DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 12/17/24. Regarding the amendment, claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 8-9. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, line 3 recites the term, “in particular”. The phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-14, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silvery et al. (US 2022/0200412 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Silvery teaches electric machine, comprising a stator (1, fig 1), which has a stator laminated core with a plurality of stator laminations stacked axially one on the other (para [0005]) and a stator winding (3) arranged in the stator laminated core,
a temperature sensor (19), which is thermally conductively coupled to the stator winding (3) and is configured to measure a temperature of the stator winding (3), wherein
the thermally conductive coupling between the temperature sensor (19) and the stator winding (3) is created by a fastening clip (24 and 31) with a latching connection (32, fig 6-7) and the fastening clip (24 - 31) presses the temperature sensor (19) against the stator winding (3) or a heat-conducting element (15) thermally conductively connected to the stator winding (3).
Regarding claim 2, Silvery teaches ends of individual sections (7) of the stator winding (3) are electrically connected to a connector (9), which runs in the form of a ring or in the form of an arc (8) around a stator axis of the stator (1), and the heat-conducting element (15) is formed by this connector or comprised by this connector (fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Silvery teaches the heat-conducting element (15) has an extension to which the fastening clip (24-31) is fastened.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Silvery teaches the fastening clip has a raised portion, which projects into a recess in the stator winding or the heat-conducting element, or the fastening clip (24-31) has a recess (27), into which a raised portion of the stator winding or the heat-conducting element (15) projects (fig 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Silvery teaches the fastening clip (24-31) has a guide (27) for the heat-conducting element (15, fig 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Silvery teaches the temperature sensor (19) is loosely arranged in a recess in the fastening clip (24-31, fig 2-3) or b) is fastened to the fastening clip.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Silvery teaches a cable (21) of the temperature sensor (19) is guided through an opening (27) in the fastening clip (24-31), wherein the opening (27) is smaller than an extent of the temperature sensor or a heat-shrink tube (22) mounted on the cable measured transversely to the longitudinal extent of the cable (fig 4-5).
Regarding claim 10, Silvery teaches the fastening clip (24-31) is constructed i) in multiple pieces (fig 6-7) or ii) in one piece.
Regarding claim 11, Silvery teaches two parts (24, 31) of the fastening clip, the parts being pivotable in relation to each other, are connected to each other via a joint (fig 9).
Regarding claim 12, Silvery teaches the fastening clip (24-31) contains plastic (para [0034]), in particular polyphenylene sulfide.
Regarding claim 13, Silvery teaches electric machine is provided for driving the vehicle (para [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Silvery teaches method for producing a thermally conductive coupling between a temperature sensor (19) and a stator winding (3) or a heat-conducting element (15) of an electric machine, in particular an electric machine, the heat-conducting element (15) being thermally conductively connected to a stator winding (3), which method comprises the steps of
arranging the temperature sensor (19) and the stator winding (3) or the heat-conducting element (15) in a fastening clip (24-31) and
producing the thermally conductive coupling between the temperature sensor (19) and the stator winding (3) or the heat-conducting element (15) by closing the fastening clip (24-31), wherein a latching connection (32) of the fastening clip (24-31) latches in and the fastening clip presses the temperature sensor (19) against the stator winding (3) or the heat-conducting element (15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvery in view of Feigl et al. (DE 102020211528 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Silvery teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a contact-pressure force (F) generated by the fastening clip lies in a range of from 10N ≤ F ≤ 40N.
Feigl teaches a device for attaching a temperature sensor to an electric machine, the device enables a temperature sensor to be inserted easily and reliably in such a way that the temperature sensor is reliably brought into thermal contact with the end winding by means of a spring element. The spring element is exerted a spring force on a temperature sensor introduced into the enveloping body in order to press the temperature sensor in the direction of the end winding.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Silvery’s electric machine with a contact-pressure force (F) generated by the fastening clip as taught by Feigl, and further select a specific contact pressure force lies in a range of from 10N ≤ F ≤ 40N to reliably and firmly fix to the end winding. Doing so would prevent the device from being removed without being destroyed.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Silvery teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of an elastic element is arranged between the temperature sensor and the fastening clip and/or between the stator winding or the heat-conducting element and the fastening clip.
Feigl teaches a device for attaching a temperature sensor to an electric machine comprising an elastic element (15) is arranged between the temperature sensor (30) and the fastening clip (20) and/or between the stator winding or the heat-conducting element and the fastening clip to reliably and firmly attach the temperature sensor.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Silvery’s electric machine with an elastic element is arranged between the temperature sensor and the fastening clip and/or between the stator winding or the heat-conducting element and the fastening clip as taught by Feigl. Doing so would reliably and firmly attach the temperature sensor so that prevent the device from being removed without being destroyed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshihara et al. (US 10,935,434 B2) teaches a temperature sensor 10 according to the present invention includes a coil element (10) connected to a coil of an electric apparatus, an element main body (51) that includes a thermosensitive body (52) detecting heat of the coil element (10) and paired electric wires (55 and 56) connected to the thermosensitive body (52), and a housing (25) that includes an electric insulating resin material and is configured to house the coil element (10) and the element main body (51). The housing (25) according to the present invention includes, at a position corresponding to the thermosensitive body (52), a view window (76) allowing for visual confirmation of the thermosensitive body (52) from outside.
/LEDA T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834