DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed on 1/15/2026 has been entered. In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 7, 12, 14 and 20, cancelled claims 2, 6, 9-11. Currently claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 12-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205) and Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), and further in view of Danielson (US 2024/0062476).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a wireless virtual reality headset device (Abstract; FIG. 1: exercise device 100; Fig. 2: exercise system 200; Figs. 3-6: exercise device 100A/100B/100C/100D; [0025]: “The control unit 130 may be connected to an external server 10 via a communications module to communicate therewith in a wired/wireless manner”) that provides a user with a virtual reality device (Fig. 1: virtual reality device 120; Fig. 2: virtual reality devices 212 and 222; Figs. 3-6: virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D) for enhancing at-home workouts, the wireless virtual reality headset device comprising:
a headset component (Figs. 3-6: headset component of virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D)
a processing unit (Fig. 1: control unit 130; Fig. 2: control unit 230; [0029]: “The control unit 130 may control the virtual reality device 120 to operate in conjunction with the fitness device 110”; [0036]: “the first and second exercise devices 210 and 220 may also be controlled by separate control units 230”) comprising a wireless ([0025]: “The control unit 130 may be connected to an external server 10 via a communications module to communicate therewith in a wired/wireless manner”); and
further wherein the headset component is configured to provide an immersive experience to enhance at-home workouts (Figs. 7-8; [0029]-[0030]; [0032]-[0034]; [0043]; [0048]-[0050]; [0054]-[0056]).
Park does not further teach:
1) the wireless virtual reality headset device further comprising a cushioning component;
wherein the headset component and the cushioning component are secured together and adapted to be placed on a user’s head;
2) the wireless virtual reality headset device, wherein the headset component comprises a two screen virtual reality display;
3) the wireless virtual reality headset device, wherein the wireless communication device is a RFID device
The features are not new in the field of head-mounted virtual reality devices, however.
As for differentiating feature 1), Huergo Wagner, for instance, teaches in Figs. 1B-1C and [0072] a head-mounted virtual reality device comprising:
a cushioning component (Figs. 1B-1C: first band 1-116 configured to wrap around the rear side of a user's head);
wherein the headset component and the cushioning component are secured together and adapted to be placed on a user’s head (Figs. 1B-1C; [0072]: “the first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 are formed of elastic, flexible materials including woven textiles, rubbers, and the like. The first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 can be flexible to conform to the shape of the user' head when donning the HMD 1-100”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s technique with Huergo Wagner’s technique adding a cushioning component to Park’s head-mounted virtual reality device to wrap around the read side of a user’s head to secure wearing of Park’s headset and also for achieving flexibility to conform to the shape of the user' head.
As for differentiating feature 2), it is also a common feature in the related art. Zhu, for instance, teaches in Fig. 2 and [0065] a headset component comprising a two screen virtual reality display ([0065]: ach of two augmented reality components 20 has one display screen 23).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to further modify the technique of Park in view of Huergo Wagner with Zhu’s technique, configuring Park’s headset component to comprise a two screen virtual reality display.
Because there are only two options for the head component, i.e., either comprising a shared screen for two eyes or two screens respectively for two eyes, one ordinary skill in the art would try any of the two options to optimize the result.
As for differentiating feature 3), it is common to configure a communication device to be a RFID device. Danielson, for instance, teaches in [0036] a RFID device is among limited options of a wireless communication devices.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to further modify the technique of Park in view of Huergo Wagner and Zhu with Danielson’s technique configuring Park’s wireless communication device to be a RFID device.
Because there are only two options for wireless communication devices, one ordinary skill in the art would try any of the options to optimize the result.
Regarding claim 3, Park further teaches the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 1, wherein functionality of the processing unit may be integrated in software and hardware components of the wireless virtual reality headset device ([0029]-[0034]; []0036]-[0039]; [0044]-[0046]; [0055]; Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, Park further teaches the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 3, wherein the headset component comprises a front facing side, a rear facing side, opposing side ends, and opposing top and bottom sides (Figs. 3-6: inherent front facing side, rear facing side, opposing side ends and opposing top and bottom sides of headset component of virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D).
Regarding claim 5, Park further explicitly teaches the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 4, wherein the rear facing side is configured to (Figs. 3-6), providing an immersive experience by blocking user's view of world outside of the wireless virtual reality headset device (Figs. 7-8: exemplary virtual reality environments 300 and 400; [0028]-[0030]; [0043]; [0046]; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]-[0058]).
Park does not further teach the rear facing side is configured to curve around a user’s eyes.
The feature is not, new, however.
Huergo Wagner, for instance, additionally teaches in Figs. 1B-1C and [0076] the rear facing side (i.e., light seal 1-110) is configured to curve around a user’s eyes.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to apply Huergo Wagner’s additional teaching to Park’s headset component to achieve good light blocking and better virtual environment displaying effect.
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Huergo Wagner, Zhu and Danielson, in this embodiment, does not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 1, wherein the front facing side comprises pancake lenses.
However, it is not new in the related art using pancake lenses in a headset.
Zhu, for instance, additionally teaches in Figs. 2-3 a head-mounted device comprises a front facing side comprises pancake lenses ([0075]: “the lens group 22 is a pancake (Pancake) lens group”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhu’s additional technique to Park’s technique in view of Huergo Wagner, Zhu and Danielson including pancake lenses to the front facing side of Park’s headset component to take advantage of inherent folded optical path arrangement of the pancake lenses to achieve a compact headset component.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), further in view of Geisner et al. (US 2013/0083009), and further in view of Baradyntsava et al. (US 2025/0018247).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches a method of enhancing at-home workouts by providing immersive environments(Figs. 7-8; [0029]-[0030]; [0032]-[0034]; [0043]; [0048]-[0050]; [0054]-[0056]) and facilitating community connections ([0038]-[0039]), the method comprising the following steps:
providing a wireless virtual reality headset device (Abstract; FIG. 1: exercise device 100; Fig. 2: exercise system 200; Figs. 3-6: exercise device 100A/100B/100C/100D; [0025]: “The control unit 130 may be connected to an external server 10 via a communications module to communicate therewith in a wired/wireless manner”) comprising a headset component (Figs. 3-6: headset component of virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D)
positioning the headset component ([0028]: “The virtual reality device 120 may be provided in the form of a device that the user may wear. In an exemplary embodiment, the virtual reality device 120 may be a device mounted on a user's head to provide video and audio information to a use”; [0043]: “The virtual reality device 120A may be provided in the form of goggles that a user may wear on the head, and may provide a virtual reality environment by outputting video and audio information to a user”);
1) the wireless virtual reality headset device comprising attached cushioning component to be positioned with the headset component over a user’s head;
2) the method further comprises a step of performing workouts with remote users in both real and virtual locations;
3) the method further comprises a step of displaying speed, calories burned, and an earned award for completing a workout at a preset point.
As for differentiating limitation 1), Huergo Wagner teaches in Figs. 1B-1C and [0072] a head-mounted virtual reality device comprising:
a cushioning component (Figs. 1B-1C: first band 1-116 configured to wrap around the rear side of a user's head) to be positioned with the headset component over a user’s head (Figs. 1B-1C; [0072]: “the first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 are formed of elastic, flexible materials including woven textiles, rubbers, and the like. The first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 can be flexible to conform to the shape of the user' head when donning the HMD 1-100”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s technique with Huergo Wagner’s technique adding a cushioning component to Park’s head-mounted virtual reality device to wrap around the read side of a user’s head to secure wearing of Park’s headset and also for achieving flexibility to conform to the shape of the user' head.
As for differentiating limitation 2), Geisner teaches a method of enhancing at home work-outs comprises a step of performing workouts with remote users in both real and virtual locations ([0067]: “The personal A/V apparatus can make exercise more interesting, and more of a social event. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus serves as an exercise program that is always with the user, provides motivation for the user, visually tells the user how to exercise, and lets the user exercise with other people who are not present”; [0068]: “while the user is running, the personal A/V apparatus can show an avatar of another runner who is running the same course”; [0069]: “the personal A/V apparatus allows a user to virtually exercise with someone who is at another physical location. A digital representation of the other person (sometimes referred to as an avatar) can be displayed in the personal A/V apparatus so that it seems that the other person is running alongside of them. The two exercisers can even carry on a conversation”; [0295]-[0296]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park in view of Huergo Wagner with Geisner’s technique enabling the method to perform workouts with remote users in both real and virtual locations to make exercise more interesting and more of a social event (Geisner: [0067]).
As for differentiating limitation 3), it indicates providing visual activity information related to a workout by a user performing the workout. The approach is not new in the related art.
Baradyntsava, for instance, teaches in Figs. 14-15 and [0129]-[0135] displaying speed (Fig. 14 and [0129]: “in interface 1400, athletic activity measures including, for example, a number of kilometer or miles covered, pace, calories burned, heart rate, amount of time, amount of force used (e.g., in weightlifting or step exercises), steps taken and/or combinations thereof may be displayed in a first portion 1405”; Examiner’s Note: pace and speed are inversely related to each other and thus reflect the same activity state), calories burned (Fig. 14 and [0129]: “in interface 1400, athletic activity measures including, for example, a number of kilometer or miles covered, pace, calories burned, heart rate, amount of time, amount of force used (e.g., in weightlifting or step exercises), steps taken and/or combinations thereof may be displayed in a first portion 1405”), and an earned award for completing a workout at a preset point (Fig. 15 and [0134]: “Upon completing a workout, a user may be presented with a post-workout activity point display, that may include activity points from the most recent activity or activities”; “a last workout point display 1515 may be provided in interface 1500 showing the final number of verified activity points attributed to the last workout”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Baradyntsava’s technique with the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Geisner configuring Park’s headset to display speed, calories burned, and an earned award for completing a workout at a preset point as timely feedback to a user of the wireless virtual reality headset device who is in a workout.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846) and Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and further in view of Anton et al. (US 2020/0078658).
Regarding claim 8, Park/Huergo Wagner/Zhu and Danielson do not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 7 further comprising a plurality of indicia.
However, it is not new in the related art that a headset component displays a plurality of indicia.
Anton, for instance, teaches in Fig. 8, [0023] and claim 2 a headset component displays a plurality of indicia (i.e., indicia and/or graphics 62 indicating make/miss data).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to apply Anton’s technique to the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Zhu to effectively provide important information to the user of the headset component.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846) and Danielson (US 2024/0062476), and further in view of Chen (US 2023/0236427).
Regarding claim 12, Park/Huergo Wagner/Zhu/Danielson do not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 1, wherein the headset component comprises adjustable straps secured to the cushioning component and an adjustment knob for securing the wireless virtual reality headset device to a user’s head.
First of all, it is not new in the related art using adjustable straps to secure a headset to a user’s head. Chen, for instance teaches a headset component comprises adjustable straps (Figs. 1, 5-6: left and right straps 14 and 15) for securing a headset to a user’s head.
Second of all, it is not new in the related art using an adjustable knob for securing a headset to a user’s head. Chen, for instance, teaches in Figs. 5-6 and last two sentences of [0035] a headset component comprises an adjustable knob (i.e., knob 24) to adjust lengths of straps 14 and 15 for securing a headset to a user’s head.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Zhu/Danielson with Chen’s teaching, using adjustable straps secured to the cushioning component of Park in view of Huergo Wagner and adding an adjustment knob for securing the wireless virtual reality headset device to a user’s head.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to further improve fit adjustment of the wireless virtual reality headset device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and Chen (US 2023/0236427), and further in view of Tao et al. (US 2021/0325631).
Regarding Park/Huergo Wagner/Zhu/Danielson/Chen do not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 12, wherein the headset component comprises a removable light shield component which provides for clear peripheral vision for safety while exercising with the wireless virtual reality headset device.
Tao, however, teaches in Fig. 14 and [0049] a headset component comprises a ring-shaped opaque light seal 90 configure to be removable.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Danielson/Chen with Tao’s technique.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to make it easy to provide for clear peripheral vision and replace a worn light seal.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Chen (US 2023/0236427), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and Baradyntsava et al. (US 2025/0018247), and further in view of Geisner et al. (US 2013/0083009).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches teaches a wireless virtual reality headset device (Abstract; FIG. 1: exercise device 100; Fig. 2: exercise system 200; Figs. 3-6: exercise device 100A/100B/100C/100D; [0025]: “The control unit 130 may be connected to an external server 10 via a communications module to communicate therewith in a wired/wireless manner”) that provides a user with a virtual reality device (Fig. 1: virtual reality device 120; Fig. 2: virtual reality devices 212 and 222; Figs. 3-6: virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D) for enhancing at-home workouts, the wireless virtual reality headset device comprising:
a headset component (Figs. 3-6: headset component of virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D) comprising a front facing side, a rear facing side, opposing side ends, and opposing top and bottom sides (Figs. 3-6: inherent front facing side, rear facing side, opposing side ends and opposing top and bottom sides of headset component of virtual reality device 120A/120B/120C/120D); and
wherein the rear facing side is configured to (Figs. 3-6), providing an immersive experience by blocking user's view of world outside of the wireless virtual reality headset device (Figs. 7-8: exemplary virtual reality environments 300 and 400; [0028]-[0030]; [0043]; [0046]; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]-[0058])
wherein the headset component includes a processing unit (Fig. 1: control unit 130; Fig. 2: control unit 230; [0029]: “The control unit 130 may control the virtual reality device 120 to operate in conjunction with the fitness device 110”; [0036]: “the first and second exercise devices 210 and 220 may also be controlled by separate control units 230”) which includes computing power used to operate the wireless virtual reality headset device;
wherein functionality of the processing unit may be integrated in software and hardware components of the wireless virtual reality headset device ([0029]-[0034]; []0036]-[0039]; [0044]-[0046]; [0055]; Figs. 9-10);
wherein the processing unit includes a wireless communication component ([0025]: “The control unit 130 may be connected to an external server 10 via a communications module to communicate therewith in a wired/wireless manner”)
wherein the headset component is configured to provide an immersive experience to enhance at-home workouts (Figs. 7-8; [0029]-[0030]; [0032]-[0034]; [0043]; [0048]-[0050]; [0054]-[0056]);
wherein the headset component comprises ([0031]: “The virtual reality device 120 may include at least one or more sensors connected to the body of a user. The sensor may detect biometric information, including a user's heart rate, pulse rate, blood pressure, and the like”)
further wherein the wireless virtual reality headset device comprises motivational features ([0032]; [0038]; [0049]-[0050];[0056]; [0062]; Figs. 7-8: scoreboard 340/440),
Park does not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device further comprising:
1) a cushioning component; wherein the headset component and the cushioning component are secured together and adapted to be placed on a user’s head;
2) wherein the headset component comprises adjustable straps secured to the cushioning component and an adjustment knob for securing the wireless virtual reality headset device to a user’s head;
3) wherein the rear facing side is configured to curve around a user’s eyes;
4) wherein the front facing side comprises pancake lenses;
5) wherein the processing unit includes a wireless communication component comprising an infrared communication device;
6) the plurality of health metrics further including speed, calories burned and distance traveled;
7) the plurality of motivation features including working out alongside virtual companions and earning awards for completing workouts at preset points.
All the differentiating features are not new, however.
As for differentiating feature 1), Huergo Wagner teaches a headset comprising a cushioning component (Figs. 1B-1C: first band 1-116 configured to wrap around the rear side of a user's head);
wherein the headset component and the cushioning component are secured together and adapted to be placed on a user’s head (Figs. 1B-1C; [0072]: “the first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 are formed of elastic, flexible materials including woven textiles, rubbers, and the like. The first and second bands 1-116, 1-117 can be flexible to conform to the shape of the user' head when donning the HMD 1-100”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s technique with Huergo Wagner’s technique adding a cushioning component to Park’s head-mounted virtual reality device to wrap around the read side of a user’s head to secure wearing of Park’s headset and also for achieving flexibility to conform to the shape of the user' head.
As for differentiating feature 2), First of all, it is not new in the related art using adjustable straps to secure a headset to a user’s head. Chen, for instance teaches a headset component comprises adjustable straps (Figs. 1, 5-6: left and right straps 14 and 15) for securing a headset to a user’s head.
Second of all, it is not new in the related art using an adjustable knob for securing a headset to a user’s head. Chen, for instance, teaches in Figs. 5-6 and last two sentences of [0035] a headset component comprises an adjustable knob (i.e., knob 24) to adjust lengths of straps 14 and 15 for securing a headset to a user’s head.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner with Chen’s teaching, using adjustable straps secured to the cushioning component of Park in view of Huergo Wagner and adding an adjustment knob for securing the wireless virtual reality headset device to a user’s head.
The motivation/suggestion would have been to further improve fit adjustment of the wireless virtual reality headset device.
As for differentiating feature 3), Huergo Wagner additionally teaches in Figs. 1B-1C and [0076] the rear facing side (i.e., light seal 1-110) is configured to curve around a user’s eyes.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to apply Huergo Wagner’s additional teaching to Park’s headset component to achieve good light blocking and better virtual environment displaying effect.
As for differentiating feature 4), Zhu teaches in Figs. 2-3 a head-mounted device comprises a front facing side comprises pancake lenses ([0075]: “the lens group 22 is a pancake (Pancake) lens group”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhu’s technique to Park’s technique in view of Huergo Wagner and Chen including pancake lenses to the front facing side of Park’s headset component to take advantage of inherent folded optical path arrangement of the pancake lenses to achieve a compact headset component.
As for differentiating feature 5), Danielson, for instance, teaches in [0036] wherein the processing unit includes a wireless communication component comprising an infrared communication device ([0036]: “Examples of wireless communication links can include a Bluetooth link, a Wi-Fi link, an infrared link, a radio frequency identification (RFID) link, and so forth”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to further modify the technique of Park in view of Huergo Wagner, Chen and Zhu with Danielson’s technique configuring Park’s wireless communication device to be a RFID device.
Because there are only two options for wireless communication devices, one ordinary skill in the art would try any of the options to optimize the result.
As for differentiating limitation 6), Baradyntsava teaches in Figs. 14-15 and [0129]-[0135] the plurality of health metrics further including speed (Fig. 14 and [0129]: “in interface 1400, athletic activity measures including, for example, a number of kilometer or miles covered, pace, calories burned, heart rate, amount of time, amount of force used (e.g., in weightlifting or step exercises), steps taken and/or combinations thereof may be displayed in a first portion 1405”; Examiner’s Note: pace and speed are inversely related to each other and thus reflect the same activity state), calories burned (Fig. 14 and [0129]: “in interface 1400, athletic activity measures including, for example, a number of kilometer or miles covered, pace, calories burned, heart rate, amount of time, amount of force used (e.g., in weightlifting or step exercises), steps taken and/or combinations thereof may be displayed in a first portion 1405”) and distance traveled (Fig. 14 and [0129]: “total distance covered may be displayed in a second portion 1420 of interface 1400”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Baradyntsava’s technique with the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson configuring Park’s headset to display speed, calories burned and distance traveled as timely feedback to a user of the wireless virtual reality headset device who is in a workout.
As for differentiating limitation 7), Geisner teaches the plurality of motivation features including working out alongside virtual companions ([0067]: “The personal A/V apparatus can make exercise more interesting, and more of a social event. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus serves as an exercise program that is always with the user, provides motivation for the user, visually tells the user how to exercise, and lets the user exercise with other people who are not present”; [0068]: “while the user is running, the personal A/V apparatus can show an avatar of another runner who is running the same course”; [0069]: “the personal A/V apparatus allows a user to virtually exercise with someone who is at another physical location. A digital representation of the other person (sometimes referred to as an avatar) can be displayed in the personal A/V apparatus so that it seems that the other person is running alongside of them. The two exercisers can even carry on a conversation”; [0295]-[0296]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava with Geisner’s technique enabling the method to perform workouts with remote users in both real and virtual locations to make exercise more interesting and more of a social event (Geisner: [0067]).
Geisner does not further teach the other part of differentiating limitation 7 ), i.e., “the plurality of motivation features further including “earning awards for completing workouts at preset points”.
Baradyntsava, however, additionally teaches motivation features including an earned award for completing a workout at a preset point (Fig. 15 and [0134]: “Upon completing a workout, a user may be presented with a post-workout activity point display, that may include activity points from the most recent activity or activities”; “a last workout point display 1515 may be provided in interface 1500 showing the final number of verified activity points attributed to the last workout”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Baradyntsava’s additional technique with the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner configuring Park’s headset to display an earned award for completing a workout at a preset point as timely feedback to a user of the wireless virtual reality headset device who is in a workout.
Regarding claim 15, Park does not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 14 further comprising a camera.
Huergo Wagner, however, additionally teaches in Fig. 1G and [0092] a headset device comprising a camera ([0092]: “In one example, the sensors can include cameras, IR sensors, LUX sensors, or any other visual or non-visual environmental sensors of the HMD device”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner with Huergo Wagner’s additional teaching including a camera to Park’s wireless virtual reality headset device to allow it to be used in other environments for providing visual environmental video to the user of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Park does not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 14 further comprising a microphone for speaking with each other while exercising together.
Huergo Wagner, however, additionally teaches in Fig. 2 and [0137] a headset device comprising a microphone ([0137]: “the one or more I/O devices 206 include at least one of a keyboard, a mouse, a touchpad, a joystick, one or more microphones”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to further modify the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner with Huergo Wagner’s additional teaching including a speaker, which can be used for speaking with each other while exercising together, to allow communication between a group of users.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Chen (US 2023/0236427), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and Baradyntsava et al. (US 2025/0018247) and Geisner et al. (US 2013/0083009)), and further in view of Boesen (US 2018/0124497).
Regarding claim 17, Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner do not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 14 further comprising at least one headphone jack for wireless headphones or earpieces.
Boesen, however, teaches in Fig. 2 and [0028] a headset device comprises at least one headphone jack for wireless headphones or earpieces ([0028]: “The wireless earpieces 102 communicate with the headset 110 utilizing the connectors or wirelessly” implies at least one headphone jack is present on the headset to achieve wireless communication between the wireless earpieces and the headset).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to include at least one headphone jack to the headset component of the wireless virtual reality headset device of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner for wireless headphones or earpieces to enhance user’s experience.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Chen (US 2023/0236427), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and Baradyntsava et al. (US 2025/0018247) and Geisner et al. (US 2013/0083009)), and further in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2023/0077446).
Regarding claim 18, Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner don not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 14 further comprising built-in speakers on each side of the headset component.
Ghosh, however, teaches in Fig. 3 a headset device comprising built-in speakers 370 on each side of the headset device.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Ghosh’s technique with the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner including built-in speakers 370 on each side of Park’s headset device to enhance user’s experience.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0259155) in view of Huergo Wagner et al. (US 2024/0153205), Chen (US 2023/0236427), Zhu et al. (US 2024/0171846), Danielson (US 2024/0062476) and Baradyntsava et al. (US 2025/0018247) and Geisner et al. (US 2013/0083009)), and further in view of Binder et al. (US 2023/0307926).
Regarding claim 19, Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner do not further teach the wireless virtual reality headset device of claim 14 further comprising a USBC charging port for charging the wireless virtual reality headset device, as needed.
However, it is not in the related art including a USBC charging port in a headset for charging the headset.
Binder, for instance, teaches in Fig. 4 and [0040] a charge connector 410, which can be a universal serial bus (USB) C 415 included in a HMD for charging the HMD.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been an obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to apply Binder’s teaching to the technique of Park/Huergo Wagner/Chen/Zhu/Danielson/Baradyntsava/Geisner including a USBC charging port to Park’s headset device to achieve quick charging available from USBC charging technique.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629