DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 & 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 20190189122 A1 hereinafter, Yokoyama ‘122) in view of Takahashi (US 20140164996 hereinafter, Takahashi ‘996).
Regarding claim 1; Yokoyama ‘122 discloses a speech modification assistance apparatus (Fig. 2, Client Terminal 1)
comprising: one or more hardware processors (Fig. 2, Control Unit 10 i.e. The control unit 10 functions as an arithmetic processing device and a control device, and controls the overall operation in the client terminal 1 in accordance with various programs. For example, the control unit 10 is implemented by a central processing unit (CPU). Paragraph 0035) configured to function as:
a first reception unit (Fig. 1, Local Speech Recognition Unit 101) configured to receive selection of target recorded speech data, which is basic recorded speech data to be processed, from among one or more pieces of basic recorded speech data that are recorded (i.e. The local speech recognition unit 101 performs speech recognition on a voice signal of a user speech input via the voice input unit 11. Paragraph 0039)
a display control unit (Fig. 1, Display Unit 15) configured to convert the target recorded speech data into a basic character string and display the basic character string (i.e. In the case where it is determined that the user speech is the general speech, the local final output decision unit 103 outputs a character string obtained through speech recognition on a screen of the display unit 15 as it is. Paragraph 0041);
a second reception unit (Fig. 2, Local text Analysis Unit 102) configured to receive designation of a change target character string to be changed in the displayed basic character string (i.e. The local text analysis unit 102 analyzes a character string obtained by converting voice into a text through speech recognition. Specifically, the local text analysis unit 102 refers to emendatory speech data that is previously stored in the storage unit 16, and analyzes whether the character string is a mere speech for inputting words (general speech) or an emendatory speech. The local text analysis unit 102 outputs emendatory-speechness, and outputs an emendation target and an emendatory command in the case where the character string is the emendatory speech. Paragraph 0040)
and a generation control unit (Fig. 2, Local Final Output Decision Unit 103) configured to generate modified speech data corresponding to the target recorded speech data and the change target character string (i.e. The local final output decision unit 103 has a function of deciding what to finally output. For example, the local final output decision unit 103 determines whether a user speech is a general speech or an emendatory speech on the basis of a text analysis result or a specific keyword (such as “emendation mode” or “switch”) extracted through speech recognition. In the case where it is determined that the user speech is the general speech, the local final output decision unit 103 outputs a character string obtained through speech recognition on a screen of the display unit 15 as it is. On the other hand, in the case where it is determined that the user speech is the emendatory speech, the local final output decision unit 103 performs an emendation process on the input sentence on the basis of the emendation target and the emendatory command that have been analyzed by the local text analysis unit 102, and outputs a result of the emendation to the screen of the display unit 15. Paragraph 0041).
Examiner reasonably believes that Yokoyama ‘122 discloses a display control unit as expressed above. However, Examiner cites Takahashi ‘996 to cure any deficiencies of Yokoyama ‘122.
Takahashi ‘996 discloses a display control unit configured to convert the target recorded speech data into a basic character string and display the basic character string (i.e. A display unit configured to display as each item in a list each of a plurality of character strings obtained by performing morphological analysis on text data; and a control unit, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as an item in the list a combined character string obtained by combining character strings corresponding to the plurality of specified items, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as new items in the list a plurality of character strings obtained by segmenting a character string corresponding to the specified item. See Abstract and Paragraph 0028).
Yokoyama ‘122 and Takahashi ‘996 are combinable because they are from same field of endeavor of speech systems (Takahashi ‘996 at “Field of Invention”).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the speech system as taught by Yokoyama ‘122 by adding a display control unit as taught by Takahashi ‘996. The motivation for doing so would have been because advantageous to provide a more efficient way for a display apparatus to display a plurality of character strings in a combined manner or in a separate manner based on instructions by a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yokoyama ‘122 with Takahashi ‘996 to obtain the invention as specified.
Regarding claim 9; Claim 9 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10; Claim 10 contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1. However, Claim 10 further discloses a speech modification assistance computer program product having a non-transitory computer readable medium including programmed instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute the method. Takahashi ‘996 discloses in Claim 9 and Paragraph 0116 a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the image processing method.
Regarding claim 11; Yokoyama ‘122 discloses a speech modification assistance system (Fig. 1, Information Processing System)
comprising:
a speech modification assistance apparatus (Fig. 1, Client Terminal 1)
and an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1, Server 2), wherein the speech modification assistance apparatus comprises:
one or more first hardware processors (Fig. 2, Control Unit 10 i.e. The control unit 10 functions as an arithmetic processing device and a control device, and controls the overall operation in the client terminal 1 in accordance with various programs. For example, the control unit 10 is implemented by a central processing unit (CPU). Paragraph 0035)
configured to function as:
a first reception unit (Fig. 1, Local Speech Recognition Unit 101) configured to receive selection of target recorded speech data, which is basic recorded speech data to be processed, from among one or more pieces of basic recorded speech data that are recorded (i.e. The local speech recognition unit 101 performs speech recognition on a voice signal of a user speech input via the voice input unit 11. Paragraph 0039)
a display control unit (Fig. 1, Display Unit 15) configured to convert the target recorded speech data into a basic character string and display the basic character string (i.e. In the case where it is determined that the user speech is the general speech, the local final output decision unit 103 outputs a character string obtained through speech recognition on a screen of the display unit 15 as it is. Paragraph 0041);
a second reception unit (Fig. 2, Local text Analysis Unit 102) configured to receive designation of a change target character string to be changed in the displayed basic character string (i.e. The local text analysis unit 102 analyzes a character string obtained by converting voice into a text through speech recognition. Specifically, the local text analysis unit 102 refers to emendatory speech data that is previously stored in the storage unit 16, and analyzes whether the character string is a mere speech for inputting words (general speech) or an emendatory speech. The local text analysis unit 102 outputs emendatory-speechness, and outputs an emendation target and an emendatory command in the case where the character string is the emendatory speech. Paragraph 0040)
a generation control unit (Fig. 2, Local Final Output Decision Unit 103) configured to generate modified speech data corresponding to the target recorded speech data and the change target character string (i.e. The local final output decision unit 103 has a function of deciding what to finally output. For example, the local final output decision unit 103 determines whether a user speech is a general speech or an emendatory speech on the basis of a text analysis result or a specific keyword (such as “emendation mode” or “switch”) extracted through speech recognition. In the case where it is determined that the user speech is the general speech, the local final output decision unit 103 outputs a character string obtained through speech recognition on a screen of the display unit 15 as it is. On the other hand, in the case where it is determined that the user speech is the emendatory speech, the local final output decision unit 103 performs an emendation process on the input sentence on the basis of the emendation target and the emendatory command that have been analyzed by the local text analysis unit 102, and outputs a result of the emendation to the screen of the display unit 15. Paragraph 0041);
and a storing processing unit configured to store modification-related information regarding modification of the modified speech data (i.e. The emendatory speech DB 22 is a storage unit configured to store much emendatory speech data collected in advance. The emendatory speech DB 22 is implemented by a storage device including a storage medium, a recording device which records data in the storage medium, a reader device which reads data from the storage medium, a deletion device which deletes data recorded in the storage medium, and the like. For example, the emendatory speech data includes keywords and example sentences that are used in emendatory speeches. Paragraph 0080);
and the information processing apparatus comprises: one or more second hardware processors (Fig. 3, Control Unit 20)
configured to function as: a reception unit (Fig. 3, Text Analysis Unit 202) configured to receive the modification-related information (i.e. The text analysis unit 202 analyzes a character string obtained by converting the user speech into a text through speech recognition. Specifically, the text analysis unit 202 refers to emendatory speech data that is previously stored in the emendatory speech DB 22, and analyzes whether the character string is a mere speech for inputting words (general speech) or an emendatory speech. In addition, the text analysis unit 202 may conduct the analysis in view of context information (captured image or sensor information) transmitted from the client terminal 1 at a time of the user speech. Paragraph 0057)
and a modification processing unit (Fig. 3, Final Output Decision Unit 203) configured to generate modified speech data obtained by modifying the target recorded speech data based on the modification-related information (i.e. The final output decision unit 203 has a function of deciding what to finally output. For example, the final output decision unit 203 determines whether a user speech is a general speech or an emendatory speech on the basis of a text analysis result or a specific keyword (such as “emendation mode” or “switch”) extracted through speech recognition. In the case where a plurality of analysis results are obtained, the final output decision unit 203 may decide which of the analysis results to use with reference to scores indicating confidence ratings of the respective candidates. Paragraph 0059)
Examiner reasonably believes that Yokoyama ‘122 discloses a display control unit as expressed above. However, Examiner cites Takahashi ‘996 to cure any deficiencies of Yokoyama ‘122.
Takahashi ‘996 discloses a display control unit configured to convert the target recorded speech data into a basic character string and display the basic character string (i.e. A display unit configured to display as each item in a list each of a plurality of character strings obtained by performing morphological analysis on text data; and a control unit, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as an item in the list a combined character string obtained by combining character strings corresponding to the plurality of specified items, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as new items in the list a plurality of character strings obtained by segmenting a character string corresponding to the specified item. See Abstract and Paragraph 0028).
Yokoyama ‘122 and Takahashi ‘996 are combinable because they are from same field of endeavor of speech systems (Takahashi ‘996 at “Field of Invention”).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the speech system as taught by Yokoyama ‘122 by adding a display control unit as taught by Takahashi ‘996. The motivation for doing so would have been because advantageous to provide a more efficient way for a display apparatus to display a plurality of character strings in a combined manner or in a separate manner based on instructions by a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yokoyama ‘122 with Takahashi ‘996 to obtain the invention as specified.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
2. Claims 3-7 depend on indicated objected claim 2. Therefore, by virtue of their dependency, Claims 3-7 are also indicated as objected subject matter.
Examiners Statement of Reasons for Allowance
The cited reference (Yokoyama ‘122) teaches wherein the object is to provide an information processing device and information processing method that are capable of emending a sentence by inputting voice. The solution is wherein the information processing device includes: a transmission unit configured to transmit voice information including an emendatory command and an emendation target of a sentence; and a reception unit configured to receive a process result based on the emendatory command and the emendation target.
The cited reference (Takahashi ‘996) teaches wherein an apparatus according to the present invention includes a display unit configured to display as each item in a list each of a plurality of character strings obtained by performing morphological analysis on text data; and a control unit, wherein in a case where a first operation is performed on a plurality of items specified by a user in the list, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as an item in the list a combined character string obtained by combining character strings corresponding to the plurality of specified items, and in a case where a second operation is performed on an item specified by the user in the list, the control unit is configured to control the display unit to display as new items in the list a plurality of character strings obtained by segmenting a character string corresponding to the specified item.
The cited references fail to disclose wherein the hardware processors are configured to further function as: a third reception unit configured to receive an input of a changed character string for the change target character string, wherein the generation control unit generates the modified speech data corresponding to the target recorded speech data and the changed character string for the change target character string; wherein the hardware processors are configured to further function as: a sixth reception unit configured to receive a reproduction instruction for the modified speech data; and a reproduction control unit configured to reproduce the modified speech data. As a result, and for these reasons, Examiner indicates Claims 2-8 as allowable subject matter.
Relevant Prior Art References Not Relied Upon
1. Sankoda (US 20200105270 A1) - An apparatus displays, on a terminal that enables a touch operation, an edit screen on which a text including word blocks is edited, where the word blocks are generated by performing morphological analysis on a character string obtained by speech recognition. Upon reception of a scroll instruction to scroll the text, the apparatus shifts each of the word blocks displayed on the edit screen in a description direction of the text, based on the scroll instruction.
2. Funase et al. (US 20160019893 A1) - A method for controlling a speech-recognition text-generation system that captures speech, converts the captured speech into character strings through speech recognition, includes determining whether or not the character strings include a predetermined phrase; specifying, in a case where the predetermined phrase is determined to be included, a character string associated with the predetermined phrase among the character strings as a first character string which is a deletion candidate; and displaying the first character string in a first display form on a display terminal and displaying a second character string, which is a character string other than the first character string, in a second display form on the display terminal.
Conclusion
MARCUS T. RILEY, ESQ.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2654
/MARCUS T RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654