DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a heat conductor contacting an inner circumferential surface of the fixing rotator to uniform temperature distribution” and “a pressure-receiving portion contacting the heat conductor to receive pressure from the pressure rotator via the fixing rotator” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi US 20230229104 in view of Mitsuoka US 20200301331.
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses:
A fixing device comprising:
a fixing rotator (42) (FIG. 6);
a heat conductor (45a) (FIG. 6) contacting an inner circumferential surface of the fixing rotator to uniform temperature distribution in a rotation axis direction of the fixing rotator [0027];
a pressure rotator (41) (FIG. 6) to press the fixing rotator against the heat conductor to form a nip and press a recording medium passing through the nip;
a heater (43) (FIG. 6) disposed inside a loop of the fixing rotator;
a pressure-receiving portion (48) (FIG. 6) contacting the heat conductor to receive pressure from the pressure rotator via the fixing rotator; and
a heat insulator (45b or 52) (FIG. 6) including a sheet-shape between the pressure-receiving portion and the heat conductor.
Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose the heat insulator including a sheet-shaped silica aerogel.
Mitsuoka discloses a fixing device comprising a heat insulator (71) (FIG. 2) including a sheet-shaped silica aerogel [0058].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Yamaguchi to include the sheet-shaped silica aerogel as disclosed by Mitsuoka in order to provide an efficient, low density thermal insulator.
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi discloses:
a reflector including:
a reflecting portion (portion of 48 opposing heaters 43) (FIG. 6) to reflect radiant heat radiated by the heater toward an inner circumferential surface of the fixing rotator; and
the pressure-receiving portion connected to the reflecting portion to transfer heat from the reflecting portion to the pressure-receiving portion (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly teach a thermal conductivity of the heat insulator in a range from 0.012 to 0.027 W/m*K.
Mitsuoka discloses a thermal conductivity range of the heat insulator of from 0.01 to 0.035 W/m*K.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka to include a thermal conductivity of the heat insulator in a range from 0.012 to 0.027 W/m*K in order to achieve a desired (low) thermal transfer between certain components.
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly teach a thickness of the heat insulator in a range from 0.1 to 1.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka to include a thickness of the heat insulator in a range from 0.1 to 1.0 mm in order to achieve a low-profile thermal insulator (the silica aerogel as disclosed by Mitsuoka ensures high thermal insulation even at low thickness).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka teaches:
An image forming apparatus comprising the fixing device according to claim 1 (FIG. 1) (Yamaguchi).
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi in view of Mitsuoka teaches:
wherein the sheet-shaped silica aerogel includes a sheet synthesized from silica aerogel and fibers [0058] (Mitsuoka).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuyama US 10496021 in view of Mitsuoka US 20200301331.
Regarding claim 1, Furuyama discloses:
A fixing device comprising:
a fixing rotator (50) (FIG. 3);
a heat conductor (60) (FIG. 3) contacting an inner circumferential surface of the fixing rotator to uniform temperature distribution in a rotation axis direction of the fixing rotator;
a pressure rotator (53) (FIG. 3) to press the fixing rotator against the heat conductor to form a nip and press a recording medium passing through the nip;
a heater (54) (FIG. 3) disposed inside a loop of the fixing rotator;
a pressure-receiving portion (45a) (FIG. 3) contacting the heat conductor to receive pressure from the pressure rotator via the fixing rotator; and
a heat insulator (61) (FIG. 3) including a sheet-shape between the pressure-receiving portion and the heat conductor.
Furuyama does not explicitly disclose the heat insulator including a sheet-shaped silica aerogel.
Mitsuoka discloses a fixing device comprising a heat insulator (71) (FIG. 2) including a sheet-shaped silica aerogel [0058].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Furuyama to include the sheet-shaped silica aerogel as disclosed by Mitsuoka in order to provide an efficient, low density thermal insulator.
Regarding claim 2, Furuyama discloses:
a reflector including:
a reflecting portion (45b) (FIG. 3) to reflect radiant heat radiated by the heater toward an inner circumferential surface of the fixing rotator; and
the pressure-receiving portion connected to the reflecting portion to transfer heat from the reflecting portion to the pressure-receiving portion (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly teach a thermal conductivity of the heat insulator in a range from 0.012 to 0.027 W/m*K.
Mitsuoka discloses a thermal conductivity range of the heat insulator of from 0.01 to 0.035 W/m*K.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka to include a thermal conductivity of the heat insulator in a range from 0.012 to 0.027 W/m*K in order to achieve a desired (low) thermal transfer between certain components.
Regarding claim 4, Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka teaches the limitations of claim 1 as set forth above, but does not explicitly teach a thickness of the heat insulator in a range from 0.1 to 1.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka to include a thickness of the heat insulator in a range from 0.1 to 1.0 mm in order to achieve a low-profile thermal insulator (the silica aerogel as disclosed by Mitsuoka ensures high thermal insulation even at low thickness).
Regarding claim 5, Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka teaches:
An image forming apparatus comprising the fixing device according to claim 1 (FIG. 1) (Furuyama).
Regarding claim 6, Furuyama in view of Mitsuoka teaches:
wherein the sheet-shaped silica aerogel includes a sheet synthesized from silica aerogel and fibers [0058] (Mitsuoka).
Conclusion
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852