DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) or indicate National Stage entry from a PCT application is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/16/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 7, 13 and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informality:
On line 4 of claim 1, the acronym word or phrase, "RNTI" should be presented for what it stands for.
On line 4 of claim 7, the acronym word or phrase, "RNTI" should be presented for what it stands for.
On line 7 of claim 13, the acronym word or phrase, "RNTI" should be presented for what it stands for.
On line 7 of claim 19, the acronym word or phrase, "RNTI" should be presented for what it stands for.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. US 20190239189 A1 (hereinafter Hwang) in view of Zhou et al. US 20210051759 A1 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a method for power saving signal transmission, comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, first indication signaling, wherein the first indication signaling is used for notifying a size of downlink control information (DCI) and (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125, par. 0130, “the information included in the WUS may be expressed using a physical channel, such as DCI.”, par. 0191, “a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO”; par. 0239, “when a WUS is transmitted in the form of DCI, the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS may be the number of bits representing meaningful information of the DCI. In this case, the wireless device may perform blind decoding according to the size of bits configured by the base station, or may perform decoding by recognizing meaningless information as a pre-agreed fixed value… the number of bits of DCI, may be generally applicable to determine the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS.”),
the DCI carries power saving information of the multiple users, the size of the DCI comprises an amount of bits occupied by the DCI or an amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI, and the amount of bits occupied by the DCI or the amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI has a correspondence relationship with an amount of the multiple users (par. 0286; par. 0287, “When information about an ID of a wireless device (or a group ID of wireless devices) is included, the number of DCI bits may be the same as the number of IDs of wireless devices (or group IDs of wireless devices) to be identified. In this case, for example, information of bit 1 may be set to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, and information of 0 may be set not to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation. For example, when wireless devices monitoring a WUS are divided into L groups and it is indicated whether to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, the total number of bits for indicating the respective wireless device groups is L. Here, there may be a plurality of groups or no group of wireless devices that are assigned information of 1 to perform the operation among the L groups”); and
transmitting the DCI by the base station according to the first indication signaling (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125 and par. 0239).
However, Hwang fails to disclose allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI (par. 0528, “FIG. 42 is a flow diagram as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. At 4210, a wireless device (e.g., a first UE) my receive RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information, a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device”; par. 0506, “a base station may transmit a group command DCI to the plurality of wireless devices, the group command DCI indicating activation/deactivation of a PS mode for the plurality of wireless devices… the group command DCI, being CRC scrambled by a first RNTI dedicated for the PS mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a group command DCI for indicating activation/deactivation of a power saving (PS) mode and an RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information as taught by Zhou to the wake up signal (WUS) transmitted in the form of DCI as disclosed by Hwang for purpose using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode and using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Hwang discloses wherein each of the multiple users corresponds to one piece of power saving information (par. 0286; par. 0287, “When information about an ID of a wireless device (or a group ID of wireless devices) is included, the number of DCI bits may be the same as the number of IDs of wireless devices (or group IDs of wireless devices) to be identified. In this case, for example, information of bit 1 may be set to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, and information of 0 may be set not to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation. For example, when wireless devices monitoring a WUS are divided into L groups and it is indicated whether to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, the total number of bits for indicating the respective wireless device groups is L. Here, there may be a plurality of groups or no group of wireless devices that are assigned information of 1 to perform the operation among the L groups.”).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Hwang discloses wherein one piece of power saving information corresponds to multiple indications bits in the DCI (par. 0286; par. 0287).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Hwang discloses wherein the first indication signaling comprises radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling (par. 0253, “It may be indicated whether the new DCI is used through a higher-layer signal, such as a SIB or an RRC signal.”; par. 0299 “The two physical signals included in the two-step wake-up (or go-to-sleep) structure may be separately enabled/disabled. For example, it is indicated whether the physical signals operate via a one-bit indication through a higher-layer signal, such as a SIB or an RRC signal.”).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhou discloses wherein the RNTI is used for scrambling the DCI (par. 0506, “a base station may transmit a group command DCI to the plurality of wireless devices, the group command DCI indicating activation/deactivation of a PS mode for the plurality of wireless devices… the group command DCI, being CRC scrambled by a first RNTI dedicated for the PS mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a group command DCI for indicating activation/deactivation of a power saving (PS) mode and an RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information as taught by Zhou to the wake up signal (WUS) transmitted in the form of DCI as disclosed by Hwang for purpose using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode and using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Hwang discloses indicating, by the base station, a function of the power saving signal through the first indication signaling; wherein the function of the power saving signal comprises at least one of: waking up a terminal; and indicating a target bandwidth used by the terminal par. 0285, “When information indicating system information update is included, DCI may employ a one-bit flag to indicate whether the WUS is for a wake-up (or go-to-sleep) use or is for indicating system information update. For example, information of 1 may indicate a wake-up operation (or go-to-sleep operation), and information of 0 may indicate an operation of updating system information”).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang discloses a method for power saving signal transmission, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, first indication signaling, wherein the first indication signaling is used for notifying a size of downlink control information (DCI) (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125, par. 0130, “the information included in the WUS may be expressed using a physical channel, such as DCI.”, par. 0191, “a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO”; par. 0239, “when a WUS is transmitted in the form of DCI, the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS may be the number of bits representing meaningful information of the DCI. In this case, the wireless device may perform blind decoding according to the size of bits configured by the base station, or may perform decoding by recognizing meaningless information as a pre-agreed fixed value… the number of bits of DCI, may be generally applicable to determine the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS.”) and,
the DCI carries power saving information of the multiple users, the size of the DCI comprises an amount of bits occupied by the DCI or an amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI, and the amount of bits occupied by the DCI or the amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI has a correspondence relationship with an amount of the multiple users (par. 0286; par. 0287, “When information about an ID of a wireless device (or a group ID of wireless devices) is included, the number of DCI bits may be the same as the number of IDs of wireless devices (or group IDs of wireless devices) to be identified. In this case, for example, information of bit 1 may be set to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, and information of 0 may be set not to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation. For example, when wireless devices monitoring a WUS are divided into L groups and it is indicated whether to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, the total number of bits for indicating the respective wireless device groups is L. Here, there may be a plurality of groups or no group of wireless devices that are assigned information of 1 to perform the operation among the L groups”); and
receiving, by the terminal, the DCI according to the first indication signaling (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125 and par. 0239).
However, Hwang fails to disclose allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI (par. 0528, “FIG. 42 is a flow diagram as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. At 4210, a wireless device (e.g., a first UE) my receive RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information, a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device”; par. 0506, “a base station may transmit a group command DCI to the plurality of wireless devices, the group command DCI indicating activation/deactivation of a PS mode for the plurality of wireless devices… the group command DCI, being CRC scrambled by a first RNTI dedicated for the PS mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a group command DCI for indicating activation/deactivation of a power saving (PS) mode and an RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information as taught by Zhou to the wake up signal (WUS) transmitted in the form of DCI as disclosed by Hwang for purpose using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode and using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode.
Regarding claims 8-12, as applied to claim 7 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claims 2-6 above.
Regarding claim 13, Hwang discloses a base station, comprising: a transceiver; a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions which, when executed by the processor (FIG. 19 and FIG. 20, 0306-0310), become operational with the transceiver to:
transmit first indication signaling, wherein the first indication signaling is used for notifying a size of downlink control information (DCI) and (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125, par. 0130, “the information included in the WUS may be expressed using a physical channel, such as DCI.”, par. 0191, “a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO”; par. 0239, “when a WUS is transmitted in the form of DCI, the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS may be the number of bits representing meaningful information of the DCI. In this case, the wireless device may perform blind decoding according to the size of bits configured by the base station, or may perform decoding by recognizing meaningless information as a pre-agreed fixed value… the number of bits of DCI, may be generally applicable to determine the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS.”),
the DCI carries power saving information of the multiple users, the size of the DCI comprises an amount of bits occupied by the DCI or an amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI, and the amount of bits occupied by the DCI or the amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI has a correspondence relationship with an amount of the multiple users (par. 0286; par. 0287, “When information about an ID of a wireless device (or a group ID of wireless devices) is included, the number of DCI bits may be the same as the number of IDs of wireless devices (or group IDs of wireless devices) to be identified. In this case, for example, information of bit 1 may be set to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, and information of 0 may be set not to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation. For example, when wireless devices monitoring a WUS are divided into L groups and it is indicated whether to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, the total number of bits for indicating the respective wireless device groups is L. Here, there may be a plurality of groups or no group of wireless devices that are assigned information of 1 to perform the operation among the L groups”); and
transmit the DCI according to the first indication signaling (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125 and par. 0239).
However, Hwang fails to disclose allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI (par. 0528, “FIG. 42 is a flow diagram as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. At 4210, a wireless device (e.g., a first UE) my receive RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information, a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device”; par. 0506, “a base station may transmit a group command DCI to the plurality of wireless devices, the group command DCI indicating activation/deactivation of a PS mode for the plurality of wireless devices… the group command DCI, being CRC scrambled by a first RNTI dedicated for the PS mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a group command DCI for indicating activation/deactivation of a power saving (PS) mode and an RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information as taught by Zhou to the wake up signal (WUS) transmitted in the form of DCI as disclosed by Hwang for purpose using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode and using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode.
Regarding claims 14-18, as applied to claim 13 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claims 2-6 above.
Regarding claim 19, Hwang discloses a terminal, comprising: a transceiver; a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions, which when executed by the processor, become operational with the transceiver to (FIG. 19 and FIG. 20, 0306-0310):
receive first indication signaling, wherein the first indication signaling is used for notifying a size of downlink control information (DCI) and (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125, par. 0130, “the information included in the WUS may be expressed using a physical channel, such as DCI.”, par. 0191, “a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO”; par. 0239, “when a WUS is transmitted in the form of DCI, the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS may be the number of bits representing meaningful information of the DCI. In this case, the wireless device may perform blind decoding according to the size of bits configured by the base station, or may perform decoding by recognizing meaningless information as a pre-agreed fixed value… the number of bits of DCI, may be generally applicable to determine the amount of information that can be expressed by the WUS.”),
the DCI carries power saving information of the multiple users, the size of the DCI comprises an amount of bits occupied by the DCI or an amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI, and the amount of bits occupied by the DCI or the amount of power-saving information carried in the DCI has a correspondence relationship with an amount of the multiple users (par. 0286; par. 0287, “When information about an ID of a wireless device (or a group ID of wireless devices) is included, the number of DCI bits may be the same as the number of IDs of wireless devices (or group IDs of wireless devices) to be identified. In this case, for example, information of bit 1 may be set to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, and information of 0 may be set not to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation. For example, when wireless devices monitoring a WUS are divided into L groups and it is indicated whether to perform a wake-up (go-to-sleep) operation, the total number of bits for indicating the respective wireless device groups is L. Here, there may be a plurality of groups or no group of wireless devices that are assigned information of 1 to perform the operation among the L groups”); and
receive the DCI according to the first indication signaling (FIG. 10A, par. 0072-0073, par. 0125 and par. 0239).
However, Hwang fails to disclose allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses allocating an RNTI for the DCI, and indicating a location of power-saving information of one of multiple users in the DCI (par. 0528, “FIG. 42 is a flow diagram as per an aspect of an example embodiment of the present disclosure. At 4210, a wireless device (e.g., a first UE) my receive RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information, a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device”; par. 0506, “a base station may transmit a group command DCI to the plurality of wireless devices, the group command DCI indicating activation/deactivation of a PS mode for the plurality of wireless devices… the group command DCI, being CRC scrambled by a first RNTI dedicated for the PS mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate using a group command DCI for indicating activation/deactivation of a power saving (PS) mode and an RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information as taught by Zhou to the wake up signal (WUS) transmitted in the form of DCI as disclosed by Hwang for purpose using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode and using the group command DCI as CRC scrambled by a RNTI dedicated for the PS mode.
Regarding claims 20-24, as applied to claim 19 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claims 2-6 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12219488. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because (for example), the limitations of the independent claim 1-24 are included in claim 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12219488 with obvious wording or phrase variations. (The limitations of independent claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 are also included in claims 1, 9, 17 and 23 (in combinations with limitations of some dependent claims) of U.S. Patent No. 12219488 obvious wording or phrase variations). That is, claims 1-24 of the current application are anticipated by claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12219488.
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12219488 include further limitations but encompass all the limitations of claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 of the current application.
Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 of the current application made claims broader version of claims 1 , 9, 17 and 23 (in combinations with limitations of some dependent claims) of U.S. Patent No. 12219488. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 1, 7, 13 and 19 are not patentably distinct from claims 1 , 9, 17 and 23 (in combinations with limitations of some dependent claims) of U.S. Patent No. 12219488.
The limitations of dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20-24 are included in claims 2-8, 10-16, 18-22 and 24-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12219488 (with obvious wording or phrase variations) respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
ZHU -US 20210058205 A1- discloses DETERMINATION METHOD AND DEVICE FOR SIZE OF DOWNLINK CONTROL INFORMATION FORMAT.
WU et al. -US 20200229092 A1- disclose METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MONITORING PHYSICAL DOWNLINK CONTROL CHANNEL.
Zhou et al. -US 20190306848 A1- disclose Wireless Communications For Uplink Preemption And Downlink Preemption.
Zhou et al. -US 20190207662 A1- disclose Methods And Systems For Information Reporting.
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642