DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“the fixing base in inclinedly provided” of claim 1, it appears that the lamp cover of the light-emitting assembly is inclined but not the fixing base,
“an inner wall of the first accommodating cavity is provided with a fixing groove” of claim 2, there is a lead line for the fixing groove 211 in Fig. 4, however there does not appear to be a fixing groove shown in Fig. 4.
the “spring” of claim 12, there is a lead line for a spring 40 in Figs. 9-10 that is associated with a different embodiment than the embodiment of claim 12 that requires per claim 3 that “the lamp cover is positioned on an end surface of the first end and seals the first accommodating cavity, wherein the control switch is provided on the lamp cover.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
Line 1, “The present disclosure provides” should be removed, also the first comma should be removed from the first line.
Line 5, “relatively provided” is unclear, and,
Last line, “adjacently provided” should be replaced with –adjacent--.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0006], line 1, “includes” should be replaced with --including—,
[0042], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0043], line 2, --in the same direction as—should be inserted between “face” and “the” at the beginning and end of the line,
[0044], line 3, “the” should be replaced with –an--,
[0044], line 4, --and—should be inserted between “provided,” and “that”,
[0046], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0046], fifth line from the end, “Provide” should be replaced with –By providing--,
[0046], fourth line from the end, “that makes” should be removed.
[0051], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0051], line 5, “Wherein the” should be replaced with –The--,
[0051], third line from the bottom, “Wherein providing” should be replaced with –Providing--,
[0054], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0056], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0058], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0061], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0065], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0067], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
[0067], third line from the bottom, “Wherein providing” should be replaced with –Providing--,
[0073], line 1, “Please refer to” should be replaced with –As shown in--,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 of the third paragraph, “inclinedly” should be removed and --and inclined-- should be inserted between “cavity” and “relative”.
Line 2 of the last paragraph, “adjacently provided” should be replaced with –adjacent--.
Line 2 of the last paragraph, “operatable” should be replaced with –operable--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It is unclear whether the first sealing structure and the second sealing structure are distinct elements or different variations of the same element.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Sixth line from the bottom, --an—should be inserted between “at” and “angle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2, “the lamp cover” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a support mechanism configured to abut a support surface” at line 2 of claims 1 and 20;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, the recitation of “relatively provided” in line 5 of claim 1 is unclear, it appears Applicant may have intended “spaced apart from each other” – “relatively provided” is also present in claims 13 and 20 which are similarly rejected.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lighting direction" in the fourth line of the third paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “be stably provided” in line 3 – this phrase is unclear.
Claims 13 recites the limitation, “the lamp board and the reflector cup are positioned at angle relative to the support surface” - note that the angle relative to the support surface may vary according to how the walking aid is held, for example, the walking aid may be held such that the lamp board and the reflector cup are not angled relative to the support surface, and thus claim 13 is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “inclined in a lighting direction” – note that the lighting direction varies with the orientation of the device and thus, claim 20 is indefinite.
Claims 6-11 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of the handle mechanism, first and second sealing structures or second circuit board is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: a handle, a seal and a circuit board do not share a single structural similarity.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 recites the first sealing structure, however, the first sealing structure is recited in the alternative in claim 6 and thus claim 7 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 8-11 are similarly rejected. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shyu (US9226555).
1. A walking aid (Figs. 2 and 3), comprising: a support mechanism (30, Fig. 3), configured to abut a support surface (col. 3, line 6: “cane structure”); a handle mechanism (10, Fig. 2), configured to be held by a user, the handle mechanism is connected to the support mechanism (30), the handle mechanism comprises a first end (at 24) and a second end (at 28) that are relatively provided in a first direction, and the handle mechanism is provided with a first accommodating cavity (11) at the first end; a lighting mechanism (at 23), comprising a fixing base (20) and a light-emitting assembly (at 22), the fixing base (20) is inclinedly provided in the first accommodating cavity relative to the first direction (note the inclination at 24), the light-emitting assembly (at 22) is configured to emit light, the light-emitting assembly (at 22) is attached to the fixing base (20) to make the lighting direction of the light-emitting assembly (at 22) be inclined relative to the first direction and face the support surface (see Fig. 2); and a control switch (24), the control switch and the lighting mechanism (at 23) are both provided in the first end (see Figs. 1-3), and are adjacently provided, and the control switch (24) is operatable by a single hand of the user (see Fig. 2), for the user to control an on/off state of the lighting mechanism.
2. A walking aid according to claim 1, wherein an inner wall (at 11) of the first accommodating cavity is provided with a fixing groove (note that the shape of the cavity provides a fixing groove), and the fixing groove is used in conjunction with the fixing base (20, Fig. 2) to make the fixing base (20) be stably provided in the first accommodating cavity (11) and be inclined relative to the first direction (note the inclination in Fig. 2).
3. A walking aid according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting assembly (at 22) comprises: a lamp board (22), provided with at least one light bead for emitting light (at 23); a reflector cup (see annotated Fig. 2 of Shyu below), configured to cover the at least one light bead; and a lamp cover (see annotated Fig. 2 of Shyu below), provided at a side of the reflector cup that is opposite to the lamp board (22), the lamp cover is positioned on an end surface of the first end (at 11) and seals the first accommodating cavity (11), wherein the control switch (24) is provided on the lamp cover.
4. A walking aid according to claim 3, wherein the light-emitting assembly further comprises: a transparent disc (see annotated Fig. 2 of Shyu above), provided between the reflector cup and the lamp cover.
12. A walking aid according to claim 3, wherein the walking aid further comprises a first circuit board (see annotated Fig. 2 of Shyu above), the control switch (24) is provided with a spring (note that the spring is inherent to the control switch 24, more specifically, the spring is necessarily present to return the control switch after the control switch is depressed for actuation), one end of the spring is connected to the first circuit board, another end of the spring abuts an inner wall of the lamp cover, and the on/off state of the lighting mechanism is controlled by the compression and restoration of the spring.
20. A device, comprising: a support mechanism (30, Fig. 3), configured to abut a support surface (col. 3, line 6, “cane structure”); a handle mechanism (10, Fig. 2), configured to be held by a user, the handle mechanism is connected to the support mechanism (30), and the handle mechanism comprises a first end (at 24) and a second end (at 28) that are relatively provided in a first direction; a lighting mechanism (at 23), configured to emit light; and a control switch (24), configured to operate for the user to control an on/off state of the lighting mechanism, wherein the lighting mechanism and the control switch are adjacently provided (see Figs. 1-3), and the lighting mechanism is configured to be inclined in a lighting direction relative to the first direction and face the support surface (note the inclination at 24).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnes (US3336469).
13. A walking aid (Figs. 1-5), comprising: a handle mechanism (14), configured to be held by a user, the handle mechanism comprises a first end and a second end that are relatively provided in a first direction; a support mechanism, comprising a pole body assembly (12) and a base (24), the base is configured to abut a support surface, and the pole body assembly is connected to the handle mechanism and the base; a lighting mechanism, comprising a lamp board (38), a reflector cup (col. 2, lines 69-72: “The pre-focusing 70 means preferably comprises a pre-focused bulb 46 used in the lamp means 42, although it will be appreciated that a reflector means could be constructed around the lamp means so as to pre-focus the light in a predetermined direction”) and a lamp cover (62), the lamp board is provided with a light bead (42) for emitting light, the reflector cup is configured to cover the light bead, the lamp cover is provided at a side of the reflector cup that is opposite to the lamp board (see Fig. 2), the lamp board and the reflector cup are positioned at angle relative to the support surface to make the lighting direction of the lighting mechanism be inclined relative to the first direction and face the support surface (see Fig. 2); and a control switch (54), the control switch and the lighting mechanism are both provided in the pole body assembly, and are adjacently provided, and the control switch is operatable by a single hand of the user, for the user to control an on/off state of the lighting mechanism (see Fig. 1)
15. A walking aid according to claim 13, wherein the control switch (54) is configured to touch (col. 3, line 14-18: “The switch is shown as being of the type that requires the switch actuator 54 to be pushed or pulled between two operative positions turning the light on and off. Within the scope of the invention, however, any type of switch means could be used”) for the user to trigger a control of the on/off state of the lighting mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shyu (US9226555) in view of Fang (US20230408081).
5. Shyu fails to disclose a walking aid according to claim 1, wherein the walking aid further comprises: a rechargeable battery built into the handle mechanism (note however that Shyu does disclose a battery 26 built into the handle mechanism 10, although not a rechargeable battery); a first circuit board, electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, the first circuit board is provided with a charging interface; and a cover, detachably connected to the handle mechanism to open or close the charging interface.
Fang teaches, in the context of walking aids, a rechargeable battery (8, Fig. 2, [0013]: “battery 8 may be a rechargeable battery”), built into a handle mechanism (5); a first circuit board (9), electrically connected to the rechargeable battery ([0013]: “Battery 8 may be electrically connected to drive board 9”), the first circuit board (9) is provided with a charging interface (16); and a cover (17), detachably connected to the handle mechanism to open or close the charging interface (16). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included a rechargeable battery, built into the handle mechanism; a first circuit board, electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, the first circuit board is provided with a charging interface; and a cover, detachably connected to the handle mechanism to open or close the charging interface in the walking aid of Shyu according to the teachings of Fang in order implement a rechargeable battery system that reduces waste associated with the use of non-rechargeable batteries.
6. Shyu in view of Fang discloses a walking aid according to claim 5, wherein the handle mechanism is provided with a second accommodating cavity (at 5, see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang of below, also see Fang at [0013]: “handle body 5 which encloses the components in an interior cavity inside handle 1”) at the second end, the rechargeable battery (8) and the first circuit board (at 16, Fig. 2 of Fang, note that Fang discloses that “Charging interface 16 may optionally utilize a proprietary charging protocol”, thus, the first circuit board is included with the charging interface of Fang) are provided in the second accommodating cavity, and the charging interface (16) faces an opening of the second accommodating cavity, and wherein the cover (17) is configured to open or close, respectively exposing the charging interface (16) for charging or sealing the charging interface within the second accommodating cavity (5, see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang of below);
or a first sealing structure (see the first sealing structure adjacent 17 in the annotated Fig. 2 of Fang below) is provided between the cover (17) and the charging interface (16), and the first sealing structure is configured to seal a gap (note the cup shape of the first sealing structure in Fig. 2 of Fang) between the cover (17) and the charging interface (16);
or a second sealing structure (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang below) is provided between the cover (17) and the handle mechanism (5), and the second sealing structure is configured to seal a gap (note the protruding portion occupies the gap between the cover 17 and handle mechanism 5 in annotated Fig. 2 of Fang below) between the cover (17) and the handle mechanism (5)
or the walking aid further comprises: a second circuit board (9, Fig. 2 of Fang), the second circuit board is electrically connected to the first circuit board (via battery 8), and electrically connected to the lighting mechanism (12, Fig. 2 of Fang) and the control switch (10, Fig. 2 of Fang).
7. Shyu in view of Fang disclose a walking aid according to claim 6, wherein the first sealing structure is a boss (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) that is protruded on a side of the cover facing the first circuit board, and the first sealing structure is in interference fit with the charging interface and seals the charging interface (note in annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above that the extending cup shape portion in Fig. 2 of Fang appears to be an interference fit with the charging interface 16).
8. Shyu in view of Fang disclose a walking aid according to claim 6, wherein the handle mechanism further comprises: a mounting base (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above), provided in the second accommodating cavity (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above), the mounting base is configured to fix the first circuit board (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) in the second accommodating cavity, and the charging interface passes through the mounting base (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above).
9. Shyu in view of Fang disclose a walking aid according to claim 8, wherein a groove (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) is provided on a side of the cover facing the mounting base, a protruding strip (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) is provided on a side of the mounting base facing the cover, and the protruding strip and the groove are used in cooperation with each other.
10. A walking aid according to claim 8, wherein a protruding pillar (note per BRI, the entire front extending cylindrical portion of the cover of Fang is a protruding pillar, see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) is provided on a side of the cover (17) facing the mounting base (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above), a fixing hole (see annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above) is provided on a side of the mounting base facing the cover, and when the cover seals the second accommodating cavity, the protruding pillar is inserted into the fixing hole.
11. A walking aid according to claim 6, wherein the second sealing structure is a protruding rib that is protruded on an edge area of the cover (note that the protruding portion in annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above is “on” an edge area of 17), and a sealing is achieved through an interference fit between the second sealing structure and an inner wall of the second accommodating cavity (note from annotated Fig. 2 of Fang above that the protruding portion is compressed, i.e., an interference fit between the cover and the inner wall of the second accommodating cavity of handle mechanism 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US3336469) in view of Phillips (US4625742).
14. Barnes fails to disclose a walking aid according to claim 13, wherein the walking aid further comprises a rechargeable battery and a first circuit board, the rechargeable battery is built into the pole body assembly, the first circuit board is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, the first circuit board is provided with a charging interface, and the charging interface is exposed on a side wall of the pole body assembly. Phillips teaches, in the context of walking aids, wherein a walking aid (Figs. 1 and 2) further comprises a rechargeable battery (32, Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 43-45: “It is another object of this invention to provide the above lighted cane having rechargeable batteries connected to a charging connector”) and a first circuit board (Figs. 2 and 3b), the rechargeable battery is built into the pole body assembly (Fig. 1), the first circuit board is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery (Fig. 3b), the first circuit board is provided with a charging interface (17), and the charging interface is exposed on a side wall of the pole body assembly (11, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the walking aid further comprises a rechargeable battery and a first circuit board, the rechargeable battery is built into the pole body assembly, the first circuit board is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, the first circuit board is provided with a charging interface, and the charging interface is exposed on a side wall of the pole body assembly in the walking aid of Barnes according to the teachings of Phillips in order to mitigate waste associated with non-rechargeable battery usage.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes (US3336469) in view of Lee (US20100200032).
16. Barnes fails to disclose a walking aid according to claim 13, wherein the pole body assembly comprises a telescopic structure, the telescopic structure comprises: a first telescopic pole, connected to the handle mechanism, the first telescopic pole forms an accommodating cavity inside, and the first telescopic pole, along an extension direction of the first telescopic pole, is provided with a plurality of limiting holes that are spaced and in communication with the accommodating cavity; a second telescopic pole, connected to the base, the second telescopic pole is extended out of or retracted into the accommodating cavity; and a location member, connected to the second telescopic pole, wherein, when the second telescopic pole is retracted into the accommodating cavity, the location member is stuck into any of the plurality of limiting holes so as to adjust a length of the telescopic structure. Lee teaches, in the context of walking aids, wherein the pole body assembly comprises a telescopic structure, the telescopic structure (Fig. 2) comprises: a first telescopic pole (111), connected to the handle mechanism (90, Fig. 1), the first telescopic pole forms an accommodating cavity inside, and the first telescopic pole, along an extension direction of the first telescopic pole, is provided with a plurality of limiting holes (14) that are spaced and in communication with the accommodating cavity; a second telescopic pole (112), connected to the base (50), the second telescopic pole is extended out of or retracted into the accommodating cavity; and a location member (131), connected to the second telescopic pole, wherein, when the second telescopic pole is retracted into the accommodating cavity, the location member is stuck into any of the plurality of limiting holes (14) so as to adjust a length of the telescopic structure. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the pole body assembly comprises a telescopic structure, the telescopic structure comprises: a first telescopic pole, connected to the handle mechanism, the first telescopic pole forms an accommodating cavity inside, and the first telescopic pole, along an extension direction of the first telescopic pole, is provided with a plurality of limiting holes that are spaced and in communication with the accommodating cavity; a second telescopic pole, connected to the base, the second telescopic pole is extended out of or retracted into the accommodating cavity; and a location member, connected to the second telescopic pole, wherein, when the second telescopic pole is retracted into the accommodating cavity, the location member is stuck into any of the plurality of limiting holes so as to adjust a length of the telescopic structure in the walking aid of Barnes according to the teachings of Lee in order to adjust the length of the walking aid to accommodate patients of varying height.
17. Barnes in view of Lee discloses the walking aid according to claim 16, wherein the telescopic structure further comprises a gland member (114), and after positions of the first telescopic pole and the second telescopic pole are fixed, the first telescopic pole and the second telescopic pole are locked by the gland member ([0043]: “The reducing head 114 is made of rubber or elastic material, allowing gripping and squeezing of the corresponding portion of the second rod section 112 for an enhanced connection”).
18. Barnes in view of Lee discloses a walking aid according to claim 16, wherein the pole body assembly further comprises a deployable structure , and the second telescopic pole is connected to the base through the deployable structure; the deployable structure (11, Fig. 1), comprising: a first pole body (16), detachably connected to the second telescopic pole (112); a second pole body (17) , one end of the second pole body is detachably connected to the first pole body, so that the first pole body and the second pole body are separated from the second telescopic pole and folded or coaxially connected with the second telescopic pole, and another end of the second pole body is connected to the base; and an elastic connecting part (20), connected to the first pole body and the second telescopic pole, the elastic connecting part is configured to stretch elastically when the first pole body and the second pole body are separated from the second telescopic pole ([0048]: “When not used, the rods 11 are pulled apart by the flexible pulling rope 20 and then folded”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnes (US3336469) in view of Tang (CN108065518).
19. Barnes discloses a walking aid according to claim 13, wherein the lamp cover is positioned on an outer wall of the pole body assembly; and the control switch is provided on the lamp cover. Barnes fails to disclose wherein the lamp cover comprises a transparent material. Tang teaches, in the context of walking aids, wherein a lamp cover (42) is made of transparent material ([0016]: “The outer layer 42 is made of transparent material. The LED lights 3 are disposed between the two layers. The power supply 2 is disposed in the inner layer 41, and the power switch 5 is disposed in the outer layer 42”). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have included wherein the lamp cover comprises a transparent material in the walking aid of Barnes according to Tang in order to provide the cane with a glow-in-the-dark function, MT Tang [0001].
Conclusion
/BAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634