DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the guard comprising a left side extension operably connected to a left segment; the left segment operably connected to a left corner; the left corner operably connected to a middle segment; the middle segment operably connected to a right corner; the right corner operably connected to a right segment; the right segment operably connected to a right extension, wherein each of the left segment, the middle segment and the right segment comprise at least one support maintaining a distance of each of the left segment, the middle segment and the right segment from a supporting surface”; “a pin assembly”,” a pin, a biasing member, and a handle”, “a coil spring”, “a latch plate”, “hinged fastener, “latch plate", "hasp” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected (claims 2-22 by dependency) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the nominal recitation of “one or more hook elements operably connected to a rear surface of a guard” leaves an uncertainty as to whether the applicant’s scope of invention includes the guard or is merely used with a guard. It is the applicant’s burden to create claim limitation depicting a single preferred embodiment in such clear and concise terms that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand what is intended to be prevented from being made and sold to the public.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-4 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Gargano (US 11,633,051).
Regarding claim 1, Gargano discloses a guard locking and latching device comprising:
one or more hook elements (102) operably connected to a rear surface (104) of a guard (100) comprising a left side extension operably connected to a left segment (annotated Fig.4); the left segment operably connected to a left corner (annotated Fig.4); the left corner operably connected to a middle segment(annotated Fig.4); the middle segment operably connected to a right corner(annotated Fig.4); the right corner operably connected to a right segment(annotated Fig.4); the right segment operably connected to a right extension, wherein each of the left segment, the middle segment and the right segment comprise at least one support maintaining a distance of each of the left segment(annotated Fig.4), the middle segment and the right segment from a supporting surface(annotated Fig.4); wherein the left segment (annotated Fig.4), the middle segment and the right segment are configured to form a first opening (118), the first opening so dimensioned and configured as to accept insertion of one or more containers (400) wherein said one or more containers attaches to said one or more hook elements (102) at an attachment element (302, 402) positioned on the one or more containers (Fig.4)and a latching assembly.
Annotated Figure from Gargano (US 11,633,051)
Regarding claim 2, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein the left side extension (annotated Fig.4) and the right side extension of said guard contact the supporting surface (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 3, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein each of the left segment (annotated Fig.4), the middle segment and the right segment of said guard comprise at least two supports maintaining a distance of each of the left segment (solid object structure maintains distances), the middle segment and the right segment from the supporting surface.
Regarding claim 4, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein the device is a hook element (302,304) having an angle of about 80°, 81°, 82°, 83°, 84°, 85°, 86°, 87°, 88°, 89°, 90°, 91°, 92°, 93°, 94°, 95°, 96°, 97°, 98°, 99° or 100° (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 6, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 4, wherein the device has an angle of about 90° (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 7, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein said device is fabricated from a substance selected from the group consisting of steel (C.2; l.44-45), iron, aluminum, plastic, rubber, graphite, carbon and composite materials.
Regarding claim 8, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein the attachment element is located on the rear surface of said container (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 10, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein said attachment element (302, 402) is attachable(Fig.4) to said guard locking device by tilting said one or more containers (300,400)onto said guard locking device.
Regarding claim 11, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein said attachment element (302, 402) is detachable Fig.4) from said guard locking device by tilting said one or more containers (300,400)away from said guard locking device.
Regarding claim 12, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein said attachment element (302,402) is attachable 9Fig.4) to said guard locking device by lifting said one or more containers (300,400) onto said guard locking device at the attachment element.
Regarding claim 13, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein said attachment element is detachable (Fig.4) from said guard locking device by lifting said one or more containers away 9Fig.4)from said guard locking device at the attachment element (302,402).
Regarding claim 14, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, further comprising a locking mount (116).
Regarding claim 15, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 14, wherein said locking mount comprises a hole (116).
Regarding claim 16, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 15, wherein the locking mount hole (116) accommodates (interior can accommodate an element) a tie-down member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gargano (US 11,633,051).
Regarding claim 5, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein the guard further comprises an expansion middle segment (annotated Fig.4) operably connected to the right corner (annotated Fig.4), the expansion middle segment operably connected to an expansion corner, the expansion corner operably connected to an expansion right segment (annotated Fig.4), the expansion right segment operably connected to an expansion right side extension(annotated Fig.4), wherein the right segment, the expansion middle segment and the expansion right segment are configured to form a second opening, the second opening so dimensioned and configured as to accept insertion of a second container, wherein at least one guard locking device is operably connected to said expansion middle segment.
Gargano discloses the claimed invention except for second instance of an opening. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify second instance of an opening, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Applicant is reminded that duplicating the components of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance as to the specific number of an element disclosed, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuating handle disclosed by Schmidt et al. to comprise a second switching unit, and as such practice is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results."
Regarding claim 9, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1, wherein the attachment element located on the rear surface of said container is present.
Gargano discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims except for attachment element located on the rear surface of said container is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the different portions of the attachment element of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Claim 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gargano (US 11,633,051) in view of Davidson (US 2022/0327874).
Regarding claim 17, Gargano discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 1.
Gargano does not disclose: a pin (130) assembly (Fig.1)
Davidson teaches a pin assembly for the purpose of securing a lock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gargano with a pin assembly as taught by Davidson for the expected benefit of securing a lock.
Regarding claim 18, Gargano as modified by Davidson discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 17, wherein said pin assembly comprises a pin (130; Davidson), a biasing member (154; Davidson), and a handle (144; Davidson).
Regarding claim 19, Gargano as modified by Davidson discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim 18, wherein said biasing member is a coil spring (154; Davidson).
Regarding claim 20, Gargano as modified by Davidson discloses the guard locking and latching device of claim, 1 further comprising a latch plate (180; Davidson).
Regarding claim 21, Gargano as modified by Davidson discloses the latch plate of claim 20, further comprising one or more hinged fasteners (end of 180, Fig.13A; Davidson).
Regarding claim 22, Gargano as modified by Davidson discloses the latch plate of claim 21, wherein said one or more hinged fasteners is a hasp (184; Davidson).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675