DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
This non-final office action is in response to claims filed on 12/17/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, “Matching Method, Matching System, and Storage Medium”, is directed to an abstract idea, specifically Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, without significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination provide mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 1: Claims 1-5 are directed to a statutory category, namely a process (claims 1-3), a machine (claim 4), and a manufacture (claim 5).
Step 2A (1): Claims 1-5 are directed to an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, based on the following claim limitations: “matches/matching an introduction-desired person of a robot and a supplier of the robot… the matching method/system comprising: obtaining request information related to a robot introduction from the introduction-desired person; obtaining supply information related to the robot, the supply information being suppliable by the supplier; performing matching based on the request information and the supply information; and notifying a matching result to at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (claims 1, 4, and 5); wherein at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier inputs a score evaluating another one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier, the score being evaluable by the other one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (claim 2); and wherein matching is performed by analyzing the supply information and the request information (claim 3).”. These claims describe a process of facilitating a commercial interaction between people by matching a potential customer of a robot with a supplier of the robot. Therefore, these limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” which includes commercial or legal interactions. Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity can encompass the activity of a single person (e.g. a person following a set of instructions), activity that involve multiple people (e.g. a commercial interaction), and certain activity between a person and a computer (e.g. a method of anonymous loan shopping). Therefore, claims 1-5 are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Step 2A (2): This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 4, and 5 recite additional elements of “a computer; a matching system…using a computer; and a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for executing a matching method”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not recite (a) an improvement to another technology or technical field and (b) an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself and (c) implementing the abstract idea with or by use of a particular machine, (d) effecting a particular transformation or reduction of an article, or (e) applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as a computing device that is used to perform the matching process and communicate results. Limitations that recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-5 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and thus are not patent eligible.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims1, 4, and 5 recite additional elements of “a computer; a matching system…using a computer; and a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for executing a matching method”. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as mere instructions to apply or implement the abstract idea on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-5 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirai et al. (US 2024/0391112 A1).
As per claim 1, Hirai teaches a matching method that matches an introduction-desired person of a robot and a supplier of the robot by using a computer, the matching method comprising (Hirai e.g. An information processing method according to one aspect of the present technology includes, by an information processing system for executing matching related to remote operation by a robot that can be remotely operated and an operation terminal that can operate the robot via a network [0008]. The sequence diagram of FIG. 6 illustrates a sequence diagram between the operator, the management server 15, the requester, and the robot 14 [0132]. First, matching processing between the operator (operation terminal 12) and the requester (robot 14) is executed [0133]. FIG. 7 is a flowchart for explaining the first embodiment of matching processing [0016].) :
Hirai teaches obtaining request information related to a robot introduction from the introduction-desired person; (Hirai e.g. Specifically, for example, the requester transmits requester information regarding the requester, to the management server 15 [0134]. Note that the requester is not necessarily a natural person, and may be an organization such as a corporation [0086]. In step S101, the requester terminal 13 transmits requester information. Specifically, the control unit 143 generates the requester information on the basis of information or the like input by the requester via the input unit 141 (Fig. 7 and [0160]). The requester information includes, for example, attribute information and work environment information [0161]. For example, the work environment information includes robot information and communication status information [0163]. The robot information is information regarding the robot 14 that executes work that is a target of the requested remote operation. The robot information includes, for example, one or more of identification information, a type, a specification, position information (for example, an installation position or the like), an operation status, an error occurrence status, and the like of the robot 14 [0164].)
Hirai teaches obtaining supply information related to the robot, the supply information being suppliable by the supplier; (Hirai e.g. The operator transmits operator information regarding the operator to the management server 15 [0135]. The operator is a worker who performs remote operation of the robot. These operators perform various types of work by remotely operating robots in individual fields of healthcare, construction and civil engineering, infrastructure, agriculture, logistics, and manufacturing and processing industries, for example, via the service platform [0065]. In step S111, the communication terminal 11 transmits operator information. Specifically, the control unit 103 generates the operator information on the basis of information input by the operator via the input unit 101, sensor data obtained by the detection unit 102, and the like (Fig. 7 and [0170]).)
Hirai teaches performing matching based on the request information and the supply information; and (Hirai e.g. Next, the requester requests the management server 15 to select an operator to execute a desired work [0138]. The management server 15 selects an operator to which work is to be requested on the basis of ability and an operation environment of the operator, a content of the work, and the like, and requests the selected operator to perform the work [0139]. In step S122, the management server 15 executes operator selection processing (Fig. 7 and [0203]). In step S123, the matching unit 211 offers the selected operator to undertake the work [0230].)
Hirai teaches notifying a matching result to at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (Hirai e.g. The operator determines whether or not to undertake the work, and notifies the management server 15 of a determination result [0140]. In a case where the operator undertakes work, the management server 15 notifies the requester of information regarding the operator, thereby recommending the operator to the requester [0141]. In step S125, the matching unit 211 transmits information regarding the operator who undertakes the work. Specifically, the matching unit 211 generates information (hereinafter, referred to as undertaking operator information) including information regarding ability and an operation environment of the operator who undertakes the work. The communication unit 204 transmits the undertaking operator information to the requester terminal 13 (Fig. 7 and [0239]).).
As per claim 2, Hirai teaches the matching method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier inputs a score evaluating another one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier, the score being evaluable by the other one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (Hirai e.g. The information processing unit 216 adds the received requester information to the requester DB accumulated in the storage unit 205. The information processing unit 216 adds the received operator information to the operator DB accumulated in the storage unit 205 [0188]. FIG. 8 illustrates a part of a configuration example of data of the operator DB. The operator DB includes an operator ID, ability information, and operation environment information of each operator [0189]. Note that the operator DB also includes, for example, an evaluation score of each operator, and the like. The evaluation score is, for example, a score indicating evaluation on each operator by the requester who has requested the work. An operator with higher evaluation by the requester has a higher evaluation score, and an operator with lower evaluation by the requester has a lower evaluation score [0193].).
As per claim 3, Hirai teaches the matching method according to claim 1, wherein matching is performed by analyzing the supply information and the request information (Hirai e.g. In step S102, the requester terminal 13 requests selection of an operator. Specifically, the control unit 143 generates work request information on the basis of information or the like input by the requester via the input unit 141 (Fig. 7 and [0197]). The work request information includes, for example, identification information of the robot 14 as the operation target, a work content and work time to be requested, a delivery date, a reward, conditions necessary for the operator, required quality of the work, and the like [0198]. The control unit 143 transmits the work request information to the management server 15 via the communication unit 145, and requests selection of the operator [0202]. On the basis of the received work request information and the work condition DB (FIG. 7) accumulated in the storage unit 205, the matching unit 211 generates an operator selection condition. The operator selection condition includes, for example, a condition related to an operator and a condition related to an operation environment [0207]. In a case where the operator satisfies the essential condition or a case where there is no essential condition, the matching unit 211 calculates a matching degree between the selection condition generated in step S151 and the ability and the operation environment of the operator (Fig. 9 and [0215]). At this time, for example, the matching unit 211 may set a priority order in the selection condition, to calculate the matching degree in accordance with the priority order. For example, in a case of calculating the matching degree, the matching unit 211 increases a weight of the matching degree for the selection condition with a high priority order and decreases a weight of the matching degree for the selection condition with a low priority order [0216]. Among the operator candidates extracted using the selection condition, the matching unit 211 determines the operator having the highest matching degree as the operator to which the work is to be requested [0227].)
As per claim 4, Hirai teaches a matching system that matches an introduction-desired person of a robot and a supplier of the robot by using a computer, the matching system comprising (Hirai e.g. An information processing system according to one aspect of the present technology is an information processing system for executing matching related to remote operation by a robot that can be remotely operated and an operation terminal that can operate the robot via a network [0007]. FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a service platform connecting a requester (business operator) and an operator (remote worker) of remote operation. The service platform includes a remote robot operation system and a remote operation matching system [0062].): Hirai teaches obtaining request information related to a robot introduction from the introduction-desired person; obtaining supply information related to the robot, the supply information being suppliable by the supplier; performing matching based on the request information and the supply information; and notifying a matching result to at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (See claim 1 response.).
As per claim 5, Hirai teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program for executing a matching method that matches an introduction-desired person of a robot and a supplier of the robot by using a computer, wherein the matching method includes (Hirai e.g. A program according to one aspect of the present technology is a program for causing a computer to execute processing, the computer being configured to execute matching related to remote operation by a robot that can be remotely operated and an operation terminal that can operate the robot via a network [0009].): Hirai teaches obtaining request information related to a robot introduction from the introduction-desired person; obtaining supply information related to the robot, the supply information being suppliable by the supplier; performing matching based on the request information and the supply information; and notifying a matching result to at least one of the introduction-desired person and the supplier (See claim 1 response).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include FOR: Nakamura, K. (JP-2024119577-A) "Receptionist Robot and Program" and NPL: I. Diddeniya, I. Wanniarachchi, H. Gunasinghe, C. Premachandra and H. Kawanaka, "Human–Robot Communication System for an Isolated Environment," in IEEE Access, vol. 10, pp. 63258-63269, 2022.
/A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624