DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
As noted in the office action of 6/12/2026, applicant made a provisional election with traverse. However, as applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement in the response of 8/7/2026, the election has been treated as an election without traverse.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (JP-2013132403-A).
Hashimoto discloses a chair utilizing elastic deformation to allow for movement.
Claim 1 – Hashimoto teaches a central unit (element 3 in figure 11) for a chair, comprising a multi-joint body (figure 11) that comprises:
a seat part (element 38 in figure 11) configured for connection to a seat (element 4 in figure 11),
a backrest part (element 371 in figure 11) configured for connection to a backrest (figure 11),
a support part (element 31 in figure 11) configured for connection to a support of a base (element 22 in figure 11), and
a front part (element 11 in figure 11) arranged between the seat part and the support part (figure 11),
wherein the multi-joint body comprises at least three joints (element 112 at various locations in figure 11) which each connect two of the specified parts in an articulated manner (figure 11),
Image 1
wherein the at least three joints consist of exactly three joints (element 112, each boxed in Image 1 above, are the “exactly three joints”. The element 112 that is circled in Image 1 above is the “elastic deformation region” aspect of the front part, not a joint), and wherein the front part is flexurally elastic (in paragraph [0025] of the translation, the front “part 11 having an elastic deformation region that elastically deforms”).
Claim 2 – Hashimoto teaches at least one of the joints is a solid-body joint (each joint in figure 11 of Hashimoto is a solid-joint as the entire multi-joint body is formed in one piece).
Claim 3 – Hashimoto teaches the at least one solid-body joint is formed in one piece with the parts connected by the at least one solid-body joint (each joint in figure 11 of Hashimoto is a solid-joint as the entire multi-joint body is formed in one piece).
Claim 4 – Hashimoto teaches the multi-joint body is formed in one piece (in figure 11 of Hashimoto the entire multi-joint body is formed in one piece).
Claim 15 – Hashimoto teaches the at least three joints are solid-body joints (each joint in figure 11 of Hashimoto is a solid-joint as the entire multi-joint body is formed in one piece).
Claim 18 – Hashimoto teaches a chair having the central unit according to claim 1 (in paragraph [0001], “this invention relates to a chair”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (JP-2013132403-A) in view of Ludwig (WO-2016168185-A1).
Ludwig discloses a seating arrangement.
Claim 5 – Hashimoto does not teach the material composition of the multi-joint body. Ludwig teaches the multi-joint body (elements 22 and 26 in figure 2) is made of plastics material (in paragraph [0074], when discussing potential suitable materials for the multi-joint body, elements 22 and 26, Ludwig states “other suitable materials may also be utilized, such as metals…; or composite material including plastics”).
Ludwig teaches that, at the time of invention, plastic was a material known to the art as suitable for the construction of the multi-joint body. A specific material for the multi-joint body of Hashimoto is not disclosed, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hashimoto with the plastic material taught by Ludwig since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the remarks, the applicant argues that Hashimoto does not teach a “flexurally elastic front part”, but that the “front link 34” is formed from hard synthetic resin. Applicant mentions, at the bottom of page 6 and continues on page 7 of the remarks, that Hashimoto teaches the hard portion 11 elastically deforms in paragraph [0025], and that Hashimoto teaches one of the 112 elements is considered part of the hard portion 11 as an “elastic deformation region”. Therefore, Hashimoto teaches, in figure 11, there are exactly three joints 112 (boxed in Image 1 above), and one elastic deformation region 112 (circled in image 1 above) which is part of the front part 11, making the front part flexurally elastic.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636