DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in Figures 1, 4, 7, and 8 should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12223968. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims.
Claims 1, 3, 7-8 of the present application are anticipated fully by claim 1 of the conflicting patent.
Claims 4-6 are anticipated fully by claim 2 of the conflicting patent.
Claims 9-10 are anticipated fully by claim 3 of the conflicting patent.
Claims 11, 13, 17-18 anticipated fully by claim 7 of the conflicting patent.
Claim 12 anticipated fully by claim 13 of the conflicting patent.
Claims 14-16 anticipated by claims 2 and 7 of the conflicting patent.
Claims 19-20 anticipated by claims 3 and 7 of the conflicting patent.
Claim 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12223968 in view of Disch (US 20200020349 A1).
The parent of claim 2 is claim 1, which is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim as explained above. The conflicting patented claim does not explicitly mention outputting a bitstream based on the encoded representation.
Disch does teach outputting a bitstream based on the encoded representation. ([0199]: the coded audio signal is multiplexed to form a single bit stream)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to output the encoded representation as a bitstream because it allows the information to be transmitted to a recipient (see Disch [0199]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 20180158466 A1).
Claim 1. Kawashima discloses:
A method of encoding an audio signal, comprising:
generating a plurality of subband audio signals based on the audio signal; ([0053]: divide the low band spectrum into a plurality of subbands)
determining a spectral envelope based on the plurality of subband audio signals; ([0072]: calculate an envelope of the signal)
determining autocorrelation information for each subband audio signal; and ([0056]-[0057], [0064]: calculating correlation values for subbands)
encoding the spectral envelope and the autocorrelation information into an encoded representation. ([0059]: encode the audio signal using the calculated information)
Claim 3. Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the autocorrelation information includes an autocorrelation value for the subband audio signal. ([0057]: correlation value indicating correlation information for a particular subband)
Claim 4. Parent claim 3 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein autocorrelation value corresponds to a local maximum of an autocorrelation function. ([0057]: output a lag candidate exhibiting a highest correlation value)
Claim 5. Parent claim 4 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the autocorrelation information includes a lag value. ([0057]: indicate the lag candidate having the highest correlation)
Claim 6. Parent claim 5 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the lag value corresponds to a delay value for which the autocorrelation value attains the local maximum. ([0055]-[0057]: search subbands for a lag candidates with the highest correlation value; “lag” is synonymous with “delay”)
Claim 9. Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein generating the plurality of subband audio signals includes flattening the audio signal. ([0007]: processing of audio signal is computed after flattening the signal)
Claim 10. Parent claim 9 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein generating the plurality of subband audio signals includes decomposing the flattened audio signal into the plurality of subband audio signals. ([0053]: dividing the audio signal into normalized/flattened subbands)
Claim 11. Kawashima discloses:
A method of decoding an encoded representation of an audio signal, comprising:
determining a plurality of reconstructed subband audio signals based on a spectral envelope and autocorrelation information of the encoded representation; ([0065]-[0067]: receive low band spectrum from decoding process and divide into sub-bands)
generating a reconstructed audio signal based on the plurality of reconstructed subband audio signals; (Fig 10: core decoding 202 is followed by frequency-time transform section 205, which then outputs the reconstructed signal)
wherein the spectral envelope is determined based on a plurality of original subband audio signals, the plurality of original subband audio signals are generated based on the audio signal, and the autocorrelation information is determined for each original subband audio signal. ([0053]-[0072]: original audio is divided into subbands; determine spectral shape and correlation values per subband based on these subbands)
Claim 12. Parent claim 11 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the reconstructed audio signal is determined via a machine learning-based generative model and/or based on spectral synthesis. ([0127]-[0128]: harmonic modelling of signal for encoding and decoding; i.e. spectral synthesis)
Claim 13. Parent claim 11 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the autocorrelation information includes an autocorrelation value for each original subband audio signal. ([0064]: encoded data includes correlation information)
Claim 14. Parent claim 13 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the autocorrelation value corresponds to a local maximum of an autocorrelation function. ([0064]: information indicating particular bands having a largest correlation value between a spectrum)
Claim 15. Parent claim 14 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the autocorrelation information includes a lag value. ([0067]: obtain lag information)
Claim 16. Parent claim 15 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the lag value corresponds to a delay value for which the autocorrelation value attains the local maximum. ([0055]-[0057]: lag information includes the lag candidate with the highest correlation)
Claim 19. Parent claim 11 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the plurality of original subband audio signals are generated by flattening the original audio signal. ([0066]: normalized signal)
Claim 20. Parent claim 19 is addressed above. Kawashima further discloses:
wherein the plurality of original subband audio signals are generated by decomposing the flattened original audio signal into the plurality of original subband audio signals. ([0066]: normalized signal divided into subbands)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 20180158466 A1) in view of Disch (US 20200020349 A1).
Claim 2. Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kawashima does not explicity mention outputting a bitstream based on the encoded representation.
Disch does teach outputting a bitstream based on the encoded representation. ([0199]: the coded audio signal is multiplexed to form a single bit stream)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to output the encoded representation as a bitstream because it allows the information to be transmitted to a recipient (see Disch [0199]).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 20180158466 A1) in view of Borgstrom (US 20140270226 A1).
Claim 7. Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Kawashima does not explicitly disclose the method wherein:
the spectral envelope is determined at a first update rate;
the autocorrelation information is determined at a second update rate;
and the first update rate is different from the second update rate.
However, Borgstrom does teach the method wherein:
the spectral envelope is determined at a first update rate; ([0029]: extract spectral features per each frame)
the autocorrelation information is determined at a second update rate; ([0034]-[0035]: autocorrelation coefficient may be based on a running average for frames received within a given time interval)
and the first update rate is different from the second update rate. ([0029], [0034]-[0035]: spectral features are determined per frame, but autocorrelation may be determined once every few frames)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to update the autocorrelation value less frequently because it makes the audio processing more robust to acoustic distortion over a lengthy period (see Borgstrom [0005], [0037]).
Claim 8. Parent claim 7 is addressed above. Borgstrom further teaches:
wherein the first update rate is higher than the second update rate. ([0029], [0034]-[0035]: spectral features are updated every frame, while autocorrelation may be updated over several frames).
Claim 17. Parent claim 11 is addressed above. Kawashima does not explicitly disclose the method wherein:
the spectral envelope is determined at a first update rate;
the autocorrelation information is determined at a second update rate;
and the first update rate is different from the second update rate.
However, Borgstrom does teach the method wherein:
the spectral envelope is determined at a first update rate; ([0029]: extract spectral features per each frame)
the autocorrelation information is determined at a second update rate; ([0034]-[0035]: autocorrelation coefficient may be based on a running average for frames received within a given time interval)
and the first update rate is different from the second update rate. ([0029], [0034]-[0035]: spectral features are determined per frame, but autocorrelation may be determined once every few frames)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to update the autocorrelation value less frequently because it makes the audio processing more robust to acoustic distortion over a lengthy period (see Borgstrom [0005], [0037]).
Claim 18. Parent claim 17 is addressed above. Borgstrom further teaches:
wherein the first update rate is higher than the second update rate. ([0029], [0034]-[0035]: spectral features are updated every frame, while autocorrelation may be updated over several frames).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ALVIN ISKENDER/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654