section as taught by Tripathi for the purpose of collapsing away from the patient’s eye in response to contact therewithin (¶0033 of Tripathi).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the positioning device (15) (4, 5, 1001-1007) has a drive unit (51) (1007; Fig. 3; ¶0019) by means of which a position of the further optical element (602) is settable in the longitudinal direction of the beam path (13) (Fig. 3; ¶0019).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 13, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the drive unit (51) (1007) is disposed on the connection device (14) (piece attached to 1007 and 14) above the pivoting mechanism (19) (1003-1005) (Fig. 3) or below the pivoting mechanism on the lens barrel (24).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses the observation device comprises a shielding unit (the lens barrels which hold 601 and 602; Fig. 3) for shielding an optical path of the positioning unit (11) (4, 5, 1001-1007) (Fig. 3), the shielding unit being composed of at least one optically shielded or closed lens barrel (24, 27) (the pieces which hold 601 and 602 are closed around the side of the lenses and it is implicit from Fig. 3 that they would shield light from entering the optical path through the side).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Yamada further discloses a microscope (12; Fig. 3; ¶0047) having an observation device (10) (Fig. 3; ¶0047).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019066027 A1) in view of Tripathi (US 20220175241 A1), further in view of Annen (US 20220378540 A1), and further in view of Ito (US 20220291477 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen discloses observation device according to claim 11, as set forth above. Neither Yamada, Tripathi, nor Annen disclose at least one manually actuable projection (33) is realized on the lower section (29), the projection passing through a longitudinal slot (34), which is realized in the upper section (28), and being movable along the longitudinal slot.
However, Ito teaches an observation device comprising a lens barrel (100; Figs. 4-5; ¶0052) with an upper section (11; Figs. 4-5; ¶0050) and a lower section (23; Figs. 4-5; ¶0050), the lower section (23) being insertable into the upper section (11), and further comprising at least one manually actuable projection (23a; Figs. 4-5; ¶0051) realized on the lower section (23; Figs. 4-5; ¶0051), the projection (23a) passing through a longitudinal slot (11e; Figs. 4-5; ¶0060), which is realized in the upper section (11), and being movable along the longitudinal slot (11e) (Figs. 4-5; ¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada in view of Tripathi and further in view of Annen to incorporate the projection and longitudinal slot as taught by Ito for the purpose of moving the lens along the optical axis in the lens barrel.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/983,256 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are coextensive such that there exist devices which could simultaneously be claimed under both the scope of the claims can be used to claim property rights to the same devices. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding 18/983,256 – this is in the same family as the instant application, i.e. they have a substantially similar specification and all the same drawings. Regarding the differences between them, ‘256 and the instant application both are claiming different aspects of the same invention – for example, the instant application has further limitations regarding the accommodating device being made of plastic material, the lens barrel being made of metal, and a cover unit; likewise ‘256 has further limitations of a step motor. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in Figs. 1-10 of both instant application and ‘256) that reads on both instant application claims 1-16 and claims 1-15 of ‘256. Thus, the device in the substantially similar specification could be covered by either of these claim sets, so as to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees either the claims need to mutually exclude each other or a terminal disclaimer may be filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ueda (US 20180296293 A1) and Hubbs et al. (US 20180116745 A1) disclose similar microscopes with lenses and sterile covers.
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 October 15th, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 As noted in the drawing objection above, the instant application drawings show vague, overlapping regions for at least the following: the positioning unit, the positioning device, the optical unit, the accommodating device, the positioning device, and the pivoting mechanism. It appears that in several instances each of these are not completely distinct structures but rather than each of these may comprise several of the same structures as each other. Therefore, and in combination with the 112(f) interpretation above, it is interpreted that each of these can be mapped using several of the same elements as each other.