DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 filed on 17 DEC 2024 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
The pending application 18/983,694, filed on 17 DEC 2024, claims priority from foreign application DE102023135498.1, filed on 18 DEC 2023 in the Federal Republic of Germany.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 DEC 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 1, “the transmitter configured is configured to” should be “the transmitter is configured to”
In claim 17, lines 2-3, “whether a device has responded to the first radio signal with a second radio signal generated by modulating a second carrier signal” should be “whether the device has responded to the first radio signal with the second radio signal by modulating the second carrier signal”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 2 recites “a first radio signal,” line 5 recites “a radio signal” and line 10 recites “a second radio signal.” It is unclear to the examiner if “a radio signal” of line 5 is intended to refer to either “a first radio signal” or “a second radio signal” or is a distinct radio signal. For the purpose of prosecution, line 5 has been interpreted as “a second radio signal” and line 10 has been interpreted as “the second radio signal.”
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being depending on rejected claim 1 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
In claim 19, line 3 recites “a radio signal,” line 6 recites “a first radio signal” and line 7 recites “a second radio signal.” It is unclear to the examiner if “a radio signal” of line 3 is intended to be “a first radio signal,” or “a second radio signal” or a distinct radio signal. For the purpose of prosecution, line 3 has been interpreted as “a second radio signal” and line 7 has been interpreted as “the second radio signal.”
In claim 20, line 2 recites “a first radio signal,” line 4 recites “a radio signal” and line 8 recites “a second radio signal.” It is unclear to the examiner if “a radio signal” of line 4 is intended to refer to either “a first radio signal” or “a second radio signal” or is a distinct radio signal. For the purpose of prosecution, line 4 has been interpreted as “a second radio signal” and line 8 has been interpreted as “the second radio signal.”
In claim 21, line 2 recites “a radio signal,” line 5 recites “a first radio signal” and line 6 recites “a second radio signal.” It is unclear to the examiner if “a radio signal” of line 2 is intended to be “a first radio signal,” or “a second radio signal” or a distinct radio signal. For the purpose of prosecution, line 2 has been interpreted as “a second radio signal” and line 6 has been interpreted as “the second radio signal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-10, 12, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korn et al. (DE 102019204469 A1) in view of Boenisch (US 2023/0260393 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 17 DEC 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Korn et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
An ultra-wideband radar device (Korn et al. authentication unit 120, Fig. 1; “For the application of access control in motor vehicles, the frequency band between 57 and 64 GHz is particularly preferred.” - ¶ [0026]), comprising:
a transmitter (Korn et al. transmitting antenna 121 of the first transmit/receive unit 190, Fig. 1) configured to generate a first radio signal by modulating a first carrier signal with a first (Korn et al. “Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” - ¶ [0032]; “The authentication unit 120 has a modulator 124 which generates a radar-typical signal…” - ¶ [0057]) and transmit the first radio signal (Korn et al. “The first RF transceiver unit is set up to send a modulated radar signal.” - ¶ [0012]);
a receiver (Korn et al. receiving antenna 122 of the first transmit/receive unit 190, Fig. 1) configured to:
receive a radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1); and
correlate the received radio signal with a predetermined second (Korn et al. “The authentication unit is further configured to receive the signal sent by the key unit and to demodulate it with at least one registered or calculated sequence known to the authentication unit from a list of registered or calculated sequences.” - ¶ [0013]; “Regardless of the chosen code, maximum likelihood estimators are used to estimate whether the received signal is the correct code.” - ¶ [0032]); and
a controller configured to authorize a predetermined control action in reaction to a determination, (Korn et al. “access is granted if the signal received and demodulated by the authentication unit has a beat frequency whose amplitude is greater than a predetermined amplitude.” - ¶ [0051]) based on the correlation result, that a device (Korn et al. key unit 140, Fig. 1) has responded to the first radio signal with a second radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1; “The key unit 140 also has a second RF transmit-receive unit 200, which is configured to receive the modulated radar signal 130 and to transmit the received modulated radar signal 132 with a superimposed additional signal 134.” - ¶ [0059]) generated by modulating a second carrier signal with the second (Korn et al. “The second RF transmit-receive unit is configured to receive the modulated radar signal and to transmit the received modulated radar signal with a superimposed additional signal, wherein the additional signal has a predetermined or calculated sequence of at least one modulation symbol.” - ¶ [0012]).
Although Korn et al. does not explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals, Korn et al. does disclose the use of pseudo-noise (PN) radar (Korn et al. ¶ [0028]) and “Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” (Korn et al. ¶ [0032]). Examiner notes that M-sequences are a type of pseudorandom sequence.
Motivation: “impossible to deceive the authentication system through a repeater attack or a relay attack…. Less hardware, which as a positive effect on both the costs and the battery life of the key.” (Korn et al. ¶ [0015])
Boenisch discloses:
M-sequences (Boenisch “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” - ¶ [0069])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Boenisch into the invention of Korn et al. to yield the invention of claim 1 above. Both Korn et al. and Boenisch are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 outlined above. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals. This feature is disclosed by Boenisch where “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” (Boenisch ¶ [0069]). The combination of Korn et al. and Boenisch would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the ultra-wideband radar device is configured to store information associating the second M-sequence with the first M-sequence (Korn et al. “Only with knowledge of the correct code is it possible to reverse-calculate the additional modulation and remove the influence of the additional signal from the radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 2, wherein the information defines the second M-sequence as an expected response to the first M-sequence (Korn et al. “Only with knowledge of the correct code is it possible to reverse-calculate the additional modulation and remove the influence of the additional signal from the radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the receiver is further configured to determine a distance of the device responding with the second radio signal to the ultra-wideband radar device using the received signal and wherein the controller is configured to authorize and/or select the control action depending on the distance (Korn et al. “According to the radar equation, the amplitude is proportional to the distance of the object and the object's reflectivity in the considered range.” - ¶ [0021]; “access is granted if the signal received and demodulated by the authentication unit has a beat frequency whose amplitude is greater than a predetermined amplitude.” - ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 8, wherein the receiver is configured to receive the signal using a plurality of receive antennas and determine the direction based on reception differences between the receive antennas. (Korn et al. “If multiple transmitting or receiving antennas are used, an accurate estimation of the angular position of the key unit 140 is possible.” - ¶ [0066]; it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the direction of can be determined by using a phased array antenna.)
Regarding claim 10, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the control action is a control of a component of an object connected to or containing the ultra-wideband radar device (Korn et al. “Upon successful authentication of an ID transmitter, one or more security devices, for example a door lock, are unlocked or locked.” - ¶ [0007]; “The authentication unit can preferably be located in a motor vehicle.” - ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the control action is opening a lock (Korn et al. “Upon successful authentication of an ID transmitter, one or more security devices, for example a door lock, are unlocked or locked.” - ¶ [0007]; “access is granted if the signal received and demodulated by the authentication unit has a beat frequency whose amplitude is greater than a predetermined amplitude.” - ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the transmitter configured is configured to generate a series of first radio signals by, for each first radio signal, modulating a respective first carrier signal with the first M-sequence and to transmit the series of first radio signals and wherein the receiver is configured to receive a series of radio signals and, for each received radio signal, correlate the received radio signal with the predetermined second M-sequence and wherein the controller is configured to authorize the predetermined control action in reaction to a determination, based on the correlation result, that a device has responded to one of the first radio signals with the second radio signal (Korn et al. “If the signal is modulated with no or an incorrect identifier, the signal cannot be demodulated as desired and the resulting signal contains only noise components and no beat frequency.” - ¶ [0014]; “This feature advantageously ensures that only signals modulated by the key unit with a valid sequence are recognized by the authentication unit as registered or calculated sequences.” - ¶ [0019]; “The additional modulated signal still allows the active key to be uniquely identified against ordinary radar targets, while an evaluation of the variation of the sequences can be used, for example, to transmit data or solutions from challenge/response tasks for authentication.” - ¶ [0042]; “If the authentication unit knows the key identifier, it can remove the pseudo-noise modulation.” - ¶ [0045]; “Only with knowledge of the correct code is it possible to reverse-calculate the additional modulation and remove the influence of the additional signal from the radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the receiver is configured to perform the determination, based on the correlation result, whether a device has responded to the first radio signal with a second radio signal generated by modulating a second carrier signal with the second M-sequence (Korn et al. “If the signal is modulated with no or an incorrect identifier, the signal cannot be demodulated as desired and the resulting signal contains only noise components and no beat frequency.” - ¶ [0014]; “This feature advantageously ensures that only signals modulated by the key unit with a valid sequence are recognized by the authentication unit as registered or calculated sequences.” - ¶ [0019]; “The additional modulated signal still allows the active key to be uniquely identified against ordinary radar targets, while an evaluation of the variation of the sequences can be used, for example, to transmit data or solutions from challenge/response tasks for authentication.” - ¶ [0042]; “If the authentication unit knows the key identifier, it can remove the pseudo-noise modulation.” - ¶ [0045]; “Only with knowledge of the correct code is it possible to reverse-calculate the additional modulation and remove the influence of the additional signal from the radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the predetermined second M-sequence is a second M-sequence from a set of predetermined second M-sequences, wherein each of the second M-sequences is associated with a respective device of a set of devices and wherein the receiver is configured to identify the device which has responded to the first radio signal by determining the device of the set of devices which is associated with the second M-sequence of the set of predetermined second M-sequences with which the second carrier signal has been modulated to generate the second radio signal (Korn et al. “If the signal is modulated with no or an incorrect identifier, the signal cannot be demodulated as desired and the resulting signal contains only noise components and no beat frequency.” - ¶ [0014]; “This feature advantageously ensures that only signals modulated by the key unit with a valid sequence are recognized by the authentication unit as registered or calculated sequences.” - ¶ [0019]; “The additional modulated signal still allows the active key to be uniquely identified against ordinary radar targets, while an evaluation of the variation of the sequences can be used, for example, to transmit data or solutions from challenge/response tasks for authentication.” - ¶ [0042]; “If the authentication unit knows the key identifier, it can remove the pseudo-noise modulation.” - ¶ [0045]; “Only with knowledge of the correct code is it possible to reverse-calculate the additional modulation and remove the influence of the additional signal from the radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Korn et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
An ultra-wideband radar device (Korn et al. key unit 140, Fig. 1), comprising:
a receiver (Korn et al. receiving antenna 142, Fig. 1) configured to:
receive a radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 130, Fig. 1); and
correlate the received radio signal with a predetermined first (Korn et al. “The authentication unit then sends the challenge/task to the key unit. The key unit then sends the solution to the authentication unit, with each bit to be transmitted consisted of one or more modulation symbols, e.g. B. FMCW ramps, which are encoded with a code assigned to the key.” - ¶ [0047]); and
a transmitter (Korn et al. transmitting antenna 141, Fig. 1) configured to, in reaction to a determination, based on the correlation result, that a device (Korn et al. authentication unit 120, Fig. 1) has transmitted a first radio signal generated by modulating a first carrier signal with the first (Korn et al. “The first RF transceiver unit is set up to send a modulated radar signal.” - ¶ [0012]; pseuedo-random noise (PN) radar - ¶ [0028]; “The authentication unit 120 has a modulator 124 which generates a radar-typical signal…” - ¶ [0057]), to respond to the first radio signal with a second radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1; “The key unit then sends the solution to the authentication unit, with each bit to be transmitted consisted of one or more modulation symbols, e.g. B. FMCW ramps, which are encoded with a code assigned to the key.” - ¶ [0047]) generated by modulating a second carrier signal with a predetermined second (Korn et al. “One basic idea is that an additional signal with a different modulation is modulated onto the existing radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Although Korn et al. does not explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals, Korn et al. does disclose the use of pseudo-noise (PN) radar (Korn et al. ¶ [0028]) and “Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” (Korn et al. ¶ [0032]). Examiner notes that M-sequences are a type of pseudorandom sequence.
Boenisch discloses:
M-sequences (Boenisch “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” - ¶ [0069])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Boenisch into the invention of Korn et al. to yield the invention of claim 19 above. Both Korn et al. and Boenisch are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. discloses the limitations of claim 19 outlined above. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals. This feature is disclosed by Boenisch where “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” (Boenisch ¶ [0069]). The combination of Korn et al. and Boenisch would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 20, Korn et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
A method for authorizing a control action (Korn et al. “access is granted if the signal received and demodulated by the authentication unit has a beat frequency whose amplitude is greater than a predetermined amplitude.” - ¶ [0051]), comprising:
generating a first radio signal by modulating a first carrier signal with a first (Korn et al. Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” - ¶ [0032]; “The authentication unit 120 has a modulator 124 which generates a radar-typical signal…” - ¶ [0057]);
transmitting the first radio signal (Korn et al. “The first RF transceiver unit is set up to send a modulated radar signal.” - ¶ [0012]);
receiving a radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1);
correlating the received radio signal with a predetermined second (Korn et al. “The authentication unit is further configured to receive the signal sent by the key unit and to demodulate it with at least one registered or calculated sequence known to the authentication unit from a list of registered or calculated sequences.” - ¶ [0013]; “Regardless of the chosen code, maximum likelihood estimators are used to estimate whether the received signal is the correct code.” - ¶ [0032]); and
performing a predetermined control action in reaction to a determination (Korn et al. “access is granted if the signal received and demodulated by the authentication unit has a beat frequency whose amplitude is greater than a predetermined amplitude.” - ¶ [0051]), based on the correlation result, that a device (Korn et al. key unit 140, Fig. 1) has responded to the first radio signal with a second radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1; “The key unit 140 also has a second RF transmit-receive unit 200, which is configured to receive the modulated radar signal 130 and to transmit the received modulated radar signal 132 with a superimposed additional signal 134.” - ¶ [0059]) generated by modulating a second carrier signal with the second (Korn et al. “The second RF transmit-receive unit is configured to receive the modulated radar signal and to transmit the received modulated radar signal with a superimposed additional signal, wherein the additional signal has a predetermined or calculated sequence of at least one modulation symbol.” - ¶ [0012]).
Although Korn et al. does not explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals, Korn et al. does disclose the use of pseudo-noise (PN) radar (Korn et al. ¶ [0028]) and “Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” (Korn et al. ¶ [0032]). Examiner notes that M-sequences are a type of pseudorandom sequence.
Boenisch discloses:
M-sequences (Boenisch “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” - ¶ [0069])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Boenisch into the invention of Korn et al. to yield the invention of claim 20 above. Both Korn et al. and Boenisch are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. discloses the limitations of claim 20 outlined above. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals. This feature is disclosed by Boenisch where “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” (Boenisch ¶ [0069]). The combination of Korn et al. and Boenisch would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 21, Korn et al. discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
A method for secure localization (Korn et al. “This feature has the advantage that is is possible to send out an encrypted identification signal and to obtain information from the same signal about how far away the sender is from the receiver. This makes it impossible to deceive the authentication system through a repeater attack or relay attack.” - ¶ [0015]), comprising:
receiving a radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 130, Fig. 1); and
correlating the received radio signal with a predetermined first (Korn et al. “The authentication unit then sends the challenge/task to the key unit. The key unit then sends the solution to the authentication unit, with each bit to be transmitted consisted of one or more modulation symbols, e.g. B. FMCW ramps, which are encoded with a code assigned to the key.” - ¶ [0047]); and
responding, in reaction to a determination, based on the correlation result, that a device (Korn et al. authentication unit 120, Fig. 1) has transmitted a first radio signal generated by modulating a first carrier signal with the first (Korn et al. “The first RF transceiver unit is set up to send a modulated radar signal.” - ¶ [0012]; pseudo-random noise (PN) radar - ¶ [0028]; “The authentication unit 120 has a modulator 124 which generates a radar-typical signal…” - ¶ [0057]), to the first radio signal with a second radio signal (Korn et al. radar signal 136, Fig. 1; “The key unit then sends the solution to the authentication unit, with each bit to be transmitted consisted of one or more modulation symbols, e.g. B. FMCW ramps, which are encoded with a code assigned to the key.” - ¶ [0047]) generated by modulating a second carrier signal with a predetermined second (Korn et al. “One basic idea is that an additional signal with a different modulation is modulated onto the existing radar signal.” - ¶ [0048]).
Although Korn et al. does not explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals, Korn et al. does disclose the use of pseudo-noise (PN) radar (Korn et al. ¶ [0028]) and “Any pseudo-noise modulation codes can be used for modulation.” (Korn et al. ¶ [0032]). Examiner notes that M-sequences are a type of pseudorandom sequence.
Boenisch discloses:
M-sequences (Boenisch “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” - ¶ [0069])
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Boenisch into the invention of Korn et al. to yield the invention of claim 21 above. Both Korn et al. and Boenisch are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. discloses the limitations of claim 21 outlined above. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose the use of M-sequence signals. This feature is disclosed by Boenisch where “The transmitting unit 74a of the sensor 12a is configured for emitting M-sequence signals.” (Boenisch ¶ [0069]). The combination of Korn et al. and Boenisch would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korn et al. (DE 102019204469 A1) in view of Boenisch (US 2023/0260393 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 17 DEC 2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mutz et al. (US 2020/0158813 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1
Mutz et al. discloses:
wherein the second M-sequence is determined depending on the first M-sequence (Mutz et al. “The spreading code may be different for each fourth symbol M, for example using a sequence of spreading code hopping only known to authorized devices 1, 2 and/or 1’ and 2’ or previously authenticated device.” - ¶ [0125]; “Each of the fourth symbols M may use a sequence different from that chosen for the other fourth symbols M. This choice depends on a secret sequence CLS known only to the transmitter A and the receiver B of the messages 100 or 200…” - ¶ [0188]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Mutz et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 4. Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second M-sequence is determined depending on the first M-sequence. This feature is disclosed by Mutz et al. where “Each of the fourth symbols M may use a sequence different from that chosen for the other fourth symbols M. This choice depends on a secret sequence CLS known only to the transmitter A and the receiver B of the messages 100 or 200…” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0188]). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and “to ensure that a fraudster does not have access to any temporal information used to calculate the distance.” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0115]).
Regarding claim 5, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1
Mutz et al. discloses:
wherein the second M-sequence is determined depending on the first M-sequence according to a predefined association of M-sequences (Mutz et al. “The spreading code may be different for each fourth symbol M, for example using a sequence of spreading code hopping only known to authorized devices 1, 2 and/or 1’ and 2’ or previously authenticated device.” - ¶ [0125]; “Each of the fourth symbols M may use a sequence different from that chosen for the other fourth symbols M. This choice depends on a secret sequence CLS known only to the transmitter A and the receiver B of the messages 100 or 200…” - ¶ [0188]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Mutz et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 5. Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second M-sequence is determined depending on the first M-sequence according to a predefined association of M-sequences. This feature is disclosed by Mutz et al. where “Each of the fourth symbols M may use a sequence different from that chosen for the other fourth symbols M. This choice depends on a secret sequence CLS known only to the transmitter A and the receiver B of the messages 100 or 200…” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0188]). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and “to ensure that a fraudster does not have access to any temporal information used to calculate the distance.” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0115]).
Regarding claim 6, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1
Mutz et al. discloses:
wherein the first M-sequence and the second M-sequence are determined according to a code hopping scheme defining a series of M-sequences (Mutz et al. “The spreading code may be different for each fourth symbol M, for example using a sequence of spreading code hopping only known to authorized devices 1, 2 and/or 1’ and 2’ or previously authenticated device.” - ¶ [0125]; “Each of the fourth symbols M may use a sequence different from that chosen for the other fourth symbols M. This choice depends on a secret sequence CLS known only to the transmitter A and the receiver B of the messages 100 or 200…” - ¶ [0188]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Mutz et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 6. Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first M-sequence and the second M-sequence are determined according to a code hopping scheme defining a series of M-sequences. This feature is disclosed by Mutz et al. where “The spreading code may be different for each fourth symbol M, for example using a sequence of spreading code hopping only known to authorized devices 1, 2 and/or 1’ and 2’ or previously authenticated device.” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0125]). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Mutz et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and “to ensure that a fraudster does not have access to any temporal information used to calculate the distance.” (Mutz et al. ¶ [0115]).
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korn et al. (DE 102019204469 A1) in view of Boenisch (US 2023/0260393 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 17 DEC 2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin (US 2021/0362678 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1, wherein the receiver is further configured to determine a direction of the device responding with the second radio signal with respect to the ultra-wideband radar device using the received signal (Korn et al. “If multiple transmitting or receiving antennas are used, an accurate estimation of the angular position of the key unit 140 is possible.” - ¶ [0066])
Jin discloses:
wherein the receiver is further configured to determine a direction of the device responding with the second radio signal with respect to the ultra-wideband radar device using the received signal (Jin “In addition, the controller 140 may determine an approach direction of the smart key 10, that is, an approach direction of the user based on the response signal received from the smart key 10 after transmitting the searching signal.” - ¶ [0051]) and wherein the controller is configured to authorize and/or select the control action depending on the direction (Jin “The controller 140 instructs wake-up to the touch sensor 111, 112, or 113 mounted in the vehicle door handle mapped to the determined approach direction of the smart key 10.” - ¶ [0053]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Jin into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 8. Korn et al., Boenisch and Jin are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to authorize and/or select the control action depending on the direction. This feature is disclosed by Jin where “The controller 140 instructs wake-up to the touch sensor 111, 112, or 113 mounted in the vehicle door handle mapped to the determined approach direction of the smart key 10.” (Jin ¶ [0053]). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Jin would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and “prevent the malfunction of the touch sensor by operating the touch sensor in the vehicle door based on an approach direction of a smart key located outside the vehicle.” (Jin [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 10
Jin discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to select the component among a plurality of components of the object depending on the direction (Jin “The controller 140 instructs wake-up to the touch sensor 111, 112, or 113 mounted in the vehicle door handle mapped to the determined approach direction of the smart key 10.” - ¶ [0053]).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Jin into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 8. Korn et al., Boenisch and Jin are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to select the component among a plurality of components of the object depending on the direction. This feature is disclosed by Jin where “The controller 140 instructs wake-up to the touch sensor 111, 112, or 113 mounted in the vehicle door handle mapped to the determined approach direction of the smart key 10.” (Jin ¶ [0053]). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Jin would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and “prevent the malfunction of the touch sensor by operating the touch sensor in the vehicle door based on an approach direction of a smart key located outside the vehicle.” (Jin [0004]).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korn et al. (DE 102019204469 A1) in view of Boenisch (US 2023/0260393 A1, cited by applicant in IDS dated 17 DEC 2024) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 10,788,569 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1
Lin et al. discloses:
wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence depending on a predetermined desired range resolution (Lin et al. “The architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar, when a good range resolution is desired and where it may be easy to adapt the range resolution by adjusting pulse width. Similarly, the architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar when it also has a low power consumption and may be needed to provide a wide coverage in azimuth angle but only provide range information (hence it is robust against interference, and is a useful option to use for short distance target detection, such as a parking and stop and go sensor)” – Col. 7, lines 44-54).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lin et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 13. Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence depending on a predetermined desired range resolution. This feature is disclosed by Lin et al. where a desired range resolution may be achieved by adjusting the pulse width (Lin et al. Col. 7, lines 44-54). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and provide “a reconfigurable radar unit may be constructed with low design complexity and low power consumption.” (Lin et al. Col. 5, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 14, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 1
Lin et al. discloses:
wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence depending on a previous estimation of a distance of the device responding with the second radio signal (Lin et al. “the reconfigurable radar unit that includes a radar sensitivity monitor and architecture reconfiguration control unit and is capable of switching between a plurality of operational modes in a real-time manner…” – Col. 4, lines 34-38; “The architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar, when a good range resolution is desired and where it may be easy to adapt the range resolution by adjusting pulse width. Similarly, the architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar when it also has a low power consumption and may be needed to provide a wide coverage in azimuth angle but only provide range information (hence it is robust against interference, and is a useful option to use for short distance target detection, such as a parking and stop and go sensor)” – Col. 7, lines 44-54).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lin et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 14. Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence depending on a previous estimation of a distance of the device responding with the second radio signal. This feature is disclosed by Lin et al. where a radar sensitivity monitor and architecture reconfiguration control unit adjusts the operation of the radar in real-time (Lin et al. Col. 4, lines 34-38) and a desired range resolution may be achieved by adjusting the pulse width (Lin et al. Col. 7, lines 44-54). The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and provide “a reconfigurable radar unit may be constructed with low design complexity and low power consumption.” (Lin et al. Col. 5, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 15, Korn et al. as modified above discloses:
[Note: what is not explicitly taught by Korn et al. has been struck-through]
The ultra-wideband radar device of claim 14
Lin et al. discloses:
wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence to a first pulse width smaller than a second pulse width if the previous estimation is below a predetermined distance threshold and is configured to set the pulse width of the first M-sequence to the second pulse width if the previous estimation is above a predetermined distance threshold (Lin et al. “The architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar, when a good range resolution is desired and where it may be easy to adapt the range resolution by adjusting pulse width. Similarly, the architecture herein described may be used, say, as a UWB impulse radar when it also has a low power consumption and may be needed to provide a wide coverage in azimuth angle but only provide range information (hence it is robust against interference, and is a useful option to use for short distance target detection, such as a parking and stop and go sensor)” – Col. 7, lines 44-54)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Lin et al. into the invention of Korn et al. as modified above to yield the invention of claim 15. Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they disclose transmitting and receiving ultra-wideband signals. Korn et al. as modified above discloses the invention of claim 1. However, Korn et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is configured to set a pulse width of the first M-sequence depending on a previous estimation of a distance of the device responding with the second radio signal. This feature is disclosed by Lin et al. where a radar sensitivity monitor and architecture reconfiguration control unit adjusts the operation of the radar in real-time (Lin et al. Col. 4, lines 34-38) and a desired range resolution may be achieved by adjusting the pulse width (Lin et al. Col. 7, lines 44-54). Lin et al. also discloses adjusting the range resolution according to the conditions of the environment, which includes if longer- or shorter-range detection is required. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to adjust the pulse width based on a predetermined distance threshold. The combination of Korn et al., Boenisch and Lin et al. would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to use M-sequence signals for the benefits of accurate speed recognition, particularly at high speeds and short distances, lower noise, little susceptibility to interference with other applications, simultaneous measurement over an entire (UWB) frequency range, and measurements that are substantially uninfluenced by layers of dirt and/or ice and by rain and/or fog in the region of the measurement path (Boenisch ¶ [0011]) and provide “a reconfigurable radar unit may be constructed with low design complexity and low power consumption.” (Lin et al. Col. 5, lines 7-9).
Conclusion
NAOMI M. WOLFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/N.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
5 SEP 2026
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648