DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, “moving” should read “removing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rush et al. (US 2015/0127026).
Regarding claim 1, an invention relating to needle manipulator, Rush discloses (Figs. 4D, 7B, 8A) a method of fixating soft tissue at a soft tissue repair site (Abstract & Par. 0003), the method comprising: inserting multiple passer devices (24) into soft tissue such that each of the passer devices hold a first suture (58) along a recess (91) defined along an elongated structure (97) of the passer devices (Figs. 7A-B); forming loops (60) with the first suture and the passer devices such that the loops extend alongside each one of the passer devices and on one side of the soft tissue (Fig. 4A & 7A; Par. 0038 & 0043); moving a second suture (62) through each of the loops (Par. 0045); withdrawing each of the passer devices from the soft tissue (Par. 0039); pulling a portion of the first suture to minimize a size of the loops so that the loops move adjacent the soft tissue on the one side of the soft tissue; and pulling ends of the second suture to a taut position (Par. 0039 & 0047).
Regarding claim 2, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the inserting comprises simultaneously inserting at least four passer devices into the soft tissue (Par. 0036).
Regarding claim 3, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the withdrawing comprises simultaneously withdrawing each of the passer devices (Par. 0036 & Claim 21).
Regarding claim 4, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the withdrawing comprises moving the passer devices from the loops of the first suture (Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 5, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the withdrawing comprises moving the first suture from the recess of each of the passer devices (Par. 0039 & 0043).
Regarding claim 6, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the inserting comprises pushing the first suture through the soft tissue with the passer devices to form the loops on the one side of the soft tissue (Par. 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush discloses further comprising, subsequent to the inserting, pulling the first suture through the soft tissue with the passer devices (Par. 0043-0045).
Regarding claim 8, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush discloses (Figs. 1A & 4A) further wherein the moving comprises feeding the second suture through a channel (22) defined in a base member (18; Par. 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush discloses (Figs. 4A & 7A) wherein the withdrawing comprises leaving a tip portion (99 & 101) of each of the passer devices within a base (18) member (Par. 0039).
Regarding claim 10, Rush discloses the method according to claim 1. Rush further discloses wherein the forming comprising forming the loops with self-expanding arms of each of the passer devices (Par. 0035).
Conclusion
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 April 2, 2026