Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, in line 3, it is unclear what “the second through hole” of the multiple second through-holes corresponding to the “multiple second flanges” of line 2 the claim is referring to.
Similarly, in line 4, it is unclear what “the second flange” of the “multiple second flanges” of line 2 the claim is referring to.
For the purpose of this examination, the claim has been interpreted to mean, in lines 3-4:
--…each second through-hole penetrates from the front to the back of the respective second flange, multiple fasteners pass…--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2025/0389361, herein “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
a water-cooling device connection structure (figs. 1-5), comprising:
a water-cooling unit (cooling unit of electronic device 14) (fig. 1) [par. 0022], having an inlet (connected to connector 166) (fig. 1), an outlet (not disclosed, by required to complete the cooling cycle, known in the art), and a chamber (the pipeline inside the electronic device 14 is read as the chamber) connecting the inlet and the outlet (fig. 1) [par. 0022];
at least one connection unit (16), having a coupling component (160b plus 162 plus 166 plus 1660) and a mating component (160a plus 168 plus 1662 plus 1664) (figs. 2-5),
the coupling component (160b plus 162 plus 166 plus 1660) having a fixed base portion (160b plus 162) with an extended portion (166 plus 1660) extending outwardly from the front (at 162) of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) (seen in figs. 3-4), the extended portion (166 plus 1660) containing a first channel (the channel formed by portion 1660) (fig. 3), the external side of the extended portion (166 plus 1660) fitted with at least one leakage proofing portion (barbs seen in portion 1660, fig. 3), the extended portion (166 plus 1660) connecting to the inlet or outlet of the water-cooling unit (cooling unit of electronic device 14) through the leakage proofing portion (barbs of portion 1660) (figs. 1-5) [par. 0022],
the mating component (160a plus 168 plus 1662 plus 1664) having a receiving base portion (160a plus 168), the front of the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) connecting to the rear of the coupling component (160b plus 162 plus 166 plus 1660) (fig. 3), the rear of the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) extended outwardly with a fitting portion (1662 plus 1664), the fitting portion (1662 plus 1664) containing a second channel (the channel formed by portion 1662), and the second channel (the channel formed by portion 1662) connecting to the first channel (figs. 2-5) [paragraph 0022]; and
at least one pipe (12 plus 120) (figs. 1-2), having a connecting end (120), the connecting end (120) fitted into the second channel (the channel formed by portion 1662) of the mating component (160a plus 168 plus 1662 plus 1664) and combined within the first channel (the channel of the portion 1660) of the coupling component (160b plus 162 plus 166 plus 1660), thereby connecting the chamber of the water-cooling unit (cooling unit of electronic device 14) with the pipe (12 plus 120) (seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses:
the extended portion (1660) of the coupling component (160b plus 162 plus 166 plus 1660) being tightly fitted into the water-cooling unit (cooling unit of electronic device 14) via the leakage proofing portion (barbs seen in portion 1660, fig. 3) (known in the art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses:
the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) having multiple first connecting sections that are arranged outwardly of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) that are opposite to each other (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, below), each first connecting section including a first through-hole (for fasteners 170) that penetrates from the front to the back of the first connecting section (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, below).
Lee discloses the invention as claimed, except for the multiple first connecting sections (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, below) being in the form of flanges that are extended outwardly from two external sides of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162).
However, Lee discloses that other fixing manners between the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) may be determined according to practical applications [par. 0018]. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the plate elements (160a and 160b) of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) with flanges that are extended outwardly from two external sides of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168), since the design of the corners of plates (160a and 160b) does not change their function, and applicant has not disclosed that having flanges that are extended outwardly from two external sides of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well having the corners of plates (160a and 160b) where the through-holes for fasteners (170) are located being arranged in other forms, according to the user’s needs and/or practical applications. Further, it has been held that changing the shape of an old device is a matter of design choice which involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04, section IV, part A.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses:
the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) having multiple second connecting sections, each with a second through-hole (for fasteners 170), each second through-hole penetrates from the front to the back of the respective second connecting section (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, page 4), multiple fasteners (170) pass through the second through-holes of the second connecting sections and into the first through-holes of the first connecting sections to secure the second connecting sections and the first connecting sections (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, page 4).
Lee discloses the invention as claimed, except for the multiple second connecting sections (see annotated fig. 3-LEE, page 4) being in the form of flanges.
However, Lee discloses that other fixing manners between the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) may be determined according to practical applications [par. 0018]. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the plate elements (160a and 160b) of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) with flanges that are extended outwardly from two external sides of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168), since the design of the corners of plates (160a and 160b) does not change their function, and applicant has not disclosed that having flanges that are extended outwardly from two external sides of the fixed base portion (160b plus 162) and the receiving base portion (160a plus 168) solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well having the corners of plates (160a and 160b) where the through-holes for fasteners (170) are located being arranged in other forms, according to the user’s needs and/or practical applications. Further, it has been held that changing the shape of an old device is a matter of design choice which involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04, section IV, part A.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Scartozzi (US 2006/0273588).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not disclose:
the connecting end (120) of the pipe (12 plus 120) and the fitting portion (1662 plus 1664) of the mating component (160a plus 168 plus 1662 plus 1664) being bonded together using an adhesive.
Scartozzi teaches that it is old and known in the art to couple connection ends (18) of pipes (12) with fitting portions (22) via any of a number of methods including friction fit, clips, clamps, a welded joint, and an adhesive bond [par. 0020] in order to provide a no-leak seal with such fittings.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into Lee the teachings of Scartozzi to have the connecting end (120) of the pipe (12 plus 120) and the fitting portion (1662 plus 1664) of the mating component (160a plus 168 plus 1662 plus 1664) being bonded together using an adhesive for the purpose of providing a no-leak seal between the pipe and the fitting. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). In the instant case, bonding the connecting end (120) of the pipe (12 plus 120) and the fitting portion (1662 plus 1664) would optimize leak prevention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Scartozzi, as it applies to claims 1 and 5, above, and further in view of Warke (US 2021/0212274).
Regarding claim 6, Lee does not disclose:
the inner diameter of the second channel gradually increasing from the front opening to the rear opening of the fitting portion, forming a conical channel.
Scartozzi teaches that it is old and known in the art to couple connection ends (18) of pipes (12) with fitting portions (22) via any of a number of methods including friction fit, clips, clamps, a welded joint, and an adhesive bond [par. 0020] in order to provide a no-leak seal with such fittings. In this regard, Warke teaches that fittings (10) comprising an inner diameter (Dd, Dp) gradually increasing from one end (12a) to an opposite end (12b) (figs. 1-1B) for the purpose of facilitating connection of a pipe (10) with the fitting (10) are old and known in the art [par. 0021-0022].
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into Lee the teachings of Scartozzi and Warke to have the inner diameter of the second channel gradually increasing from the front opening to the rear opening of the fitting portion, forming a conical channel, in order to facilitate placement and to provide a no-leak seal between the pipe and the fitting.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763