DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,291,297 and claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,269,547. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structural limitations of the adjustable seat post of a bicycle is claimed in the issued patent as in the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claimed subject matter, “at least one opening substantially orthogonal to the central opening” is not disclosed in the specification or shown in the drawings. Appropriate correction is required. It is unclear what the opening is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David Watson U.S. Patent Publication 2021/003185 A1 (Watson).
Regarding claim 1, Watson discloses a height adjustable seat post for a bicycle, the height adjustable seat post comprising: an upper tube and a lower tube (Figure 4 Element 12 20) configured in a telescopic arrangement ([0105]), the lower tube to be coupled to a frame of the bicycle, the upper tube to be coupled to a seat; and an end cap, the end cap comprising: a body disposed partially in the lower tube and extending outward from a lower end of the lower tube; and a cover threaded onto the body ([0106]).
Regarding claim 2, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post wherein the body comprises a central opening between lower tube and the cover (Figure 7 Element 25, 29 has a central opening).
Regarding claim 3, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post wherein the body comprises at least one opening substantially orthogonal to the central opening (threaded sides along the body are positioned orthogonal).
Regarding claim 4, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post wherein the body wherein the body is non-rotatably secured to the lower end of the lower tube such that the cover is threadably rotatable relative to the body and the lower tube (Figure 7, [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post further comprising a shaft extending through the lower tube, wherein the shaft is coupled to the end cap (Element 71).
Regarding claim 14, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post wherein the cover abuts the lower tube in an assembled state (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 15, Watson discloses a height adjustable seat post for a bicycle, the height adjustable seat post comprising: an upper tube and a lower tube configured in a telescopic arrangement, the lower tube to be coupled to a frame of the bicycle, the upper tube to be coupled to a seat; and an end cap, the end cap comprising: a body disposed partially in the lower tube and extending outward from a lower end of the lower tube; and a cover abutting the lower end of the lower tube in an assembled state (Figure 1-7 [0105-0106]).
Regarding claim 16 and 18, Watson discloses the height adjustable seat post wherein the cover is threaded onto the body (Figure 7 [0106]); wherein the cover has a reduced diameter relative to lower end of the lower tube (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 19, Watson discloses a height adjustable seat post for a bicycle, the height adjustable seat post comprising: an upper tube and a lower tube configured in a telescopic arrangement, the lower tube to be coupled to a frame of the bicycle, the upper tube to be coupled to a seat; at least one seal between the upper tube and the lower tube; an end cap comprising: a body disposed partially in the lower tube and extending outward from a lower end of the lower tube; and a cover abutting the lower end of the lower tube in an assembled state; and a pressure control chamber defined between the at least one seal and the end cap, the pressure control chamber vented to atmosphere (Figure 1-7 [0105-0106], 0135]); wherein the cover is threaded onto the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636