DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2024/0064296) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0103864).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for video processing (see fig. 17), comprising: applying a neural network (NN) filter (see Cov in fig. 17) to an unfiltered sample of a video unit (see input YUV in fig. 17) to generate a filtered sample (see RB in fig. 17), wherein the NN filter includes an NN filter model (see Cov in fig. 17) shared by both a luma component and a chroma component corresponding to the video unit (see YUV in fig. 17); and performing a conversion between a video media file and a bitstream based on the filtered sample (see YUV input and output in fig. 17).
Although Chen discloses granularity of the NN filter model (e.g. see ¶ [0074]), it is noted that Chen does not disclose wherein the granularity of the NN filter model specifies a size of the video unit to which the NN filter model is applied.
However, Wang discloses a neural network filtering wherein the granularity of the NN filter model specifies a size of the video unit to which the NN filter model is applied (e.g. see “granularity of selecting … model(s) … can be designed at different levels. The possible levels … a grid size N*N designed specifically for filter signaling” in ¶ [0086], [0088]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Wang teachings of granularity filter into Chen granularity filter coding information for the benefit of encoding and decoding with proper filtering with model to reduce image distortion.
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Chen further discloses wherein an output of the NN filter model depends on coding information (see fig. 6), and wherein the coding information is a syntax element included in the bitstream, or the coding information is derived information (see filter width and height derived from block size in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Chen further discloses wherein the NN filter model is generated based on a scaling factor for the video unit (see QpMap in fig. 17), and the output of the NN filter model depends on the scaling factor (see YUV output in fig. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further discloses wherein the scaling factor indicates a factor scaling a difference between a reconstruction of the video unit and the output of the NN filter model (e.g. see ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein the coding information is represented by an MxN array (see 64x64x3 in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Chen further discloses wherein M and N represent a width and a height of the video unit (see 64x64x3 in fig. 6) or
Regarding claim 13, Chen further discloses wherein the coding information is represented by numbers (see 64x64x3 in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, the references further discloses wherein the granularity of the NN filter model is included in the bitstream or derived (e.g. see Wang ¶ [0086], [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, the references further discloses wherein in response to the granularity of the NN filter model being included in the bitstream, indication of the granularity is signalled in a sequence header, a picture header, a slice header, a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), or an adaptation parameter set (APS) (e.g. see Wang ¶ [0086], [0088]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen further discloses wherein the conversion comprises generating the bitstream according to the video media file (see 114 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chen further discloses wherein the conversion comprises parsing the bitstream to obtain the video media file (see 201, 202 and 222 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, the claim(s) recite an apparatus (see figs. 1-2) analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 20, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Wang “fails to disclose the granularity of the NN filter model specifies a size of the video unit to which the NN filter model is applied” because “Wang merely mentions that the granularity of selecting and signaling the model(s) can be designed at different levels”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang stated that granularity of filter model goes hand in hand with granularity size (e.g. see “granularity of selecting … model(s) … can be designed at different levels. The possible levels … a grid size N*N designed specifically for filter signaling” in ¶ [0086], [0088]”, wherein Wang ¶ [0130] clearly states that this grid has a size of rows and column of a partitioned picture). Therefore, the Examiner maintains all limitations are met.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Piao et al. (US 2023/0044603), discloses AI based image filtering.
2. Dai (US 2024/0107073), discloses AI based image filtering.
3. Andersson et al. (US 2025/0071283), discloses neural network based image filtering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485