DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/983,481 filed 12/17/2024. Claims 21-40 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations:
one or more input modules to receive;
a signal splitter to extract;
at least one video compression module to compress;
an output module for transmitting;
a signal feed forward configured to select;
a multiplexer and router (M&R) for multiplexing;
have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “to” coupled with functional language “receive,” “extract,” “compress,” “transmitting,” “select” and “multiplexing” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 21-30 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Figs. 1A, 1B, 4 and paragraphs [0056]-[0061], [0081]-[0129] of the published application.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-25, 27, 28, 30-35, 37, 38 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,013 in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277).
Application No. 18/983,481
U.S. Patent No. 12,207,013
21. (New) An input card for processing at least one high bandwidth media stream to generate at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream, the input card comprising:
1. A media router for down-sampled video routing, comprising:
a backplane including a plurality of backplane connections;
at least one input card, comprising:
one or more input modules to receive the at least one high bandwidth media stream;
one or more input terminals to receive at least one high bandwidth video signal;
at least one video compression module to compress the at least one high bandwidth video signal to generate a low bandwidth compressed video signal; and
at least one compression module to compress the at least one high bandwidth video signal to generate at least one low bandwidth video signal in accordance with a compression scheme; and
an output module for transmitting the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream,
one or more output terminals being electrically coupled to the backplane, and configured to transmit the at least one low bandwidth video signal to the backplane;
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal.
In an analogous art, Rahrer, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; (Figs. 2, 4: IRD 26 and extractor module 106 splits the transport stream into video stream 28a and metadata, col. 6 lines 32-35, col. 8 lines 45-48, col. 10 lines 18-23, col. 10 lines 31-34, col. 11 lines 13-22.) the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal. (Fig. 2: Encoder 32 and TS formatter 34 create a transcoded transport stream including the transcoded video and metadata, col. 8 line 45 to col. 9 line 19.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal, as taught by Rahrer, for the benefit of including original metadata content in the compressed media stream.
Claim 22 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 23 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 24 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 25 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the patent.
Claim 27 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent in view of Rahrer col. 9 lines 11-19.
Claim 28 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent in view of Rahrer col. 9 lines 11-19.
Claim 30 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 31 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Rahrer.
Claim 32 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 33 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the patent.
Claim 34 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the patent.
Claim 35 of the application corresponds to claim 14 of the patent.
Claim 37 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Rahrer col. 9 lines 11-19.
Claim 38 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Rahrer col. 9 lines 11-19.
Claim 40 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent.
Claims 26 and 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,013 in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277) in view of Gazier et al. (US 2009/0201988), herein Gazier.
Consider claim 26, the patented claims combined with Rahrer clearly teach serial digital interface (SDI) signals.
However, the patented claims combined with Rahrer do not explicitly teach a signal feed forward configured to select one of: video signals, received from the one or more input modules and passed through the input card.
In an analogous art, Gazier, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a signal feed forward configured to select one of: video signals, received from the one or more input modules and passed through the input card. (Fig. 5: Switch fabric 82 selects video signals, which have been passed through line cards 80, for output to network interface 84, [0037] Gazier.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Rahrer by a signal feed forward configured to select one of: video signals, received from the one or more input modules and passed through the input card, as taught by Gazier, to achieve the predictable result of distributing the media streams over the network.
Claim 36 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Gazier [0037].
Claims 29 and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,013 in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277) in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0112395), herein Lee.
Consider claim 29, the patented claims combined with Rahrer clearly teach the M&R.
However, the patented claims combined with Rahrer do not explicitly teach a memory buffer configured to store the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received and synchronized to a common time base.
In an analogous art, Lee, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches a memory buffer configured to store the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received and synchronized to a common time base. (Fig. 3: Re-multiplexer 305 includes buffers 307, 309 to synchronize the signals combined into the transport stream, [0052].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Rahrer by a memory buffer configured to store the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received and synchronized to a common time base, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of ensuring the component signals of the transport stream are synchronous.
Claim 39 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent in view of Lee [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24-28, 30-32, 34-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazier et al. (US 2009/0201988), herein Gazier, in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277).
Consider claim 21, Gazier clearly teaches an input card for processing at least one high bandwidth media stream to generate at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream, (Fig. 5: Line card 80) the input card comprising:
one or more input modules to receive the at least one high bandwidth media stream; (Figs. 2, 4, 5: Access device 42 receives a plurality of video signals from video source 44, [0026], [0028], [0030]-[0032].)
at least one video compression module to compress the at least one high bandwidth video signal to generate a low bandwidth compressed video signal; (Figs. 4-6: Transcoder 52, 90 receives high resolution video which is then compressed, [0034], [0037]-[0042].) and
an output module for transmitting the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream. (Fig. 9: Transcoded output 114 is output to client access device 322, [0029], [0039], [0059], [0060].)
However, Gazier does not explicitly teach a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal.
In an analogous art, Rahrer, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; (Figs. 2, 4: IRD 26 and extractor module 106 splits the transport stream into video stream 28a and metadata, col. 6 lines 32-35, col. 8 lines 45-48, col. 10 lines 18-23, col. 10 lines 31-34, col. 11 lines 13-22.) the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal. (Fig. 2: Encoder 32 and TS formatter 34 create a transcoded transport stream including the transcoded video and metadata, col. 8 line 45 to col. 9 line 19.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gazier by a signal splitter to extract at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal, as taught by Rahrer, for the benefit of including original metadata content in the compressed media stream.
Consider claim 22, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches a controller coupled to each of the at least one video compression module, wherein the controller is configured to control a compression scheme of the at least one video compression module. (Fig. 6: Control 110 controls how the video signals are encoded, [0039], [0040] Gazier.)
Consider claim 24, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the compression scheme comprises at least one of a JPEG XS, JPEG2000, HT-J2K, JPEG-LS, H.264/ MPEG-4 AVC and Dirac compression scheme. ([0041] Gazier)
Consider claim 25, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the at least one high bandwidth video signal comprises at least one of a serial digital interface (SDI) or an IP signal. (Output 28a is an SDI signal, col. 6 lines 32-35 Rahrer.)
Consider claim 26, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches a signal feed forward configured to select one of: serial digital interface (SDI) signals (Output 28a is an SDI signal, col. 6 lines 32-35 Rahrer.) and Internet Protocol (IP) signals, received from the one or more input modules and passed through the input card. (Fig. 5: Switch fabric 82 selects video signals, which have been passed through line cards 80, for output to network interface 84, [0037] Gazier.)
Consider claim 27, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches a multiplexer and router (M&R) for multiplexing the at least one low bandwidth compressed signal with the at least one associated signal. (Fig. 2: TS formatter 34 combines the video and metadata into an MPEG transport stream, col. 9 lines 11-19 Rahrer.)
Consider claim 28, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches a controller is configured to control the M&R to determine if incoming signals should be multiplexed. (Fig. 2: Management system module 108 controls TS formatter 34 to combine the video and metadata into an MPEG transport stream, col. 9 lines 11-19 Rahrer.)
Consider claim 30, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the compressed media stream is transmitted to at least one of: a downstream device and a transmitting device. (Fig. 9: Transcoded output 114 is output to client access device 322, [0029], [0039], [0059], [0060] Gazier.)
Consider claim 31, Gazier clearly teaches a method for processing at least one high bandwidth media stream to generate at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream, (Fig. 3) the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more input modules of an input card, the at least one high bandwidth media stream; (Figs. 2, 4, 5: Access device 42 receives a plurality of video signals from video source 44, [0026], [0028], [0030]-[0032].)
compressing, by a compression module of the input card, the at least one high bandwidth video signal to generate a low bandwidth compressed video signal; (Figs. 4-6: Transcoder 52, 90 receives high resolution video which is then compressed, [0034], [0037]-[0042].)and
transmitting, by an output module of the input card, the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream. (Fig. 9: Transcoded output 114 is output to client access device 322, [0029], [0039], [0059], [0060].)
However, Gazier does not explicitly teach extracting, by a signal splitter of the input card, at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal.
In an analogous art, Rahrer, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches extracting, by a signal splitter of the input card, at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; (Figs. 2, 4: IRD 26 and extractor module 106 splits the transport stream into video stream 28a and metadata, col. 6 lines 32-35, col. 8 lines 45-48, col. 10 lines 18-23, col. 10 lines 31-34, col. 11 lines 13-22.) the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal. (Fig. 2: Encoder 32 and TS formatter 34 create a transcoded transport stream including the transcoded video and metadata, col. 8 line 45 to col. 9 line 16.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gazier by extracting, by a signal splitter of the input card, at least one high bandwidth video signal from the at least one high bandwidth media stream, the at least one high bandwidth media stream comprising the at least one high bandwidth video signal and at least one associated signal; the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream comprising the at least one low bandwidth compressed video signal and the at least one associated signal, as taught by Rahrer, for the benefit of including original metadata content in the compressed media stream.
Consider claim 32, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches selecting, by a controller coupled to the compression module, a compression scheme of the at least one compression module. (Fig. 6: Control 110 controls how the video signals are encoded, [0039], [0040] Gazier.)
Consider claim 34, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the compression scheme comprises at least one of a JPEG XS, JPEG2000, HT-J2K, JPEG-LS, H.264/ MPEG-4 AVC and Dirac compression scheme. ([0041] Gazier)
Consider claim 35, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the at least one high bandwidth video signal comprises at least one of: a serial digital interface (SDI) or an IP signal.
Consider claim 36, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches selecting, by a signal feed forward of the input card, one of: serial digital interface (SDI) signals (Output 28a is an SDI signal, col. 6 lines 32-35 Rahrer.) and Internet Protocol (IP) signals, received from the one or more input modules to pass through the input card. (Fig. 5: Switch fabric 82 selects video signals, which have been passed through line cards 80, for output to network interface 84, [0037] Gazier.)
Consider claim 37, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches multiplexing, by a multiplexer and router (M&R), the at least one low bandwidth compressed signal with the at least one associated signal. (Fig. 2: TS formatter 34 combines the video and metadata into an MPEG transport stream, col. 9 lines 11-19 Rahrer.)
Consider claim 38, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches determining, by a controller configured to control the M&R, if incoming signals should be multiplexed. (Fig. 2: Management system module 108 controls TS formatter 34 to combine the video and metadata into an MPEG transport stream, col. 9 lines 11-19 Rahrer.)
Consider claim 40, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches transmitting, by an output module of the input card, the at least one low bandwidth compressed media stream, comprises transmitting the compressed media stream to at least one of: a downstream device and a transmitting device. (Fig. 9: Transcoded output 114 is output to client access device 322, [0029], [0039], [0059], [0060] Gazier.)
Claims 23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazier et al. (US 2009/0201988) in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277), in view of Gu et al. (US 2014/0301462), herein Gu.
Consider claim 23, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the compression scheme.
However, Gazier combined with Rahrer does not explicitly teach the compression scheme is a visually lossless video compression scheme.
In an analogous art, Gu, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches the compression scheme is a visually lossless video compression scheme. ([0067])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gazier combined with Rahrer by the compression scheme is a visually lossless video compression scheme, as taught by Gu, for the benefit of compressing the video content without losing information.
Consider claim 33, Gazier combined with Rahrer and Gu clearly teaches the compression scheme is a visually lossless video compression scheme. ([0067] Gu)
Claims 29 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gazier et al. (US 2009/0201988) in view of Rahrer (US 7,913,277), in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0112395), herein Lee.
Consider claim 29, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches the M&R.
However, Gazier combined with Rahrer does not explicitly teach the compression scheme is a visually lossless video compression scheme.
In an analogous art, Lee, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches a memory buffer configured to store the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received and synchronized to a common time base. (Fig. 3: Re-multiplexer 305 includes buffers 307, 309 to synchronize the signals combined into the transport stream, [0052].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Gazier combined with Rahrer by a memory buffer configured to store the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received and synchronized to a common time base, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of ensuring the component signals of the transport stream are synchronous.
Consider claim 39, Gazier combined with Rahrer clearly teaches storing, in a memory buffer of the M&R, the incoming media signals until all incoming signals requiring multiplexing are received, and synchronizing to a common time base. (Fig. 3: Re-multiplexer 305 includes buffers 307, 309 to synchronize the signals combined into the transport stream, [0052] Lee.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425