Detailed Action
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 14 and 17-21 are pending and now evaluated on its merits.
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 17/055,459, filed 11/30/2020 and application 18/347,674, filed 07/06/2023, which claims domestic benefit to U.S. provisional application 62/671,753, dated 05/15/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 2/27/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because the structures of ring D have a substitution wherein rind D according to claim 1 is a phenyl or pyridinyl.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner for prior art purposes is interpreting the above claim 4 objection of ring D as a phenyl or pyridinyl with an attached R2 group as identified in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the phrase "n is 0 or 1" renders the claim indefinite because claims 12 and 14 are dependent on claim 1 which recites “n is 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5”. Thus, a limitation of n as zero is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Patent No. 7179831) in view of Patani et al. Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design, Chem Rev; May 1996, Pages 3147-3176.
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12 and 19-21, Yang teaches compounds for the treatment of Human macrophage elastase (MMP-12) mediated diseases of emphysema, fibrotic disease, arthritis, and chronic obstruction pulmonary disease comprising administration of formula (IV)
with a suitable pharmaceutical diluents, excipients, or carriers (relevant to claims 19-21) (Pg. 3-4). Of particular embodiments Yang teaches the above compound wherein R is
The teaching of Yang corresponds with instant claims of R1, R4, R5 as H, Ring C as phenyl, X as S, Y as O, Z as CH2, ring D as a phenyl, R2 as a methyl (relevant to claims 4-5).
Yang fails to teach ring B as a thiophenyl or oxazolyl.
Patani teaches the replacement of O and S as bioisoteres of heteroatoms structures that resulted in similar activity of the compounds (Figure 36-37, Tables 27-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to have developed compound
taught by Yang to treat an MMP-12 disease, wherein the furan is replaced with a thiophenyl. One would have been motivated to do so from the teachings of Patani of substituting a Sulphur atom with an Oxygen atom on a heterocyclic structure would yield similar activity. There is a reasonable expectation of treating an MMP-12 mediated disease by administrating the compound
taught by Yang wherein the furan is replaced with a thiophenyl.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 8, 11-12 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 11-12 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11739080. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 5, 11-12 and 19 of U.S. ‘080 anticipates and is obvious to claims 1, 5, 8, 11-12 and 19 of claimed invention for a compound of formula (I)
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are free of the arts. The prior art of Yang fails to teach the compounds recited in independent claim 17, in particular the compounds with ring B as oxazolyl and ring D as a pyridinyl.
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627