DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species I, figures 1-3 and 8-9;
Species II, figures 4-7, and 16a-22;
Species III, figures 10-11;
Species IV, figures 12-15.
The species are independent or distinct because Species I is for a unit with four joints, Species II is for a unit with a spring element, Species III is for a unit with a pinned hinge, and Species IV is for a unit with internal locking and limiting mechanisms. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason applies: Species I-IV comprise different technical features that would each require different search consideration.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Elizabeth Richter on June 3, 2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Species I, claims 1-5, 7, and 15-18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6 and 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, regarding the three joints, “all of which are solid-body joints” is redundant as claim 15 already states that the at least three joints are solid-body joints. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (JP-2013132403-A).
Hashimoto discloses a chair utilizing elastic deformation to allow for movement.
Claim 1 – Hashimoto teaches a central unit (element 3 in figure 8) for a chair (element 1 in figure 8), comprising a multi-joint body that comprises:
a seat part (element 381 in figure 8) configured for connection to a seat (element 4 in figure 8),
a backrest part (element 371 in figure 8) configured for connection to a backrest (element 5 in figure 8),
a support part (element 31 in figure 8) configured for connection to a support of a base (element 22 in figure 8), and
a front part (element 34 in figure 8) arranged between the seat part and the support part (figure 8),
wherein the multi-joint body comprises at least three joints (element 112 at various locations, as well as element 382, in figure 8) which each connect two of the specified parts in an articulated manner (figure 8).
Claim 2 – Hashimoto teaches at least one of the joints is a solid-body joint (figure 8).
Claim 3 – Hashimoto teaches the at least one solid-body joint is formed in one piece with the parts connected by the at least one solid-body joint (figure 8).
Claim 4 – Hashimoto teaches the multi-joint body is formed in one piece (figure 8).
Claim 7 – Hashimoto teaches the front part is designed to be flexurally elastic (in figure 8, each of the element 112 joints includes an elastomer element 12, making the element 34 front part flexurally elastic).
Claim 15 – Hashimoto teaches the at least three joints are solid-body joints (figure 8).
Claim 18 – Hashimoto teaches a chair having the central unit (element 1 in figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (JP--2013132403-A) in view of Ludwig (WO-2016168185-A1).
Claim 5 – Hashimoto does not teach the material composition of the multi-joint body. Ludwig teaches the multi-joint body (elements 22 and 26 in figure 2) is made of plastics material (in paragraph [0074], when discussing potential suitable materials for the multi-joint body, elements 22 and 26, Ludwig states “other suitable materials may also be utilized, such as metals…; or composite material including plastics”). Ludwig teaches that, at the time of invention, plastic was a material known to the art as suitable for the construction of the multi-joint body. A specific material for the multi-joint body of Hashimoto is not disclosed, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hashimoto with the plastic material taught by Ludwig since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (JP-2013132403-A) alone.
Claims 16 and 17 – Hashimoto teaches all of the joints are solid-body joints (figure 8), and that the front part is flexurally elastic (in figure 8, each of the element 112 joints includes an elastomer element 12, making the element 34 front part flexurally elastic). Hashimoto does not teach the at least three joints consist of exactly three joints, and Hashimoto does not teach the at least three joints consist of exactly four joints.
Hashimoto teaches more than three joints in figure 8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the multi-joint body with exactly three joints, or exactly 4 joints, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same function as before involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636