DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims1-15 filed and preliminary amended on 12/17/2024 are pending and being examined. Claims 1, 6, and 15 are independent form.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
4-1. Use of the word “means” (or “step for”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebutted when the function is recited with sufficient structure, material, or acts within the claim itself to entirely perform the recited function.
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
4-2. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
4-3. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rotating object detection unit for detecting...”, “a coordinate extraction unit for extracting...”, “a spin data storage unit for in which spin dat...”, and “a spin data derivation unit for deriving...” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sim et al (WO2022211377, hereinafter “Sim”). A machine translated English version (i.e., WO2022211377-Eng) of document WO2022211377 is provided by the examiner with this office action.
Regarding claim 1, Sim discloses an apparatus for measuring spin data of a rotating object (the method/system for calculating a spin amount of a golf ball by image processing; see figs.1-9 and Abstract), the apparatus comprising:
a rotating object detection unit detecting an image of a rotating object with respect to an image of n frames captured by a camera (from the camera 110, 120, or 600 shown by fig.1, selecting the n-th frame [image] and n+1-th frame [image] as the first ball image and second ball image, respectively; see pg.8, lines 4-12, in the document WO2022211377-Eng);
a coordinate extraction unit extracting location coordinates of a marker in the rotating object image detected by the rotating object detection unit (from each of the first ball and second ball images, extracting each of the 5 markers and recording the respective center coordinates and orientation angles; see “5 markers” shown by fig.3(a) and (b), the marker’s center coordinates shown by fig.3(c) and (d), and the marker’ orientation angles shown by fig.4. See pg.10, line 8---pg.11, line 9);
a spin data storage unit in which spin data of the rotating object is stored in advance (for the first ball image 610 in fig.5, wherein each marker’s center coordinates, and orientation angles are recorded as shown fig.3(b), fig,3(c), and fig.4); and
a spin data derivation unit deriving final spin data based on the spin data of the rotating object stored in the spin data storage unit and the location coordinates of the marker extracted by the coordinate extraction unit (to calculate spin value of the ball, performing marker matching between the first ball image and the second ball image (see the first ball image 610 and the second ball image 622 in fig.6), comparing the coordinates of the corresponding marker pairs in the two images (see fig.7(a) and fig.7(b), wherein cb1 and cb2 are the center coordinates of the markers in the second ball image while ca1 and ca2 are the center coordinates of the markers in the first ball image), determining the spin axis (see fig.8(a), fig.8(b), and fig.8(c)), and calculating the spin amount of the ball (see Q1 and Q2 in fig.9). Also see pg.11, line 40---pg.16, line 17).
Regarding claim 2, 9, Sim discloses, further comprising: a mapping unit mapping the spin data of the rotating object stored in the spin data storage unit and the location coordinates of the marker extracted by the coordinate extraction unit, and deriving an angle of a common rotation axis and a difference of a rotation amount, wherein the spin data derivation unit derives the final spin data including a rotation axis and a spin rate based on the angle of the common rotation axis and the difference of the rotation amount derived by the mapping unit (to calculate spin value of the ball, performing marker matching between the first ball image and the second ball image (see the first ball image 610 and the second ball image 622 in fig.6), comparing the coordinates of the corresponding marker pairs in the two images (see fig.7(a) and fig.7(b), wherein cb1 and cb2 are center coordinates of the markers in the second ball image while ca1 and ca2 are center coordinates of the markers in the first ball image), determining the spin axis (see fig.8(a), fig.8(b), and fig.8(c)), and calculating the spin amount (see Q1 and Q2 in fig.9). Also see pg.11, line 40---pg.16, line 17).
Regarding claim 3, 7, Sim discloses, wherein: the spin data of the rotating object stored in the spin data storage unit includes a rotation axis angle and a rotation amount angle of the rotating object (the each marker’ orientation angles shown by fig.4), and location coordinates of a marker (the each marker’s center coordinates shown by fig.3(c) and (d)), and the spin data of the rotating object is derived by a 3D simulator (using the sensing device SD including cameras 110 and 120 to obtain 3D coordinates of a ball; see 110 and 120 of fig.1 and pg.6, lines 16-33).
Regarding claim 4, 8, Sim discloses, wherein: the spin data of the rotating object is stored in the spin data storage unit for each type of rotating object distinguished according to the number of markers or a shape of the marker (wherein each marker’s center coordinates, and orientation angles are recorded, see fig.3(b), fig,3(c), and fig.4).
Regarding claims 6, 15, each of which is an inherent variation of claim 1, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Sim discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the mapping unit extracts a rotation axis angle list and a rotation amount angle list mapped to each location coordinate of the rotating object marker from the spin data storage unit based on the location coordinate list of the marker extracted by the coordinate extraction unit (wherein the spin plane PL1 is determined by the center point of the ball and the center coordinates of the marker ca1 and marker cb1 which are pre-defined on the surface of the ball, as shown by fig.8(a); wherein the spin plane PL2 is determined by the center point of the ball and the center coordinates of the marker ca2 and marker cb2 which are pre-defined on the surface of the ball, as shown by fig.8(b). It should be noticed that each of the spin plane PL1 and spin plane PL2 indicates a range of a rotation axis angle and a range of a rotation amount (i.e., angle value);), and extracts the common rotation axis, and derives the angle of the common rotation axis based on the extracted rotation axis angle list and rotation amount angle lists (wherein the spin axis is determined by the plane PL1 and the PL2; see fig.8(c)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim.
Regarding claims 10-14, each of them has no inventive concept and is an obvious variation of the method in Sim. Specifically, Sim discloses a method for calculating spin amount of a golf ball; wherein the spin plane PL1 is determined by the center point of the ball and the center coordinates of the marker ca1 and marker cb1 which are pre-defined on the surface of the ball, as shown by fig.8(a); wherein the spin plane PL2 is determined by the center point of the ball and the center coordinates of the marker ca2 and marker cb2 which are pre-defined on the surface of the ball, as shown by fig.8(b); wherein each of the spin plane PL1 and spin plane PL2 indicates a range of a rotation axis angle and a range of a rotation amount (i.e., angle value); wherein the spin axis SA is determined by the spin plane PL1 and the spin PL2, see fig.8(c); wherein the final spin amount is determined on the basis of the spin axis SA and the matched marker’s coordinates on the reference plane (PO) as shown by fig.9. See fig.8(a)-(c), fig.9, and pg.15, line 10—pg.16, line 17. Therefore, claims 10-14 are rejected as obvious over Sim.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ijiri et al, US2018/0174308; JUNG, WO 2013081322.
/RUIPING LI/Primary Examiner, Ph.D., Art Unit 2676