DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voris et al (hereinafter Voris) US 20150350277 in view of Swaminathan et al (hereinafter Swaminathan) US 20150264096.
Referring to claim 1, Voris discloses a method comprising:
inserting, into a first content segment, an indication of one or more characteristics of a subsequent content segment (see Paragraph 0026 and 0031-0034 for disclosing insertion, into the header of a first content segment, with characteristics/bit-rate information of the subsequent content segments); and
sending, to a device, the first content segment comprising the indication of the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment (see Paragraphs 0031-0034 for disclosing the first content segment (e.g., segment 1 with header 1a) is sent to a receiving device containing the characteristics/bit-rate information of the subsequent content segments); and
sending, to the device, the subsequent content segment, wherein the bitrate at which the subsequent content segment is sent is based at least on the indication of the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment sent with the first content segment (see Paragraph 0020-0026 and 0030-0035 for disclosing the subsequent segments (e.g., segment 2, 3, 4) are sent to the receiving device, wherein the bitrate at which the subsequent segments are sent is based on the bitrate that is indicated in the manifest inserted into the header of the first content segment).
Voris is unclear as to sending, to the device, a version of the content, wherein the version of the content is selected based at least on the indication of the one or more characteristics of the content.
Swaminathan discloses sending, to the device, a version of the subsequent content segment, wherein the version of the subsequent content segment is selected based at least on the indication of the one or more characteristics of the content (see Paragraph 0018 for disclosing sending, to a receiving device/client, one of a variety of different resolutions of the content (i.e. a version of the content), wherein the selected resolution of the content is based on at least the determined appropriate birate/characteristic at which the subsequent/next content segment should be sent).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the version selection of Swaminathan with the system of Voris in order to account for current network conditions (e.g., changes in available or usable bandwidth) and produce playback without causing stalls or re-buffering events, which would interrupt the playback, or otherwise increase the playback latency(see Swaminathan, Paragraph 0018).
Referring to claim 2, Voris discloses inserting, into the first content segment, the indication of one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment comprises inserting, into a header of the first content segment, the indication of one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to claim 3, Voris discloses the first content segment and the subsequent content segment are configured for linear transmission (see Abstract, Figs. 3A and 3B, and Paragraphs 0014 and 0023 for disclosing the content segments are configured for linear transmission through adaptive bitrate streaming).
Referring to claim 4, Voris discloses performing a lookahead operation to determine the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment (see Paragraphs 0026 and 0031-0034).
Referring to claim 5, Voris discloses the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment comprise an estimated bitrate required for transmission of the subsequent content segment as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to claim 6, Voris discloses the first content segment is configured for playback prior to the subsequent content segment (see Abstract, Figs. 3A and 3B, and Paragraphs 0014, 0020-0026, and 0031-0034 for disclosing the linear transmission/playback adaptive bitrate streaming system for playing back content segments in order).
Claim 7 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1, further noting Voris discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (see Paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0045) that, when executed performs the method as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1, further noting Voris discloses a first device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions (see Paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0045) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first device to perform the method as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1, further noting Voris discloses a system comprising a first computing device (see Paragraphs 0040-0041 and 0045) configured to perform the method as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 19 of of U.S. Patent No. 11943487. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application are broader than and fully encompassed by the limitations of claim 1 of the cited patent, and the limitations of claims 7, 13, and 19 of the instant application are broader than and fully encompassed by the limitations of claim 19 of the cited patent, further noting the limitations of “first content segment” and “subsequent content segment” in the instant application are mapped to “second content segment” and “first content segment”, respectively, in the cited patent.
Claim 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12200276 in view of Voris et al (hereinafter Voris) US 20150350277, and further in view of Swaminathan et al (hereinafter Swaminathan) US 20150264096.
Referring to independent claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 of the instant application, the cited patent discloses an in a first content segment, an indication of one or more characteristics of a subsequent content segment, the first content segment comprising the indication of the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment, and the version of the subsequent content segment is selected based at least on the indication of the one or more characteristics of the subsequent content segment from the first content segment as seen in cited independent claims 1, 7, 13, and 19, respectively, of the cited patent.
The cited patent is unclear as to inserting an indication of a characteristic of a subsequent segment into a first segment, sending the first content segment to a device, and sending the subsequent content segment to the device.
Voris discloses inserting an indication of a characteristic of a subsequent segment into a first segment, sending the first content segment to a device, and sending the subsequent content segment to the device (see Paragraphs 0020-0026 and 0030-0035).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the robust adaptive bitrate streaming system of Voris with the system of the cited patent in order to allow more intelligent pre-caching of media content and enable the system to foresee higher bitrate segmetns that required greater attention, and use such information to improve the playback experience (see Voris, Paragraph 0023).
The cited patent in view of Voris is unclear as to sending a version of the subsequent content segment.
Swaminathan discloses sending a version of the content (see Paragraph 0018).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the version selection of Swaminathan with the system of the cited patent in view of Voris in order to account for current network conditions (e.g., changes in available or usable bandwidth) and produce playback without causing stalls or re-buffering events, which would interrupt the playback, or otherwise increase the playback latency(see Swaminathan, Paragraph 0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tirpak US 20180097772 for disclosing multiple versions of a video file corresponding to high/medium/low resolutions, wherein each resolution is paired with respective high/medium/low bitrate formats, and wherein depending on varying network conditions, a bitrate of a next segment is determined and a corresponding high, medium, or low bitrate format and resolution is selected for streaming.
/NICHOLAS T CORBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
01/29/2026