DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 06/11/2026
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10, 14, 16, 18, 20, 24 and 27 have been amended
Claims 1-32 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wightman (US 2016/0081453).
Claim 1. Wightman discloses a device for storing and applying material to a skin of a user for medical and/or cosmetic purposes (fig. 1A), the device comprising:
a body 105 including (a) first and second sides that define (1) a cavity 110 that functions as a reservoir for storing the material and (2)
(b) a hole 106 that communicates with the cavity and that is configured to enable access to the material (fig. 1H); and
an applicator 101 configured to be inserted into and removed from the hole of the body [0043], the applicator including:
(1) a first section 125 configured to be grasped by the user for applicator removal from and insertion into the hole of the body; and
(2) a second section 120/115 for accumulating material within the cavity of the body and for subsequently applying the material to the skin of the user [0047].
Claim 2. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the applicator further includes a third section between the first and second sections, the third section comprises (1) a seal that is configured as a ledge that extends outwardly with respect to the first section, the seal functions as a seal between the applicator and the body when applicator is fully inserted and seated within the hole of body (see annotated figure below).
Claim 7. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the first section includes a lip 135 configured to facilitate grasping (fig. 1B).
Claim 9. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the first section of the applicator is circular at the distal end thereof (fig. 1C).
Claim 10. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the distal section is configured with a surface area to retain enough material from the cavity after the applicator is removed from the body so that once the user applies the material on the distal section to a desired user location, minimal material will remain on distal section that may be subject to being scraped off when the applicator is re-inserted into the hole of the body [0043].
Claim 15. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the material is lip balm, lip gloss or petroleum jelly [0005].
Claim 16. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the device is configured to store and apply material to lips of the user [0005].
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 11, 14, 17-21, 25-26 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 2021/0393020).
Claims 20, 27. Chae discloses a device for storing and applying material to a skin of a user for medical and/or cosmetic purposes (abstract), the device comprising:
a body 12 including (a) first and second sides that define (1) a cavity 14 that functions as a reservoir for storing the material [0024] and (2)
(b) a hole 10 that communicates with the cavity and that is configured to enable access to the material (fig. 1); and
an applicator 32 configured to be inserted into and removed from the hole of the body [0035], the applicator including:
(1) a first section 22 configured to be grasped by the user for applicator removal from and insertion into the hole of the body;
(2) a second section 24 for accumulating material within the cavity of the body and for subsequently applying the material to the skin of the user (fig. 1); and
(3) a mid-section between the proximal section and distal section having a first ridge that extends outwardly and to secure the applicator within the body when seated therein [0036-0037].
Claim 5. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the applicator includes a third section 28 having a first ridge that extends in an outward direction away from the first section, the ridge is configured to secure the applicator within the body when fully seated therein [0036-0037].
Claims 6, 32. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the second side
is a film [0022].
Claims 8, 21. Chae discloses the device of claim 5 wherein the third section includes a second ridge 36/38 adjacent the first ridge that extends outwardly and that is configured to secure the applicator within the body when fully seated therein ([0044-0046]; fig. 2).
Claims 11, 26. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising a rubber seal 26 within the hole to facilitate sealing contact between the applicator and the body [0037].
Claims 14, 17, 31. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the first side and a second side together define the cavity, wherein the first and second sides are equal size or unequal size ([0022]; fig, 5B).
Claim 18. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 wherein at least one side are is deformable [0009].
Claim 19. Chae discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the body includes a hole 31 for a keychain (fig. 1).
Claim 25. Chae discloses the device of claim 20 wherein the proximal section of the applicator is circular at the distal end thereof ([0035]; fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wightman (US 2016/0081453) in view of Gurure (US 2019/0045905).
Claim 12. Wightman discloses the device of claim 1 but fails to disclose multiple cavities. Gurure teaches wherein the body includes a second cavity 18 that is separated from the cavity 16 by a wall 14 and a second hole that communicates with the second cavity (fig. 2, 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the container body of Wightman to include the multi-compartmented features of Gurure to provide multiple product options for the consumer.
Claim 13. Wightman-Gurure discloses the device of claim 12 further including a second applicator 38 configured to fit within the second hole (Gurure; fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 17, 22-24 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chae et al. (US 2021/0393020) and Wightman (US 2016/0081453).
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735