The instant application having Application No. 18/939,551 filed on 12/17/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 200, 214, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application DE102023136644.0 (Federal Republic of Germany).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “The camera according to claim, wherein …” which should state “The camera according to claim 1, wherein …” or “The camera according to claim 2, wherein …”.
For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as “The camera according to claim 1, wherein …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 1, Nagai (Figures 5 and 6) disclose a camera for a vehicle, in particular, a commercial vehicle (paragraph 0002 states "There is proposed a camera system for use in e.g. ... vehicle-mounted camera", paragraphs 0002-0004, paragraph 0063, Figure 5), in at least Figures 5 and 6, comprising:
a housing (30 "holder", Figures 5 and 6),
at least one optical element (35 "transparent lens", Figure 5) arranged in or at the housing (30 "holder", Figure 5), and
a circuit board (2b "board body", Figure 6) with at least one image sensor (39 "image sensor", Figure 6) and a surface heating (20 "heater circuit", Figure 6) for heating the optical element (35 "transparent lens", paragraph 0009 states “In a state that the optical element is afterward mounted on the wiring board and sealed from the outside by a transparent plate or lens of glass, the heater circuit functions to prevent the occurrence of condensation or freezing on a surface of the transparent plate or lens even under a large temperature difference between the outside and the inside space in which the optical element is sealed”).
Regarding claim 2, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the surface heating (20 "heater circuit") is formed from at least one conductor path (22 "conductors", paragraph 0059 states "A heater circuit 20, in which a plurality of heater portions 21 and a plurality of via conductors 22 are alternately connected to form a meandering shape in side view", paragraph 0017 states "the heater circuit can formed by planer elements or by combination of planer elements and linear (rod-shaped) elements as via conductors", Figure 6), wherein conductor path sections of the conductor path (22 “conductors”) are arranged on the circuit board (2b "board body") for forming a planar arrangement (paragraph 0017 states "the heater circuit can formed by planer elements or by combination of planer elements and linear (rod-shaped) elements as via conductors", paragraphs 0060-0061, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") is arranged in a meandering manner (paragraph 0060 states "As shown in FIG. 6, the heater circuit 20 may alternatively have a structure in which a plurality of heater portions 21 formed with upper surfaces thereof flush with the front surface 3 of the board body 2b and a plurality of heater portions 21 formed at an interface between the front surface 3-side ceramic layers c7 and c8 are connected by a plurality of via conductors 22 through the uppermost ceramic layer c8 so as to form a meandering shape in side view").
Regarding claim 4, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") is arranged at least partly around the image sensor (39 "image sensor", Figure 6 shows that 22 "conductors" are arranged at least partly around the image sensor).
Regarding claim 5, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") is arranged on the side of the circuit board (2b "board body") which faces the optical element (35 "transparent lens", paragraph 0060 states "As shown in FIG. 6, the heater circuit 20 may alternatively have a structure in which a plurality of heater portions 21 formed with upper surfaces thereof flush with the front surface 3 of the board body 2b and a plurality of heater portions 21 formed at an interface between the front surface 3-side ceramic layers c7 and c8 are connected by a plurality of via conductors 22 through the uppermost ceramic layer c8 so as to form a meandering shape in side view", Figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") is arranged on a certain conductor path layer (c8 "ceramic layer") of the circuit board (2b "board body", paragraph 0058 states "The board surface 2b has ceramic layers c6 to c8 stacked integrally together", paragraph 0060 states "a plurality of heater portions 21 formed at an interface between the front surface 3-side ceramic layers c7 and c8 are connected by a plurality of via conductors 22 through the uppermost ceramic layer c8 so as to form a meandering shape in side view in the same manner", Figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") has a substantial two-dimensional shape (paragraph 0017 states "the heater circuit can formed by planer elements or by combination of planer elements and linear (rod-shaped) elements as via conductors", Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the conductor path (22 "conductors") extends across a plurality of circuit board layers (c6 “ceramic layer”, c7 “ceramic layer”, c8 “ceramic layer”, Figure 6) which are substantially parallel to each other (paragraph 0058 states "The board surface 2b has ceramic layers c6 to c8 stacked integrally together", paragraph 0060 states "a plurality of heater portions 21 formed at an interface between the front surface 3-side ceramic layers c7 and c8 are connected by a plurality of via conductors 22 through the uppermost ceramic layer c8").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2, however Nagai does not disclose wherein the outer boundary of the conductor path on the circuit board substantially corresponds to the outer boundary of the surface of the optical element which faces the conductor path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a conductor path and an optical element such that the outer boundary of the conductor path on the circuit board substantially corresponds to the outer boundary of the surface of the optical element which faces the conductor path, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
Regarding claim 11, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 5, however Nagai does not disclose wherein the circuit board layer is kept clear in an area between the image sensor and the conductor path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the conductor path such that the circuit board layer is kept clear in an area between the image sensor and the conductor path, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6), in view of Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Nagai (Figures 5 and 6) disclose all the limitations of claim 9, however Nagai (Figures 5 and 6) does not disclose wherein the conductor path has a three-dimensional shape.
Nagai (Figure 7) teaches wherein the conductor path (27 “heater portions”, Figure 7) has a three-dimensional shape (paragraph 0066 states "As shown in FIG. 7, the heater circuit 26 includes: heater portions 27 formed in a meandering shape consisting of a series of alternately inverted square-cornered U-shapes in plan view, on respective four sides of the front surface 3 of the board body 2a along the side surfaces 5 of the board body 2a and the side surfaces 8 of the cavity 6", Figure 7).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera of Nagai (Figures 5 and 6) modified by wherein the conductor path has a three-dimensional shape, as taught by Nagai (Figure 7), in order to obtain an even spread of heat.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6), in view of Lyon (US 20060055820 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2, however Nagai does not disclose wherein a thermal barrier is provided between the image sensor and the conductor path.
Lyon teaches wherein a thermal barrier (26 “thermal barrier”) is provided between the image sensor (“image sensor”) and the conductor path (paragraph 0024 states "Thermal barrier 26 should be constructed of material that has a low thermal conductivity so that it acts as a thermal insulator to prevent heat from the circuit boards in second housing 28 from being transferred to the image sensor in the back focus assembly in first housing 24").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera of Nagai modified by wherein a thermal barrier is provided between the image sensor and the conductor path, as taught by Lyon, in order to prevent heat from the circuit boards from being transferred to the image sensor (paragraph 0024).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6), in view of Meek (GB 2378522 A)(see attached copy).
Regarding claim 15, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Nagai does not disclose a heat-conductive potting compound which is arranged between the circuit board, the housing and the optical element.
Meek teaches a heat-conductive potting compound which is arranged between the circuit board (10 “circuit board”), the housing (35 “metallic case”) and the optical element (16 “lens assembly”, last paragraph of page 12 states "Then a potting compound is introduced into the mould from the rear of the apparatus, i.e. from the back of the circuit board 10. The potting compound flows through the mould through the slots 32 provided on the interior surface of the metallic case 35 31. The compound surrounds the printed circuit board 10 and the lens assembly 16", page 14, paragraph 4 states "all of the electrical components of the circuit board 11 are 25 encapsulated in the potting compound", page 17, paragraph 3 states "The functioning of the overall device is improved by the potting of the components in a compound which is a good conductor of heat so that all heat generated by the circuits shown in Figures 4 and 5 can be dissipated via the potting compound to 25 the exterior of the device. The resulting device is also very robust and the circuitry well protected").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera of Nagai modified by a heat-conductive potting compound which is arranged between the circuit board, the housing and the optical element, as taught by Meek, in order to conduct heat so that it may be dissipated to the exterior of the device as well as allow the device to be robust and protected (page 17, paragraph 3).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6), in view of Lang (DE 102013020894 B3)(see attached copy).
Regarding claim 16, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Nagai does not disclose at least a temperature sensor for detection of a temperature inside the housing for adaptation of the heating power and/or for adaptation of the heating time.
Lang teaches at least a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor”) for detection of a temperature inside the housing for adaptation of the heating power (last paragraph of page 4 of translation states "The temperature sensor detects the temperature in the housing and transmits a corresponding temperature signal to a control unit connected to the temperature sensor, which is adapted to control the at least one heating element as a function of the temperature detected by the temperature sensor. Thus, the heating power of at least one heating element can be effectively controlled") and/or for adaptation of the heating time.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera of Nagai modified by at least a temperature sensor for detection of a temperature inside the housing for adaptation of the heating power, as taught by Lang, in order to control the heating power of the heating element (last paragraph of page 4 of translation).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (US 20190318972 A1)(Figures 5 and 6), in view of Hasuda (JP 2022131077 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 18, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Nagai does not disclose a vehicle with a camera according to claim 1.
Hasuda teaches a vehicle (240 “vehicle”, Figure 9) with a camera (250 “imaging device”, Figure 9) according to claim 1 (last paragraph of page 5 of translation states "FIG. 9 shows a vehicle as a moving body in which an in-vehicle system (imaging system) including an imaging device 250 including the camera module 80 of FIG. 1 (may be the camera modules 80A and 80B of FIGS. 2 and 3) is mounted", Figure 9).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera of Nagai modified by a vehicle with a camera, as taught by Hasuda, in order to capture images at various locations outside the vehicle as it travels (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 12, however Nagai does not disclose wherein the thermal barrier is made of a heat-conductive material and is configured such that it has a thermal capacity.
Nagai (US 20190318972 A1), Lyon (US 20060055820 A1), Meek (GB 2378522 A), Lang (DE 102013020894 B3), Hasuda (JP 2022131077 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the thermal barrier is made of a heat-conductive material and is configured such that it has a thermal capacity, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2, however Nagai does not disclose comprising at least a second conductor path for selective controlling depending on the heating power requirements.
Nagai (US 20190318972 A1), Lyon (US 20060055820 A1), Meek (GB 2378522 A), Lang (DE 102013020894 B3), Hasuda (JP 2022131077 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest at least a second conductor path for selective controlling depending on the heating power requirements, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Nagai discloses all the limitations of claim 2, however Nagai does not disclose wherein the at least one conductor path is adapted for being used as a as a power supply line for the image sensor and/or further components on the circuit board layer.
Nagai (US 20190318972 A1), Lyon (US 20060055820 A1), Meek (GB 2378522 A), Lang (DE 102013020894 B3), Hasuda (JP 2022131077 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the at least one conductor path is adapted for being used as a as a power supply line for the image sensor and/or further components on the circuit board layer, among other claim limitations.
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Moncino (US 20210329148 A1) discloses an imaging system with a heating element used to heat a lens in order to prevent ice accumulation.
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872