DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the phrase “the monomer components (a) further comprise a functional monomer (a-5), where the functional monomer (a-5) includes a polymerizable dyestuff, a polymerizable ultraviolet absorber, and a polymerizable ultraviolet absorbing dyestuff.” It is unclear if the claim requires at least one functional monomer (a-5) component (namely, at least one functional monomer (a-5) selected from the group consisting of a polymerizable dyestuff, a polymerizable ultraviolet absorber, and a polymerizable ultraviolet absorbing dyestuff), or if the claim requires three specific functional (a-5) monomers (namely, the monomer components (a) further comprise a polymerizable dyestuff functional monomer (a-5), a polymerizable ultraviolet absorber functional monomer (a-5), and a polymerizable ultraviolet absorbing dyestuff functional monomer (a-5)). For the purposes of examination, claim 11 is interpreted as requiring at least one functional monomer (a-5) component, and is interpreted as instead reciting “the monomer components (a) further comprise a functional monomer (a-5), where the functional monomer (a-5) includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a polymerizable dyestuff, a polymerizable ultraviolet absorber, and a polymerizable ultraviolet absorbing dyestuff.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlaan et al. (US 2010/0280146 A1) in view of Ito et al. (US 2004/0054106 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Vanderlaan teaches a polymer composition (material) for ophthalmic contact lenses comprising a silicone containing component, a hydrophilic component (a polymerizable mixture containing monomer components (a) that include (a-1) of claim 1 and (a-3) of claim 4), a high molecular weight hydrophilic polymer (a hydrophilic polymer component (b)), and a compatibilizing agent (Vanderlaan, [0002], [0006]-[0016]). Vanderlaan teaches the silicone containing component (a-1) is a monomer that contains a siloxane bond and is free of hydroxyl groups (Vanderlaan, [0031]-[0033], [0044]-[0060]). Vanderlaan teaches the hydrophilic component (a-3) includes hydrophilic monomers as required by claim 4 (Vanderlaan, [0062]-[0067]). Vanderlaan teaches the polymer composition (material) for ophthalmic contact lenses has a water content of greater than about 17%, and preferably greater than about 25% by weight (Vanderlaan, [0062], [0083]). Vanderlaan’s water content falls within the claimed range of 11 mass% or more, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03).
Vanderlaan remains silent regarding a compatibilizing monomer (a-2) having a hydrogen bonding proton-containing group (such as a hydroxyl group) and being free of any silicon atoms, where the compatibilizing monomer (a-2) has four or more carbon atoms (excluding carbon atoms contained in a polymerizable functional group) and has a solubility of less than 0.03 g/mL in water at 25oC.
Ito, however, teaches a polymer composition (material) for ophthalmic contact lenses comprising a silicone containing monomer, a hydrophilic monomer, and a fluorine-containing monomer (Ito, [0001], [0009]-[0057], [0063]-[0071]). Ito discloses the fluorine-containing monomer is preferably a fluoroalkyl acrylate as depicted below having an R’1 as a perfluoroalkyl preferably of 4-6 carbon atoms to impart flexibility, wettability, sufficient oxygen permeability, and lipid-stain resistance (Ito, [0068]-[0069]). Ito’s fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4 carbon atoms is identical to the compatibilizing monomer (a-2) example in the specification as originally filed on page 60 having solubility of less than 0.01 g/mL in water at 25oC (Spec, Pg 60). "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. In view of the foregoing, Ito’s fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4 carbon atoms is considered to inherently exhibit a solubility of less than 0.01 g/mL in water at 25oC and exhibit compatibilizing properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and to have tried Ito’s fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4 carbon atoms from the finite list of viable fluorine-containing monomers, and moreover, to impart flexibility, wettability, sufficient oxygen permeability, and lipid-stain resistance with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (Ito, [0068]-[0069]; MPEP 2143).
Ito – Fluoroalkyl acrylate
Specification – C4F9CH2CH(OH) CHMA
Since Vanderlaan and Ito both disclose polymer compositions comprising silicone-based components for ophthalmic contact lenses, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added Ito’s fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4 carbon atoms into Vanderlaan’s composition to yield a polymer that exhibits flexibility, wettability, sufficient oxygen permeability, and lipid-stain resistance as taught by Ito (Ito, [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluorine-containing monomer having a perfluoroalkyl group R’1 of 4 carbon atoms has six or more carbon atoms excluding the carbon atoms in the polymerizable functional group (Ito, [0068]-[0069]).
Ito – Fluoroalkyl acrylate
Regarding Claim 3, modified Vanderlaan teaches the polymer composition (material) can include a compatibilizing agent with at least one polymerizable group (i.e., a compatibilizing monomer (a-2)) that can be included in an amount of about 0 to about 5 wt% of the polymer composition (Vanderlaan, [0013], Claim 9). Vanderlaan’s compatibilizing monomer (a-2) content overlaps the claimed range of 5-50 mass%, and therefore, establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Vanderlaan teaches the high molecular weight hydrophilic polymer (a hydrophilic polymer component (b)) is included in a preferred amount of about 3-15 wt% based upon the total of all reactive components (Vanderlaan, [0068]-[0070]). Modified Vanderlaan’s range is completely encompassed within the claimed range of 1-30 mass%, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4-6 carbon atoms (a-2) has an acrylate polymerizable functional group, an intermediate portion containing a hydroxyl group, and the perfluoroalkyl group of 4-6 carbon atoms as a hydrophobic terminal group (Ito, [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group of 4-6 carbon atoms (a-2) can have a branched hydrocarbon group such as 3-(perfluoro-3-methylbutyl)-2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate (Ito, [0065]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group (a-2) has a Z (meth)acryloyl group, an A divalent atomic group containing a hydroxyl group (a hydrogen bonding proton-containing group), and a B hydrocarbon group having 3-15 carbon atoms, where a total number of carbon atoms in A+B is 4 or more (Ito, [0065]-[0069]).
Ito – Fluoroalkyl acrylate
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group (a-2) has the A divalent group satisfying formula (i) of claim 9, where X is -O-; Ra1 can be an alkylene group of 3 carbon atoms and a hydroxyl group (-CH2-CH(OH)-CH2-); and r1, r2, r3, and r4 are 0 (Ito, [0065]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Vanderlaan teaches the polymer composition (material) can include a copolymerizable dye (i.e., a polymerizable dyestuff) (Vanderlaan, [0077]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Vanderlaan teaches the fluoroalkyl acrylate having a perfluoroalkyl group (a-2) has a hydroxyl group (a hydrogen bonding proton-containing group) (Ito, [0065]-[0069]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Vanderlaan teaches the silicone containing component (a-1) is a monomer that contains a siloxane bond, is free of hydroxyl groups, and contains a nitrogen atom (Vanderlaan, [0060], Formulae IX & X).
Vanderlaan – Formula IX
Vanderlaan – Formula X
Regarding Claim 14, modified Vanderlaan teaches the high molecular weight hydrophilic polymer (hydrophilic polymer component (b)) has a weight average molecular weight of no less than 100,000 (Vanderlaan, [0068]). Modified Vanderlaan’s range is identical to the claimed range, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, modified Vanderlaan teaches the high molecular weight hydrophilic polymer (hydrophilic polymer component (b)) can be a polyvinyl amide such as preferably poly-N-vinyl pyrrolidone (Vanderlaan, [0068]-[0071]).
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, modified Vanderlaan teaches ophthalmic medical contact lenses comprising the polymer composition as discussed above for claim 1 (Vanderlaan, [0002], [0009], [0014]-[0015], [0083]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlaan et al. (US 2010/0280146 A1) in view of Ito et al. (US 2004/0054106 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Satake et al. (US 2016/0289368 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Vanderlaan teaches the polymer composition (material) for ophthalmic contact lenses as discussed above for claim 1. Modified Vanderlaan teaches the polymer composition can exhibit modulus ranging from 64±4 psi to 118.4±7.3 psi (60 psi to 125.7 psi; 0.41 MPa to 0.87 MPa) (Vanderlaan, [0096], [0142]-[0146], Tables 5 & 8).
Modified Vanderlaan remains silent regarding a Young’s modulus of from 0.05 MPa to 2.0 MPa.
Satake, however, teaches a polymer for an ophthalmic contact lens having a Young’s modulus of from 0.3 MPa to 1.0 MPa to achieve excellent wearing comfort, sufficiently high flexibility, and adequate degree of deformation recovery property (Satake, [0010]-[0012], [0025]-[0026]). Satake’s Young’s modulus range is completely encompassed within the claimed range of 0.05-2.0 MPa, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03). Satake teaches the polymer comprises a polysiloxane-based monomer and a hydrophilic monomer (Satake, [0015]-[0017], [0038]-[0054]).
Since modified Vanderlaan and Satake both disclose polymer compositions comprising silicone-based components for ophthalmic contact lenses exhibiting similar modulus properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted and optimized Vanderlaan’s composition Young’s modulus between 0.3 MPa to 1.0 MPa to yield a polymer that achieves excellent wearing comfort, sufficiently high flexibility, and adequate degree of deformation recovery property as taught by Satake (Satake, [0010]-[0012], [0025]-[0026], MPEP 2144.05, II).
Conclusion
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782