DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communication: an application filed on 12/17/2024 where:
Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackelen et al. (US 2004/0047643, hereinafter Jackelen).
Regarding claim 1, Jackelen teaches: An image forming apparatus (fig. 1, printer 20) comprising an execution control unit that (fig. 1, processor 26), in a case where a specific type of sheet (fig.6, “Blue Plain”) associated with print data is not loaded in the image forming apparatus (fig. 2, step 200, [0023], At Step 200, the printer detects a mismatch between print job attributes and available printer resources) and an alternative type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus, causes a print engine unit to execute printing based on the print data on the alternative type of sheet (fig. 6, [0045], In this example, a mismatch occurs because the print job attempts to use "A4 Blue Plain 80" media, but that media type is not currently loaded in to the printer. In response to the mismatch, the printer may display the mismatch on the user interface screen, and the printer operator may select the mismatch in order to view the available options for resolving the mismatch.)
Regarding claim 2, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display control unit that displays a first screen capable of accepting permission for printing on the alternative type of sheet from a user in the case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus and the alternative type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus (see fig. 6, and [0045]),
wherein the execution control unit causes the print engine unit to execute the printing based on the print data on the alternative type of sheet in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the alternative type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus, and the first screen accepts the permission from a user (see fig. 6, and [0045, 0047], The first available option field 350 displays the text "Modify Job to Use Different Media"; ).
Regarding claim 3, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first screen is capable of accepting a choice to change a sheet from a user (fig. 6, [00352], the second available option field 352 displays the text "Load the Missing Media Into the Printer"), and in a case where the first screen accepts the choice to change a sheet from a user, the execution control unit suspends the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit ([0016 and [0020]], In response to the mismatch, the printer may place the print job on hold pending resolution of the mismatch), and resumes an operation for the print data after the sheet is changed (fig. 7, step 422 and [0053], If no mismatches are detected, the page is sent to the marking engine for printing in Step 430, and Step 416 is then repeated for each page.).
Regarding claim 4, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first screen is capable of accepting a choice to cancel printing from a user (fig. 6, Cancel Job 358), and the execution control unit cancels the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit in a case where the first screen accepts the choice to cancel printing from a user ([0043], If the printer operator selects the fourth option, then the print job is cancelled and does not continue printing.).
Regarding claim 5, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus and the alternative type of sheet is also not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the display control unit does not display the first screen and the execution control unit cancels the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit ([0023], Of course, it is also possible that no action would resolve the mismatch, in which case the printer may terminate the print job or may notify the printer operator.).
Regarding claim 6, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus and the alternative type of sheet is also not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the display control unit displays a second screen capable of accepting a choice to change a sheet from a user ([0023], s previously described, the available options may be presented on the user interface in a hierarchical menu structure. Of course, other ways could also be used to display the options. [0037], ] In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus.), and
in a case where the second screen accepts the choice to change a sheet from a user, the execution control unit suspends the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit, and resumes an operation for the print data after the sheet is changed (see fig. 6, and [0045, 0047], The first available option field 350 displays the text "Modify Job to Use Different Media"; ] [0037]In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus.).
Regarding claim 7, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the second screen is capable of accepting a choice to cancel printing from a user, and the execution control unit cancels the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit in a case where the second screen accepts the choice to cancel printing from a user (fig. 6, Cancel and [0037], ] In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus.).
Regarding claim 8, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display control unit that, in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus and the alternative type of sheet is also not loaded in the image forming apparatus, displays a third screen for giving a warning to a user (see fig. 4, [0037], ] In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus. ) and obtaining permission from the user for printing on a type of sheet that is neither the specific type nor the alternative type (see fig. 6), wherein
in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the alternative type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, and the permission is input into the third screen from a user, the execution control unit causes the print engine unit to execute the printing based on the print data on the type of sheet that is neither the specific type nor the alternative type (fig. 4 and fig. 6, [0044], [0037], ] , Do nothing at this time 356, Then, in response to selecting this option field 350, the printer may display another screen showing one or more media choices to replace the mismatched media. The printer operator may then select one of the media choices in order to resolve the mismatch. Of course, other fields may present other sub-options as well.).
Regarding claim 9, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the third screen is capable of accepting a choice to change a sheet from a user, and in a case where the third screen accepts the choice to change a sheet from a user, the execution control unit suspends the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit, and resumes an operation for the print data after the sheet is changed (fig. 4 and fig. 6, [0044], [0037], ] Then, in response to selecting this option field 350, the printer may display another screen showing one or more media choices to replace the mismatched media. The printer operator may then select one of the media choices in order to resolve the mismatch. Of course, other fields may present other sub-options as well. Fig. 6, load the missing media).
Regarding claim 10, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the third screen is capable of accepting a choice to cancel printing from a user, and the execution control unit cancels the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit in a case where the third screen accepts the choice to cancel printing from a user (fig. 6, Cancel job 358).
Regarding claim 11, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display control unit that, in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, displays a fourth screen ( see fig. 4, [0037], ] In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus.) capable of accepting permission for printing on a type of sheet that is not the specific type from a user (fig. 4 and fig. 6, [0044], [0037], ] Then, in response to selecting this option field 350, the printer may display another screen showing one or more media choices to replace the mismatched media. The printer operator may then select one of the media choices in order to resolve the mismatch. Of course, other fields may present other sub-options as well. A first field 350 corresponds to a first available option for resolving the first mismatch), wherein
after the fourth screen accepts the permission from a user, the execution control unit determines whether the alternative type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus (fig. 4 and fig. 6, [0044], [0037], ] Then, in response to selecting this option field 350, the printer may display another screen showing one or more media choices to replace the mismatched media. The printer operator may then select one of the media choices in order to resolve the mismatch. Of course, other fields may present other sub-options as well. A first field 350 corresponds to a first available option for resolving the first mismatch), and
the execution control unit causes the print engine unit to execute the printing based on the print data on the alternative type of sheet in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the fourth screen accepts the permission from a user, and the alternative type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus (fig. 4 and fig. 6, [0044], [0037], ] Then, in response to selecting this option field 350, the printer may display another screen showing one or more media choices to replace the mismatched media. The printer operator may then select one of the media choices in order to resolve the mismatch. Of course, other fields may present other sub-options as well. A first field 350 corresponds to a first available option for resolving the first mismatch).
Regarding claim 12, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fourth screen ( see fig. 4, [0037], ] In an alternate embodiment, one or more of the fields 350, 352, 354 may include one or more sub-menus.) is capable of accepting a choice to cancel printing on the type of sheet that is not the specific type from a user, and the execution control unit cancels the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit in a case where the fourth screen accepts the choice to cancel printing from a user (see fig. 6, cancel job).
Regarding claim 13, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the fourth screen is capable of accepting a choice to change a sheet from a user, and in a case where the fourth screen accepts the choice to change a sheet from a user, the execution control unit suspends the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit, and resumes an operation for the print data after the sheet is changed (see fig. 6, Fig. 6, load the missing media).
Regarding claim 14, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the permission is input into the fourth screen from a user, and the alternative type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the display control unit displays a fifth screen for giving a warning to the user and obtaining permission from the user for printing on a type of sheet that is neither the specific type nor the alternative type ([0048], the routine returns to step 404 for further mismatch detection. Of course, it is also possible that no action would resolve the mismatch, in which case the printer may terminate the print job or may notify the printer operator. The printer operator may in turn cancel the print job or may allow it to continue in spite of the mismatch.), and
in a case where the specific type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, the alternative type of sheet is not loaded in the image forming apparatus, and the permission for printing on a type of sheet that is neither the specific type nor the alternative type is input into the fifth screen from a user, the execution control unit causes the print engine unit to execute the printing based on the print data on the type of sheet that is neither the specific type nor the alternative type ([0048], the routine returns to step 404 for further mismatch detection. Of course, it is also possible that no action would resolve the mismatch, in which case the printer may terminate the print job or may notify the printer operator. The printer operator may in turn cancel the print job or may allow it to continue in spite of the mismatch.).
Regarding claim 15, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the fifth screen is capable of accepting a choice to change a sheet from a user, and in a case where the fifth screen accepts the choice to change a sheet from a user, the execution control unit suspends the execution of the printing based on the print data by the print engine unit, and resumes an operation for the print data after the sheet is changed (fig. 6, the second available option field 352 displays the text "Load the Missing Media Into the Printer";).
Regarding claim 16, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the execution control unit causes the print engine unit to execute the printing based on the print data on the specific type of sheet in a case where the specific type of sheet is loaded in the image forming apparatus (fig. 7, step 418, [0053], If not, then the rendering process is ended and the job is printed in a Step 418. ).
Regarding claim 17, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the alternative type of sheet is a type of sheet for which information on a fact that the type of sheet can be an alternative to the specific type of sheet is stored in a storage unit accessible to the image forming apparatus ([0049], Software code used to implement mid-job mismatch detection can be summarized by a brief example. Several definitions are necessary to understand the following example. A "log_i18n message" is a function used to notify the user of a given condition via a printer user interface or log file. The "isLegalPage" function checks to determine if the page size is a legal size, that is, whether the page size is one supported and supplied by the printer. This function checks each page header to detect specified media sizes that are unsupported by the printer. Code for the "isLegalPage" function is set forth in Table 5.).
Regarding claim 18, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the alternative type of sheet is a type of sheet for which information on a fact that the type of sheet can be an alternative to a combination of the specific type of sheet and a print quality is stored in a storage unit accessible to the image forming apparatus([0049], Software code used to implement mid-job mismatch detection can be summarized by a brief example. Several definitions are necessary to understand the following example. A "log_i18n message" is a function used to notify the user of a given condition via a printer user interface or log file. The "isLegalPage" function checks to determine if the page size is a legal size, that is, whether the page size is one supported and supplied by the printer. This function checks each page header to detect specified media sizes that are unsupported by the printer. Code for the "isLegalPage" function is set forth in Table 5.).
Regarding claim 19, Jackelen teaches: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the alternative type of sheet is a sheet determined as the alternative type of sheet to the specific type of sheet by comparing a printing parameter corresponding to the specific type of sheet and a printing parameter corresponding to the alternative type of sheet to each other ([0013], he first part of the print job submitted to the RIP is called the "print job header," which contains a series of specially formatted commands that define the job attributes.[0023], ] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of a process for using a user interface screen to resolve a printer mismatch. At Step 200, the printer detects a mismatch between print job attributes and available printer resources. As previously described, the mismatch may be a pre-job mismatch or a mid-job mismatch. Then, at Step 202, the printer determines one or more available options to correct the mismatch.).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected for reasons similar to claim 1 above
Conclusion
/ANDREW H LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682