DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,202,232. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claim 1-20, the patented claims disclose the same machine direction oriented polymeric film as claimed in present application.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21-41 of copending Application No. 16599689 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding claim 1-20, the copending claims disclose the same machine direction oriented polymeric film as claimed in present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwab (US 2016/0115284).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8 and 14, Schwab discloses machine direction oriented polymeric film (0091) comprising a first layer A, i.e. first skin layer, comprising LLDPE (0017) and a nucleator such as HYPERFORM HPN-20E (0025, 0110, 0111), a layer B, i.e. core layer, comprising HDPE (0026), a second layer A, i.e. second skin layer, comprising LLDPE (0017) wherein the polymeric film has 45 degree gloss of 60 to 80 and haze of 5 to 14% (0034-0035). Given that the polymeric film of Schwab discloses the same polymeric film structure and the same composition as claimed, it is clear that the polymeric film of Schwab would inherently have the same properties as presently claim.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Schwab discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claims 1 and 8, wherein given that Schwab discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Schwab would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Schwab discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claims 1 and 8, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0 to 5 % by weight of the first skin layer (0025).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Schwab discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claims 1 and 8, wherein the second skin layer comprises a nucleator, i.e. second nucleating agent (0025, 0110, 0111).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Schwab discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claims 4 and 11, wherein given that Schwab discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Schwab would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Schwab discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 4 and 11, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0 to 5 % by weight of the second skin layer (0025).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalihari (US 2018/0281369).
Regarding claim 1, Kalihari discloses machine direction oriented polymeric film (title, 0056) a first outer layer, i.e. a first skin layer, comprising polyethylene resin (abstract and 0044) and nucleator such as HYPERFORM HPN-20E (0044), a core layer comprising a polyethylene (abstract) and a second outer layer, i.e. a second skin layer, comprising polyethylene (abstract). Given that Kalihari discloses the same machine direction oriented polymeric film including the same nucleator as presently claimed, it is clear that the polymeric film of Kalihari would inherently have the same properties as claim in present claim.
Regarding claim 2, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 1, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 1, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the first skin layer (0044).
Regarding claim 4, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 1, wherein the second skin layer comprises a nucleator, i.e. second nucleating agent (0044).
Regarding claim 5, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 4, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 6, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the second skin layer (0044).
Regarding claim 7, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 1, wherein the polyethylene of the first skin layer, the polyethylene of the core layer, and the polyethylene of the second skin layer are each independently selected from LDPE or LLDPE (0017, 0036, 0070).
Regarding claim 8, Kalihari discloses machine direction oriented polymeric film (title, 0056) a first outer layer, i.e. a first skin layer, comprising polyethylene resin such as MDPE or LDPE (abstract, 0036, 0070) and nucleator such as HYPERFORM HPN-20E (0044), a core layer comprising a polyethylene (abstract) and a second outer layer, i.e. a second skin layer, comprising polyethylene (abstract). Given that Kalihari discloses the same machine direction oriented polymeric film including the same nucleator as presently claimed, it is clear that the polymeric film of Kalihari would inherently have the same properties as claim in present claim.
Regarding claim 9, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 8, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 8, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the first skin layer (0044).
Regarding claim 11, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 8, wherein the second skin layer comprises a nucleator, i.e. second nucleating agent (0044).
Regarding claim 12, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 11, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 11, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the second skin layer (0044).
Regarding claim 14, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 1, wherein the polyethylene of the core layer, and the polyethylene of the second skin layer are each independently selected from LDPE or LLDPE (0017, 0036, 0070).
Regarding claim 15, Kalihari discloses machine direction oriented polymeric film (title, 0056) a first outer layer, i.e. a first skin layer, comprising polyethylene resin such as MDPE or LDPE (abstract, 0036, 0070) and nucleator such as HYPERFORM HPN-20E (0044), a core layer comprising a polyethylene (abstract) and a second outer layer, i.e. a second skin layer, comprising polyethylene (abstract). Kalihari further discloses that tie layers, i.e. first sub-skin layer and second sub-skin layer, can be positioned between the core layer and each outer layer wherein the first and second sub-skin layers comprise polyethylene (0015). Given that Kalihari discloses the same machine direction oriented polymeric film including the same nucleator as presently claimed, it is clear that the polymeric film of Kalihari would inherently have the same properties as claim in present claim.
Regarding claim 16, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 15, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 15, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the first skin layer (0044).
Regarding claim 18, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 15, wherein the second skin layer comprises a nucleator, i.e. second nucleating agent (0044).
Regarding claim 19, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 18, wherein given that Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 18, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0.001 to 5 % by weight of the second skin layer (0044).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavacas et al. (US 2016/0229158).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8 and 11, Cavacas discloses machine direction oriented film comprising a first outer layer, i.e. skin layer, comprising HDPE, i.e. polyethylene (paragraph 0077) and nucleating agent (paragraph 0084), a core layer comprising polyethylene (paragraph 0044) and second outer layer, second skin layer, comprises HDPE, i.e. polyethylene (paragraph 0077) and nucleating agent (paragraph 0084). Cavacas discloses the film is said to be at maximum extension when machine direction (MD) tensile strength has a less than 100% elongation at break under ASTM D-882, i.e. strain at break in a machine direction of less than about 300%, (paragraph 0097). Cavacas further discloses the haze of the multilayer is 4.4 and the gloss is 110 % (table 1, example 2). Given that the multilayer film of Cavacas is the same as presently claimed including the composition of the multilayer film, it is clear that the multilayer film of Cavacas would have the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 10 and 13, Cavacas discloses the film of claims 1 and 11, wherein the nucleating agent is used in minor amount, i.e. less than 50%, (0084).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Cavacas discloses machine direction oriented film AABAA (paragraph 0093) comprising a first outer layer, i.e. skin layer, comprising HDPE, i.e. polyethylene (paragraph 0077) and nucleating agent (paragraph 0084), a core layer comprising polyethylene (paragraph 0044), first sub skin layer interposed between the first skin layer and the core layer, the first sub skin layer comprising polyethylene (paragraphs 0093, 0077), second outer layer, second skin layer, comprises HDPE, i.e. polyethylene (paragraph 0077) and nucleating agent (paragraph 0084) and second sub skin layer interposed between the second skin layer and the core layer, the second sub skin layer comprising polyethylene (paragraphs 0093, 0077). Cavacas discloses the film is said to be at maximum extension when machine direction (MD) tensile strength has a less than 100% elongation at break under ASTM D-882, i.e. strain at break in a machine direction of less than about 300%, (paragraph 0097). Cavacas further discloses that the haze of the multilayer is 4.4 and the gloss is 110 % (table 1, example 2). Given that the multilayer film of Cavacas is the same as presently claimed including the composition of the multilayer film, it is clear that the multilayer film of Cavacas would have the same properties as claimed in present claims.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Cavacas discloses the film of claims 15 and 18, wherein the nucleating agent is used in minor amount, i.e. less than 50%, (0084).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab (US 2016/0115284) in view of Kalihari (US 2018/0281369).
Regarding claim 15, Schwab discloses machine direction oriented polymeric film (0091) comprising a first layer A, i.e. first skin layer, comprising LLDPE (0017) and a nucleator such as HYPERFORM HPN-20E (0025, 0110, 0111), a layer B, i.e. core layer, comprising HDPE (0026), a second layer A, i.e. second skin layer, comprising LLDPE (0017) wherein the polymeric film has 45 degree gloss of 60 to 80 and haze of 5 to 14% (0034-0035).
Schwab does not disclose first sub skin layer and second sub skin layer.
Kalihari discloses multilayer polyethylene films (title) wherein tie layers are used between the core layer and each outer layer (0015) to obtain improved adhesion between layers wherein the tie layers comprise polyethylene (0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the tie layers of Kalihari in the film of Schwab between the core layer and each outer layer to obtain improved adhesion between layers.
Given that the polymeric film of Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the same polymeric film structure and composition as claimed, it is clear that the polymeric film of Schwab in view of Kalihari would inherently have the same properties as presently claim.
Regarding claim 16, Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 15, wherein given that Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Schwab in view of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 15, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0 to 5 % by weight of the first skin layer (0025).
Regarding claim 18, Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 15, wherein the second skin layer comprises a nucleator, i.e. second nucleating agent (0025, 0110, 0111).
Regarding claim 19, Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film of claim 18, wherein given that Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the same nucleating agent as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the nucleating agent of Schwab in view of Kalihari would inherently have the same formula as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Schwab in view of Kalihari discloses the machine direction oriented polymeric film claim 18, wherein the nucleating agent comprises 0 to 5 % by weight of the second skin layer (0025).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787