DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “quadrilaterial-like” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quadrilaterial-like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Specifically, it is not determinable which parts of a definition of the term quadrilateral are optional for the term “quadrilateral-like”. A standard definition of quadrilateral may be a four-sided polygon. It is unclear whether a 3 or 5-sided figure having one or more curved sides, for example, would meet the limitation of “quadrilateral-like”.
Further within claim 1, line 4, the phrase “wherein at least of the electrode is disposed” is awkward and unclear what “at least” refers to.
Further within claim 1, line 6, the phrase “defined an opening” is awkward and unclear as to the exact meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108398826 A (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3 element 100);
two adjacent first lines (GL2, GL1) disposed on the substrate and extending along a first direction;
an electrode (e.g. any of 101, 102, 103, etc.) disposed on the substrate, wherein at least of the electrode is disposed between the two adjacent first lines in a top view of the electronic device; and
a light shielding structure (210) disposed on the substrate and defined an opening (111), wherein in the top view of the electronic device, at least a portion of the electrode is overlapped with the opening (contour of 101-103 overlaps with 111), wherein the opening comprises a first protrusion, and the first protrusion has a quadrilateral-like contour (see annotated Figure 6 below with sample protrusions with annotated box).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the light shielding structure as overlapped with the two adjacent first lines (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the light shielding structure as comprising a second protrusion, and the first protrusion and the second protrusion as disposed at diaonal corners of the opening (see Figure 6 annotated below with diagonal line).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the first protrusion and the second protrusion as different in contour (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a switch component (Figure 4 element T) disposed on the substrate and electrically connected to the electrode, wherein the light shielding structure is overlapped with at least a portion of the switch component (Paragraph [0039], wherein part of the switch component is integrated with lines GL/DL).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses two adjacent second lines (DL) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a pixel is defined by the two adjacent first lines and the two adjacent second lines, and the pixel is overlapped with the opening (Figures 4, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the light shielding structure is overlapped with the two adjacent second lines (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses another substrate (200), wherein the pixel is disposed between the substrate and the another substrate (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the light shielding structure comprises an arc edge (Figure 6, the light shielding structure 112 has various arc edges).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Um et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0079695 “Um”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang fails to disclose the distance between the edge of the opening and an edge of one of the first lines. Um, however, teaches determining the distance between the edge of the opening (corresponding to W3) and an edge of the first line (corresponding to W1 or W2) according to a result effective variable to maximize the size of the opening to increase aperture ratio while preventing color mixing between pixels (Paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the distance of the edge of the opening to the edge of one of the two adjacent lines to be 1-2 micrometers as proposed. One would have been motivated to form the size of the opening according to a result effective variable to balance color mixing and maximal aperture ratio (Paragraphs [0008], [0066]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0307191 “Park”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang fails to disclose the ratio of an area of the opening to an area of the pixel as proposed. Park, however, teaches such a ratio as within the specified range (Paragraph [0111]: aperture ratio = 0.82 such that 1 – 0.82 = 0.18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the ratio as proposed to balance the need for high efficiency and transmittivity of the display while preventing color mixing between pixels according to conventional means.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kubota et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0180960 “Kubota”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang fails to disclose the resolution as proposed. Kubota teaches a resolution higher than 1000 ppi for an increase in realistic viewing sensation (Kubota: Paragraph [0246]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the display to have a resolution as proposed to improve the realism of the display according to the teachings of Kubota.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Woodgate et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0278135 “Woodgate”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang fails to disclose the light emitting module. Woodgate, however, teaches a light emitting module (Figure 14B element 60), wherein the substrate (corresponding to bottom portion of 200) is disposed between the another substrate (top portion of 200) and the light emitting module (60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the light emitting module positioned as proposed to provide illumination light to the display to enable display according to conventional means (Woodgate: Paragraph [0005]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kubota and in further view of Woodgate.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang fails to disclose the substrate and the another substrate as both flexible substrates.
Woodgate, however, teaches the display panel as having flexible substrates to enable curved display (Figure 14B; Paragraph [0293]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the substrates to be flexible to enable curved display to suit a preferred panel shape and viewing configuration according to conventional means.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Um further discloses a light shielding structure opening structure having diagonally opposite quadrilateral protrusions.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL H CALEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871