Pursuant to communications filed on 12/17/2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2025 and 04/08/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (NPL “Simulation and Retargeting of Complex Multi-Character Interactions”–2023), “Zhang” in view of Lin et al (NPL “Multi-Task Feature Interaction Learning”–2016), “Lin”.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhang discloses a system and the associated method for learning physics-based interactions from demonstration (e.g., via method for reproducing complex multi-character interactions for physically simulated humanoid characters using deep reinforcement learning), comprising:
a memory storing one or more instructions (although not shown, Zhang discloses the implementation of “storing or recording” motion data and interactions – These features imply the existence of a memory / storage device during the simulation); and
a processor (e.g., see section 4.1 disclosing all experiments are run using 640 CPUs) executing one or more of the instructions stored on the memory to perform:
learning a (e.g., see figure 2 below; see abstract disclosing a novel reward formulation based on an interaction graph that measures distances between pairs of interaction landmarks. This reward encourages control policies to efficiently imitate the character’s motion while preserving the spatial relationships of the interactions in the reference motion…...see section “introduction” disclosing a novel learning-based method that provides a physics-based retargeting of complex interactions for multiple characters. More specifically, given reference motions that capture interactions between people, we learn control policies (a.k.a. controllers) of simulated characters via deep reinforcement learning that imitate not only the motion of the individuals but also the interactions between them……... see section 3.3 “Interaction Graph” disclosing the semantics of the interaction happening between agents (or between an agent and an object) during the motion, we define the notion of an Interaction Graph (IG), a graph-based spatial descriptor where the information on interactions is stored in its vertices and edges…….The example interaction graph in Figure 2 includes both edges connecting nodes on a single character and edges connecting nodes on different characters. The edges within the character help maintain the motion quality of an individual character, while the edges between the characters act as guides for maintaining the relative position of the body parts of the two characters…… see section3.4.3 “Positional Graph Similarity” To compare the positional graph similarity between two graphs, we separately consider the similarity of the two graph edges connecting each individual character 𝐸𝑠𝑒𝑙 𝑓 (self-connections) and between characters 𝐸𝑐𝑟𝑜𝑠𝑠 (cross connections).); and
training a policy for controlling interactions between the first character and the second character based on using the (see “Abstract” disclosing Our approach uses a novel reward formulation based on an interaction graph that measures distances between pairs of interaction landmarks. This reward encourages control policies to efficiently imitate the character’s motion while preserving the spatial relationships of the interactions in the reference motion…... see section 4.1 “Experimental Setup” disclosing to speed up the learning for all of the experiments below, we pre-train an imitation policy of a single character on sequences that can be performed without a partner (e.g. high five, greetings, and push-ups). When training an interaction-graph based policy, we reuse the pre-trained decoder and allow its weights to be updated during the training. The decoder is reusable because the latent dimensions are unchanged. The encoder trained simultaneously with the pre-trained decoder is not reusable due to differences in input dimensions. This design makes it easier for the policy to maintain balance at the initial phase of learning, and therefore results in faster training. The training time of a policy varies based on the difficulty of the sequence. For easier sequences, it takes about 300 million to 500 million samples to train one policy. For harder sequences, it could take more than 2 billion samples to train a policy.).
Zhang teaches substantially the claimed invention regarding the “interaction graph”, and merely recites the “sparsely interactions”, but it is silent to teach that the claimed “interaction graph” uses the “sparse embedded” technique.
However, in the same field of endeavour or analogous art, Lin teaches the claimed features implemented in a Multi-Task Feature Interaction Learning. Lin goes on and further teaches the implementation of embedded interaction based on sparsity tensor for machine learning tasks (see figure 1 and see section 3, page 1738, right column Embedded Interaction Approach. When the response from one task is related to complicated feature interactions, the patterns of such interactions may be captured by a low-dimensional space, resulting in a low-rank interaction matrix. When there are multiple related tasks, they could have a shared low-dimensional space, i.e., different interaction matrices may share the same set of rank-1 basis matrices, but have different weights associated with these basis matrices. When collectively represented by a tensor, we end up with a low-rank tensor. During the learning process, each task contributes their subspace information to facilitate learning of the share low-dimensional subspace, which in turn, improves the feature space…… See section 4.3, page 1740, Embedded Interaction Approach disclosing further details.).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include the idea of sparse embedded interaction, as taught by Lin, for the benefit that during the learning process, each task contributes their subspace information to facilitate learning of the share low-dimensional subspace, which in turn, improves the feature space.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses a system for learning physics-based interactions from demonstration (e.g., via method for reproducing complex multi-character interactions for physically simulated humanoid characters using deep reinforcement learning), comprising:
a memory storing one or more instructions (although not shown, Zhang discloses the implementation of “storing or recording” motion data and interactions – These features imply the existence of a memory / storage device during the simulation); and
a processor (e.g., see section 4.1 disclosing all experiments are run using 640 CPUs) executing one or more of the instructions stored on the memory to perform:
learning a or a pose of the second character and a current interaction graph (e.g., see figure 2 below; see abstract disclosing a novel reward formulation based on an interaction graph that measures distances between pairs of interaction landmarks. This reward encourages control policies to efficiently imitate the character’s motion while preserving the spatial relationships of the interactions in the reference motion…...see section “introduction” disclosing a novel learning-based method that provides a physics-based retargeting of complex interactions for multiple characters. More specifically, given reference motions that capture interactions between people, we learn control policies (a.k.a. controllers) of simulated characters via deep reinforcement learning that imitate not only the motion of the individuals but also the interactions between them……... see section 3.3 “Interaction Graph” disclosing the semantics of the interaction happening between agents (or between an agent and an object) during the motion, we define the notion of an Interaction Graph (IG), a graph-based spatial descriptor where the information on interactions is stored in its vertices and edges…….The example interaction graph in Figure 2 includes both edges connecting nodes on a single character and edges connecting nodes on different characters. The edges within the character help maintain the motion quality of an individual character, while the edges between the characters act as guides for maintaining the relative position of the body parts of the two characters…… see section3.4.3 “Positional Graph Similarity” To compare the positional graph similarity between two graphs, we separately consider the similarity of the two graph edges connecting each individual character 𝐸𝑠𝑒𝑙 𝑓 (self-connections) and between characters 𝐸𝑐𝑟𝑜𝑠𝑠 (cross connections).); and
training a policy for controlling interactions between the first character and the second character based on using the (see “Abstract” disclosing Our approach uses a novel reward formulation based on an interaction graph that measures distances between pairs of interaction landmarks. This reward encourages control policies to efficiently imitate the character’s motion while preserving the spatial relationships of the interactions in the reference motion…... see section 4.1 “Experimental Setup” disclosing to speed up the learning for all of the experiments below, we pre-train an imitation policy of a single character on sequences that can be performed without a partner (e.g. high five, greetings, and push-ups). When training an interaction-graph based policy, we reuse the pre-trained decoder and allow its weights to be updated during the training. The decoder is reusable because the latent dimensions are unchanged. The encoder trained simultaneously with the pre-trained decoder is not reusable due to differences in input dimensions. This design makes it easier for the policy to maintain balance at the initial phase of learning, and therefore results in faster training. The training time of a policy varies based on the difficulty of the sequence. For easier sequences, it takes about 300 million to 500 million samples to train one policy. For harder sequences, it could take more than 2 billion samples to train a policy.); and
implementing the policy to control an interaction between a first robot and a second robot (see figure 5 above showing the interaction between two Baxter robots…. See section 4.5 Non-Human Characters disclosing further details of robot’s interactions).
Zhang teaches substantially the claimed invention regarding the “interaction graph”, and merely recites the “sparsely interactions”, but it is silent to teach that the claimed “interaction graph” uses the “sparse embedded” technique.
However, in the same field of endeavour or analogous art, Lin teaches the claimed features implemented in a Multi-Task Feature Interaction Learning. Lin goes on and further teaches the implementation of embedded interaction based on sparsity tensor for machine learning tasks (see figure 1 and see section 3, page 1738, right column Embedded Interaction Approach. When the response from one task is related to complicated feature interactions, the patterns of such interactions may be captured by a low-dimensional space, resulting in a low-rank interaction matrix. When there are multiple related tasks, they could have a shared low-dimensional space, i.e., different interaction matrices may share the same set of rank-1 basis matrices, but have different weights associated with these basis matrices. When collectively represented by a tensor, we end up with a low-rank tensor. During the learning process, each task contributes their subspace information to facilitate learning of the share low-dimensional subspace, which in turn, improves the feature space…… See section 4.3, page 1740, Embedded Interaction Approach disclosing further details.).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include the idea of sparse embedded interaction, as taught by Lin, for the benefit that during the learning process, each task contributes their subspace information to facilitate learning of the share low-dimensional subspace, which in turn, improves the feature space.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claims 1 and 11. Zhang further discloses, wherein the processor implements the policy to control an interaction between a first robot and a second robot (see figure 5 above showing the interaction between two Baxter robots…. See section 4.5 Non-Human Characters disclosing further details of robot’s interactions).
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 17, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claims 1, 11 and 16. Zhang further discloses, wherein the fully connected graph is indicative of a first pose associated with the first character and a second pose associated with the second character (see section 2.1 Multi-character Interactions for Kinematic Characters disclosing Our state representation and reward function for deep reinforcement learning are inspired by one of these descriptor-based approaches [Ho et al. 2010], where they construct an interaction graph by connecting edges among pre-specified markers on the body surface. By utilizing deep reinforcement learning and a novel formulation to measure interaction graph similarities, our method can be applied to dynamic characters having different body shapes instead of generating kinematic interaction motions… see section 3.3 Interaction Graph disclosing the example interaction graph in Figure 2 includes both edges connecting nodes on a single character and edges connecting nodes on different characters. The edges within the character help maintain the motion quality of an individual character, while the edges between the characters act as guides for maintaining the relative position of the body parts of the two characters…... see also section 3.4.3 Positional Graph Similarity for more connecting details).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 18, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claims 3, 13 and 17. Zhang further discloses, wherein the cross attention is between the first pose of the first character or the second pose of the second character and the current interaction graph (see rationales as set forth above in claim 16.
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 19, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claims 1, 11 and 16. Zhang further discloses, wherein the current interaction graph is derived from the fully connected graph (see section 4.1 Experiment Setup disclosing the structure of our policy follows a encoder-decoder style as presented in [Won et al. 2021], where the encoder is a fully connected neural network with two hidden layers with 256 and 128 units respectively. The encoder takes the full observation and projects it onto a 32-dimensional latent vector 𝑧. The decoder is another fully connected network with two hidden layers with 256 units, and it takes as input the concatenated vector 𝑧𝑑𝑒𝑐𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑟 = (O𝑠𝑖𝑚,𝑠𝑒𝑙𝑓 , 𝑧) and outputs the action of the policy.).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claims 1 and 16. Zhang further discloses, wherein the processor generates a pose latent vector based on passing the (see section 4.1 Experiment Setup disclosing the structure of our policy follows a encoder-decoder style as presented in [Won et al. 2021], where the encoder is a fully connected neural network with two hidden layers with 256 and 128 units respectively. The encoder takes the full observation and projects it onto a 32-dimensional latent vector 𝑧. The decoder is another fully connected network with two hidden layers with 256 units, and it takes as input the concatenated vector 𝑧𝑑𝑒𝑐𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑟 = (O𝑠𝑖𝑚,𝑠𝑒𝑙𝑓 , 𝑧) and outputs the action of the policy.).
In regards to the “sparse embedded” technique – please see the rationales asset forth in claims 1 and 16.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claim 6. Zhang further discloses, wherein the processor generates a future interaction state for the first character and the second character based on passing the pose latent vector and a first pose associated with the first character through a pose decoder and passing the pose latent vector and a second pose associated with the second character through a second pose decoder (see section 4.1 Experiment Setup disclosing the structure of our policy follows a encoder-decoder style as presented in [Won et al. 2021], where the encoder is a fully connected neural network with two hidden layers with 256 and 128 units respectively. The encoder takes the full observation and projects it onto a 32-dimensional latent vector 𝑧. The decoder is another fully connected network with two hidden layers with 256 units, and it takes as input the concatenated vector 𝑧𝑑𝑒𝑐𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑟 = (O𝑠𝑖𝑚,𝑠𝑒𝑙𝑓 , 𝑧) and outputs the action of the policy.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claim 7. Zhang further discloses, wherein the pose decoder is trained based on a pre-trained motion variable autoencoder (VAE) (see section 4.1 Experimental setup disclosing the structure of our policy follows a encoder-decoder style as presented in [Won et al. 2021], where the encoder is a fully connected neural network with two hidden layers with 256 and 128 units respectively. The encoder takes the full observation and projects it onto a 32-dimensional latent vector 𝑧. The decoder is another fully connected network with two hidden layers with 256 units, and it takes as input the concatenated vector 𝑧𝑑𝑒𝑐𝑜𝑑𝑒𝑟 = (O𝑠𝑖𝑚,𝑠𝑒𝑙𝑓 , 𝑧) and outputs the action of the policy. To speed up the learning for all of the experiments below, we pre-train an imitation policy of a single character on sequences that can be performed without a partner (e.g. high five, greetings, and push ups). When training an interaction-graph based policy, we reuse the pre-trained decoder and allow its weights to be updated during the training. The decoder is reusable because the latent dimensions are unchanged. The encoder trained simultaneously with the pre-trained decoder is not reusable due to differences in input dimensions. ).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claim 1. Zhang further discloses, wherein training the policy is based on a reinforcement learning approach (see section 5 “Discussion” disclosing We demonstrated a method of simulating and retargeting complex multi-Character interactions by using deep reinforcement learning where novel state and rewards that are character-agnostic are developed based on an Interaction Graph…... see Abstract disclosing a method for reproducing complex multi-character interactions for physically simulated humanoid characters using deep reinforcement learning. Our method learns control policies for characters that imitate not only individual motions, but also the interactions between characters, while maintaining balance and matching the complexity of reference data.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Lin discloses as discussed in claim 1. Zhang further discloses, wherein training the policy is based on a physics-based simulation (see Abstract disclosing a method for reproducing complex multi-character interactions for physically simulated humanoid characters using deep reinforcement learning. Our method learns control policies for characters that imitate not only individual motions, but also the interactions between characters, while maintaining balance and matching the complexity of reference data…. see section 1 disclosing we are interested in transferring complex multicharacter interactions from reference motions to physically simulated characters.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656