DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20200113952 A to Kim et al.
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus comprising an energy conversion block comprising:
a liquid storage module (Fig. 2: 130) configured to at least temporarily store liquid;
a droplet formation module provided with a plurality of nozzles (131) to transform the liquid stored in the liquid storage module into droplets and drop the droplets; and
an energy conversion module provided with a plurality of energy conversion devices (120) to output electrical energy through contact with the falling droplets.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. discloses an energy collection unit (Fig. 2: 141) configured to receive electrical energy output from the plurality of energy conversion devices, convert a discrete flow of energy output from the plurality of energy conversion devices into a continuous flow of energy, and supply the continuous flow of energy to a battery or a load (145).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. discloses the energy conversion block comprises one or more energy conversion modules selected from among an independent-type energy conversion module configured such that the plurality of energy conversion devices outputs electrical energy independently (Fig. 6D) and an integrated-type energy conversion module configured such that the plurality of energy conversion devices is integrated with each other to output electrical energy (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. discloses each of the plurality of energy conversion devices comprises a plate (Fig. 2: 150) and two or more electrodes (120) formed on the plate, and outputs the electrical energy by temporary charge transfer occurring when a falling droplet passes through the two or more electrodes
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. discloses the plurality of nozzles (Fig. 2: 131) and the plurality of energy conversion devices (120) are disposed in one-to-one correspondence, and each of the plurality of energy conversion devices is disposed at a point to which a droplet falls from a corresponding one of the plurality of nozzles.
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. discloses the plate comprises a first layer (Fig. 2: 150) on which the two or more electrodes are formed, and a protective layer (110) formed on the first layer to protect the two or more electrodes.
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. discloses the energy collection unit comprises a rectifier circuit (Fig. 2: 141) and a booster circuit (140).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. discloses a bottom surface and a wall surface of the liquid storage module are coated with a hydrophobic material [0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200113952 A to Kim et al.
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above including the energy conversion block is configured such that one or more energy conversion modules selected from among a first energy conversion module configured to generate output of a first energy and a second energy conversion module configured to generate output of a second energy are stacked vertically, thereby meeting an energy output requirement (Fig. 6B).
However, it fails to disclose a first capacity and a second capacity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the energy conversion modules be of different capacities, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
One would have been motivated to do so to reach a desired output.
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above including the droplet formation module comprises one or more nozzles selected from among a first nozzle configured to form a droplet and a second nozzle configured to form a droplet (Fig. 2: 131).
However, it fails to disclose a first size and a second size.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different sized nozzles, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
One would have been motivated to do so to reach a desired droplet flow.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above including the liquid storage module comprises a bottom surface at least partially concavely formed (Fig. 5C: right 130), and wherein, among the plurality of nozzles of the droplet formation module, a nozzle (131) connected to a concave portion of the liquid storage module is formed to have a length, and a nozzle (131) connected to another portion of the liquid storage module is formed to have a length, whereby tips of the plurality of nozzles are located on a same line.
However, it fails to disclose a short length and a long length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different length nozzles, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
One would have been motivated to do so to reach a desired droplet flow.
Claims 2, 4, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200113952 A to Kim et al. in view of KR 20210110182 A to Hong et al.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 12, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claims 2, 4, and 12.
Hong et al. teaches:
a plurality of energy conversion blocks (multiple levels seen in Fig. 1), each comprising the liquid storage module (Fig. 2: 120 or 140), the droplet formation module (160), and the energy conversion module (150) grouped into a block, wherein the plurality of energy conversion blocks is stacked vertically so that the droplets used in the energy conversion module of an upper energy conversion block enters the liquid storage module of a lower energy conversion block (stacked modules in Fig. 1).
the energy conversion block comprises a plurality of energy conversion modules stacked vertically, and wherein the droplets used in an energy conversion module located at a higher position fall to an energy conversion module located at a lower position and are used again to generate energy (stacked modules in Fig. 1).
the plurality of energy conversion modules is disposed such that a direction of energy conversion devices disposed at a higher position and a direction of energy conversion devices disposed at a lower position are opposite each other so that droplets falling from end points of the energy conversion devices disposed at a higher position fall to start points of the energy conversion devices disposed at a lower position (Fig. 1: top module starts on the right side, second module starts on the left side and they alternate until the bottom).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the plurality of energy conversion modules as disclosed by Hong et al. to the apparatus disclosed by Kim et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to generated additional energy.
Regarding claims 9-11, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claims 9-11.
Hong et al. teaches:
a droplet guide module (Fig. 3: 163) disposed between the plurality of energy conversion modules stacked vertically to guide a direction of the droplets falling from the energy conversion module.
the droplet guide module is formed, based on placement of the energy conversion devices of an energy conversion module disposed thereabove and placement of the energy conversion devices of an energy conversion module disposed therebelow, to guide the droplets falling from end points of upper energy conversion devices to fall to start points of lower energy conversion devices (Fig. 1: the guides are oriented in alternating positions).
the droplet guide module comprises: a first droplet guide module formed to guide the droplets in a first direction; and a second droplet guide module formed to guide the droplets in a second direction, and wherein the first droplet guide module and the second droplet guide module are alternately disposed (Fig. 1: the guides are oriented in alternating positions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the droplet guide modules as disclosed by Hong et al. to the apparatus disclosed by Kim et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to guide the droplets towards the energy conversion modules.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200113952 A to Kim et al. in view of KR 20160052917 A to Kwon.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claim 14.
Kwon teaches each of the plurality of energy conversion devices is disposed in an inclined state such that a droplet falling to the energy conversion device flows along an inclined surface of the energy conversion device from a start point of the energy conversion device to an end point of the energy conversion device (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the incline state as disclosed by Kwon to the apparatus disclosed by Kim et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to control the rate of energy generation.
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claim 20.
Kwon teaches each of the liquid storage module, the droplet formation module, and the energy conversion module comprises a coupling portion including a protrusion and a recess, and the coupling portions are engaged with one another so that the liquid storage module, the droplet formation module, and the energy conversion module are stacked vertically (“as shown in FIG. 2 for an energy conversion device 100 of the above-described structure configure them in series”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the stacked energy conversion modules as disclosed by Kwon to the apparatus disclosed by Kim et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to generate additional energy.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20200113952 A to Kim et al. in view of EP 4142139 A1 to Ghaffarinejad et al.
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. discloses an apparatus as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claim 16.
Ghaffarinejad et al. teaches the two or more electrodes comprise a first electrode and a second electrode, and the first electrode (Fig. 1: 4) and the second electrode (2) are formed on different surfaces of the plate (3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the different surface electrodes as disclosed by Ghaffarinejad et al. to the apparatus disclosed by Kim et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to generate additional energy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “The enlargement portion 131 of Kim neither transforms liquid into droplets nor drops droplets. To the contrary, in Kim the enlarged droplet is not dropped from a nozzle at all”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Fig. 3 of Kim it can be clearly seen that droplets which are liquids are transformed into larger droplets by circular nozzles.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “In addition, Kim does not disclose "an energy conversion module ... to output electrical energy through contact with the falling droplets," as set forth in claim 1”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Fig. 2 of Kim, base plate 110 and electrode plate 120 comprise the energy conversion module. This is similar to the present invention (Fig. 4) wherein the droplet is in contact with layer L2 of the energy conversion module and electrodes E1 and E2 which produce energy are beneath layer L2.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “Kim nowhere recognizes energy "capacity" as an adjustable - much less result- effective - variable. In addition, claim 5 requires "a plurality of energy conversion modules ... stacked vertically," each configured to generate a respective capacity. Kim discloses bar-shaped electrode arrangements within a single electrode plate (Kim, FIG. 6), not a plurality of vertically stacked energy conversion modules having different capacities”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses varying capacities in Fig. 7 by showing different load attachments. Kim discloses a plurality of vertically stacked energy conversion modules in Fig. 6B.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “As shown above, however, Kim discloses no nozzle at all; there is no nozzle in Kim whose size could be changed”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, Kim discloses circular nozzles in Fig. 3 in which the droplets are dropped from. Kim also mentions that different size droplets produce different output, therefore the result effective variable is met.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “Kim, however, discloses neither nozzles nor a concave bottom surface of a liquid storage module that feeds such nozzles”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pointing back to Fig. 3 of Kim, it can be seen that a concave surface, at the bottom of trap unit 130, leads to the circular nozzles. Again, Kim also mentions that different size droplets produce different output, therefore the result effective variable is met. Further, the Applicant argues “The Office finds that Kim discloses both a concave bottom surface and "tips of the plurality of nozzles ...located on a same line,"”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection never states that the concave bottom surface and tips of the nozzles are on the same line. The concave bottom surface is located above the tips of the nozzles.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the Applicant argues “Hong has no droplets”. However, it is reminded that the primary reference, Kim, discloses the droplet energy conversion module. Hong was used as a teaching reference that multiple nozzle energy conversions systems could be stacked together to produce multiple outputs.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “It is not a module disposed between vertically stacked energy conversion modules that guides falling droplets from end points of upper energy conversion devices to start points of lower energy conversion devices, as claimed”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Fig. 1 of Hong, it can be seen that 160 is the module that separates each energy conversion module 150. It guides droplets to each level of energy conversion module 150.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “That layout is merely the geometry of a vertical tower in which tanks and turbine fans are stacked”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 1 of Hong shows that guide module 160 alternate directions for each level of energy conversion module 150.
In response to Applicant' s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Kim and Hong use liquid droplets to generate energy. Their teachings can be applied to each other as liquid nozzles are the main driving point in power generation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834