DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below. Claims 1-5 are non-elected and withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group II claims 6-20 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/20/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Applicant respectfully traverses the outstanding Requirement on the grounds that a search and examination of the entire application would not place a serious search and/or examination burden on the Examiner. Further, Applicant submits that a search and/or examination of any one of the groups will cause the Examiner to consider the subject matter in the other group.
This is not found persuasive because there are features that are exclusive to each group. Therefore there is undue burden,
For example, but not limited to, Group I involves starting with determining object that blocks path of a vehicle, determine whether to traverse around the object, and determine a first time and a second time after the first time. These features are not in Group II. See claim 1 limitations:
determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, an object in the environment at least partially blocking a path of the vehicle;
determining a first cost associated with the vehicle passing the object on a first side of the object and a second cost associated with the vehicle passing the object on a second side of the object;
determining, based on one or more of the first cost or second cost, a first side association associated with a first time indicating whether to traverse around the object on the first side or the second side;
determining a second side association associated with a second time after the first time, wherein determining the second side association comprises determining, based at least in part on a time difference between the first time and the second time, that the second side association is a same side association as the first side association;
Group II has different features then group I, involves starting with determining a region, determining whether to traverse the region, and first point and second point. These features are not in group I. See claim 6 limitations (claim 14 is similar to claim 6):
determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, a region in the environment;
determining a first cost associated with the vehicle passing the region on a first side of the region and a second cost associated with the vehicle passing the region on a second side of the region;
determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point;
determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites limitation “determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point”. As recited, it is not clear if “a first point” is being applied to the first side or not.
Claim 6 recites limitation “determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point”. As recited, it is not clear if “a second point” is being applied to the first side or not.
Claims 7-13 depend on this claim and suffer from the same issues.
Claim 14 recites limitation “determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point”. As recited, it is not clear if “a first point” is being applied to the first side or not.
Claim 14 recites limitation “determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point”. As recited, it is not clear if “a second point” is being applied to the first side or not.
Claims 14-20 depend on this claim and suffer from the same issues.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 12, 14, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seegmiller et al. (US 20210108936 a reference in IDS 12/17/2024).
Regarding claim 6 and 14, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
(at least figs. 1-2, 7 [0024]-[0041] [0099]-[0101] discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, processor 705, memory devices 725):
receiving sensor data associated with a vehicle in an environment;
determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, a region in the environment;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049]);
determining a first cost associated with the vehicle passing the region on a first side of the region and a second cost associated with the vehicle passing the region on a second side of the region;
determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point;
determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point;
determining a trajectory for the vehicle based at least in part on one or more of the first side association or the second side association;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049]discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right);
and
controlling the vehicle in the environment based at least in part on the trajectory;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; [0036][0039] discussed autonomous vehicle executing trajectories);
Regarding claim 12, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
determining an initial planning corridor associated with the vehicle; and
determining, as an updated planning corridor and based at least in part on the second side association, an area exclusive of the region and exclusive of one of the first side of the region or the second side of the region;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem identifying objects/obstacles; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information including objects; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; it is noted that each of fig. 4c and fig. 4D and its description about topologically distinct class read on a updated planning corridor that is exclusive of the region and exclusive of an area of the initial planning corridor between the region and one side of the initial planning corridor);
Regarding claim 17, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost is based at least in part on at least one of:
a kinematic cost;
a path length cost;
a travel time cost;
an acceleration cost;
a proximity cost; or
a path confidence cost;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem identifying objects/obstacles; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information including objects; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; in particular at least [0070] discussed “At 350, the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories. In certain embodiments, the system may assign a score based on factors such as, without limitation, risk of collision (i.e., a trajectory that has a lesser risk of collision may be assigned a lower cost than a trajectory that has a higher risk of collision), traffic rule violations (i.e. a trajectory that clears an intersection may be assigned lower cost than a trajectory that stops in the intersection and “blocks the box”), passenger comfort (e.g., a trajectory that does not require performing sudden braking or steering maneuvers may be assigned a lower cost than a trajectory that requires such maneuvers), or the like)
Regarding claim 20, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost is based at least in part on a distance between the vehicle and the region;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem identifying objects/obstacles; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information including objects; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; in particular at least [0070] discussed “At 350, the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories. In certain embodiments, the system may assign a score based on factors such as, without limitation, risk of collision (i.e., a trajectory that has a lesser risk of collision may be assigned a lower cost than a trajectory that has a higher risk of collision), traffic rule violations (i.e. a trajectory that clears an intersection may be assigned lower cost than a trajectory that stops in the intersection and “blocks the box”), passenger comfort (e.g., a trajectory that does not require performing sudden braking or steering maneuvers may be assigned a lower cost than a trajectory that requires such maneuvers), or the like”; [0051]-[0068] discussed constraints, including the longitudinal actions and associated constraints, and lateral; [0098])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, 16, 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seegmiller et al. (US 20210108936 a reference in IDS 12/17/2024) as applied to claims 6, 14 above, and further in view of KING et al. (US 20210354725 a reference in IDS 12/17/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Seegmiller et al. does not explicitly teach:
determining that a desired ending state of the vehicle is a terminal state, wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost comprises referencing a value associated with a cost plot based at least in part on a current vehicle state and the terminal state;
However, KING et al. teaches:
determining that a desired ending state of the vehicle is a terminal state, wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost comprises referencing a value associated with a cost plot based at least in part on a current vehicle state and the terminal state;
( at least [0123]-[0127] fig. 8-9 [0180]-0187] discussed stereoscopic camera system of the vehicle is used to determine non-path probability map and path probability map, path and non-path regions, fig. 10-12 [0188]-[0206] discussed determine a cost map/grid relating to the terrain based on the path and non-path probabilities, candidate trajectories/routes 810-830 on cost map/cost cells, discussed “a preferred path may be selected from the candidate trajectories in dependence on the calculated costs… VCU 10 may select trajectory 810 as its preferred path as it will have the lowest cost”) to select a preferred path ([0180]-0187] [0188]-[0206]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of Seegmiller et al. with determining that a desired ending state of the vehicle is a terminal state, wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost comprises referencing a value associated with a cost plot based at least in part on a current vehicle state and the terminal state; as taught by KING et al. to select a preferred path.
Regarding claim 8, Seegmiller et al. does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost is based at least in part on a cost plot, wherein the cost plot comprises a set of values associated with moving the vehicle from a range of positions and orientations to a target range and target orientation;
However, KING et al. teaches:
wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost is based at least in part on a cost plot, wherein the cost plot comprises a set of values associated with moving the vehicle from a range of positions and orientations to a target range and target orientation;
( at least [0123]-[0127] fig. 8-9 [0180]-0187] discussed stereoscopic camera system of the vehicle is used to determine non-path probability map and path probability map, path and non-path regions, fig. 10-12 [0188]-[0206] discussed determine a cost map/grid relating to the terrain based on the path and non-path probabilities, candidate trajectories/routes 810-830 on cost map/cost cells, discussed “a preferred path may be selected from the candidate trajectories in dependence on the calculated costs… VCU 10 may select trajectory 810 as its preferred path as it will have the lowest cost”) to select a preferred path ([0180]-0187] [0188]-[0206]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of Seegmiller et al. with wherein determining at least one of the first cost or the second cost is based at least in part on a cost plot, wherein the cost plot comprises a set of values associated with moving the vehicle from a range of positions and orientations to a target range and target orientation; as taught by KING et al. to select a preferred path.
Regarding claim 10, Seegmiller et al. does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining one of the first cost or the second cost comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, a data structure indicating occupied and unoccupied space in the environment;
determining a route associated with the vehicle, the route including a starting state of the vehicle and a desired ending state of the vehicle;
determining, based at least in part on the route, a first grid comprising one or more layers disposed at intervals along the route and defining a plurality of nodes associated with different locations in the environment;
determining, based at least in part on the data structure, a first subset of nodes associated with a first candidate path; and
determining, based at least in part on the first subset of nodes, the first cost or the second cost;
However, KING et al. teaches:
wherein determining one of the first cost or the second cost comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, a data structure indicating occupied and unoccupied space in the environment;
determining a route associated with the vehicle, the route including a starting state of the vehicle and a desired ending state of the vehicle;
determining, based at least in part on the route, a first grid comprising one or more layers disposed at intervals along the route and defining a plurality of nodes associated with different locations in the environment;
determining, based at least in part on the data structure, a first subset of nodes associated with a first candidate path; and
determining, based at least in part on the first subset of nodes, the first cost or the second cost;
( at least [0123]-[0127] fig. 8-9 [0180]-0187] discussed stereoscopic camera system of the vehicle is used to determine non-path probability map and path probability map, path and non-path regions, fig. 10-12 [0188]-[0206] discussed determine a cost map/grid relating to the terrain based on the path and non-path probabilities, candidate trajectories/routes 810-830 on cost map/cost cells, discussed “a preferred path may be selected from the candidate trajectories in dependence on the calculated costs… VCU 10 may select trajectory 810 as its preferred path as it will have the lowest cost”) to select a preferred path ([0180]-0187] [0188]-[0206]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of Seegmiller et al. with wherein determining one of the first cost or the second cost comprises: determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, a data structure indicating occupied and unoccupied space in the environment; determining a route associated with the vehicle, the route including a starting state of the vehicle and a desired ending state of the vehicle; determining, based at least in part on the route, a first grid comprising one or more layers disposed at intervals along the route and defining a plurality of nodes associated with different locations in the environment; determining, based at least in part on the data structure, a first subset of nodes associated with a first candidate path; and determining, based at least in part on the first subset of nodes, the first cost or the second cost as taught by KING et al. to select a preferred path.
Regarding claim 11, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
wherein determining the first subset of nodes comprises:
determining a first set of actions for controlling motion of the vehicle;
determining a first action of the first set of actions, based at least in part on a first action cost associated with the first action;
determining a predicted first vehicle state associated with the first action;
determining a second set of actions for controlling motion of the vehicle from the predicted first vehicle state;
determining a second action of the second set of actions, based at least in part on a second action cost associated with the second action; and
determining a predicted second vehicle state associated with the second action;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem identifying objects/obstacles; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information including objects; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; in particular [0065] discussed “For example, in FIG. 4F, the envelope 444 illustrates the constraints to (1) track behind object 402, and to (2) pass object 401 on the right. The constraints are expressed in curvilinear space with respect to the reference path 405. To track behind object 402 the longitudinal distance along the reference path must not violate an upper bound 454. To pass object 401 on the right, the lateral offset must not violate a left bound over some interval on the reference path”, at least track behind object 402 and pass object 401 on the right read on first set of candidate actions, the longitudinal distance along the reference path must not violate an upper bound 454 and the lateral offset must not violate a left bound over some interval on the reference path read on second set of candidate actions);
Regarding claim 16, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 8 read on this claim.
Regarding claim 18, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 10 read on this claim.
Regarding claim 19, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 11 read on this claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12208819 in view of Seegmiller et al. (US 20210108936 a reference in IDS 12/17/2024) and KING et al. (US 20210354725 a reference in IDS 12/17/2024).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12208819, in particular claims 8 and 15, teach all limitations except for:
determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point;
determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point;
determining a trajectory for the vehicle based at least in part on one or more of the first side association or the second side association;
However, Seegmiller et al. teaches:
determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point;
determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point;
determining a trajectory for the vehicle based at least in part on one or more of the first side association or the second side association;
(at least figs. 1-4H, 6 [0024]-[0073] 6A-6C [0089]-[0098] discussed vehicle controller 112, discussed autonomous vehicle 101, vehicle controller 112, discussed vehicle planning to travel along route with reference path, then detecting objects on the road, and evaluating possible trajectories/paths to pass the objects on the left or the right; in particular at least [0028] discussed reference path, [0030] [0036] discussed route and trajectories, [0043]-[0049] discussed nominal route, trajectory, reference path; in particular at least [0026] [0031]-[0032] [0049] discussed sensors/perception subsystem; discussed receiving 342 real-time perception information; in particular at least [0050]-[0068] discussed topologically planning including “as shown in FIG. 4C a topologically distinct class may include all the trajectories 431a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the left, which corresponds to node 408h in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”, “FIG. 4D illustrates a topologically distinct class that includes all the trajectories 432a-n that pass each of the objects 401, 402, 403 on the right, which corresponds to node 408o in the tree graph 430 in FIG. 4B”; [0052]-[0064] discussed constraints include lateral offset of passing on left or passing on right; [0069]-[0072] discussed scoring, discussed “the system may optimize a trajectory for each constraint set to determine a candidate trajectory for each topologically distinct class”, discussed “the system may assign a score to each candidate trajectory, and select (352) a best candidate trajectory based on the assigned scores (e.g., best trajectory selected as maximum reward or minimum cost depending on scoring criteria) to be used for traversing the local region from the optimized trajectories”; fig. 6 [0089]-[0098] discussed an example of passing objects on left or right; [0036][0039] discussed autonomous vehicle executing trajectories) for planning ([0024]-[0073] [0089]-[0098]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12208819 with determining, based on one or more of the first cost or the second cost, a first side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a first point; determining a second side association indicating whether to traverse the region on the first side or the second side at a second point; determining a trajectory for the vehicle based at least in part on one or more of the first side association or the second side association; as taught by Seegmiller et al. for planning.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 18, 19 , claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12208819 teach these claims.
It is noted that claims 17 also taught by Seegmiller et al. as applied to prior art rejection above.
Claims 8, 10-11, 16, 18-19 also taught by Seegmiller et al. in view of King et al. as applied to prior art rejections above
Regarding claims 12,20, Seegmiller et al. teaches these claims as applied to prior art rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oppolzer (US 20180364710) discussed passing obstacle on right or left.
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656