DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The action is in reply to the application filed 17 December 2024.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (MPEP 606).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
An English translation as well as a statement that the translation is accurate is
required. See 37 CFR 1.55 (g)(3)(iii) & 37 CFR 1.55 (g)(4).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded
for both the non-English applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a machine (claims 1-4), process (claim 5), and article of manufacture (claim 6).
INDEPENDENT CLAIMS
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 1 recites steps of
a processor configured to
acquire adverse event information that indicates an adverse event occurred in a patient,
extract administration information that indicates a drug administered to the patient,
identify a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event, from the administration information,
identify related image information on the related drug, when there is the related drug, and
display output information that includes the adverse event information, the administration information, drug information on the drug, and the related image information.
Claims 5 and 6 recite similar limitations as claim 1 but for the recitation of generic computer components.
These steps for identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes performance of the limitations in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the mind through performing determinations, including observations and evaluations, on adverse event identification involving a drug. This could be analogized to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements non-italicized portions identified above for claims 1 and 5-6, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as
recitation of a processor; display output information; and, a non-transitory computer readable medium including programmed instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of acquire adverse event information; and, extract administration information amounts to mere data gathering since it does not add meaningful limitations to the acquiring and extracting actions performed, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Each of the above additional elements therefore only amounts to mere instructions to implement functions within the abstract idea using generic computer components or other machines within their ordinary capacity; and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. These elements are therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the above claims, as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception; and, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception in particular fields such a processor; display output information; and, a non-transitory computer readable medium including programmed instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute, e.g., a commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general-purpose computer, Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, MPEP 2106.05(f).
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as
acquire adverse event information; and, extract administration information, e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS
Step 2A Prong 1
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2-4 reciting particular aspects for identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event such as
[Claim 2] wherein the processor identifies the related drug, based on the administration information, and anticipated period information that includes an anticipated period during which occurrence of the adverse event is anticipated from date and time when the drug is administered to the patient;
[Claim 3] wherein the processor identifies the related image information that includes captured image data captured within the anticipated period, based on the anticipated period;
[Claim 4] wherein the adverse event information includes severity information that indicates severity of the adverse event;
these italicized portions are methods of organizing human activity since they merely describe types of data and determinations that can be performed by humans.
Step 2A Prong 2
Dependent claims 2-3 recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (the additional limitations in claims 2-3 (the processor); amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f))). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Dependent claims 2-3 recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g., a commonplace
business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general-purpose
computer, Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, MPEP 2106.05(f). Also, see [0096] which provides examples of off-the-shelf hardware and [0098] which provides examples of computer readable non-transitory storage mediums. There is no indication that these additional elements improve the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, in consideration of all the facts, the present invention is clearly not a patent-eligible invention under USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano et al. (US20200075142A1) in view of Bulut et al. (US20160103967A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a processor configured to acquire adverse event information that indicates an adverse event occurred in a patient ([0065] “Assume that the processing circuitry 11 receives the designation of event type “cardiac failure sign event”.”)
extract administration information that indicates a drug administered to the patient ([0045] “More specifically, with the registration function 612, the processing circuitry 61 causes the memory 62 to store, for example, the medical treatment information acquired from the HIS 2 according to a preset rule. […] the date of administration of a medicine”)
and display output information that includes the adverse event information, the administration information, […] and the related image information ([0141] “FIG. 9 is a view showing another display example of mapping data according to the first modification. Assume that referring to FIG. 9, the processing circuitry 11 has received, for example, the designation of character strings “cardiac failure sign event”, “renal function deterioration event”, “medicine assessment event”, and “image examination event”.”)
Kano does not explicitly disclose however Bulut teaches identify a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event, from the administration information ([0018] “obtaining drug information of the identified drug, said drug information including drug side effects and/or drug-drug interactions and/or drug-disease contraindications”)
identify related image information on the related drug, when there is the related drug ([0050] “Advantageously, the proposed monitoring information providing device further comprises an imaging unit, in particular a camera, for providing image data, wherein said patient data input is configured to identify the patient from said image data (e.g. via face recognition) and said drug identification input is configured to identify the drug administered to the patient and the time of administration of the drug to the patient […] and said processing unit is configured to determine one or more physiological signs of the patient from said image data (e.g. via the well-known remote photo-plethysmography technique)”)
drug information on the drug ([0074] “Additionally, if space on the displayed screen allows, the drug(s) that cause the potential adverse effect and, optionally, further drug information on these drugs, may be displayed.”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event from the administration information, identifying related image information on the related drug when there is the related drug, and drug information on the drug as taught by Bulut since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Kano does not explicitly disclose however Bulut teaches wherein the processor identifies the related drug, based on the administration information, and anticipated period information that includes an anticipated period during which occurrence of the adverse event is anticipated from date and time when the drug is administered to the patient ([0017] “obtaining drug administration data identifying a drug administered to the patient and the time of administration of the drug to the patient” [0019] “determining time-resolved monitoring information based on the obtained patient data, drug administration data and drug information, said monitoring information being dynamically adapted and indicating one or more physiological signs of the patient that are most critical to monitor over time”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano identifying the related drug, based on the administration information, and anticipated period information that includes an anticipated period during which occurrence of the adverse event is anticipated from date and time when the drug is administered to the patient as taught by Bulut since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses acquiring adverse event information that indicates an adverse event occurred in a patient ([0065] “Assume that the processing circuitry 11 receives the designation of event type “cardiac failure sign event”.”)
extracting administration information that indicates a drug administered to the patient ([0045] “More specifically, with the registration function 612, the processing circuitry 61 causes the memory 62 to store, for example, the medical treatment information acquired from the HIS 2 according to a preset rule. […] the date of administration of a medicine”)
and displaying output information that includes the adverse event information, the administration information, […], and the related image information ([0141] “FIG. 9 is a view showing another display example of mapping data according to the first modification. Assume that referring to FIG. 9, the processing circuitry 11 has received, for example, the designation of character strings “cardiac failure sign event”, “renal function deterioration event”, “medicine assessment event”, and “image examination event”.”)
Kano does not explicitly disclose however Bulut teaches identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event, from the administration information ([0018] “obtaining drug information of the identified drug, said drug information including drug side effects and/or drug-drug interactions and/or drug-disease contraindications”)
identifying related image information on the related drug, when there is the related drug ([0050] “Advantageously, the proposed monitoring information providing device further comprises an imaging unit, in particular a camera, for providing image data, wherein said patient data input is configured to identify the patient from said image data (e.g. via face recognition) and said drug identification input is configured to identify the drug administered to the patient and the time of administration of the drug to the patient […] and said processing unit is configured to determine one or more physiological signs of the patient from said image data (e.g. via the well-known remote photo-plethysmography technique)”)
drug information on the drug ([0074] “Additionally, if space on the displayed screen allows, the drug(s) that cause the potential adverse effect and, optionally, further drug information on these drugs, may be displayed.”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event from the administration information, identifying related image information on the related drug when there is the related drug, and drug information on the drug as taught by Bulut since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium including programmed instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute ([0046] “The memory 62 may be a driving device that reads and writes various types of information from and to a portable storage medium such as a CD-ROM drive, DVD drive, or flash memory.”)
acquiring adverse event information that indicates an adverse event occurred in a patient ([0065] “Assume that the processing circuitry 11 receives the designation of event type “cardiac failure sign event”.”)
extracting administration information that indicates a drug administered to the patient ([0045] “More specifically, with the registration function 612, the processing circuitry 61 causes the memory 62 to store, for example, the medical treatment information acquired from the HIS 2 according to a preset rule. […] the date of administration of a medicine”)
and displaying output information that includes the adverse event information, the administration information, […], and the related image information ([0141] “FIG. 9 is a view showing another display example of mapping data according to the first modification. Assume that referring to FIG. 9, the processing circuitry 11 has received, for example, the designation of character strings “cardiac failure sign event”, “renal function deterioration event”, “medicine assessment event”, and “image examination event”.”)
Kano does not explicitly disclose however Bulut teaches identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event, from the administration information ([0018] “obtaining drug information of the identified drug, said drug information including drug side effects and/or drug-drug interactions and/or drug-disease contraindications”)
identifying related image information on the related drug, when there is the related drug ([0050] “Advantageously, the proposed monitoring information providing device further comprises an imaging unit, in particular a camera, for providing image data, wherein said patient data input is configured to identify the patient from said image data (e.g. via face recognition) and said drug identification input is configured to identify the drug administered to the patient and the time of administration of the drug to the patient […] and said processing unit is configured to determine one or more physiological signs of the patient from said image data (e.g. via the well-known remote photo-plethysmography technique)”)
drug information on the drug ([0074] “Additionally, if space on the displayed screen allows, the drug(s) that cause the potential adverse effect and, optionally, further drug information on these drugs, may be displayed.”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano identifying a related drug related to occurrence of the adverse event from the administration information, identifying related image information on the related drug when there is the related drug, and drug information on the drug as taught by Bulut since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Kano et al. (US20200075142A1) in view of Bulut et al. (US20160103967A1) and further in view of Ko et al. (WO2022085736A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kano in view of Bulut does not explicitly disclose however Ko teaches wherein the processor identifies the related image information that includes captured image data captured within the anticipated period, based on the anticipated period ([pg. 6] “The physical condition information acquisition unit that acquires […] the medication information that indicates that a medication different from the therapeutic drug was used for the patient, and the medication time that is the time when the medication was administered are acquired. The medical information acquisition unit, the medical information image data generation unit that generates medical information image data showing the medical information image in which the physical condition information and the medical information are arranged in chronological order, and the medical information image data.”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano and Bulut identifying the related image information that includes captured image data captured within the anticipated period, based on the anticipated period as taught by Ko since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Kano et al. (US20200075142A1) in view of Bulut et al. (US20160103967A1) and further in view of Ahluwalia et al. (US20230414567A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kano in view of Bulut does not explicitly disclose however Ahluwalia teaches wherein the adverse event information includes severity information that indicates severity of the adverse event ([0008] “During the study, some investigators discontinued etrasimod due to lymphocyte levels meeting CTCAE grade 3 criteria.”)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the system of Kano and Bulut the adverse event information including severity information that indicates severity of the adverse event as taught by Ahluwalia since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art.
Prior Art Cited but Not Relied Upon
Dara, O. N., Ibrahim, A. A., & Mohammed, T. A. (2024). Advancing medical imaging: detecting polypharmacy and adverse drug effects with Graph Convolutional Networks (GCN). BMC Medical Imaging, 24(1), 174.
This reference is relevant because it discloses identifying drug related adverse events or side effects.
Conclusion
/WINSTON R FURTADO/Examiner, Art Unit 3687