DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 and 13 recites “quality of service QoS” The Office suggests -- quality of service (QoS) --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 (and corresponding dependent claims 12-19) and 20 recites transmit deactivation information….wherein the deactivation indicates…” The claim language is unclear as is the deactivation referring to deactivation information or a new step of deactivation. The Office interprets the language for prior art rejection as deactivation information based on the similar claim language in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP: 3rd Generation Partnership Project (Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects (2022-05) and hereafter referred to as “3gpp”).
Regarding Claim 1, 3gpp discloses a data transmission method, executed by an electronic device, comprising:
receiving periodicity information of a service data packet transmitted by an application object entity (Page 142, § 6.33.2);
configuring the periodicity information for an access network-network element by using a configuration instruction;
receiving first indication information transmitted by the application object entity (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2); and
transmitting deactivation information to the access network-network element (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8);
wherein the first indication information indicates the periodicity information changes (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148), and
wherein the deactivation information indicates the access network-network element is to suspend scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8).
Regarding Claim 2, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuring the periodicity information comprises: generating a protocol data session establishment request including the periodicity information (Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1); and initiating a protocol data session based on the protocol data session establishment request, to configure the periodicity information for the access network-network element (Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1).
Regarding Claim 3, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuring the periodicity information comprises: generating quality of service QoS flow configuration information including the periodicity information (Page 142, § 6.33.2); and performing QoS flow configuration based on the QoS flow configuration information, to configure the periodicity information for the access network-network element (Page 142, § 6.33.2).
Regarding Claim 4, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses
wherein the configuration instruction is further configured for instructing the access network-network element to directly perform the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information after receiving the configuration instruction (Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1).
Regarding Claim 5, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuration instruction is further configured for instructing the access network-network element to suspend the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on: the periodicity information after receiving the configuration instruction, and not receiving activation information (Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 4-8).
Regarding Claim 6, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 5. 3gpp discloses
further comprising: based on receiving second indication information transmitted by the application object entity after detecting that periodicity of the service data packet is stable, transmitting the activation information to the access network-network element Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 4-8).
Regarding Claim 7, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses
further comprising: based on receiving second indication information transmitted by the application object entity based on detecting that the service data packet regains periodicity, transmitting activation information to the access network-network element, wherein the activation information indicates the access network-network element is to perform the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2, Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1).
Regarding Claim 8, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 1. 3gpp discloses
wherein the configuration instruction includes an indication parameter indicating whether to activate or deactivate the periodicity information (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2).
Regarding Claim 9, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 8. 3gpp discloses
wherein the indication parameter is at least one of an explicitly indicated parameter or an implicitly indicated parameter (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2).
Regarding Claim 10, 3gpp discloses all the limitations of claim 8. 3gpp discloses
wherein the deactivation information is configured for modifying the indication parameter, to enable the indication parameter to indicate to deactivate the periodicity information (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2021/0321480 and hereafter referred to as “Kwon”) in view of 3gpp.
Regarding Claim 11, Kwon discloses A data transmission apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory configured to store computer program code (Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071);
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code (Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071), the program code comprising:
obtaining code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to receive periodicity information of a service data packet transmitted by an application object entity (Page 8, paragraph 0061-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071);
configuration code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to configure the periodicity information for an access network-network element by using a configuration instruction (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071);
receiving code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to receive first indication information transmitted by the application object entity (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071); and
transmitting code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit deactivation information to the access network-network element (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071),
wherein the first indication information indicates the periodicity information changes (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071), and
Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the deactivation indicates the access network-network element is to suspend scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information.
3gpp discloses receiving periodicity information of a service data packet transmitted by an application object entity (Page 142, § 6.33.2); configuring the periodicity information for an access network-network element by using a configuration instruction; receiving first indication information transmitted by the application object entity (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2); and transmitting deactivation information to the access network-network element (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8); wherein the first indication information indicates the periodicity information changes (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148), and wherein the deactivation information indicates the access network-network element is to suspend scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon to include the missing limitation as taught by 3gpp in order enable datable with quality of service and enable synchronization (Page 18, § 5.2.1) as disclosed by 3gpp.
Regarding Claim 12, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. Kwon disclose wherein the configuration code is configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor (paragraph 0070-0071). 3gpp discloses generating a protocol data session establishment request including the periodicity information (Page 143, , Figure 6.33.3-1); and initiating a protocol data session based on the protocol data session establishment request, to configure the periodicity information for the access network-network element (Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 13, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. Kwon disclose wherein the configuration code is configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor (paragraph 0070-0071). 3gpp discloses configuration including generating quality of service QoS flow configuration information including the periodicity information (Page 142, § 6.33.2); and performing QoS flow configuration based on the QoS flow configuration information, to configure the periodicity information for the access network-network element (Page 142, § 6.33.2). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 14, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuration instruction is further configured for instructing the access network-network element to directly perform the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information after receiving the configuration instruction (Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 15, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuration instruction is further configured for instructing the access network-network element to suspend the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on: the periodicity information after receiving the configuration instruction, and if not receiving activation information (Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 4-8). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 16, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 15. Kwon discloses transmitting code further configured to cause at least one processor (paragraph 0070-0071). 3gpp discloses transmitting instruction further comprising: based on receiving second indication information transmitted by the application object entity after detecting that periodicity of the service data packet is stable, transmitting the activation information to the access network-network element Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 4-8). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 17, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. Kwon discloses transmitting code further configured to cause at least one processor (paragraph 0070-0071). 3gpp discloses 3gpp discloses further comprising: based on receiving second indication information transmitted by the application object entity based on detecting that the service data packet regains periodicity, transmitting activation information to the access network-network element, wherein the activation information indicates the access network-network element is to perform the scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2, Page 143, Figure 6.33.3-1). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 18, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 11. 3gpp discloses wherein the configuration instruction includes an indication parameter indicating whether to activate or deactivate the periodicity information (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 19, Kwon and 3gpp disclose all the limitations of claim 18. 3gpp discloses wherein the indication parameter is at least one of an explicitly indicated parameter or an implicitly indicated parameter (Page 144-145, § 6.34.2). Same motivation as above.
Regarding Claim 20, Kwon discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor (Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071) to at least:
receive periodicity information of a service data packet transmitted by an application object entity (Page 8, paragraph 0061-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071);
configure the periodicity information for an access network-network element by using a configuration instruction (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071);
receive first indication information transmitted by the application object entity (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071); and
to transmit deactivation information to the access network-network element (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071),
wherein the first indication information indicates the periodicity information changes (Page 8, paragraph 0063-0069, Page 9, paragraph 0070-0071), and
Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the deactivation indicates the access network-network element is to suspend scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information.
3gpp discloses receiving periodicity information of a service data packet transmitted by an application object entity (Page 142, § 6.33.2); configuring the periodicity information for an access network-network element by using a configuration instruction; receiving first indication information transmitted by the application object entity (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2); and transmitting deactivation information to the access network-network element (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8); wherein the first indication information indicates the periodicity information changes (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148), and wherein the deactivation information indicates the access network-network element is to suspend scheduled transmission of the service data packet based on the periodicity information (Page 146-147, § 6.34.3.2, Page 148, Figure 6.34.3.3.1, point 5, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon to include the missing limitation as taught by 3gpp in order enable datable with quality of service and enable synchronization (Page 18, § 5.2.1) as disclosed by 3gpp.
Conclusion
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/
September 27, 2026