DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “left and right sides to have a constant curvature” (claim 6), as described in the specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a insertion shaped portion”, “a stopper shape portion”, in claims 2-5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the side to couple with the first fastening portion”, which is unclear, and is suggested to be changed to - -a side to couple with the single pair of the first fastening portions - -, and further recites, “each of the first fastening portion”, which is unclear, and is suggested to be changed to, - -each of the single pair of the first fastening portions - -.
Claims 2-5 recite limitations in the format of “a (1-1)-th ", as recited in claim 2 as one example, “ a (1-1)-th insertion shaped portion that vertically extends in the vertical direction of the valve housing; and a (1-1)-th stopper shaped portion ", this is unclear as to what structure the numerals are referring to in claims 2-5. Should this be changed to - - a first stopper shaped portion- -, as an example?
Claims 2,3,10 recites the limitation “the first fastening portion”, which is unclear, and is suggested to be changed to, - - the single pair of the first fastening portions - -.
Claim 2 further recites “the vertical direction”, “the end” and “the largest” which does not have antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 3 further recites “the lower side”, “the inner direction”, “the end”, and “the largest” which does not have antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 further recites “the side”, ”the vertical direction”, “the inner direction”, “the end”, and “the largest” which does not have antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 further recites “the side”, ”the lower side”, “the inner direction”, “the end”, and “the largest” which does not have antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “left and right sides to have a constant curvature” which is unclear as to how the device is configured in this manner since the valve seat (30) has portions that are straight.
Claim 10 further recites “on the outside” which does not have antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Graichen (US 11280414). The claims are being rejected as best understood, based on the 112 rejections above.
Regarding claim 1, Graichen discloses a valve seat assembly (see Fig. 1, below) structure comprising: a valve housing (60) including an inner wall (the inner wall of 60, at 73) and a single pair of first fastening portions (75,76) having a shape (the flat vertical shape along 75) that protrudes from the inner wall and provided to face each other; and
a valve seat (20,21,22) provided between the single pair of first fastening portions and including a second fastening portion (the sides at 39 see Fig. 5 below) formed on the side to couple with the first fastening portion, wherein each of the first fastening portion and the second fastening portion includes an insertion shaped portion having a curved shape (77, see Fig. 2, and the bottom of 22 at 41, see Fig. 6) and a stopper shaped portion having a planar shape (retaining shoulder 76, see fig. 1 is flat vertically, and the vertical wall of 39 that mates with 76, see Fig. 1, both of these portions are flat and therefore have a planar shape).
Regarding claim 2, Graichen discloses the first fastening portion includes: a (1-1)-th insertion shaped portion (a portion of 75) that vertically extends in the vertical direction of the valve housing; and a (1-1)-th stopper shaped portion (the upper portion of 76 that is perpendicular to 75) that is formed in the inner direction of the first fastening portion at the end (the left inner top end of 75) of the largest horizontal cross-section of the (1-1)-th insertion shaped portion.
Regarding claim 3, Graichen discloses the first fastening portion includes: a (1-2)-th insertion shaped portion (the lower curved shaped portion below the vertical wall of 75) that extends in a curved shape from the lower side (the bottom side of the vertical part of 75) of the (1-1)-th insertion shaped portion; and
a (1-2)-th stopper shaped portion (the bottom section portion of 76 that intersects with the (1-2)-th insertion shaped portion) that extends in the inner direction of the first fastening portion at the end of the largest horizontal cross-section of the (1-2)-th insertion shaped portion.
Regarding claim 4, Graichen discloses the second fastening portion includes: a (2-1)-th insertion shaped portion (the upper side vertical wall portion of 38) that is formed in a straight area on the side of the valve seat, and vertically extends in the vertical direction of the valve seat; and a (2-1)-th stopper shaped portion (the inner vertical upper wall portion of 39 that is perpendicular to the (2-1)-th insertion shaped portion) that is formed in the inner direction of the second fastening portion at the end of the largest horizontal cross-section of the (2-1)-th insertion shaped portion.
Regarding claim 5, Graichen discloses the second fastening portion includes: a (2-2)-th insertion shaped portion (curved portion immediately below 38) that is formed in a curved area on the side of the valve seat and extends in a curved shape from the lower side of the (2-1)-th insertion shaped portion; and a (2-2)-th stopper shaped portion (the curved shaped portion of 22 immediately below the vertical wall of 39, as shown below) that extends in the inner direction of the second fastening portion at the end of the largest horizontal cross-section of the (2-1)-th insertion shaped portion.
Regarding claim 6, Graichen discloses the valve seat (20,22) is curved on both left and right sides to have a constant curvature based on a vertical centerline (in viewing item 20,22 in Fig. 1, both left and right sides at the bottom 41, have a constant curvature in as much as applicant’s device, as best understood).
Regarding claim 7, Graichen discloses the valve seat includes: a first wall portion (see Fig. 5,6, the uppermost top horizontal flat surface of 22 at the start of the lead line for 40) formed on its outside; and a second wall portion (the front face 45 of 22 surrounding 27,46) formed to surround a center hole (43) of the valve seat, and an insertion groove (the groove 46) is formed between the first wall portion and the second wall portion.
Regarding claim 8, Graichen discloses a sealing portion (27) inserts into the insertion groove.
Regarding claim 9, Graichen discloses the sealing portion is an X-ring or an O-ring (since 25,27 has the shape of a circle, it is considered as an oring in the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 10, Graichen discloses a valve seat assembly structure (see Fig. 1, below) comprising: a valve housing (60) including an inner wall (the inner wall of 60, having 70-77) and a single pair of first fastening portions (the wall structure on each side of the port 83 having 75,76) having a shape that protrudes from the inner wall and provided to face each other (surfaces 75 face each other);
a valve seat (20,22) formed with an insertion groove (at 46), provided between the single pair of first fastening portions, and
having a second fastening portion (at 38,39 on 22, see Fig. 5) to couple with the first fastening portion; and
a sealing portion (21) configured to insert into the insertion groove,
wherein the valve seat includes a closed portion (the wall that connects surface 45 to 46),
a first wall portion (at inner lip 44, see Fig. 4) formed on the outside based on the insertion groove, and a second wall portion (46) formed on the inner side than the first wall portion, a chamfer portion (the angled edge on the face of 22, laying between the lead lines for numeral 38,39 in Fig. 5) obliquely provided to face the first fastening portion is formed in a portion (the left face portion of 22 facing 25/29 in fig. 4) in which an outer portion (the surface of 45) of the closed portion and an outer portion (the thin vertical face of 44 facing 25,29 in Fig. 4) of the first wall portion are connected to each other, and a round portion (at 41) having a first curvature is formed in a portion (the lower portion of 22) in which the outer portion (the surface of 45) of the closed portion and an outer portion (the inner wall slot surface of 22 mating with 35,36) of the second wall portion are connected to each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753