DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie III (Figure 6) in the reply filed on 04/14/2016 is acknowledged.
Applicant indicates that claims 1-20 are readable on the elected Specie III (Figure 6). However, upon further consideration, only claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-20 are readable on the elected Specie III (Figure 6). Note that claims 5-6 and 10 are not readable on the elected Specie III (Figure 6) because Figure 6 does not comprise “an input transistor coupled to the first tail node; and a tail transistor coupled to the second tail node and having a gate terminal coupled to a gate terminal of the input transistor” (as recited in claims 5-6), and “a first input transistor coupled to the first pair of mixer transistors at a first tail node; and a second input transistor coupled to the second pair of mixer transistors at a second tail node” (as recited in claim 10).
Claims 5-6 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/14/26.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,362 (the ‘362 patent, hereafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the ‘362 patent encompassed all the limitations of claims 1-4, 7-9 and 11-20 and they are drawn to substantially the same embodiment of the invention. Note that, claims 1-20 of the ‘362 patent teaches a mixer comprising a first mixer transistor, a second transistor mixer transistor, a first bias transistor, a second bias transistor, a third mixer transistor, a fourth mixer transistor; and also teaches a transformer with a secondary coil and a primary coil etc. as in claims 1-4, 7-9 and 11-20 of the instant application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 1, lines 1-2 (the paragraph before paragraph [0001]), the issued patent information of Application 18/336,761 should be provided . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 14, the recitation “a coil having a first terminal coupled to the first pair of mixer transistors and a second terminal coupled to the bias circuit” appears to be misdescriptive because it is inconsistent with the specification as the specification (paragraph [0055], lines 1-2) discloses that “coil 104s may have a first terminal coupled to first tail node Va, a second terminal coupled to second tail node Vb” (i.e., not “a second terminal coupled to the bias circuit” as recited in the claim). Clarification and/or appropriated correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2018/0159474).
For claim 1, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a mixer circuitry comprising: a first mixer transistor (the very first most left-side transistor inside 315-b wherein the gate of the transistor receiving signal LO+ via 310-b) configured to receive a first oscillating signal (LO+) and coupled to a first tail node (the junction source node of the 2 left-side transistors in 315-b); a second mixer transistor (the second most left transistor inside 315-b wherein the gate of the transistor receiving signal LO- via a capacitor) configured to receive a second oscillating signal (LO-) different than the first oscillating signal (LO+) and coupled to the first tail node (the junction source node of the 2 left-side transistors in 315-b); and a first bias transistor (430-a) configured to receive the first oscillating signal (LO+) and coupled to a second tail node (either node 445-a or ground node) different than the first tail node.
For claim 2, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a third mixer transistor (the right most transistor inside 315-b wherein the gate of the transistor receives LO+ via 310-b) configured to receive the first oscillating signal (LO+) and coupled to a third tail node (the junction source node of the 2 right-side transistors in 315-b) different than the first and second tail nodes; and a fourth mixer transistor transistor (the second most right transistor inside 315-b wherein the gate of the transistor receiving signal LO- via a capacitor) configured to receive the second oscillating signal (LO-) and coupled to the third tail node.
For claim 3, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a second bias transistor (430-b) configured to receive the second oscillating signal (LO-) and coupled to the second tail node.
For claim 4, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches wherein the second bias transistor (430-b) is coupled in parallel with the first bias transistor (430-a).
For claim 8, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a mixer circuitry comprising: a first pair of mixer transistors (the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b) configured to receive an oscillating signal (LO+, LO-); and a bias circuit (305-b) configured to receive the oscillating signal (LO+, LO-) and to control an amount of current (by Vbias) flowing through the first pair of mixer transistors.
For claim 9, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a second pair of mixer transistors (the 2 right-side transistors inside 315-b) configured to receive the oscillating signal (LO+, LO-), wherein the bias circuit (305-b) is further configured to control an amount of current (by Vbias) flowing through the second pair of mixer transistors.
For claim 11, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches wherein the bias circuit (305-b) further comprises: a pair of bias transistors (430-a, 430-b) coupled together in parallel and configured to receive the oscillating signal (LO+, LO-).
Insofar as understood in claim 14, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a coil (secondary coil (i.e., second coil from the bottom) of the bottom transformer inside 315-b) having a first terminal coupled to the first pair of mixer transistors (the source node of the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b) and a second terminal coupled a second terminal coupled to a second pair of mixer transistors (the source node of the 2 right-side transistors inside 315-b). Also, Figure 5 of Yu et al. also shows the coil (the secondary coil (i.e., second coil from the bottom)) is also coupled to the bias circuit (305-b) as the center-tap terminal of the coil coupled to common ground with the bias circuit (305-b).
For claim 15, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a mixer circuitry comprising: a first pair of mixer transistors (the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b) configured to receive an oscillating signal (LO+, LO-) and coupled to a first tail node (the source node of the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b); a transformer (bottom transformer inside 315-b) coupled to the first tail node (the source node of the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b); and a bias circuit (305-b) configured to receive the oscillating signal (LO+, LO-) and being coupled to the transformer (as the center-tap terminal of the secondary coil of the transformer coupled to common ground with the bias circuit (305-b).
For claim 16, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a second pair of mixer transistors (the 2 right-side transistors inside 315-b) configured to receive the oscillating signal (LO+, LO-) and coupled to a second tail node (the source node of the 2 right-side transistors inside 315-b), wherein the second tail node (the source node of the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b) is coupled to the transformer (bottom transformer inside 315-b).
For claim 17, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches wherein the transformer (bottom transformer inside 315-b) comprises: a primary coil (first coil from the bottom inside 315-b); and a secondary coil (second coil from the bottom inside 315-b) having a first terminal (left side of the secondary coil) coupled to the first tail node (the source node of the 2 left-side transistors inside 315-b), a second terminal (right side of the secondary coil) coupled to the second tail node (the source node of the 2 right-side transistors inside 315-b), and a center tap terminal (center tab of the secondary coil) coupled to the bias circuit (305-b, i.e., coupled to common ground).
For claim 18, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches the bias circuit (305-b) comprises: a first bias transistor (430-a); and a second bias transistor (430-b) coupled in parallel with the first bias transistor (430-a).
For claim 19, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches wherein the bias circuit (305-b) further comprises: operational amplifier (425-a) coupled between the transformer (bottom transformer inside 315-b) and a node (either node 445-a or ground node) disposed between the first and second bias transistors (430-a and 430-b).
For claim 20, Figure 5 of Yu et al. teaches a low pass filter (310-b and/or the combination of capacitor connected between output terminal and + terminal of 425-a and 430-a) coupled between the bias circuit (305-b) and the transformer (bottom transformer inside 315-b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if a proper Terminal Disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US Patent 8,412,143) teaches in Figures 4 and 5 a double balanced mixer including a combination of transistors.
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836