DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13, 15 & 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Line 10-11 currently states:
“electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool so as to cause the first motor to obtain energy.”.
Should be changed to state:
--electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool so as to cause the second motor to obtain energy.--.
Claim 17 Line 6 currently states:
“working assembly being disposed in the switch box”.
Should be changed to state:
--working assembly being disposed in the switch box;--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of Patel US 2008/0152482.
Regarding Claim 16: Osborne US 2004/0135373 discloses the limitations: a walk-behind power tool (lawn mower 20, ¶0030) comprising a body (21, ¶0030, Fig 1A) configured to be mounted with a working assembly (working assembly = 32,36, ¶0041, Fig 2A, mounted as seen in the Figures) and a handle device (24, ¶0030, mounted as seen in the Figures) for a user to hold (¶0030, Fig 1A) connected to the body (¶0030, Fig 1A), comprising: one end of the handle device away from the body (one end of the handle device = U-shaped portion at the top end of element 24 in Fig 1A); and a receptacle (46,50, Fig 1B, ¶0036, ¶0054) configured to be electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool (the receptacle allows a consumer to access electrical power generated by the mower walk-behind power tool – thus it is inherently electrically connected to the device, Fig 1B, ¶0053-¶0054, Fig 1B, Figs 3-4A). Additionally, while Osborne US 2004/0135373 states that the receptacle (46,50) can be used to power electrical accessories (¶0053-¶0054), Osborne US 2004/0135373 is silent regarding the limitations: a blowing device comprising a connecting portion configured to be detachably connected; a first motor driving at least fan blades to rotate to generate an airflow; and a charging portion configured to be electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool so as to cause the first motor to obtain energy. The prior art of Patel US 2008/0152482 which is directed to a portable fan, is noted.
However, Patel US 2008/0152482 does disclose the limitations: a blowing device (the blowing device is defined by the sum of its parts and includes the clip fan 10 generally shown in Fig 7 & Fig 9, and also includes the transformer charger 72, cable 30, and battery pack 64 shown in Fig 10, ¶0096-¶0099) comprising a connecting portion (connecting portion = base clip 26, ¶0096) configured to be detachably connected (the base clip 26 is able to be detachably connected to an object, ¶0026, Fig 7); a first motor (66, ¶0098) driving at least fan blades (68, ¶0098-¶0099, Figs 7-10) to rotate to generate an airflow (¶0017, Fig 1); and a charging portion (72,20,64,¶0099, Fig 10) configured to be electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool so as to cause the first motor to obtain energy (in the combination, since the power tool of Osborne has receptacle (46,50) – when the charging portion (which includes plug 72) is plugged into the receptacle of Osborne, the battery of the fan will charge and thereby allow the first motor of the fan to obtain energy as claimed).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the one end of the handle away from the user & the receptacle (46,50) of Osborne US 2004/0135373 with the clip fan, cable 20, and transformer type charger 72 of Patel US 2008/0152482 in order to cool the user with the fan (Fig 1, ¶0090).
Annotated Figure 1B of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure A).
Regarding Claim 17: Osborne US 2004/0135373 discloses the limitations: A walk-behind power tool (lawn mower 20, ¶0030), comprising:
a body (body = deck 21, ¶0030, Fig 1A) configured to be mounted with a working assembly (working assembly = mower blade 36, ¶0041; mower blade 36 is inherently rotatably mounted to mower deck 21);
a handle device (24, ¶0030) for a user to hold (¶0030, Fig 1A) connected to the body (¶0030, Fig 1A);
an energy source (energy source = generator 34, engine 32, and battery 242, ¶0036, ¶0041, ¶0048, ¶0059) providing energy (i.e. power to both the mowing blade and the accessory as described in ¶0048) for at least a movement (i.e. rotation of the mowing blade 36) of the working assembly (¶0041, ¶0048); and
a switch box (switch box = 50,250; it is understood that when the mower includes interface circuitry 250 described in ¶0059 – the interface circuitry is located in the same manner as interface circuitry 50 in Fig 1B, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0059; additionally interface circuitry 250 is understood to be a switch box – (since the word switch is defined as: a change or shift from one thing to another), and it is able to change the power from 120VAC at 252 to 12VDC at outlet 256 (¶0059), also as seen in Fig 1B & Fig 4C the interface circuitry 50/250 has a box shape), an electronic element (electronic element = wiring (Fig 4C) and speed regulation system integrated with the interface circuitry as suggested at the end of ¶0040) configured to control the working state of the working assembly (i.e. control the speed/working state of the blade 36 so it rotates as fast as possible when mowing - ¶0040) being disposed in the switch box (i.e. being disposed/integrated in the interface circuitry, ¶0040 which is located in 250, ¶0059, Fig 4C );
a power supply portion (256,lower receptacle 46 in Fig 1B - it is understood that when the interface circuitry 250 is used in place of the interface circuitry 50 show in Fig 1B & Fig 3, the accessory would be plugged into the accessory port 256 - which would be where element 46 is in Fig 1B, since the accessory port 256 is shown as being at the bottom half of interface circuitry in Fig 4C) disposed on the switch box (as seen in Fig 4C & Fig 1B) configured to be electrically connected to the energy source (i.e. electrically connected to the generator 34 of the energy source via 252,274,272, ¶0059) and an accessory (accessory = i.e. device electrically connected to 256,46 as suggested at ¶0048) so that the energy source provides energy for the accessory (¶0048, ¶0059); and a bottom side of the switch box (= where the receptacle 46 is located in Annotated Figure 1B of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure A) above, the receptacle 46 is located at a bottom side of the switch box).
Osborne US 2004/0135373 is silent regarding the limitations: the accessory, wherein the accessory is detachably mounted. The prior art of Patel US 2008/0152482 which is directed to a portable fan, is noted.
However, Patel US 2008/0152482 does disclose the limitations: the accessory (the accessory = clip fan 10, having battery pack 64 and base clip illustrated in Figs 7 & 9-10), wherein the accessory is detachably mounted (the clip fan can be detachably mounted to an object (like part of the handle of the lawnmower of Osbore) via base clip 26, ¶0094, Fig 5, and can be detachably electrically connected via jacks 30 to a port of a power source (e.g. like how cable 20 is coupled to charger 72 via a jack 30 in Fig 10, ¶0099).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handle device and to configure the power supply portion (256,46) of Osborne US 2004/0135373 with the accessory (the accessory = clip fan 10, having battery pack 64 and base clip illustrated in Figs 7 & 9-10) and to be compatible with the cable jacks 30 and cable 20, of Patel US 2008/0152482 in order to cool the user with the accessory, when the user operates the lawnmower.
Regarding Claim 18: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by Patel US 2008/0152482 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 17. Further Patel US 2008/0152482 does disclose the limitations: wherein the accessory comprises a blowing device (Fig 1, the accessory is a fan – a blowing device).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of Grigoryants US 2014/0042970.
Regarding Claim 17: Osborne US 2004/0135373 discloses the limitations: A walk-behind power tool (lawn mower 20, ¶0030), comprising:
a body (body = deck 21, ¶0030, Fig 1A) configured to be mounted with a working assembly (working assembly = mower blade 36, ¶0041; mower blade 36 is inherently rotatably mounted to mower deck 21);
a handle device (24, ¶0030) for a user to hold (¶0030, Fig 1A) connected to the body (¶0030, Fig 1A);
an energy source (energy source = generator 34, engine 32, and battery 242, ¶0036, ¶0041, ¶0048, ¶0059) providing energy (i.e. power to both the mowing blade and the accessory as described in ¶0048) for at least a movement (i.e. rotation of the mowing blade 36) of the working assembly (¶0041, ¶0048); and
a switch box (switch box = 50,250; it is understood that when the mower includes interface circuitry 250 described in ¶0059 – the interface circuitry is located in the same manner as interface circuitry 50 in Fig 1B, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0059; additionally interface circuitry 250 is understood to be a switch box – (since the word switch is defined as: a change or shift from one thing to another), and it is able to change the power from 120VAC at 252 to 12VDC at outlet 256 (¶0059), & as seen in Fig 1B & Fig 4C the interface circuitry 50/250 has a box shape), an electronic element (electronic element = wiring (Fig 4C) and speed regulation system integrated with the interface circuitry as suggested at the end of ¶0040) configured to control the working state of the working assembly (i.e. control the speed/working state of the blade 36 so it rotates as fast as possible when mowing - ¶0040) being disposed in the switch box (i.e. being disposed/integrated in the interface circuitry, ¶0040 which is located in 250, ¶0059, Fig 4C );
a power supply portion (256,lower receptacle 46 in Fig 1B - it is understood that when the interface circuitry 250 is used in place of the interface circuitry 50 show in Fig 1B & Fig 3, the accessory would be plugged into the accessory port 256 - which would be where element 46 is in Fig 1B, since the accessory port 256 is shown as being at the bottom half of interface circuitry in Fig 4C) disposed on the switch box (as seen in Fig 4C & Fig 1B) configured to be electrically connected to the energy source (i.e. electrically connected to the generator 34 of the energy source via 252,274,272, ¶0059) and an accessory (accessory = i.e. device electrically connected to 256,46 as suggested at ¶0048) so that the energy source provides energy for the accessory (¶0048, ¶0059); and a bottom side of the switch box (= where the receptacle 46 is located in Annotated Figure 1B of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure A) above, the receptacle 46 is located at a bottom side of the switch box as claimed).
Osborne US 2004/0135373 is silent regarding the limitations: the accessory, wherein the accessory is detachably mounted. The prior art of Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 which is directed to a portable phone is noted.
However, Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 does disclose the limitations: the accessory (the accessory = mobile phone 302, Fig 3), wherein the accessory is detachably mounted (mobile phone 302 can be detachably electrically connected via cable 306, USB plug 304 to integrated charger system 102, ¶0031, Fig 3).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the power supply portion (256,46) of Osborne US 2004/0135373 to use the integrated charger system 102, USB charger cable 306 and mobile phone 302 of Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 in order to be able to charge the users phone 302 while mowing (Osborne - ¶0048).
Regarding Claim 18: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 17. Further Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 does disclose the limitations: wherein the accessory comprises a mobile phone (302 in Fig 3 of Grigoryants is a mobile phone).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of evidence by Understanding USB pinout (hereafter USB pinout).
Regarding Claim 19: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by Grigoryants US 2014/0042970 discloses: wherein the power supply portion (Osborne – 256,46 | Grigoryants - 102) comprises a universal serial bus (USB) interface, and the USB interface comprises a type-A interface (Grigoryants - USB interface = integrated charger system 102 having outlet receptacle 212,¶0030-¶0031, Figs 2-3; additionally the evidence of USB pinout – demonstrates on Page 1 and Page 2 that the rectangular shaped port 212 of Grigoryants is a USB type A port).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of Rohmer US 2017/0025886.
Regarding Claim 17: Osborne US 2004/0135373 discloses the limitations: A walk-behind power tool (lawn mower 20, ¶0030), comprising:
a body (body = deck 21, ¶0030, Fig 1A) configured to be mounted with a working assembly (working assembly = mower blade 36, ¶0041; mower blade 36 is inherently rotatably mounted to mower deck 21);
a handle device (24, ¶0030) for a user to hold (¶0030, Fig 1A) connected to the body (¶0030, Fig 1A);
an energy source (energy source = generator 34, engine 32, ¶0036, ¶0041, ¶0048, ¶0058) providing energy (i.e. power to both the mowing blade and the accessory as described in ¶0048) for at least a movement (i.e. rotation of the mowing blade 36) of the working assembly (¶0041, ¶0048); and
a switch box (switch box = 50,150; it is understood that when the mower includes interface circuitry 150 described in ¶0058 – the interface circuitry is located in the same manner as interface circuitry 50 in Fig 1B, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0058; additionally interface circuitry 150 is understood to be a switch box – (since the word switch is defined as: a change or shift from one thing to another), and it is able to change a path of electricity so that it travels to port 154 and/or 156 (¶0058), also as seen in Fig 1B & Fig 4B the interface circuitry 50/150 has a box shape), an electronic element (electronic element = wiring (Fig 4B) and speed regulation system integrated with the interface circuitry as suggested at the end of ¶0040) configured to control the working state of the working assembly (i.e. control the speed/working state of the blade 36 so it rotates as fast as possible when mowing - ¶0040) being disposed in the switch box (i.e. being disposed/integrated in the interface circuitry, ¶0040 which is located in 150, ¶0058, Fig 4B);
a power supply portion (154,156, receptacles 46 in Fig 1B - it is understood that when the interface circuitry 150 is used in place of the interface circuitry 50 show in Fig 1B & Fig 3, the accessory would be plugged into the accessory port 156 - which would be where element 46 is in Fig 1B, since the accessory port 156 is shown as being at the bottom half of interface circuitry in Fig 4B) disposed on the switch box (as seen in Fig 4B & Fig 1B) configured to be electrically connected to the energy source (i.e. electrically connected to the generator 34 of the energy source via 152, ¶0058) and an accessory (accessory = i.e. device electrically connected to 156,46 as suggested at ¶0048) so that the energy source provides energy for the accessory (¶0048, ¶0058); and a bottom side of the switch box (= where the receptacle 46 is located in Annotated Figure 1B of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure A) above, the receptacle 46 is located at a bottom side of the switch box as claimed).
Osborne US 2004/0135373 is silent regarding the limitations: the accessory, wherein the accessory is detachably mounted. The prior art of Rohmer US 2017/0025886 which is directed to a wireless charger for a mobile phone is noted.
However, Rohmer US 2017/0025886 does disclose the limitations: the accessory (the accessory = cell phone 1, Fig 33C, Figs 33A-33E, ¶0241), wherein the accessory is detachably mounted (cell phone 1 is detachably connected (¶0242) to the external structure 300-4,70 of the power supply portion 100,10,300,20 (¶0237-¶0239) by cradle 70; and cradle 70 is mounted to a bottom portion 70-2 of the front cover 300-4 (¶0239)).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the power supply portion (256,46) of Osborne US 2004/0135373 with the power supply portion (100,10,300,20) of Rohmer US 2017/0025886 in order to be able to charge the users cell phone 1 (Rohmer - ¶0241) while mowing (Osborne - ¶0048).
Regarding Claim 18: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by Rohmer US 2017/0025886 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 17. Further Rohmer US 2017/0025886 does disclose the limitations: wherein the accessory comprises a mobile phone (1 in Fig 33C of Rohmer is a cell phone, ¶0241).
Regarding Claim 20: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by Rohmer US 2017/0025886 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 17. Further Rohmer US 2017/0025886 does disclose the limitations: further comprising an inductive charging mechanism (20-10-1,10-10-2, ¶0238, ¶0245-¶0246, Figs 33A-34) configured to implement wireless charging between the power supply portion and the accessory (the power supply portion includes the two primary coils 20-10-1,10-10-2 (¶0238, ¶0245-¶0246) which allow wireless charging of the accessory/cell phone).
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of CN 108252941 and evidence by Mower Mods. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of CN 108252941, submitted with this office action, is referenced hereinafter. Additionally, the evidence of Mower Mods, was cited by Applicant in the IDS filed on 09/29/2025 – which states that the Mower Mods document has a publish date of 08/29/2023.
Regarding Claim 1: Osborne US 2004/0135373 discloses the limitations: A walk-behind power tool (lawn mower 20, ¶0030), comprising:
a body (body = deck 21, ¶0030, Fig 1A) configured to be mounted with a working assembly (working assembly = mower blade 36 and electric motor driving the mower blade as described in ¶0045, ¶0041; mower blade 36 is inherently rotatably mounted to mower deck 21), the working assembly comprising a cutter (mower blade 36) and a first motor (electric motor driving the mower blade as described in ¶0045) driving the cutter to rotate so as to implement a mowing function (¶0045);
a handle device (24, ¶0030) for a user to hold (¶0030, Fig 1A) connected to the body (¶0030, Fig 1A);
an energy source (energy source = generator 34, engine 32, ¶0036, ¶0041, ¶0048, ¶0058) providing energy (i.e. power to both the mowing blade and the accessory as described in ¶0048 & ¶0045) for at least a movement of the working assembly (i.e. for rotational movement of the motor and blade of the working assembly, ¶0048 & ¶0045). Additionally, Osborne US 2004/0135373 teaches that the interface circuitry (50,150) can be used to provide power generated by the generator to accessories (¶0036, ¶0045, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0058), where the accessories can be the first motor which drives the cutter (¶0045), and an electric device used by the consumer which is plugged into receptacle 46, such as a fan (¶0054). Osborne US 2004/0135373 is silent regarding the limitations: a blowing device comprising a connecting portion configured to be detachably connected to the handle device, a second motor driving at least fan blades to rotate to generate an airflow directed toward the user, and a charging portion configured to be electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool so as to cause the second motor to obtain energy. The prior art of CN 201810095725 which is directed to a portable fan, is noted.
However, CN 201810095725 does disclose the limitations: a blowing device (blowing device = fan illustrated in Fig 1) comprising a connecting portion (connecting portion = clamp structure 1, Figs 1-2) configured to be (i.e. capable of being) detachably connected to the handle device (in the combination of prior art the clamp 1 of CN ‘725 would be capable of being detectably connected to the handle device of Osborne, so that the blowing device of CN ‘725 would be pointed at the user), a second motor (second motor = brushless motor in housing 2, Line 143) driving at least fan blades (i.e. fan blades of the fan, Line 183-184, Line 145-147) to rotate to generate an airflow (as known in the art) directed toward the user (in the combination the airflow would inherently be directed to the user in order to provide cooling relief to the users sweaty face – see evidence of Mower Mods NPL (provided by Applicant in IDS filed on 09/29/2025)), and a charging portion (43 & standard micro USB/USB type-C Android phone cable & wall charger having one end plugged into a wall outlet and the other end plugged into 43, Line 230-242, Line 151-167 – since the disclosure states that the fan can be charged with the charging wire of the Android mobile phone, it suggests using such an Android mobile phone charger to charge/provide power to the fan) configured to be electrically connected to the walk-behind power tool (in the combination of prior art the wall charger end of the Android mobile phone charger would be plugged into receptacle 46 of Osborne – to electrically connect the fan of CN ‘725 to the lawnmower of Osborne) so as to cause the second motor to obtain energy (i.e. obtain energy from the receptacle 46 of Osborne via the Android mobile phone charger to the interface 43 of the fan of CN ‘725).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the handle device of Osborne US 2004/0135373 with the clamp fan of CN 201810095725, such that the fan is directed to blow towards the user as taught by Mower Mods NPL in order to of provide cooling relief to the users sweaty face (Mower Mods NPL – Page 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2: CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the blowing device further comprises a blowing housing (2,22,21, Line 147-156), the fan blades are disposed in the blowing housing (in the fan of CN ‘725 the fan blades are inherently disposed in the blower housing as claimed), and a blowing port (blowing port = circular outlet generally indicated by element 21 in Fig 1) is formed on the blowing housing (as seen in Fig 1) for the airflow to flow out (in the art of fans like that of CN ‘725 – it is well known that air flows out of the front of the housing (i.e. the circular blowing port), and would thus flow out the articulated blowing port of CN ‘725).
Regarding Claim 3: CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the charging portion comprises a universal serial bus (USB) interface (43, Fig 4) disposed on the blowing housing (i.e. disposed on back shell 22 of the housing, Line 162-173).
Regarding Claim 4: CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the USB interface comprises either a type-C interface (Line 162-173 suggests that 43 could be a type-C interface as claimed) or a micro-USB interface (Line 162-173 suggests that 43 could be a micro-USB interface as claimed).
Regarding Claim 5: CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the blowing housing (2,22,21) comprises a blowing surface (blowing surface = front circular surface generally indicated by element 21 in Fig 1) and a side surface (side surface = back side surface generally indicated by element 42 in Fig 4) that are located on different sides (they are, the blowing surface is located on a front side of the fan and the side surface is located on a back side of the fan), the blowing surface is formed with the blowing port (as seen in Fig 1), and the USB interface 43 is disposed on the side surface (as seen in Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 6: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 as evidenced by Mower Mods NPL discloses the claimed limitations except for: “wherein a voltage of the USB interface is greater than or equal to 4 V and less than or equal to 6 V”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to --design the USB interface to have a voltage that is greater than or equal to 4V and less than or equal to 6V--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the voltage of the USB interface being greater than or equal to 4 V and less than or equal to 6 V versus the design taught by Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that a voltage of the USB interface is greater than or equal to 4V and less than or equal to 6V and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0075 of the SPEC indicates that the voltage of the USB interface being greater than or equal to 4V and less than or equal to 6V, is just one option for the USB interface that can be chosen, so that electricity can communicate through the USB interface (e.g. like the USB interface 43 which allows power to pass there through to charge the fan (Line 238-242) taught by CN 201810095725). Thus, when the USB interface 43 is designed to have a voltage that is greater than or equal to 4V and less than or equal to 6V the USB interface 43 of Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of allowing electricity to communicate through the USB interface.
Regarding Claim 7: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the USB interface (CN – 43) is electrically connected to the energy source (Osborne – 34,32) through a wire (CN – wire = cord of the Android mobile phone charger; in the combination of prior art the phone charger would be plugged into the receptacle 46 of Osborne at one end and the USB interface on the other end to connect the fan of CN ‘725 to the energy source of Osborne).
Regarding Claim 12: CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the airflow generated by the fan blades is directed by the fan blades to flow out from the blowing port (in the art of fans like that of CN ‘725 – it is well known that air flows out of the front of the housing (i.e. the circular blowing port), thus the airflow generated by the fan blades would flow out the articulated blowing port of CN ‘725).
Annotated Figure 1 of CN 201810095725 (Attached Figure C)
Regarding Claim 13: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 discloses: the airflow generated by the fan blades flows out from an air outlet (air outlet = circular outlet generally indicated by element 21 in Fig 1, also see Annotated Figure 1 of CN 201810095725 (Attached Figure C) above) after passing through an air supply duct (air supply duct = opening through which fresh air is drawn through to reach the fan in Fig 1, Attached Figure C; fresh air would inherently have to first pass through the articulated air supply duct in order to be moved by the fan and flow to the identified air outlet – given the type of fan disclosed by CN ‘725).
Additionally Regarding Claim 13: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 as evidenced by Mower Mods NPL discloses the claimed limitations except for: “the blowing device is configured as a bladeless fan”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to --design the fan of CN ‘725 to be configured as a bladeless fan--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the blowing device is configured as a bladeless fan versus the design taught by Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that the blowing device is configured as a bladeless fan and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0065 of the SPEC indicates that the fan is designed so that the air is discharged from the blowing port (e.g. like the fan of CN ‘725 which discharges the airflow out from the air outlet taught by CN 201810095725 and the evidence of Mower Mods NPL; it is noted that Mower Mods NPL suggests the air flow exits the front of the fan which faces the rear of the mower where the user would be located). Thus, when the fan is designed to be configured as a bladeless fan the fan of Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 as evidenced by Mower Mods NPL will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of discharging the air out from the blowing port.
Annotated Figure 1A of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure B).
Regarding Claim 15: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 discloses: wherein the handle device comprises two grips and a mounting portion (Osborne – see Annotated Figure 1A of Osborne US 2004/0135373 (Attached Figure B) above), the mounting portion is disposed between the two grips (Osborne – Attached Figure B), and the blowing device is disposed on the mounting portion (in the combination of prior art the fan/blowing device of CN ‘725 would be clamped on the mounting portion identified in Attached Figure B).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne US 2004/0135373 in view of CN 108252941 and evidence by Mower Mods as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Duke USPN 3212246.
Regarding Claim 11: Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 108252941 and evidence by Mower Mods discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 2. Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 201810095725 does not disclose the limitations: wherein at least one baffle is rotatably disposed at the blowing port to adjust an air outflow direction. The prior art of Duke USPN 3212246 which is directed to a lawn mower (title, Column 2 Line 33-40) having a fan to cool the operation like Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 108252941 and evidence by Mower Mods, is noted.
However Duke USPN 3212246 does disclose the limitations: wherein at least one baffle (40, Column 2 Line 1-17) is rotatably disposed at the blowing port (blowing port = outlet 34, Column 2 Line 7-10) to adjust an air outflow direction (Figs 1-3, Column 2 Line 7-10).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the rotating shutter 40 of Duke into the blowing port (circular outlet generally indicated by element 21 in Fig 1 of Osborne) of Osborne US 2004/0135373 as modified by CN 108252941 and evidence by Mower Mods, in light of the teachings of Duke USPN 3212246, in order to be able to adjust the direction that the air exits the outlet (Duke, Column 2 Line 4-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 8: The prior art of record either alone or in combination does not teach or suggest the device recited in claim 8 including “wherein the charging portion comprises an inductive charging mechanism at least partially disposed in the blowing housing” in combination with all the limitations of claims 1 & 2.
It is the Examiner’s opinion that modification of the available prior art in the claimed manner is neither contemplated nor foreseeable without the benefit of the disclosure of the instant invention. Accordingly, claims 9-10 are allowable based on their dependency on allowable claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Page 6 ¶3-Page 9 ¶3) with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746