DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure Statement contains strikethroughs, since no office actions have been posted in applications 18/983684, 18/983664 or 18/983690.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by EP 0006271.
Regarding claim 1, EP ‘271 teaches a granular detergent composition a first and second optical brightener, wherein the first optical brightener comprises a stilbene functional group (see brightener (2) in example VII) and a second optical brightener ((2) in example VII) which does not contain a stilbene group or SO3 group. The amounts of optical brightener (1) is 0.2 and the amount of optical brightener (2) is 0.04 which gives a ratio of 5:1, which is clearly within the range claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, EP ‘271 teaches that the optical brighteners can be at levels of up to 3% of the composition (page 15, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 5, EP ‘271 teaches the second optical brightener is bis(benzoxazole-2-yl)thiophene.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 9, Example VII of EP ‘271 teaches anionic surfactant sodium dodecyl benzene sulphonate and nonionic surfactants Dobanol 45-7 and tallow alcohol EO80 which are both fatty alcohol ethoxylates.
Regarding claim 10, the Dobanol 45-7 is shown at a level of 12%, and Tallow Alcohol EO80 is shown at a level of 1%, thus the total of 13% is within the scope of the 0.1 to 40% claimed.
Regarding claim 16, the granules may be formed by spray drying (page 21, line 4).
Regarding claim 17, the optical brighteners must be in the same or different granules. Furthermore, Example VII discloses a single formulation indicating that the first and second optical brighteners would be in the same granule.
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Lant (US 2016/00319228).
Regarding claims 1-4, Lant teaches a granular detergent composition of Formula 26, which comprises an optical brightener 1 within the scope of claim 4 (0231) and an optical brightener 3 Optiblanc SPL 10 (233), which is a brightener which does not contain stilbene or SO3 groups.
Regarding claim 2, the optical brightener 1 is at a level of 0.25%, within the claimed range.
Regarding, claim 3, the optical brightener 3 is at a level of 0.06%, within the claimed range.
The ratio of optical brightener 1 to optical brightener 3 is thus 4.16, thus failing within the 3:3 to 8:1 claimed.
The following below are in regard to composition 26.
Regarding claims 6-8, Lant teaches the use of LAS (an alkyl benzene sulfonate (0227)) at a level of 5.05%.
Regarding claims 6, 9 and 10, Lant teaches the use of AE7 (which is a fatty alcohol ethoxylate (0211)) at a level of 5.95%.
Regarding claims 11-13, lant teaches the use of a soil release agent Repel-O-Tex ((0248) which is s polyester soil release agent) at a level of 0.72%.
Regarding claim 14, Lant teaches the use of hueing agent Violet DD.
Regarding claim 16, Lant teaches the composition may be in the form of flakes (0012). Also since the composition is granular, although spray dried granules are claimed, such is a product by process, wherein the method of making the granules does not distinguish (MPEP2113).
Regarding claim 17, the optical brighteners must be in the same or different granules. Furthermore, Example 26 discloses a single formulation indicating that the first and second optical brighteners would be in the same granule.
Regarding claim 18 and 20, Lant teaches that the detergent may be in the form of being contained in a water soluble pouch (0004). Lance further teaches that the pouch may be made of plastics and celluloses (0189). The film of the pouch can be formed by casting or blow-molding, and as such would be non-woven materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lant (US 2016/00319228) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of WO 2014/055245.
Regarding claim 15, As noted above, Lant teaches that Violet DD can be used as a hueing dye in granular detergent compositions (see example 26). Lant differs from the present invention in that a level of Violet DD at a concentration of 0.1 to 10% is not taught. WO ‘245 teaches a detergent which can comprise granules, and that Hueing dyes such as Violet DD can be used at levels of about 0.00003 to 0.3% (page 13, lines 1-13). Given the teaching of WO ‘245, It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize hueing dyes at levels of up to 0.3%, since one of ordinary skill would have the expectation that such levels would lead to success in effectively provide hueing ability to the detergent of Lant.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lant (US 2016/00319228) as applied to claim 1.
Lant is taught with respect to claims 1 and 18 above. Lant differs from the present invention in not specifying the use of recycled materials. It is ubiquitous in manufacturing to utilize recycled polymeric materials to protect the environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would utilize recycled polymeric materials, even at levels of 50% or greater, in the invention of Lant in order to achieve the goal of creating a cleaner environment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/983,664( reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 2 of 18/983,664 teach the same optical brighteners in overlapping amounts as claims 1, 4 an5 of the current application, rendering them obvious, and claims 3, 4 and 6-20 claim the same compounds and percentages as claims 3, 4 and 6-20 of the current application..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No18/983,684 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3 – 6 teach a hueing agent and the same optical brighteners with overlapping ranges as claims 1-5 and 14 of the current application, rendering these ranges obvious. Claim 3 of 18/983,684 teaches a hueing dye at the same concentration as claim 15 of the current application. Claims 8-20 teach the same components and concentration as claims6-13 and 16-20 thus rendering these claims obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/983,690 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 teach a soil release polymer and the same optical brighteners with overlapping ranges as claims 1-5 and 11-13 of the current application, rendering these ranges obvious. Claim 5 of 18/983,684 teaches a soil release polymer at the same concentration as claim 13 of the current application. Claims 11-20 teach the same components and concentration as claims 6-10 and 14-19 thus rendering these claims obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745