DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 18, the applicant did not describe a mechanism or components needed or mechanisms needed (mechanical, electrical or otherwise) in sufficient detail for a person of ordinary skill in the art for “a method for manufacturing a coolant fluid distribution ring element for a stator according to claim 17, by injection molding the coolant fluid distribution ring element”. And without the applicant disclosing such (manufacturing), how this can be achieved, one of ordinary skill in the art will not know how to make it without undue experimentation.
Regarding Claim 20, the applicant discloses an electric machine on a side of a vehicle in FIG. 1. In para [0039], the applicant discloses “… used for propulsion of the vehicle 200, i.e., it is part of a drive train of the vehicle 200. Accordingly, the vehicle 200 is an electric vehicle or a hybrid vehicle. Even though the electric machine 100 can be implemented in a vehicle it shall be noted that the electric machine 100 as disclosed herein may also be used in any other application, including stationary machinery.” However, the stator assembly according to claim 1 is not described in sufficient detail for a person of ordinary skill in the art where the stator assembly is “part of a drive train of the vehicle 200” as described in the specification. The stator assembly according to claim 1 comprises several components. How are such components coupled “or part of the drive train”. And without the applicant disclosing such, how this can be achieved, one of ordinary skill in the art will not know how to make it without undue experimentation.
Claims 1-16 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 (similarly in Claims 16-17), the applicant recites in line 7 “a first coolant fluid distribution ring element provided at one of the end portions”. The applicant recites more than one end portion. What end portion(s) is provided to the ring element?
The applicant similarly in line 10 recites “wherein each cavity of the first set of cavities is fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel”. The applicant recites a plurality of coolant fluid channels. What coolant channel is fluidly connected to a set of cavities? Moreover, what set of cavities is the “each cavity?
The applicant similarly recites in line 18, “wherein each through hole of the first set of through holes.” What each through hole is the “first set of through holes”?
The applicant similarly recites in line “22-24, “wherein the first ring element fluid channel is fluidly connected to each cavity of the first set of cavities and fluidly separated from each through hole”. What each cavity is the “first set of cavities” and “each through hole”?
Other instances where “each and set” is recited appears to be unclear. Applicant is advised to revise the claims based on the examiner’s rejections above.
Claims 2-20 are rejected based on the dependency from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, the applicant recites “wherein at least one coolant fluid channel of the plurality of coolant fluid channels is at least partly located in a stator tooth of the plurality of stator teeth”. Does one or more or some or all of the coolant fluid channels is at least partially located in a stator tooth? If so, which fluid channel? Moreover, “at least partially” is unclear if is located or not in the stator tooth.
Regarding Claim 4, the applicant recites “wherein at least one cavity of the first set of cavities and/OR at least one through hole of the first set of through holes are/is at least partly located in a tooth portion of the plurality of tooth portions.” The claim is rejected similarly to claim 1 regarding the “at least one cavity”, “at least one through hole”, and “at least partially”.
Regarding Claim 5, the applicant recites “wherein at least one tooth portion of the plurality of tooth portions has a curved profile, as seen in a sectional plane of the tooth portion which is perpendicular to a radial direction of the tooth portion.” The claim is rejected similarly to claim 1 regarding the “at least one”.
Claim 6 is rejected based on the dependency from Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 7, the applicant recites, “wherein every second coolant fluid channel of the plurality of coolant fluid channels is a coolant fluid channel of the first set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels and wherein every other coolant fluid channel of the plurality of coolant fluid channels is a coolant fluid channel of the second set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels.” The claim is rejected similarly to claim 1 regarding the “every second coolant fluid channel”, “first set”, “second set”.
Regarding Claim 8, the applicant recites, “wherein at least one cavity of the first set of cavities has a maximum radial extension (RE) in a radial direction from the first ring element fluid channel towards or away from the center axis and a maximum tangential extension (TE) in a tangential direction, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction. The claim is rejected similarly to claim 1 regarding the “at least one”. Moreover, what is “a maximum radial extension” & “the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction”?.
Regarding Claim 9, the applicant recites “a maximum radial extension in a radial direction and a maximum tangential extension in a tangential direction, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction”. What is a maximum radial extension, a maximum tangential extension?
Claims 10-13 are rejected similarly for the recitations “at least one, first set” as in previous claims.
Regarding Claim 10, the applicant recites “wherein at least one through hole of the first set of through holes, on a first axial side of the first coolant fluid distribution ring element which is facing the stator, has a maximum radial extension in a radial direction and a maximum tangential extension in a tangential direction, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction.“ What is the maximum radial extension in a radial direction and a maximum tangential extension in a tangential direction?”
Regarding Claim 19, the applicant recites “an electric machine comprising a stator assembly according to claim 1 and a rotor which is arranged to rotate about the center axis.” Claim 1 recites an electric machine and a stator assembly. As recited, it is unclear if the recited electric machine and stator assembly are referred as the same elements or not. Moreover, is the rotor regarded as the electric machine and stator assembly according to claim 1 or to the electric machine and stator in claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, the applicant recites “a vehicle comprising a stator assembly according to claim 1, a coolant fluid distribution ring element and/or an electric machine.” Claim 1 recites a coolant fluid distribution ring element and/or an electric machine. As recited, it is unclear if the recited a coolant fluid distribution ring element and/or an electric machine are referred to as the same elements or not. Moreover, is the coolant fluid distribution ring element and/or an electric machine according to claim 1 or to the electric machine and stator in claim 20.
OTHER instances appear to be in the claims as rejected above. Applicant is advised to revise the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 15-17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersson (US 2022/0209594).
Regarding Claim 1, Andersson discloses (A) a stator assembly for an electric machine [The present description generally relates to cooling of electric motor stators and more specifically to semi-closed circuit stator cooling for electric machines] (¶ [0002]),
a) the stator assembly comprises a stator [102] which extends between two end portions [130, 132] along a center axis of the stator assembly [102], corresponding to a rotational axis [dotted line] of the electric machine (FIG. 3-4, 7, ¶ [0039]; there is additionally illustrated an outer cooling duct 120 and an inner cooling duct 122. It is noted that inner cooling duct 122 can, for instance, carry oil from a first end (e.g., a non-driving-end 130) to a second end (e.g., a driving-end 132)),
the stator [102] (FIG. 3-4, 7) comprising:
b) a plurality of coolant fluid channels [120, 122] integrated in the stator [102], distributed in a circumferential direction around the stator [102] and extending between the two end portions [120, 122] with openings [openings on each end of 120, 122] at each end portion [130, 132] (FIG. 3-4, 7, ¶ [0039]; there is additionally illustrated an outer cooling duct 120 and an inner cooling duct 122. It is noted that inner cooling duct 122 can, for instance, carry oil from a first end (e.g., a non-driving-end 130) to a second end (e.g., a driving-end 132). Similarly, an outer cooling duct 120 can carry oil from a driving-end 132 to a non-driving-end 130.),
the stator assembly [“A”] further comprising:
c) a first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] provided at one of the end portions [130] (FIG. 3-4, 7, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, the non-driving-end 130 and the driving-end 132 and can each comprise an endplate (e.g., endplate 136 located at a non-driving-end and/or endplate 138 located at a driving-end-see, e.g., FIGS. 7 and 16 which illustrate a transparent view of the endplate 136 and endplate 138, respectively)),
d) wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] comprises a first set of cavities [112] distributed in a circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] (FIG. 3, 7, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, endplates 136 and/or 138 can comprise geometries of the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112),
e) wherein each cavity of the first set of cavities [112] is fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel of a first set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels [120, 122] (FIG. 3, 7, ¶ [0041]; the stator body 134 can comprise the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112, drainage jacket 114, inner ducts 122, outer ducts 120, outlet jacket 124, outlet fingers 126, and/or oil drain 116),
f) wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] further comprises a first set of through holes [126] distributed in the circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element and extending therethrough in a direction along the center axis (FIG. 7, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, endplates 136 and/or 138 can comprise geometries of the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112, drainage jacket 114, inner ducts 122, outer ducts 120, outlet jacket 124, outlet fingers 126, and/or oil drain 116.),
g) wherein each through hole [126] of the first set of through holes is fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel [120] of a second set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels (FIG. 7, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, endplates 136 and/or 138 can comprise geometries of the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112, drainage jacket 114, inner ducts 122, outer ducts 120, outlet jacket 124, outlet fingers 126, and/or oil drain 116), and
h) wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] further comprises a first ring element fluid channel [114] which extends in the circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] (FIG. 4),
i) wherein the first ring element fluid channel [114] is fluidly connected to each cavity of the first set of cavities [112] and fluidly separated from each through hole [126] of the first set of through holes [126] (FIG. 4, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, endplates 136 and/or 138 can comprise geometries of the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112, drainage jacket 114, inner ducts 122, outer ducts 120, outlet jacket 124, outlet fingers 126, and/or oil drain 116).
Regarding Claim 2, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the stator [102] comprises a plurality of stator teeth [140], distributed in a circumferential direction around the stator [102] and protruding in a radial direction towards [as shown in FIG. 12] OR,
wherein at least one coolant fluid channel [120] of the plurality of coolant fluid channels [120, 122] is at least partly located in a stator tooth [as shown in FIG. 13] of the plurality of stator teeth [140] (FIG. 3-4, 7, 12-13, ¶ [0042]).
Regarding Claim 3, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] comprises a plurality of tooth portions [140] distributed in a circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] and protruding in a radial direction towards (FIG. 13-15) OR.
Regarding Claim 4, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 3 [see rejected Claim 3],
wherein at least one cavity of the first set of cavities [112] OR are/is at least partly located in a tooth portion of the plurality of tooth portions [140] (FIG. 7, 13-15).
Regarding Claim 8, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein at least one cavity of the first set of cavities [112] has a maximum radial extension (RE) in a radial direction from the first ring element fluid channel [114] towards (FIG. 7, 13-15) OR, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction (FIG. 7, 13-15, [0041]; In various embodiments, endplates 136 and/or 138 can comprise geometries of the oil inlet 108, inlet jacket 110, inlet fingers 112, drainage jacket 114, inner ducts 122, outer ducts 120, outlet jacket 124, outlet fingers 126, and/or oil drain 116).
Regarding Claim 9, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein at least one coolant fluid channel [120, 122] of the plurality of coolant fluid channels has a maximum radial extension in a radial direction and a maximum tangential extension in a tangential direction, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction (FIG. 7, 13-15, ¶ [0041]).
Regarding Claim 10, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein at least one through hole [126] of the first set of through holes, on a first axial side of the first coolant fluid distribution ring element which is facing the stator [102], has a maximum radial extension in a radial direction and a maximum tangential extension in a tangential direction, wherein the maximum radial extension in the radial direction is longer than the maximum tangential extension in the tangential direction (FIG. 7, 13-15, ¶ [0041]).
Regarding Claim 15, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element [136] is made of OR a non-magnetic metallic material (FIG. 3, [0038]; 136 can comprise an oil inlet and therefore “non-magnetic metallic material”).
Regarding Claim 16, Andersson discloses the stator assembly according to claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1], further comprising:
a second coolant fluid distribution ring element provided at the other one of the end portions (FIG. 3-4, 7, ¶ [0041]; In various embodiments, the non-driving-end 130 and the driving-end 132 and can each comprise an endplate (e.g., endplate 136 located at a non-driving-end and/or endplate 138 located at a driving-end-see, e.g., FIGS. 7 and 16 which illustrate a transparent view of the endplate 136 and endplate 138, respectively)),
wherein the second coolant fluid distribution ring element comprises a second set of cavities distributed in a circumferential direction around the second coolant fluid distribution ring element (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “d”),
wherein each cavity of the second set of cavities is fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel of the second set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “e”),
wherein the second coolant fluid distribution ring element further comprises a second set of through holes distributed in the circumferential direction around the second coolant fluid distribution ring element and extending therethrough in a direction along the center axis (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “f”),
wherein each through hole of the second set of through holes is fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel of the first set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “g”), and
wherein the second coolant fluid distribution ring element further comprises a second ring element fluid channel which extends in the circumferential direction around the second coolant fluid distribution ring element (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “h”),
wherein the second ring element fluid channel is fluidly connected to each cavity of the second set of cavities and fluidly separated from each through hole of the second set of through holes (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “i”).
Regarding Claim 17, Andersson discloses a coolant fluid distribution ring element for a stator of an electric machine (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “A” & a),
wherein the coolant fluid distribution ring element comprises a first set of cavities distributed in a circumferential direction around a first coolant fluid distribution ring element (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “d”),
wherein each cavity of the first set of cavities is arranged to be fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel of a first set of a plurality of coolant fluid channels of the stator (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “e”),
wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element further comprises a first set of through holes distributed in the circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element and extending therethrough in a direction along a center axis thereof (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “f”),
wherein each through hole of the first set of through holes is arranged to be fluidly connected to a respective coolant fluid channel of a second set of the plurality of coolant fluid channels of the stator (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “g”), and
wherein the first coolant fluid distribution ring element further comprises a first ring element fluid channel which extends in the circumferential direction around the first coolant fluid distribution ring element (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “h”),
wherein the first ring element fluid channel is fluidly connected to each cavity of the first set of cavities and fluidly separated from each through hole of the first set of through holes (refer to rejected Claim 1, element “i”).
Regarding Claim 19, Andersson discloses an electric machine comprising a stator assembly according to claim 1 (refer to rejected Claim 1 above) and a rotor [rotor] which is arranged to rotate about the center axis (¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 20, Andersson discloses a vehicle comprising a stator assembly according to claim 1 (refer to rejected Claim 1), OR an electric machine (¶ [0003]).
Conclusion
Claims 5-7, 11-14 & 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834