CTFR 18/983,947 CTFR 82879 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Horiuchi US 2020/0333723 A1 ( Horiuchi ) . Regarding claim 1 , Horiuchi teaches an image forming apparatus comprising: a photosensitive member (102) configured to rotate; a light-emitting chip (202) including: a plurality of light emitting units (array Chip 1-15) arranged along a rotational axis direction of the photosensitive drum and configured to emit light for exposing the photosensitive member (FIG. 4); a driving unit (414) configured to control turning on and off of the plurality of light emitting units based on image data; and a storage unit (420) configured to store control data indicating a target amount of light of the plurality of light emitting units; a substrate (202) having mounted thereon a plurality of light-emitting chips including the light-emitting chip; a controller integrated circuit (IC, coming out of 413) configured to output the control data and the image data; and a common signal line (see Reproduced Figure below) connecting the controller (413) integrated circuit and the light emitting chip (Array Chip 1-15), wherein the image data and the control data output by the controller integrated circuit are transmitted via the common signal line (¶0086, ¶0082). PNG media_image1.png 469 645 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein identification information for identifying a data type is added to each of the image data and the control data output by the controller integrated circuit (¶0086). Regarding claim 3 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: an image data holding unit (410) configured to hold the image data; a storage unit (420) configured to store the control data; and an interface circuit (305) configured to receive the image data and the control data output by the controller integrated circuit. Regarding claim 4 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the interface circuit (305) identifies the image data and the control data based on the identification information (¶0058-¶0059). Regarding claim 5 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the interface circuit (305) identifies the image data and the control data based on the identification information, outputs the image data to the image data holding unit, and outputs the control data to the storage unit (¶0058-¶0059). Regarding claim 6 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: a reading signal line (202) connecting the controller integrated circuit and the storage unit, wherein the controller integrated circuit reads the control data stored in the storage unit via the reading signal line (¶0074-¶0076). Regarding claim 7 , Horiuchi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting units are organic electroluminescent (EL), (¶0002). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA L ELEY whose telephone number is (571)272-9793. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM CST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Jr. Lindsay can be reached at (571)272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Jessica L Eley/Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/983,947 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/983,947 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/983,947 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/983,947 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/983,947 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852