DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The following is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s submission filed on 7/22/2026. Currently claims 1, 4-20 are pending and claims 1, 15, and 17 are independent. Claims 1, 7, 9, 15, and 17 have been amended from the previous claim set dated 12/17/2024. Claims 2 and 3 have been cancelled and no claims are new.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202411083704, filed on 11/1/2024.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged and necessitated the new grounds of rejection in this Office Action. In light of the amendments, the objection of claim 7 is withdrawn in addition to the 35 USC § 112 rejections of claim 9. Additionally, the 35 USC § 101 rejections are withdrawn because the inclusion of the limitation “initiating an automatic remediation of the building equipment failure by initiating a closed-loop control action…” demonstrates a controlling feature and overcomes the 101 rejection within the Step 2A (Prong 1) analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honey et al. (US 20240378534 A1) in view of Shinde et al (US 20210262689 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 15, 17 (Amended), Honey discloses A method for building equipment failure prediction (Honey ABS - accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility that indicate a likelihood that the assets will fail or be operationally impaired), the method comprising: receiving, by a computing device of a building management system, building management system data associated with building equipment at a site managed by the building management system (Honey ¶36 - Referring to FIG. 2A, the example system 200 includes a variety of data sources 202 that are used by an equipment health subsystem 204 to generate equipment health scores that are combined with asset criticality scores 206 to provide operational risk scores and dashboards 208); analyzing the building management system data or a derivative of the building management system data (Honey ¶4 - The disclosed technology permits for such additional information to be accurately captured, analyzed) using a combination of: i) a physics model (Honey ¶82 - equipment modeling 898) to generate: an asset health score (AHS) via the physics model (Honey ¶5 - The disclosed technology incorporates various different scoring mechanisms that can be used to assess a variety of risks related to assets, such as an asset health score that can indicate the current health of the asset); determining an aggregated building equipment failure probability as a function of the AHS and the MLS; based on the aggregated building equipment probability, identifying a building equipment failure of one or more of the building equipment (Honey Fig. 5A – Honey ¶73 - The plant heat map that represents Overall Risk {i.e. aggregate}, for example, can be based on calculated risk factors using the Asset Health Index (AHI) as described with respect to FIG. 8A – Honey ¶29 - The equipment health scores can indicate a risk (likelihood) that a particular piece of equipment will fail or be operationally impaired in the near future).
Honey lacks autocorrection; an anomaly detection model; a machine-learning score (MLS) via the anomaly detection model; determining whether the building equipment failure can be automatically remediated; and responsive to: determining the building equipment failure can be automatically remediated, initiating an automatic remediation of the building equipment failure by initiating a closed-loop control action for remediation of the failed device with the building equipment failure including at least one of: changing a valve position of the failed device, wherein the failed device is a valve; changing a damper position, wherein the failed device is a damper; regulating airflow through the failed device; changing a temperature setpoint of the failed device; adjusting or turning off lighting in an area; taking the failed device off-line, wherein the failed device is an elevator; shutting off a water supply to the failed device, wherein the failed device is a sprinkler; triggering a lockdown of one or more rooms; altering building management system data to attenuate noise/variance in a signal from the failed device; reducing or lowering power to the failed device; or updating firmware or software associated with the failed device.
Shinde, from the same field of endeavor, teaches autocorrection (Shinde ¶36 - In various embodiments, systems and methods of the present disclosure automatically perform one or more actions to prevent and/or fix the predicted faults); an anomaly detection model (Shinde ¶40 - Machine learning and deep learning models may implement anomaly detection); a machine-learning score (MLS) via the anomaly detection model (Shinde ¶40 - Machine learning and deep learning models may implement anomaly detection, which is a machine learning and deep learning technique that can identify patterns for normal states, and then compare patterns with new observations. In the event of a new pattern being observed that is significantly different, this may be classified as an anomaly, or fault in some embodiments. An anomaly detection model can capture underlying probability distributions of non-anomalous (i.e., normal) data in a space that may be different from that of anomalous data); determining whether the building equipment failure can be automatically remediated; and responsive to: determining the building equipment failure can be automatically remediated, initiating an automatic remediation of the building equipment failure (Shinde ¶83 - Fault detection and diagnostics (FDD) layer 416 can be configured to provide on-going fault detection for building subsystems 428, building subsystem devices (i.e., building equipment), and control algorithms used by demand response layer 414 and integrated control layer 418. FDD layer 416 may receive data inputs from integrated control layer 418, directly from one or more building subsystems or devices, or from another data source. FDD layer 416 may automatically diagnose and respond to detected faults. The responses to detected or diagnosed faults can include… a control algorithm configured to attempt to repair the fault or to work-around the fault) by initiating a closed-loop control action (Shinde ¶76 - According to some embodiments, demand response layer 414 includes control logic for responding to the data and signals it receives. These responses can include communicating with the control algorithms in integrated control layer 418, changing control strategies, changing setpoints, or activating/deactivating building equipment or subsystems in a controlled manner… Shinde ¶96 - For example, a zone controller 536 can use a temperature input received from networked sensors 538 via SA bus 566 (e.g., a measured temperature of a building zone) as feedback in a temperature control algorithm {i.e. closed loop}) for remediation of the failed device with the building equipment failure including at least one of: changing a valve position of the failed device, wherein the failed device is a valve; changing a damper position, wherein the failed device is a damper; regulating airflow through the failed device; changing a temperature setpoint of the failed device; adjusting or turning off lighting in an area; taking the failed device off-line, wherein the failed device is an elevator; shutting off a water supply to the failed device, wherein the failed device is a sprinkler; triggering a lockdown of one or more rooms; altering building management system data to attenuate noise/variance in a signal from the failed device; reducing or lowering power to the failed device; or updating firmware or software associated with the failed device (Shinde ¶77 - In some embodiments, demand response layer 414 includes a control module configured to actively initiate control actions (e.g., automatically changing setpoints) which minimize energy costs based on one or more inputs representative of or based on demand (e.g., price, a curtailment signal, a demand level, etc.). In some embodiments, demand response layer 414 uses equipment models to determine an optimal set of control actions. The equipment models can include, for example, thermodynamic models describing the inputs, outputs, and/or functions performed by various sets of building equipment. Equipment models may represent collections of building equipment (e.g., subplants, chiller arrays, etc.) or individual devices (e.g., individual chillers, heaters, pumps, etc.).)
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 4, Honey in view of Shinde discloses a method for building equipment failure prediction (Honey ABS - accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility that indicate a likelihood that the assets will fail or be operationally impaired).
Shinde further teaches the anomaly detection model is a univariate or multivariate (Shinde ¶7 - generate, based on the received data, a univariate prediction model and a multivariate prediction model) anomaly detection model that is configured to detect anomalies in key performance indicators (KPIs) associated with the building equipment (Shinde ¶40 - Machine learning and deep learning models may implement anomaly detection, which is a machine learning and deep learning technique that can identify patterns for normal states, and then compare patterns with new observations. In the event of a new pattern being observed that is significantly different, this may be classified as an anomaly, or fault in some embodiments. An anomaly detection model can capture underlying probability distributions of non-anomalous (i.e., normal) data in a space that may be different from that of anomalous data).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 5, Honey in view of Shinde discloses a method for building equipment failure prediction (Honey ABS - accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility that indicate a likelihood that the assets will fail or be operationally impaired).
Shinde further teaches querying a plurality of trained supervised machine-learning models that are trained to predict the building equipment failure based on the AHS and the MLS (Shinde ¶153 - In step 850, process 840 is shown to include evaluating model performance and selecting best performing models. Step 850 may, in some embodiments, include components the same as or similar to model evaluator 818 and model selector 824 of FIG. 8A. Further, step 850 may vary in both the evaluation process as well as the selection process for generated and trained models. For example, in some instances models may have been generated using past operational data that included shutdown events, which may call for a specific evaluation method that may not be applicable to or effective for models generated using past operational data deficient of shutdowns. Step 850 may also vary according to embodiment in terms of model selection. In some embodiments, models may be evaluated mathematically. Further, models may be evaluated according to the process described for model evaluator 818 in which calculations are performed in order to evaluate models with the specific calculations dependent on the corresponding training data for a model).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 6, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the AHS further comprises an AHS (Honey ABS - The techniques can include accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility) for one or more of a heat exchanger, a chiller, a pump, a valve, a fan, a filter (Honey ¶38 - Referring to FIG. 2C, another illustrative example system 250 involves sensor readings for an exhauster fan).
Regarding claim 7, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the aggregated building equipment probability unweighted (Honey ¶64 - FIG. 8B is a diagram of an example weighting of data categories and component scores when determining an Asset Health Index (AHI) score for a piece of power generation equipment...In other examples, the various data categories can be assigned different weight percentages {i.e. unweighted}).
Regarding claim 8, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the aggregated building equipment probability is a weighted aggregated building equipment probability that is a function of a weighted average of the AHS and MLS (Honey ¶64 - FIG. 8B is a diagram of an example weighting of data categories and component scores when determining an Asset Health Index (AHI) score for a piece of power generation equipment. In general, each category component can be scored along a predetermined scale (e.g., 0-100 with 0 being low and 100 being high, or another suitable scale), with the category component scores being aggregated to determine a category score (e.g., along a similar scale), and with the category scores being aggregated to determine the overall AHI score (e.g., also along a similar scale) for the piece of power generation equipment).
Regarding claim 9, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the weighted average is at least initially configured as an equally weight average of the physics-based model and the data-drive model, and, wherein the weighted average is adjustable based on a model lifecycle of a plurality of trained supervised learning models that are trained to predict the building equipment failure based on the AHS and the MLS (Honey ¶29 - The equipment health scores can indicate a risk (likelihood) that a particular piece of equipment will fail or be operationally impaired in the near future. The equipment health scores can combine a variety of different signals and factors, which can be weighted in any of a variety of ways).
Regarding claim 10, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the aggregated building equipment failure probability (AGBEIP) is determined in accordance with equation 1 (Eq. 1): Eq. 1: AGBEIP = [(W1)*(the AHS)] + [(W2)*(the MLS)], wherein “W1” and “W2” are weights attributed to the AHS and MLS, respectively (Honey Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 11, Honey in view of Shinde discloses identifying a plurality of predicted failures; determining a plurality of remediation actions corresponding to the plurality of predicted failures; determining a respective priority of each remediation action of the plurality of remediation actions (Honey ¶5 - Asset health scores and criticality scores can be determined and combined for assets to determine an operational risk score, which can be used to schedule and prioritize maintenance and/or corrective action orders. For example, a piece of equipment that is critical to an energy generation unit (based on criticality score) that is beginning to show signs of wear (based on asset health score) may have a greater operational risk score than another piece of equipment that is significantly less critical to the facility but is demonstrating a greater probability of failure, and as a result maintenance and repair of the more critical asset may be identified and prioritized over the other, less critical asset. The operational risk scores can be used to assess and capture the broader implications of and risks associated with equipment failure beyond just the equipment itself failing (i.e., assessing risk of energy generation unit going down or having to operate at reduced capacity based on specific piece of equipment failing).
Shinde further teaches automatically initiating the plurality of remediation actions to remediate the plurality of predicted failures in accordance with the respective priorities of each of the plurality of remediation actions (Shinde ¶83 - Fault detection and diagnostics (FDD) layer 416 can be configured to provide on-going fault detection for building subsystems 428, building subsystem devices (i.e., building equipment), and control algorithms used by demand response layer 414 and integrated control layer 418. FDD layer 416 may receive data inputs from integrated control layer 418, directly from one or more building subsystems or devices, or from another data source. FDD layer 416 may automatically diagnose and respond to detected faults. The responses to detected or diagnosed faults can include… a control algorithm configured to attempt to repair the fault or to work-around the fault).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 12, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the priority of each remediation action of the plurality of remediation actions is based on: a criticality of the building equipment having the predicted failure, an impact of the predicted failure on upstream and/or downstream building equipment, a quantity of hours of operation of the building equipment with the predicted failure, a degree of deviation of the building equipment from a set point of the building equipment, and a historical failure frequency of the building equipment having the predicted failure, or any combination thereof (Honey ¶5 - Asset health scores and criticality scores can be determined and combined for assets to determine an operational risk score, which can be used to schedule and prioritize maintenance and/or corrective action orders. For example, a piece of equipment that is critical to an energy generation unit (based on criticality score) that is beginning to show signs of wear (based on asset health score) may have a greater operational risk score than another piece of equipment that is significantly less critical to the facility but is demonstrating a greater probability of failure, and as a result maintenance and repair of the more critical asset may be identified and prioritized over the other, less critical asset. The operational risk scores can be used to assess and capture the broader implications of and risks associated with equipment failure beyond just the equipment itself failing (i.e., assessing risk of energy generation unit going down or having to operate at reduced capacity based on specific piece of equipment failing).
Regarding claim 13, Honey in view of Shinde discloses generating a report including information of: a quantity of predicted failures; a type of predicted failures; identifiers of building equipment having a predicted failure; locations of building equipment having a predicted failure; a quantity of remediation actions including a quantity of completed remediation actions, a quantity of pending remediation actions, a quantity of on-going remediation actions, or any combination thereof; a type of remediation actions including type of completed remediation actions that have been completed, a type of pending remediation actions, a type of on-going remediation actions, or any combination thereof, and any combination thereof (Honey ¶59 - Referring to FIGS. 5A-5L…The GUIs, for example, can include various dashboards, datasheets, and reports for planning maintenance and project scope based on equipment condition and risk…The GUIs also provide the ability to create and track corrective actions/recommendations for the asset alongside the risk data to ensure mitigating plans are tracked, prioritized and implemented appropriately).
Regarding claim 14, Honey in view of Shinde discloses the aggregated building equipment failure probability corresponds to an aggregated building equipment failure probability of an occurrence of a building equipment failure at future time period (Honey Fig. 5A – Honey ¶73 - The plant heat map that represents Overall Risk {i.e. aggregate}, for example, can be based on calculated risk factors using the Asset Health Index (AHI) as described with respect to FIG. 8A – Honey ¶29 - The equipment health scores can indicate a risk (likelihood) that a particular piece of equipment will fail or be operationally impaired in the near future).
Regarding claim 16, Honey in view of Shinde discloses a method for building equipment failure prediction (Honey ABS - accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility that indicate a likelihood that the assets will fail or be operationally impaired).
Shinde further teaches the supervised machine-learning model comprises a deep neural network (DNN) (Shinde ¶130 - System 800 may also implement machine learning and/or deep learning practices in conjunction with transfer learning practices, for example applying weights and biases of a deep neural network model).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 18, Honey in view of Shinde discloses a method for building equipment failure prediction (Honey ABS - accessing asset health scores for assets in a facility that indicate a likelihood that the assets will fail or be operationally impaired).
Shinde further teaches querying a trained clustering model trained to determine a quantity, a type, or both of a quantity and a type of the plurality of supervised machine-learning models, wherein the trained clustering model is trained at least on a type of potential building equipment failures associated with the building equipment (Shinde ¶130 - System 800 may also implement hyper-parameter tuning of machine learning and/or deep learning models in order to identify and select well-performing models for deployment for connected chiller services, which may be similar to connected chiller service 734 of FIG. 7A. Also, system 800 may also be configured to continuously and/or adaptively re-evaluate and re-train well-performing models as well as poorly performing models, according to some embodiments. This re-evaluating and re-training may involve the implementation and analysis of cluster models, as well as the use of hyper-parameters for tuning purposes).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the asset management methodology/system of Honey by including the fault prediction techniques of Shinde because Shinde discloses “Predicting faults (events including chiller shutdowns, such as safety shutdowns) prior to occurring through analysis of chiller data can allow for preventative maintenance, thus optimizing the performance of chillers and preventing costly losses including unplanned maintenance costs and damage to expensive equipment (Shinde ¶38)”. Additionally, Honey further details that “This document generally describes devices, systems, and methods related to improvements to asset performance management (“APM”) systems, which can be used to manage physical assets (i.e., equipment and other components) within complex systems, such as electrical generation units (i.e., power plants), oil and gas facilities (i.e., oil refineries) (Honey ¶2)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional fault prediction techniques that Shinde discloses because it would optimize the system of Honey by reducing operating costs due to failures.
Regarding claim 19, Honey in view of Shinde discloses determining a building equipment hierarchy including information indicative of upstream and downstream building equipment included in the building equipment hierarchy (Honey ¶34 - As depicted in the example facility 154, each facility can include a hierarchy of equipment, such a facility containing multiple units (i.e., energy generation units, such as turbines), which can each contain multiple subsystems, which can each contain multiple components. Other hierarchies and relationships among equipment in a facility are also possible. Criticality relationships can also be represented within this hierarchy. For example, the criticality of each unit to the broader production by the facility can be assessed, the criticality of each subsystem to the unit can be determined, and the criticality of each component to the subsystem can be identified, as represented in the graph 156 showing criticalities 158a-d between equipment in the hierarchy); and determining the aggregated building equipment failure probability based on the building equipment hierarchy (Honey Fig. 5C – Honey ¶72 - Under a selected region, for example, the hierarchy control can present a list of plants that are associated with the selected region. Under a selected plant, for example, the hierarchy control can present a list of units that are associated with the selected plant. The Operational Risk dashboard can be updated to present corresponding asset risk data at a selected region, plant, or unit/system/subsystem/asset level, for example).
Regarding claim 20, Honey in view of Shinde discloses displaying, via a display, a recommendation of a remediation action for the building equipment failure (Honey Fig. 2B - Honey ¶37 - The asset criticality 236 for the equipment is high, which results in the operational risk 238 for the equipment being determined to be “high risk” (240), which carries with it a recommendation for action to be taken. The recommendation 242 is generated and a notification in the work scheduling and execution system 244 is provided for the work to be performed 246); initiating the recommended remediation action for the building equipment failure; and responsive to completion of the remediation action, providing feedback associated with a success of the remediation action (Honey ¶32 - The performance of the work orders can be recorded in one or more of the databases 110-122, and can be used as part of a feedback loop to assess the efficacy of the work orders in terms of equipment health and to remedy issues that led to events within the facilities 128) to the plurality of trained supervised machine-learning model (Honey ¶15 - FIG. 3A is a conceptual diagram of an example system for issue lifecycle management in a power generation environment, including a feedback loop for machine learning improvement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot in light of the new rejections addressed above.
As identified above, and in light of the amendments, the objection of claim 7 is withdrawn in addition to the 35 USC § 112 rejections of claim 9. Additionally, the 35 USC § 101 rejections are withdrawn because the inclusion of the limitation “initiating an automatic remediation of the building equipment failure by initiating a closed-loop control action…” demonstrates a controlling feature and overcomes the 101 rejection within the Step 2A (Prong 1) analysis.
Regarding the 35 USC § 103 rejections on the previous Office action, Applicant amended the independent claims to further limit the claims with respect to the automatic remediation performed by the system. In light of this amendment, Examiner agrees that the original references did not teach this, however the amendment necessitated further search and consideration. As a result of this further search and consideration, the previously cited prior art was found to teach these limitations (Shinde as discussed above) and is now cited. As such, Applicant’s arguments (with respect to the independent claims and their respective dependent claims) are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R KOESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624