DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 in the current application are broader than the reference claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255.
Specifically, it is well established that “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if remaining elements perform same functions as before” In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963). Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 in the current application are broader than the reference claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255.
Below is a table indicating the corresponding relationship between claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 of the current application and claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255
1
6
2
6
8
13
9
13
15
13
16
13
To perform analysis required, claim 2 of the current application is compared to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255.
Claim 2: Current Application
Claim 6: U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255
A method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of an environment within a GUI at a client device,
the presentation of the environment including interactive AR content;
receiving an interaction input from the client device,
the interaction input defining a trajectory of a projectile element;
causing display of the projectile element within the GUI based on the trajectory.
determining a termination point of the projectile element based on the trajectory;
determining that the termination point coincides with the AR content; and
causing display of a notification at the client device based on the determining that the termination point coincides with the AR content.
A method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of an environment within a graphical user interface at a client device,
the presentation of the environment including a display of an object at a position within the environment; causing display of the interactive content within the presentation of the environment based on the position of the object within the environment;
identifying the object responsive to the causing display of the presentation of the environment that includes the display of the object;
accessing a texture map and a mesh-model associated with the object responsive to the identifying the object,
the mesh-model comprising a base mesh at a first end of the mesh-model, a cap mesh at a second end of the mesh-model, and a repeatable segment located between the first end and the second end;
generating interactive content based on the texture map and the mesh-model associated with the object;
receiving an interaction input from the client device; and
presenting a visualization of the interaction input within the presentation of the environment, the presenting the visualization of the interaction input including:
causing display of the base mesh based on the position of the object within the environment;
causing display of the cap mesh within the environment based on the interaction input; and
applying the texture map to the repeatable segment located between the base mesh and the cap mesh;
presenting a visualization of the interaction input within the presentation of the environment, the visualization of the interaction input based on at least the interactive content.
wherein the interaction input includes a starting-point and a trajectory, and the presenting the visualization of the interaction input within the presentation of the environment includes:
causing display of a projectile at a location within the presentation of the environment at the client device, the location of the projectile based on the starting-point;
calculating a termination-point of the projectile based on the trajectory;
determining the termination-point of the projectile corresponds with a portion of the interactive content; and
presenting a notification responsive to the determining the termination-point of the projectile corresponds with the portion of the interactive content.
As shown in the analysis above, claim 2 of the current application is broader than claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255. Therefore, this claim is properly subject to ODP rejection.
Similarly, ODP rejection can be shown for claims 1, 8-9 and 15-16 of the current application, as limitations in claims 1, 8-9 and 15-16 are similarly or broadly recited in the reference claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,107,255.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Delamont (US 2020/0368616).
Regarding claim 1, Delamont teaches a method comprising:
causing display of a presentation of an environment within a GUI at a client device ([0012]: This also provides novel gaming experience in which the game environment, scenery, objects and AI characters exist in real life tangible forms in the laser 110 tag gaming arena 98 that can be touched, interacted with and moved; [0065]: real-world objects and surfaces from the users real-world view captured using camera(s) 7L, 7R and displayed using users augmented reality display apparatus 1; [0128]: The game server 88 or host 89 using its game engine 124 and rendering module 117 shall then invoke the rendering over the mesh, 3D models surfaces using its texture mappings and materials for example following which the resulting renderings shall be provided by the game server 88 over the network 97 to the clients 28 in the form stereoscopic video or 2D stereoscopic images in which the client 28 shall display the pre-rendered stereoscopic video or 2D stereoscopic images; [0448]: Upon an IR Sensor being hit, this may invoke the rendering and display of augmented game scenes displayed via the users augmented reality (“AR”) head mounted display 1, micro-display 3 in the form of a holographic image, hologram or two stereoscopic 2D images among other forms of images or video that are augmented over the user's real-world view of the space of the laser tag game or that of laser tag arena surrounding walls, ceilings, floors, objects and structure; [0938]: this global mesh data passed by the game server 88 or host 89 could be used by user's augmented reality (“AR”) wearable display apparatus 1 to render a 3D holographic image over real-world objects, surroundings, surfaces, devices and or users; [0984]: The client and game server 88 or host 89 software modules are programmed to control the other modules of the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, to perform serviceable functions including the rendering of game objects, the projection of the visual display of 3D holographic and 2D stereographic images or videos in the visual representation of the game state, the communication handling of connection between the client and the server over the network 97, the handling of user inputs. Inputs include hand gestures, voice commands, I/O inputs such as the use of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, Trigger mechanism 53 for example among other forms of inputs; claim 5: real world game objects are physical objects in the user’s real-world space for which their 3D renderings can be seen by the naked eye), the presentation of the environment including interactive AR content ([0099]: the system using the generated 3D models and mesh data is able to accurately render 3D holographic image and textures over the real-world visible from the users augmented reality display apparatus 1; [0110]: generating mesh data of the real-world physical surfaces and 3D models used to render textured surfaces and game objects over the user’s real-world view; [0128]: rendering module 117 shall invoke the rendering over the mesh, 3D models surfaces using its textured mappings and materials; [0486]: These actions depending on the receiving device whether a real-world game object or wearable or real-world AI Character could include in the display of augmented virtual images via the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1; the display of augmented virtual images via external 3D projection by the game server 88 or host 89 using projection mapping/video mapping/spatial AR or 3D projection mapping techniques and its external projectors 96; the display of new texture mapping images on the surface display panel faces of a real-world game object such as an IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 as well as different physical responses in terms of haptic feedback; [0876]: 3D rendered objects can be seen without the aid of AR head-mounted displays as well as touched and interacted with, where their surface renderings changes according to the users touch and interaction similar to real-world objects; [1070]: the game server 88 or host 89 may use a hybrid form of a projection augmented model, such as a spatial AR projected display, in which real world game objects, users, AI characters 94 and wearable items such as IR Mixed Reality Suit 93 are treated as advanced tangible media in which similar to described in the embodiments of this invention these real-world game objects can be physically interacted with causing a change in the state of the game which can be seen without the aid of the users wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1 or visual aids through the use of AR projected displays; [1803]: his can also be displayed on the micro-displays 3, of all other users of their team where state information is used from the game server 88 or host 89. Hits from the IR Laser Beams of the IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91 which are computed by the Collision Manager 26 of the users paired augmented reality “AR”) display apparatus 1 may result in the creation of further virtual-game objects which maybe used to display an augmented virtual game image of a hit on real world objects, users, AI characters 94 seen through the user's micro display 3, augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1);
receiving an interaction input from the client device ([0857]: the physical gesture signal is detected from the movement and orientation of the user’s physical movements of the real world game object/device which may be used in conjunction with the detection of the physical movement resulting in a collision based on sensor inputs captured by the client module of the device. For example, a user could use their real-world game object to physically ram, hit or run at a virtual game object or virtual AI character where this form of the physical input maybe detectable based on the users hand orientation (p,r,y), and the resulting orientation of the hand held real-world game object together with other physics data such as the rate of acceleration in which the user is moving or has made their hand movements; [0858]: a user throwing an IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91; [1666]: a virtual game object can be thrown at or a virtual character 105 can run an IR Shield Apparatus 90 causing it to shake, or can fire of virtual weapon can cause the IR Shield Apparatus 90 to shake where the collision manager detects a collision based on the world coordinates and model coordinate intersecting), the interaction input defining a trajectory of a projectile element ([0184]: The projectile direction of the IR Laser fire is based on a six dimensional matrixes of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 at the point of origin for when the IR Laser trigger mechanism was pulled; [0519]: determination of the virtual weapon fires projectile is derived from the origin (x, y, z) of the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 and its orientation (p, r, y) which provides both a positional vector for where the IR Laser Beam and its virtual game object/virtual weapon fire and a directional vector which can be used to determine a collision or hit; [0278]: Techniques such as hitscan of raycasting may be used where based on the originating real-world game object and devices coordinates (x,y,z), orientation (p,r,y) and directional vector, the projectile and trajectory of an IR Laser Beam may be formulated, in which based on this data from the sensors of the device a starting positional vector can be plotted in three-dimensional space together with a directional vector in which a line or ray can be formulated where using the distance of the IR Laser Beam range and velocity together with the varying positions (x,y,z) plotted along the line or ray together with the coordinates, directional vector/heading and velocity/acceleration of other objects the collision manager 26 can determine if the IR Laser Beam will hit or intersect with another real-world user, game object, AI character or with that of a virtual game object, AI character or a remote user which is virtual in form in the physical space of the game; [0662]: From this both rendering modules using their respective GPU or CPU translates this into a projectile and directional heading of the IR Laser Beam as points along the three-dimensional Cartesian Planes on a triple axis together with the angle of the IR Laser beam on a second axis (p,r,y) together the velocity of the IR Laser Beam which are applied to the created virtual-game object. Here as light is unaffected by gravity the projectile is assumed unaffected by gravity in which the IR Laser beam is assumed to travel in a straight direction. This data is input into the projectile and trajectory formulation of the IR Laser Beam in which velocity and distance are also added to the angle and other physics data such as gravity in the formulation that is then applied to the virtual game object of the IR Laser Beam as transformation operation and mathematical operation of this; [0840]: the system is capable of determining based on the devices world coordinates, orientation and directional vector at the time the trigger was pulled, the projectile and trajectory of the IR Beam/IR Laser Bean from a point of origin in the three dimensional space; [0857]: the physical gesture signal is detected from the movement and orientation of the user’s physical movements of the real world game object/device which may be used in conjunction with the detection of the physical movement resulting in a collision based on sensor inputs captured by the client module of the device. For example, a user could use their real-world game object to physically ram, hit or run at a virtual game object or virtual AI character where this form of the physical input maybe detectable based on the users hand orientation (p, r, y), and the resulting orientation of the hand held real-world game object together with other physics data such as the rate of acceleration in which the user is moving or has made their hand movements; [1310]: A line is then draw by formulation based two elements the start point (the origin) and the end point the destination, together with the other provided variables; [2068]: the formulating of the original/starting position, projectile/trajectory, angle and directional vector of an IR or Laser beams is based on the determined input states and the captured real-world object state information and sensor data at the time of an IR or Laser beam being fired or projected);
determining a termination point (exact hit coordinate (x, y, z) or collision position where the virtual game object or AI character was hit/end point (x, y, z) where the IR Laser Beam and rendered line shall end) of the projectile element based on the trajectory ([0949]: this may use a hitscan or ray casting technique, using a line or ray method on the formulated trajectory/projectile of when the trigger mechanism was pulled using the coordinates (x, y, z), orientation (p, r, y) and direction vector to formulate the starting positional vector of where the IR Laser Beam originated, followed by a line or ray which represents the directional vector of the IR Laser Beam. Points or position (x, y, z) along the line can be checked against the coordinates and positions (x, y, z) of other objects to determine a hit; [0950]: Vector and parametric equations of a line may be used in the process of determining the line or rays position and heading along the x, y, z axis in three-dimensional space; [0952]: hit on the exact coordinate (x, y, z) and collision position of where the virtual game object or AI character was hit; [1276]: the display of the virtual imagery, decal and visual lighting effects such as the diffuse lighting effects could be invoked as a result of the real-world IR Laser Beam triggering the users IR Sensor, in which based on the IR Sensor position the collision point (x,y,z) could be determined and the position of where the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam hit could be precisely mapped and displayed on the users wearable IR Mixed Reality Vest 92 or IR Mixed Reality Suit 93 at the time the IR Sensor first detected the IR light emission from the IR Beam/IR Laser beam for example from another user IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47; [1299]: The destination may be derived based on the determination of collision point expressed as a vector position (x, y, z), or may be formulated based on the range of the IR Laser Beam projection of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, which is dependent on the device set up which could be 200 meters for example. This destination end point maybe dynamically updated where a user or object for example could move into range on a position/coordinate on the line in which a collision may then occur; [1315]: a Transform Destination which is the end point (x, y, z) for where the IR Laser Beam and rendered line shall end; [1299]: The destination may be derived based on the determination of collision point expressed as a vector position (x, y, z), or may be formulated based on the range of the IR Laser Beam projection of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, which is dependent on the device set up which could be 200 meters for example. This destination end point maybe dynamically updated where a user or object for example could move into range on a position/coordinate on the line in which a collision may then occur);
determining that the termination point coincides with the AR content ([0858]: upon a user throwing an IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91, the game server 88 or host 89 or the devices local client 221 is able to detect if the thrown object has intersected with another real-world object, game object, user and/or real-world AI character 91 or a virtual game object or virtual AI character which may serve in itself as an input upon the detection of a collision, where the input is then triggered as a result of the IR Laser beams projecting from the IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91 resulting from the sensors detection motion; [0949]: this may use a hitscan or ray casting technique, using a line or ray method on the formulated trajectory/projectile of when the trigger mechanism was pulled using the coordinates (x, y, z), orientation (p, r, y) and direction vector to formulate the starting positional vector of where the IR Laser Beam originated, followed by a line or ray which represents the directional vector of the IR Laser Beam. Points or position (x, y, z) along the line can be checked against the coordinates and positions (x, y, z) of other objects to determine a hit; [0950]: Vector and parametric equations of a line may be used in the process of determining the line or rays position and heading along the x, y, z axis in three-dimensional space; [0952]: hit on the exact coordinate (x, y, z) and collision position of where the virtual game object or AI character was hit; [1276]: the display of the virtual imagery, decal and visual lighting effects such as the diffuse lighting effects could be invoked as a result of the real-world IR Laser Beam triggering the users IR Sensor, in which based on the IR Sensor position the collision point (x,y,z) could be determined and the position of where the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam hit could be precisely mapped and displayed on the users wearable IR Mixed Reality Vest 92 or IR Mixed Reality Suit 93 at the time the IR Sensor first detected the IR light emission from the IR Beam/IR Laser beam for example from another user IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47; [1299]: The destination may be derived based on the determination of collision point expressed as a vector position (x, y, z), or may be formulated based on the range of the IR Laser Beam projection of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, which is dependent on the device set up which could be 200 meters for example. This destination end point maybe dynamically updated where a user or object for example could move into range on a position/coordinate on the line in which a collision may then occur; [1313]: during the projection of IR Laser Beam an object may intersect or collide within any of the positions along the line of the IR Laser Beam in which a hit could occur. As such the update function of the script or code may occur per frame; [1335]: The distance of the line representing the IR Laser Beam, may be formulated using a float and an equation using the position of origin which equals the devices position at the time of pulling the trigger and the destination equals the collision point (x,y,z point of a hit) or may be formulated based range of the IR Laser beam and a counter representing the points or coordinates along the line in which an intersection or collision could occur. Here “X” could equal the distance where using the origin as point A, and the destination as point B, the line distance representing the IR Laser beam is equal to point B−point A, multiplied by the line length+point A for example; [1348]: This provides in the projectile/trajectory formulation a point (x,y,z) in three dimensional space in which the IR Beam/IR Laser beam originated, the angle of the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam based on the pitch, roll and yawl (p,r,y) and its directional heading from which a line can be projected in which if the ray or line is determined to hit a game object, this shall then return a value for where the IR Laser beam which may be a three dimensional Cartesian coordinate in which a point in three dimensional space is determined using values for x, y, z. Where the position of the hit or collision point maybe P2=(220,210,160) for example. This behaves like a laser beam and/or IR Beam as such it suitable for the needs of determining a hit); and
causing display of a notification at the client device based on the determining that the termination point coincides with the AR content ([0858]: upon a user throwing an IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91, the game server 88 or host 89 or the devices local client 221 is able to detect if the thrown object has intersected with another real-world object, game object, user and/or real-world AI character 91 or a virtual game object or virtual AI character which may serve in itself as an input upon the detection of a collision, where the input is then triggered as a result of the IR Laser beams projecting from the IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91 resulting from the sensors detection motion; [0952]: invoke the display of the second augmented virtual image in which the user shall see through their micro-display 3, a visual representation of the hit on the exact coordinate (x, y, z) and collision position of where the virtual game object or AI character was hit; [2201]: display game scenes with decal/diffuse lighting at the determined point of collision (contact points) for where an IR or Laser beam virtual game object and line rendering or ray intersected with another object that may be another user, real-world game object or virtual game object; [2202]: Rendering of game scenes and applying of decal/diffuse lighting effects to the created virtual game object by rendering module and/or games engine in which decal effects may be displayed over existing texture-maps or materials of objects or new texture maps and materials may be created with decal effects and diffuse lighting effect).
Regarding claim 2, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing display of the projectile element within the GUI based on the trajectory ([0556]: The users wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, client module 28 or the game server 88 or host 89 depending on the authority of the client module, may invoke via its games engine the creation of a new virtual game object for the purpose of displaying a virtual image of the IR Laser Beam, in which the games engine 35 and/or client module 28 if it has authority shall then invoke the rendering module 27 to render and display the augmented projectile fire of the weapon via the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, over the user's real-world view as a 3D holographic image, hologram or stereoscopic images among other forms; [0558]: The result being that the moving displayed projectile IR Laser Beam shown as augmented image via the users micro display 3, may be precisely shown as travelling in three dimensional space of the real-world to that of the invisible IR Laser Beam resulting from the users pulling of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, trigger mechanism 53; [0978]: the projectile of the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam here is formulated based on the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 orientation, world coordinates and directional vector at the time of the user pulling the trigger mechanism 53 mechanism supplied by its client module 28 to the game server 88 or host 89 that would support this functionality of the display of augmented images of visual effects of an IR Laser Beam hitting the surface of a real-world object; [1283]: rendering and display of augmented 3D projectile fire via the Micro-display 3, based on the users movements of their IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 and its position and orientation at the time of each fire; [1359]: the rendered and displayed moving IR Laser Beam fire is always displayed with the correct projectile and trajectory directional heading and angle as per its original coordinates).
Regarding claim 3, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interaction input comprises an indication of a starting point (original/starting point), a direction (directional vector/heading), and a magnitude (velocity/acceleration; [0184]: The projectile direction of the IR Laser fire is based on a six dimensional matrixes of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 at the point of origin for when the IR Laser trigger mechanism was pulled; [0519]: determination of the virtual weapon fires projectile is derived from the origin (x, y, z) of the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 and its orientation (p, r, y) which provides both a positional vector for where the IR Laser Beam and its virtual game object/virtual weapon fire and a directional vector which can be used to determine a collision or hit; [0238]: the games application 36 and collision manager 26 are programmed to detect an IR Laser beam from the real-world hitting a virtual game object or virtual AI character based on the formulated projectile of the IR Laser Beam from its originating three-dimensional coordinates and directional vector captured from the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 sensor(s) 51; [0278]: Techniques such as hitscan of raycasting may be used where based on the originating real-world game object and devices coordinates (x,y,z), orientation (p,r,y) and directional vector, the projectile and trajectory of an IR Laser Beam may be formulated, in which based on this data from the sensors of the device a starting positional vector can be plotted in three-dimensional space together with a directional vector in which a line or ray can be formulated where using the distance of the IR Laser Beam range and velocity together with the varying positions (x,y,z) plotted along the line or ray together with the coordinates, directional vector/heading and velocity/acceleration of other objects the collision manager 26 can determine if the IR Laser Beam will hit or intersect with another real-world user, game object, AI character or with that of a virtual game object, AI character or a remote user which is virtual in form in the physical space of the game; [0840]: the system is capable of determining based on the devices world coordinates, orientation and directional vector at the time the trigger was pulled, the projectile and trajectory of the IR Beam/IR Laser Bean from a point of origin in the three dimensional space; [0857]: the physical gesture signal is detected from the movement and orientation of the user’s physical movements of the real world game object/device which may be used in conjunction with the detection of the physical movement resulting in a collision based on sensor inputs captured by the client module of the device. For example, a user could use their real-world game object to physically ram, hit or run at a virtual game object or virtual AI character where this form of the physical input maybe detectable based on the users hand orientation (p, r, y), and the resulting orientation of the hand held real-world game object together with other physics data such as the rate of acceleration in which the user is moving or has made their hand movements; [2068]: the formulating of the original/starting position, projectile/trajectory, angle and directional vector of an IR or Laser beams is based on the determined input states and the captured real-world object state information and sensor data at the time of an IR or Laser beam being fired or projected; [1777]: the device coordinates (x,y,z) with an offset value +/− for x,y,z for the position of each of the IR LEDs, based on the positioning and orientation of each of IR LEDs on the physical IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91 are used to formulate the origin (starting point) of the IR Laser Beam virtual game object or the origin game object in a Line Rendering method for example in which based on the velocity and distance of the IR Laser Beam, together with other variables such as the devices orientation (p,r,y) it is possible to accurately formulate the positions along the line or projectile path of the real-world IR Laser Beam), and the method further comprises: determining the trajectory based on the indication of the starting point, the direction, and the magnitude ([0278]: Techniques such as hitscan of raycasting may be used where based on the originating real-world game object and devices coordinates (x,y,z), orientation (p,r,y) and directional vector, the projectile and trajectory of an IR Laser Beam may be formulated, in which based on this data from the sensors of the device a starting positional vector can be plotted in three-dimensional space together with a directional vector in which a line or ray can be formulated where using the distance of the IR Laser Beam range and velocity together with the varying positions (x,y,z) plotted along the line or ray together with the coordinates, directional vector/heading and velocity/acceleration of other objects the collision manager 26 can determine if the IR Laser Beam will hit or intersect with another real-world user, game object, AI character or with that of a virtual game object, AI character or a remote user which is virtual in form in the physical space of the game; [0732]: This is achieved through the capturing of state information on the IR laser weapon at the time the trigger was pulled in which using the world coordinates (x,y,z), orientation/angle (p,r,y) and directional heading of the IR Laser beam trajectory/projection which may be expressed as directional vector together with other physics variables such as velocity, distance, gravity and elevation it is possible for the system to determine the projectile and direction of the real-world IR laser beam together with its moving positions in three dimensional space; [2156]: Determining the origin, projectile/trajectory, directional vector, velocity, distance and positions (x,y,z) of an IR or Laser beam formulated based on).
Regarding claim 4, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the causing display of the notification at the client device based on the determining that the termination point coincides with the AR content includes: causing display of the notification at a plurality of client devices that include the client device (when a user using a firearm fires and hits another user, a virtual representation of the hit is displayed to both the user and the other user hit by the user; [0858]: upon a user throwing an IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91, the game server 88 or host 89 or the devices local client 221 is able to detect if the thrown object has intersected with another real-world object, game object, user and/or real-world AI character 91 or a virtual game object or virtual AI character which may serve in itself as an input upon the detection of a collision, where the input is then triggered as a result of the IR Laser beams projecting from the IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91 resulting from the sensors detection motion; [0952]: invoke the display of the second augmented virtual image in which the user shall see through their micro-display 3, a visual representation of the hit on the exact coordinate (x, y, z) and collision position of where the virtual game object or AI character was hit; [1294]: The virtual images of the IR Laser Beam may be converted in this process and displayed as two differing 2D stereoscopic images, or 3D holograms or holographic image before being displayed on the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, micro display 3. Multiple virtual game objects of the IR Laser Beam may be generated where there are multiple users with multiple augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, in which each one shall adapt the moving augmented projected image of the IR Laser Beam to different users field of view and gaze based on the individual the head and eye tracking data of each user which shall invoke each of the users local rendering modules 27 to perform transformations to maintain the correct viewing perspective of the IR Laser Beam projectile along the x,y, z axis/planes of the three dimensional cartesian coordinates and angle on the p,r,y axis/planes relational to the original coordinates in which the trigger was pulled, to that the users moving head and eye coordinates as well as orientation in terms of their view into the real-world and virtual world of the game; [1376]: For example, the main game may be hosted in the UK played out in a laser tag arena with multiple real-world users. Another user which is a remote user 107 located in the US could connect via the network 97 in which they appear augmented in the real-world view of the other users. Where in their view from the US they can see the real-world of the laser tag arena 98 in the UK together with the virtual game augmented over their real-world in which the real-world laser tag arena and all users, objects and AI Characters whether real or virtual appear in their space and time in the US. As the remote user 107 in the US pulls their IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 trigger 53, the game will formulate the projectile of the laser beam in the relative three dimensional space of both real-world locations in which the resulting IR Laser beam is projected as a moving virtual object in both real-worlds seen through the UK and US users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, where as a result the US user may hit another user in the UK held laser tag game which may invoke their IR Sensor 23 to go off as result of the collision manager 26 detecting a collision between relative three dimensional spaces of the both real-world locations in the UK and US and that of the virtual world of the game that exists in both spaces and time; [1378]: As an example, a user in the US could using hand gestures invoke a physical change in an object in the UK where based on their hand tracking movements captured from their augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, previous described tracking capabilities the games application 36, client module 28 or game server 88 could invoke a change in a real-world object such a change in another users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 or a change in a physical real-world AI Characters 94 surface textures seen in the real-world where the user's hands are detected as colliding with the model coordinates or hit box of the real-world AI character 94; [1790]: the projection of lighting effects of the directional IR Laser Beams from the IR Proximity Mine Apparatus 91, may be rendered and displayed via a user's or multiple users micro-display 3 screens of their wearable augmented display apparatuses 1 as augmented virtual images over the user's real-world view, which is supported by the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1 rendering module 27 using the trigger event information retrieved from the either the device directly or the game server 88 or host 89 via the network 97 by its client module 28 or collision manager 26. In both cases spatial mapping techniques may be used together with geometric and volumetric data of the real-world objects, users, AI characters and surrounding surfaces to support the augmenting of virtual images and lighting effects of the IR Laser Beams over real-world objects, users and AI Characters 94; [1798]: As described previously in the example of IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, augmented reality virtual images of the moving IR Laser Beam projection from the user of the trigger mechanism 53, multiple virtual game objects or Line Renderings of the IR Laser Beam may be generated also in this process of maintaining different states, where there are multiple users with multiple augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, in which each one shall adapt the moving augmented projected image of the IR Laser Beam to different user's field of view and gaze based on the individual the head and eye tracking data of each user).
Regarding claim 6, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing location data associated with the client device ([0147]: Here a 3-axis electromagnetic compass/digital compass or magnetometer may be used to measure also the users directional heading on a suitable x, y, z axis. This may be combined with the devices world coordinates and directional vector used for maintaining state information and dead reckoning purposes. The users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, sensors 9, may also have a dead reckoning module. It should be noted that the magnetic compass or magnetometer works on the basis of the strength direction of the magnetic field, to determine a direction on the three x,y,z axis, whereas the electromagnetic compass or digital compass work on the principle of a heading but also is capable of providing values for pitch and roll on a three axis; [0148]: These sensor devices take reading measurements, which are passed up to the client via the CPU and bus as interrupt or output, from which the client module 28 and other software modules of the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, as depicted later in FIG. 2, use these measurements and readings for the purpose of tracking the users head orientation in terms of their pitch, roll and yaw (p,r,y) together with the users world coordinates (x,y,z) and other physics variables such as the users rate of acceleration, momentum and velocity to perform their programmed functions; [0640]: a device tracking module 80 for tracking the devices location and motion; [1206]: During the rendering process the system uses identifies based on the head tracking and location data, the user's three dimensional cartesian coordinates and the user's orientation in terms of the pitch, roll and yaw expressed as (P,R,Y) of their augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, the position and orientation of the users field of view relative to the real-world the objects and surfaces position and orientation in three dimensional space); and causing display of the projectile element based on the trajectory and the location data ([1023]: This rendered virtual image may then be projected using the external projectors 96 and 3D projection mapping techniques at precise location to that of the coordinates (x,y,z) of the hit, in which the user may then see again with no visual aid a second augmented image visually showing the hit. Here the rendering module 117 may also generate diffuse lighting effects which may be projected together with the visual augmented image and decal visual effect representing the hit at the same coordinates (x,y,z) as the hit; [1376]: For example, the main game may be hosted in the UK played out in a laser tag arena with multiple real-world users. Another user which is a remote user 107 located in the US could connect via the network 97 in which they appear augmented in the real-world view of the other users. Where in their view from the US they can see the real-world of the laser tag arena 98 in the UK together with the virtual game augmented over their real-world in which the real-world laser tag arena and all users, objects and AI Characters whether real or virtual appear in their space and time in the US. As the remote user 107 in the US pulls their IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 trigger 53, the game will formulate the projectile of the laser beam in the relative three dimensional space of both real-world locations in which the resulting IR Laser beam is projected as a moving virtual object in both real-worlds seen through the UK and US users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, where as a result the US user may hit another user in the UK held laser tag game which may invoke their IR Sensor 23 to go off as result of the collision manager 26 detecting a collision between relative three dimensional spaces of the both real-world locations in the UK and US and that of the virtual world of the game that exists in both spaces and time).
Claims 8-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 are similar in scope to claims 1-4, 6, 1-4 and 6, respectively, and therefore the examiner provides similar rationale to reject these claims. Moreover, Delamont teaches a system comprising a memory (fig. 1B element 18) and at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory (fig. 1B element 11) and comprising instructions that causes the system to perform operations ([0109]); and further teaches a non-transitory machine readable storage medium ([0111]).
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delamont, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2013/0044128, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 5, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing display of the projectile element based on the trajectory ([0556]: The users wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, client module 28 or the game server 88 or host 89 depending on the authority of the client module, may invoke via its games engine the creation of a new virtual game object for the purpose of displaying a virtual image of the IR Laser Beam, in which the games engine 35 and/or client module 28 if it has authority shall then invoke the rendering module 27 to render and display the augmented projectile fire of the weapon via the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, over the user's real-world view as a 3D holographic image, hologram or stereoscopic images among other forms; [0558]: The result being that the moving displayed projectile IR Laser Beam shown as augmented image via the users micro display 3, may be precisely shown as travelling in three dimensional space of the real-world to that of the invisible IR Laser Beam resulting from the users pulling of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, trigger mechanism 53; [0978]: the projectile of the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam here is formulated based on the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 orientation, world coordinates and directional vector at the time of the user pulling the trigger mechanism 53 mechanism supplied by its client module 28 to the game server 88 or host 89 that would support this functionality of the display of augmented images of visual effects of an IR Laser Beam hitting the surface of a real-world object; [1283]: rendering and display of augmented 3D projectile fire via the Micro-display 3, based on the users movements of their IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 and its position and orientation at the time of each fire; [1359]: the rendered and displayed moving IR Laser Beam fire is always displayed with the correct projectile and trajectory directional heading and angle as per its original coordinates).
Delamont does not explicitly teach accessing user profile data associated with the client device; and causing display of the projectile element based on the user profile data.
Liu teaches accessing user profile data associated with the client device ([0093]: another application provides additional data for determining a social context or a personal context or both based on data received from and sent to executing applications of a processor based system 461 … user profile data; [0095]: The local copies of the user profile data may store some of the same user profile data 460 and may periodically update their local copies with the user profile data 460.sub.N stored by the computer system 12 in an accessible database 460 over a communication network 50. Some examples of user profile data are the user's expressed preferences, the user's friends' list, the user's preferred activities, the user's favorites, some examples of which are, favorite color, favorite foods, favorite books, favorite author, etc., a list of the user's reminders, the user's social groups, the user's current location, and other user created content, such as the user's photos, images and recorded videos. In one embodiment, the user-specific information may be obtained from one or more data sources or applications such as the user's social networking sites, contacts or address book, schedule data from a calendar application, email data, instant messaging data, user profiles or other sources on the Internet as well as data directly entered by the user; [0181]: Based on Betty's settings to only have content from work friends and colleagues in her work area of focus and Bob, not being a work friend or colleague, the anchor position criteria is for a location which may be in Betty's field of view but not in her work area of focus. Real object bookshelf 768 provides a horizontal support type of physical connection with which a champagne bottle virtual object 786 can form a physical connection. Bob's picture 788 from her photos stored in a network accessible memory identified in her user profile data 460 forms the "label" for the bottle; claim 17: processors having access to applications executing on the see-through, near-eye, augmented reality display device system of the user for determining at least one of a social context for the user or a personal context for the user); and causing display of the projectile element based on the user profile data (abstract: appearance characteristics of the virtual object may be selected based on a social context of the user, a personal context of the user or both; [0002]: appearance characteristics includes surface texture; [0040]: the appearance of the representation of the content in the user interface may also be changed based on the social context … A physical location of the user, electronically identified relationships with other people, time of day, and an activity of the user are examples of factors defining the user’s social context; [0041]: a personal context of the user may affect the appearance of content in the user interface … A personal context of the user may be derived in part based on user profile data such as one’s favorite color, favorite foods, state of being, and schedule data. Some factors like an activity of a user and time of day are factors upon which both a personal context and social context may be based).
Delamont contains a base “process” of displaying a projectile element based on the trajectory which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” in that displaying the projectile element is also based on the accessed user profile data associated with the client device.
Liu contains known technique of displaying virtual objects based on a personal context of the user based on the user profile data ([0002], [0040], [0041], [0093], [0095], [0181], claim 17) that is applicable to the “base” process.
Liu’s known technique of displaying the virtual objects based on the user profile ([0002], [0040], [0041], [0093], [0095], [0181], claim 17) would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as applicable to the “base” process of Delamont and results would have been predictable and resulted in displaying the projectile element also based on the user profile data which results in an improved process. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, Delamont teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: causing display of the projectile element based on the trajectory ([0556]: The users wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, client module 28 or the game server 88 or host 89 depending on the authority of the client module, may invoke via its games engine the creation of a new virtual game object for the purpose of displaying a virtual image of the IR Laser Beam, in which the games engine 35 and/or client module 28 if it has authority shall then invoke the rendering module 27 to render and display the augmented projectile fire of the weapon via the users augmented reality (“AR”) display apparatus 1, over the user's real-world view as a 3D holographic image, hologram or stereoscopic images among other forms; [0558]: The result being that the moving displayed projectile IR Laser Beam shown as augmented image via the users micro display 3, may be precisely shown as travelling in three dimensional space of the real-world to that of the invisible IR Laser Beam resulting from the users pulling of the IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47, trigger mechanism 53; [0978]: the projectile of the IR Beam/IR Laser Beam here is formulated based on the users IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 orientation, world coordinates and directional vector at the time of the user pulling the trigger mechanism 53 mechanism supplied by its client module 28 to the game server 88 or host 89 that would support this functionality of the display of augmented images of visual effects of an IR Laser Beam hitting the surface of a real-world object; [1283]: rendering and display of augmented 3D projectile fire via the Micro-display 3, based on the users movements of their IR Laser Gun Apparatus 47 and its position and orientation at the time of each fire; [1359]: the rendered and displayed moving IR Laser Beam fire is always displayed with the correct projectile and trajectory directional heading and angle as per its original coordinates).
Delamont does not explicitly teach accessing temporal data associated with the client device ([0040]: the appearance of the representation of the content in the user interface may also be changed based on the social context … A physical location of the user, electronically identified relationships with other people, time of day, and an activity of the user are examples of factors defining the user’s social context; [0041]: a personal context of the user may affect the appearance of content in the user interface … A personal context of the user may be derived in part based on user profile data such as one’s favorite color, favorite foods, state of being, and schedule data. Some factors like an activity of a user and time of day are factors upon which both a personal context and social context may be based; time of day corresponds to temporal data); and causing display of the projectile element based the temporal data (abstract: appearance characteristics of the virtual object may be selected based on a social context of the user, a personal context of the user or both; [0002]: appearance characteristics includes surface texture; [0040]: the appearance of the representation of the content in the user interface may also be changed based on the social context … A physical location of the user, electronically identified relationships with other people, time of day, and an activity of the user are examples of factors defining the user’s social context; [0041]: a personal context of the user may affect the appearance of content in the user interface … A personal context of the user may be derived in part based on user profile data such as one’s favorite color, favorite foods, state of being, and schedule data. Some factors like an activity of a user and time of day are factors upon which both a personal context and social context may be based).
Delamont contains a base “process” of displaying a projectile element based on the trajectory which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” in that displaying the projectile element is also based on the accessed temporal data associated with the client device.
Liu contains known technique of displaying virtual objects based on temporal data ([0002], [0040], [0041], [0093], [0095], [0181], claim 17) that is applicable to the “base” process.
Liu’s known technique of displaying the virtual objects based on the temporal data ([0002], [0040], [0041], [0093], [0095], [0181], claim 17) would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as applicable to the “base” process of Delamont and results would have been predictable and resulted in displaying the projectile element also based on the temporal data which results in an improved process. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 12, 14 and 19 are similar in scope to claims 5, 7 and 5, respectively, and therefore the examiner provides similar rationale to reject these claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crawford et al. (US 2010/0210361) describes after server 150 of FIG. 1a receives trigger signal 127, it may determine projectile trajectory 128 of FIG. 1b to calculate any resulting collisions, reflections, and other interactions that may occur in rendered environment 146. An aim line or direction vector similar to trigger signal 127 with an origin point starting at ID 110 and end point at aim point 145 might be used as an initial step for calculating projectile trajectory 128 ([0020]).
/JWALANT AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612