DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responded to the preliminary amendment filed on 12/17/24.
Claim 1-14 have been canceled.
Claims 21-32 have been added.
Claim 15-32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 21-22 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. 20110038271) in view of Sundin et al. (WO2018139965).
For claim 15, et al. disclose a processor configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a configuration to measure a downlink (DL) pathloss on a reference signal (RS) for each of a plurality of configured component carriers (CCs) (at least [0041], [0045]-[0046] and [0052]. In order to determine a pathloss estimate for an UL CC, pathhloss measurements may be performed by a WTRU on at least one, and as many as all of the downlink (DL) CCs. A pathloss measurement for each UL CC may be used. Alternatively, each DL carrier may be mapped to, or paired with an UL carrier for pathloss measurement. PL=(referenceSignalPower)-(higher layer filtered RSRP) (Equation 8), where referenceSignalPower is a parameter provided to the WTRU and RSRP is the reference signal received power.);
measuring the DL pathloss on the RSs for each of the CCs (at least [0041], [0045]-[0046] and [0052]. In order to determine a pathloss estimate for an UL CC, pathhloss measurements may be performed by a WTRU on at least one, and as many as all of the downlink (DL) CCs. A pathloss measurement for each UL CC may be used. Alternatively, each DL carrier may be mapped to, or paired with an UL carrier for pathloss measurement. PL=(referenceSignalPower)-(higher layer filtered RSRP) (Equation 8), where referenceSignalPower is a parameter provided to the WTRU and RSRP is the reference signal received power.); and
performing power headroom for the CCs associated with an uplink (UL) transmission (at least [0061]. The WTRU 630 performs pathloss measurements on aggregated CCs according to the pathloss measurement and setting rules. At 606, the WTRU 630 uses measured pathloss to set transmit power for uplink transmission on aggregated CCs, and calculates power headroom for aggregated CCs. At 608, the WTRU 630 transmits UL signals to the eNB 620 using the calculated power settings.) However, Shin et al. do not disclose performing power headroom reporting (PHR) for the CCs associated with an active beam for an uplink (UL) transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Sundin et al. disclose performing power headroom reporting (PHR) for the CCs associated with an active beam for an uplink (UL) transmission (at least [0019], [0066] and [0070]. The network and UE agree to use at least one BPL for data and control channel reception and transmission (here referred to as the "active" BPL). The UE derives the available power headroom as the difference between the available output power and the power used for data transmission. The power headroom is delivered to higher layers. _In one embodiment the power headroom is derived as the total power headroom for all used component carriers per BPL. In another embodiment the power headroom is derived per component-carrier group per BPL, where a group of component carriers could, for example, belong to the same frequency band. In another embodiment the power headroom is derived per individual component carrier and BPL. In another embodiment the power headroom is derived jointly over all or a subset of all active BPLs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Shin et al. as taught by Sundin et al. for purpose of estimating the path-loss for power control of a BPL.
For claim 16, the combination of Shin et al. and Sundin et al. disclose the processor of claim 15. Shin et al. disclose wherein the RS is an RS from a system synchronization block (SSB) or a channel state information (CSI) RS and the DL pathloss measurement is a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement on the RS (at least [0014], [0041], [0045]-[0046] and [0052]. Networks schedule and transmit UE specific reference signals that, among other things, can be used for beam searching, beam tracking, and beam refinement. Such signals are referred to here as beam refinement reference signals (BRRS). Another example of a UE specific reference signal is the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). This is a reference signal scheduled by the network for one (or possibly, several) specific UE (or UEs) with the intention of providing measurement opportunities in the UE such that more detailed channel knowledge may be obtained and reported back to the network. In order to determine a pathloss estimate for an UL CC, pathhloss measurements may be performed by a WTRU on at least one, and as many as all of the downlink (DL) CCs. A pathloss measurement for each UL CC may be used. Alternatively, each DL carrier may be mapped to, or paired with an UL carrier for pathloss measurement. PL=(referenceSignalPower)-(higher layer filtered RSRP) (Equation 8), where referenceSignalPower is a parameter provided to the WTRU and RSRP is the reference signal received power.)
For claims 21-22, the claims have features which are similar claim 15-16. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 15-16.
For claims 27-28, the claims have features which are similar claim 15-16. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 15-16.
Claims 17, 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. 20110038271) in view of Sundin et al. (WO2018139965) further in view Park et al. (U.S. 20200100289).
For claim 17, the combination of Shin et al. and Sundin et al. do not disclose the processor of claim 15, wherein an energy per resource element (EPRE) of the RS is determined to be constant across a transmission bandwidth and across all slots regardless of an outcome of a listen-before-talk operation performed across the CCs.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al. disclose an energy per resource element (EPRE) of the RS is determined to be constant across a transmission bandwidth and across all slots regardless of an outcome of a listen-before-talk operation performed across the CCs (at least [0187]-[0188] and [0193]. When transmit power of a transmission node varies according to an LBT operation in a plurality of U-SCells, a range for a ratio of CRS EPRE (energy per resource element) to PDSCH EPRE (or, a parameter determining the ratio) can be changed according to a carrier type (or, higher layer signal or DCI). The CRS EPRE is configured by a higher layer signal. The CRS EPRE has a fixed value in a downlink system band and a subframe. A PDSCH EPRE can be represented by a certain ratio of the CRS EPRE. For example, a ratio of the CRS EPRE to the PDSCH EPRE is defined by ρA in an OFDM symbol where a CRS does not exist. The ratio of the CRS EPRE to the PDSCH EPRE is defined by ρB in an OFDM symbol where a CRS exists. In this case, the ρA is determined by a power offset δpower-offset according to whether or not MIMO is applied and PA corresponding to a UE-specific variable. ρB/ρA is determined by the number of antenna ports and PB corresponding to a cell-specific variable.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Shin et al. as taught by Park et al. for purpose of improve channel estimation and measurement performance.
For claims 23 and 29, the claims have features which are similar claim 17. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claim 17.
Claims 18-19, 24-25 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. 20110038271) in view of Sundin et al. (WO2018139965) further in view Park et al. (U.S. 20200100289) and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 20190182682).
For claim 18, the combination of Shin et al., Sundin et al. and Park et al. do not disclose the processor of claim 15, wherein the PHR comprises dividing UL CCs into a set of groups based on an associated UL beam index.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al. disclose the PHR comprises dividing UL CCs into a set of groups based on an associated UL beam index (at least [0441]. A method for storing all PHs for a plurality of cells (carriers) or a plurality of beams in one PHR. When one UE uses four cells (carriers) or beams, CC 1 or beam 1 5i-15 may carry PHs for not only CC 1 or beam 1 but also the other three CCs or beams. An MAC PDU 5i-10 transmitted via CC 1 or beam 1 5i-15 includes one PHR 5i-05, and the PHR may include all the PHs for CC 1 (or beam 1) to CC 4 (or beam 4).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Shin et al. as taught by Kim et al. for purpose of enabling a user to receive a high-quality and high-capacity service.
For claim 19, the combination of Shin et al., Sundin et al., Park et al. and Kim et al. disclose the processor of claim 18. Shin et al. disclose wherein CCs in a same frequency band are grouped into one CC group (at least [0041]. Contiguous CCs with the same carrier frequency or within a same frequency/spectrum band may be grouped together.)
For claims 24-25, the claims have features which are similar claims 18-19. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 18-19.
For claims 30-31, the claims have features which are similar claims 18-19. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claims 18-19.
Claims 20, 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (U.S. 20110038271) in view of Sundin et al. (WO2018139965) further in view Park et al. (U.S. 20200100289) and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 20190182682) and further in view of Lin et al. (U.S. 20180132197).
For claim 20, the combination of Shin et al., Sundin et al. and Park et al. do not disclose the processor of claim 19, wherein PHR is not performed for deactivated beams.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin et al. disclose PHR is not performed for deactivated beams (at least [0346]. A power headroom report could be triggered due to a change (or addition or activation) of the serving TRP(s), a change (or addition or activation) of the serving TRP beam(s), a change (or addition or activation) of a candidate TRP beam(s), or an activation (or addition) of a UE beam.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Shin et al. as taught by Lin et al. for purpose of allowing the base station to realize how much extra transmission power is available in the UE and how to schedule resource to the UE properly
For claims 26 and 32, the claims have features which are similar claim 20. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claim 20.
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644