DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6, and 12 (and dependent claims 2-11 and 13) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 5-6, and 12 claim “assumed”, “likely to be expected”, “that is to be expected”. It is unclear what “assumed”, “likely to be expected”, “that is to be expected” is trying to claim ownership of and is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PODGORSKI (US 10295313 B2).
Regarding claim 1, PODGORSKI discloses a control device (fig. 4; 400, controller 402) for generating a control signal to drive a pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) (fig. 5, 501 Note array of HPM TEM-horns) for generating a pulse train (fig. 6) of high-power pulses (fig. 5, 501) for irradiating a target (fig. 1, 109) (fig. 5, 507) ,
wherein the pulse source arrangement contains at least one pulse source (404, 405, 406, 423) (501) and is configured to generate the pulse train (fig. 6) (500, 501) under control by the control signal (of 402);
wherein each of the pulse sources (fig. 5, 501 Note array of HPM TEM-horns) of the at least one pulse source is configured to generate the high-power pulses (500, 501), and each of the high-power pulses has respectively known pulse properties;
wherein the pulse train (fig. 6) of the high-power pulses is established by the control signal (of 402);
wherein the pulse properties of a respective one of the high-power pulses potentially radiated into the target cause an influx into the target likely to be expected (506, Tosc, quality factor Q of target) according to an assumed influx property of the target (506, Tosc, quality factor Q of target);
wherein each of the influxes is assigned a dissipation (501, 506, resonance and energy storage at the target) likely to be expected in the target due to an assumed dissipation property of the target (501, 506, resonance and energy storage at the target);
the control device (402) comprising:
at least one of an input or a memory (of 402) (col. 4, lines 45-55) for the known pulse properties, for the assumed influx properties, and for the assumed dissipation properties (col. 4, lines 45-55);
an output (of/from 402) for outputting the control signal;
the control device being configured to determine the pulse train (fig. 6) of the high-power pulses in such a way that, based on the pulse properties and the influx properties, a cumulative influx into the target (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507) due to the incident high-power pulses is to be expected, with the cumulative influx being greater than a cumulative dissipation in the target (col. 14, lines 15-35) that is to be expected based on the dissipation properties (col. 14, lines 15-35), and to cause an excess accumulation in the target according to which a desired disruption or destruction (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507) of the target is to be expected (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507); and
the control device (402) being configured to generate the control signal with the pulse train (fig. 6) so determined and to deliver the pulse train at the output (col. 14, lines 15-35).
(fig. 1; radiation source 100, beam 101, target 109)
(fig. 2; controller 201, 203, generators 204, HPM TEM horns 205, 231, 233, 232)
(fig. 4; 400, controller 402, 401, 403, 404, 405, 423)
(fig 5);
(figs.6a-6b) (fig. 6; pulse train composed of pulses 601, 602, 603, 604)
(abstract)
(col. 1-col. 2)
(col. 4)
(col. 5, lines 40-50)
(col. 6, lines 25-50)
(col. 14)
(col. 15, lines 20-40)
(col. 16, lines 15-40)
(col. 17, lines 44-55) .
Regarding claim 12, PODGORSKI discloses a method of generating a control signal (of 402) for driving a pulse source (404, 405, 406, 423) configured to generate a pulse train (fig. 6) of high-power pulses (fig. 5, 501) for irradiating a target (fig. 1, 109) (fig. 5, 506, 507) ,, the method comprising:
providing a control device (402) configured to control a pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) containing at least one pulse source (404, 405, 406, 423) and being configured to generate the pulse train (fig. 6) (500, 501) under control by the control signal;
wherein each of the pulse sources (404, 405, 406, 423) (fig. 5, 501 Note array of HPM TEM-horns) is capable of generating the high-power pulses (500, 501), and each of the high-power pulses has respectively known pulse properties,
wherein a respective one of the high-power pulses (500, 501) potentially radiated into the target (506, 507) causes in the target an influx likely to be expected from an assumed influx property of the target (506, Tosc, quality factor Q of target) ;
wherein each of the influxes has an assigned dissipation likely to be expected (506, Tosc, quality factor Q of target) in the target based on an assumed dissipation property of the target (506, Tosc, quality factor Q of target) ;
receiving the known pulse properties, the assumed influx properties, and the assumed dissipation properties from at least one of the input or the memory (of 502) (col. 4, lines 45-55);
ascertaining the pulse train (fig. 6) of the high-power pulses by the control device in such a way that, based on the pulse properties and the influx properties, a given cumulative influx into the target is to be expected from the incident high-power pulses (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507), with the given cumulative influx into the target being greater than a cumulative dissipation in the target to be expected (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507) based on the dissipation properties, wherein an excess accumulation would occur in the target according to which a desired disruption or destruction (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507) of the target is to be expected (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507); and
generating the control signal (of 402) representing the pulse train (fig. 6) ascertained by the control device and providing the control signal at the output (col. 14, lines 15-35) (fig. 5; 506, 507).
(fig. 1; radiation source 100, beam 101, target 109)
(fig. 2; controller 201, 203, generators 204, HPM TEM horns 205, 231, 233, 232)
(fig. 4; 400, controller 402, 401, 403, 404, 405, 423)
(fig 5);
(figs.6a-6b) (fig. 6; pulse train composed of pulses 601, 602, 603, 604)
(abstract)
(col. 1-col. 2)
(col. 4)
(col. 5, lines 40-50)
(col. 6, lines 25-50)
(col. 14)
(col. 15, lines 20-40)
(col. 16, lines 15-40)
(col. 17, lines 44-55) .
Regarding claim 2, PODGORSKI discloses that wherein the control device (402) is configured to determine the pulse train (figs.6a-6b) (fig. 6; pulse train composed of pulses 601, 602, 603, 604) according to at least one matching rule for the high-power pulses (col. 5, lines 40-50) (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40 Note target’s Tosc, target’s quality factor Q) (col. 14) .
Regarding claim 3, PODGORSKI discloses that wherein said at least one matching rule (col. 5, lines 40-50) (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40) includes a specification of at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a pulse repetition rate (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40 Note pulse spacing/timing) , a pulse number (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40 Note pulse spacing/timing) , a pulse length (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40 Note pulse spacing/timing) , and a maximum time interval between two of the high-power pulses (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40 Note pulse spacing/timing) (col. 14) .
Regarding claim 4, PODGORSKI discloses that, wherein said at least one matching rule (col. 5, lines 40-50) (col. 16, lines 15-40) (col. 15, lines 10-40) includes a specification of at least one of
Regarding claim 5, PODGORSKI discloses that wherein at least one of the dissipation properties contains a property to be assumed concerning a behavior of at least one of current or voltage impulses (target damage /destruction) that are brought about in the target (506, 507) by the high-power pulses (col. 15, lines 20-40) (col. 16, lines 15-40) (cols. 4-6) (col. 14) (col. 6, lines 50-60 Note target electronic system).
Regarding claim 6, PODGORSKI discloses that wherein at least one of the dissipation properties contains a property concerning at least one of a behavior in the target to be assumed or a decay of latency effects in the target (506, 507) (col. 15, lines 20-40) (col. 16, lines 15-40) (cols. 4-6) (col. 14) (col. 6, lines 50-60 Note target electronic system).
Regarding claim 7, PODGORSKI discloses that wherein at least one of the dissipation properties relates to a presumed electronic component of the target (506, 507) (col. 6, lines 50-60 Note target electronic system)
Regarding claim 8, PODGORSKI discloses that a control device (402) according to claim 1;
a pulse source arrangement (fig. 4; 404, 405, 406, 423) having the at least one pulse source (404, 405, 406, 423) and being configured to be driven by the control signal (500, 501, 506, 507) (of 402) delivered at the output of the control device;
said pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) being configured to generate the high-power pulses (500, 501 HPM) in a form of the pulse train (fig. 6) (500, 501) defined by the control signal and to radiate the high-power pulses onto the target (506, 507) (figs.6a-6b) (fig. 6; pulse train composed of pulses 601, 602, 603, 604).
Regarding claim 9, PODGORSKI discloses that said at least one pulse source (404, 405, 406, 423) is a high power microwave (501, HPM) or
high-power electromagnetics source (501, HPM) with a bandwidth of selected from the group consisting of narrow band (col. 6, lines 25-60) (col. 17, lines 20-55), wide band (fig. 7c) (col. 6, lines 25-60) (col. 17, lines 20-55), and ultra-wide band (abstract Note broadband) (col. 6, lines 25-60) (col. 17, lines 20-55)
Regarding claim 10, PODGORSKI discloses that said pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) comprises at least two different pulse source (406s) (array of 406 horns) (col. 14, lines 40-60) (404, 405, 406s, 423) (fig. 5, 501 Note array of HPM TEM-horns)
(fig. 2; controller 201, 203, generators 204, HPM TEM horns 205, 231, 233, 232) .
Regarding claim 11, PODGORSKI discloses that said pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) contains at least two pulse sources (406s) (array of 406s) (col. 14, lines 40-60) (404, 405, 406, 423) in a distributed source system (of 406s) (of array of 406 horns) (fig. 5, 501 Note array of HPM TEM-horns)
(fig. 2; controller 201, 203, generators 204, HPM TEM horns 205, 231, 233, 232) .
Regarding claim 13, PODGORSKI discloses providing
a control device (402) according to claim 1 and an irradiation device (404, 405, 406, 423) (501, 502) with a pulse source arrangement (404, 405, 406, 423) configured for generating the pulse train (fig. 6) of high-power pulses (501, 500) for irradiating the target (506, 507); generating with the control device a control signal and providing the control signal at an output thereof (506, 507);; driving the pulse source arrangement (500) (506, 507);, which contains at least one pulse source by the control signal delivered at the output of the control device (500) (506, 507);; generating with the pulse source arrangement the high-power pulses in the form of the pulse train (500, 501) driven by the control signal, and radiating the high-power pulses onto the target (500, 501) (506, 507)
(fig. 2; controller 201, 203, generators 204, HPM TEM horns 205, 231, 233, 232)
(figs.6a-6b) (fig. 6; pulse train composed of pulses 601, 602, 603, 604).
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878