CTNF 18/984,192 CTNF 71285 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Takayuki (JP 7046244) . As per claim 1 Takayuki discloses: A display device comprising: a display module 20 ; a first support plate 22 { [0018] As shown in FIGS. 4A to 4C, the display 16 has a structure in which, for example, a sheet-like member 22 is attached to the back surface of the display panel 20. } below the display module 20 , and comprising a first non-folding part RA and a folding part R1 along a first direction X {figures 2, 4A – 4C} ; a first flat plate 25A below the first non-folding part RA {figures 2, 4A – 4C} ; a first wing plate 31A below the folding part R1 , and adjacent to the first flat plate 25A in the first direction X {figures 4A – 4C} ; and a first sub-wing plate 27A between the folding part R1 and the first wing plate 31A {figures 4A – 4C} , wherein the first wing plate 31A has a width greater than that of the first sub-wing plate 27A in the first direction X {figures 4A – 4C} . As per claim 18 Takayuki discloses: A display device comprising: a display module 20 ; a first support plate 22 { [0018] As shown in FIGS. 4A to 4C, the display 16 has a structure in which, for example, a sheet-like member 22 is attached to the back surface of the display panel 20. } below the display module 20 , and comprising a first non-folding part RA , a folding part R1 , and a second non-folding part RB along a first direction X ; a first flat plate 25A below the first non-folding part RA {figures 4A – 4C} ; a second flat plate 25B below the second non-folding part RB {figures 4A – 4C} ; a first wing plate 31A below the folding part R1 , and adjacent to the first flat plate 25A {figures 4A – 4C} ; a second wing plate 31B below the folding part R1 , and adjacent to the second flat plate 25B {figures 4A – 4C} ; a first sub-wing plate 27A between the folding part R1 and the first wing plate 31A {figures 4A – 4C} ; and a second sub-wing plate 27B between the folding part R1 and the second wing plate 31B {figures 4A – 4C} , wherein, in the first direction X , the first wing plate 31A has a width greater than that of the first sub-wing plate 27A , and the second wing plate 31B has a width greater than that of the second sub-wing plate 27B {figures 4A – 4C} . As per claim 20 Takayuki discloses: A display device comprising: a display module 20 ; a first support plate 22 { [0018] As shown in FIGS. 4A to 4C, the display 16 has a structure in which, for example, a sheet-like member 22 is attached to the back surface of the display panel 20. } below the display module 20 , and comprising non-folding parts RA & RB along a first direction X , and a folding part R1 between the non-folding parts RA & RB {figure 2} ; a first wing plate 31A below the folding part R1 {figures 4A – 4C} ; a second wing plate 31B below the folding part R1 , and located together with the first wing plate 31A along the first direction X {figures 4A – 4C} ; a first sub-wing plate 27A between the folding part R1 and the first wing plate 31A {figures 4A – 4C} ; and a second sub-wing plate 27B between the folding part R1 and the second wing plate 31B , wherein each of the first and second wing plates 31A & 31B has a width greater than that of each of the first and second sub-wing plates 27A & 27B in the first direction X {figures 4A – 4C} . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-10, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayuki (JP 7046244) . As per claim 2 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 1, further comprising a first-1 adhesive layer between the folding part R1 and the first sub-wing plate 27A { [0018] As shown in FIGS. 4A to 4C, the display 16 has a structure in which, for example, a sheet-like member 22 is attached to the back surface of the display panel 20. } . As per claim 3 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 2, wherein the first-1 adhesive layer and the first sub-wing plate 27A have the same thickness as each other in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module 20 . As per claim 4 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 2, wherein the first-1 adhesive layer has a width less than that of the first sub-wing plate 27A in the first direction. Regarding claims 2-4 Takayuki is silent as to: an adhesive layer, which has the same thickness as the first sub-wing plate in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module or a width less than that of the first sub-wing plate in the first direction, between the folding part and the first sub-wing plate. With respect to claims 2-4: Takayuki discloses in [0036] adhesive. Also, in [0018] Takayuki discloses attaching support plate 22 to the surface of display module 20. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Takayuki with an adhesive layer, which has the same thickness as the first sub-wing plate in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module or a width less than that of the first sub-wing plate in the first direction, between the folding part and the first sub-wing plate by providing an adhesive layer to attach the support layer to the display module. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with an adhesive layer which has the same thickness as the first sub-wing plate in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module or a width less than that of the first sub-wing plate in the first direction, between the folding part and the first sub-wing plate, which is well within the purview of a skilled artisan and absent an unobvious result, so as to attach support layer to display module via an adhesive layer to effectively, economically and securely fast fasten the two layers together. As per claim 5 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 2, further comprising a second-1 adhesive layer between the first wing plate 31A and the first sub-wing plate 27A { [0040] As shown in FIGS. 4C to 6, the base end portion of the first hinge-side locking piece 31A is fixed to the back surface 27Ad of the first support plate 27A with, for example, two screws 34. As a result, the first hinge-side locking piece 31A is positioned with high accuracy in the Z direction. } . As per claim 6 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 5, wherein the second-1 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the first-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module 20 . As per claim 7 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 5, wherein the second-1 adhesive layer has a width less than that of the first-1 adhesive layer in the first direction, and is located adjacent to one side of the first wing plate 31A that does not face the first flat plate 25A . As per claim 8 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 5, wherein the second-1 adhesive laye r has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-wing plate 27A in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module 20 . Regarding claims 5-7 Takayuki is silent as to: a second-1 adhesive layer with a thickness greater than or a width less than a first-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module. Regarding claim 8 Takayuki is silent as to: second-1 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the first sub-wing plate in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module. With respect to claims 5-8: Takayuki discloses in [0036] adhesive. Also, in [0040] Takayuki discloses attaching first wing plate 31A and the first sub-wing plate 27A via screws. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Takayuki with a second-1 adhesive layer with a thickness greater than or width less than a first-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, between the first wing plate and the first sub-wing plate. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with a second-1 adhesive layer with a thickness greater than or a width less than a first-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, between the first wing plate and the first sub-wing plate, which is well within the purview of a skilled artisan and absent an unobvious result and seen to be art recognized equivalents, so as to attach the first wing plate and the first sub-wing plate via an adhesive layer to effectively, economically and securely fast fasten the two layers together. As per claim 9 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 5, further comprising: a second-1 support plate 30A between the first non - folding part RA and the first flat plate 25A ; and a third-1 adhesive layer between the second-1 support plate 30A and the first flat plate 25A . As per claim 10 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 9, wherein the third-1 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the second-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module 20 . Regarding claims 9-10 Takayuki is silent as to: a third-1 adhesive layer, having a thickness greater than that of the second-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, between the second-1 support plate and the first flat plate. With respect to claims 9-10: Takayuki discloses in [0036] adhesive and figure 4A, for example shows the second-1 support plate 30A and the first flat plate 25A attached. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Takayuki with a third-1 adhesive layer, having a thickness greater than that of the second-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, between the second-1 support plate and the first flat plate. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device a third-1 adhesive layer, having a thickness greater than that of the second-1 adhesive layer in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, between the second-1 support plate and the first flat plate, which is well within the purview of a skilled artisan and absent an unobvious result, so as to attach the second-1 support plate and the first flat plate via an adhesive layer to effectively, economically and securely fast fasten the two layers together. As per claim 14 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 12, further comprising: a first-2 adhesive layer between the folding part R1 and the second sub-wing plate 27B ; a second-2 adhesive layer between the second wing plate 31B and the second sub-wing plate 27B ; a second-2 support plate 25B between the second non-folding part RB and the second flat plate 30B ; and a third-2 adhesive layer between the second-2 support plate 25B and the second flat plate 30B {figures 4A-4C} . As per claim 15 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 14, wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, the first-2 adhesive layer and the second sub-wing plate 27B have the same thickness as each other, and the second-2 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the first-2 adhesive layer , and wherein the first-2 adhesive layer has a width less than that of the second sub-wing plate 27B in the first direction {figures 4A-4C} . As per claim 16 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 14, wherein the second-2 adhesive layer has a width less than that of the first-2 adhesive layer in the first direction, and wherein the second-2 adhesive layer is adjacent to one side of the second wing plate 31B that faces the first wing plate 31A . As per claim 17 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 14, wherein, in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display module, the second-2 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the second sub-wing plate 27B , and the third-2 adhesive layer has a thickness greater than that of the second-2 adhesive layer . As per claim 19 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 18, further comprising: a second-1 support plate 30A between the first non-folding part RB RA and the first flat plate 25A ; a second-2 support plate 25B between the second non-folding part RB and the second flat plate 25B ; a first-1 adhesive layer between the folding part R1 and the first sub-wing plate 27A ; and a first-2 adhesive layer between the folding part R1 and the second sub-wing plate 27B , wherein, in the first direction, the first and second sub-wing plate 27A & 27B are located between the second-1 support plate 30A and the second-2 support plate 25B . Regarding claims 14-17 and 19 Takayuki is silent as to: an adhesive layer, as well as the thickness and width, between any one of the combinations of the folding part; the second sub-wing plate; first wing plate, second wing plate; second-2 support plate; second non-folding part and/or second flat plate. With respect to claims 14-15 and 19: Takayuki discloses in [0036] adhesive. Also, in [0018] Takayuki discloses attaching support plate 22 to the surface of display module 20. Additionally, in [0040] Takayuki discloses attaching second wing plate 31B and the second sub-wing plate 27B via screws. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Takayuki with an adhesive layer, as well as the thickness and width, between the folding part; the second sub-wing plate; second wing plate; second-2 support plate; second non-folding part and second flat plate. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device an adhesive layer, as well as the thickness and width, between the folding part; the second sub-wing plate; first wing plate; second wing plate; second-2 support plate; second non-folding part and second flat plate, which is well within the purview of a skilled artisan and absent an unobvious result, so as to attach the parts and plates via an adhesive layer to effectively, economically and securely fast fasten layers together . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayuki (JP 7046244) in view of Shin et al (US 2023/0195170) . As per claim 11 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 1, wherein the first support plate 22 further comprises a second non-folding part RB along the first direction X together with the first non-folding part RA and the folding part R1 {figure 2} , wherein the folding part R1 is located between the first non-folding part RA and the second non-folding part RB , wherein the folding part R1 comprises: Regarding claim 11 Takayuki is silent as to: a curved portion having a plurality of openings defined therein; a first extension portion between the curved portion and the first non-folding part RA ; a second extension portion between the curved portion and the second non-folding part RB ; a first inverse curvature portion between the first extension portion and the first non-folding part RA ; and a second inverse curvature portion between the second extension portion and the second non-folding part RB , wherein, when the folding part R1 is folded, the curved portion is bent to have a curvature, and wherein the first and second inverse curvature portions are configured to be bent in a direction opposite to that of the curved portion. With respect to claim 11 Shin et al discloses: The display device of claim 1, wherein the first support plate PLT1 further comprises a second non-folding part NFA2 along the first direction X together with the first non-folding part NFA1 and the folding part, wherein the folding part is located between the first non-folding part NFA1 and the second non-folding part NFA2 , wherein the folding part comprises: a curved portion CSP having a plurality of openings OP defined therein; a first extension portion between the curved portion CSP and the first non-folding part NFA1 ; a second extension portion between the curved portion CSP and the second non-folding part NFA2 ; a first inverse curvature portion ICV1 between the first extension portion and the first non-folding part NFA1 ; and a second inverse curvature portion ICV2 between the second extension portion and the second non-folding part NFA2 , wherein, when the folding part is folded, the curved portion CSP is bent to have a curvature, and wherein the first and second inverse curvature portions ICV1 & ICV2 are configured to be bent in a direction opposite to that of the curved portion CSP { figure 11 & [0237] During the folding operation of the display device DD, the curved part CSP may be bent to have a predetermined radius of curvature R about the folding axis FX. The first inverse curvature part ICV1 may be curved opposite to the curved part CSP. The second inverse curvature part ICV2 may be curved opposite to the curved part CSP. The first inverse curvature part ICV1 and the second inverse curvature part ICV2 may be bent to be symmetrical to each other .} . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Takayuki with a curved portion having a plurality of openings defined therein; a first extension portion between the curved portion and the first non-folding part; a second extension portion between the curved portion and the second non-folding part; a first inverse curvature portion between the first extension portion and the first non-folding part; and a second inverse curvature portion between the second extension portion and the second non-folding part, wherein, when the folding part is folded, the curved portion is bent to have a curvature, and wherein the first and second inverse curvature portions are configured to be bent in a direction opposite to that of the curved portion as taught by Shin et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with a curved portion having a plurality of openings defined therein; a first extension portion between the curved portion and the first non-folding part; a second extension portion between the curved portion and the second non-folding part; a first inverse curvature portion between the first extension portion and the first non-folding part; and a second inverse curvature portion between the second extension portion and the second non-folding part, wherein, when the folding part is folded, the curved portion is bent to have a curvature, and wherein the first and second inverse curvature portions are configured to be bent in a direction opposite to that of the curved portion so that the foldable display can be bent in multiple directions. As per claim 12 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 11, further comprising: a second flat plate 25B below the second non-folding part RB ; a second wing plate 31B below the folding part R1 , adjacent to the second flat plate 25B in the first direction X , and located together with the first wing plate 31A along the first direction X ; and a second sub-wing plate 27B between the folding part R1 and the second wing plate 31B , wherein the second wing plate 31B has a width greater than that of the second sub-wing plate 27B in the first direction X {figures 4A – 4C} . As per claim 13 Takayuki discloses: The display device of claim 12, wherein, when the folding part R1 is unfolded, the first wing plate 31A and the first sub-wing plate 27A overlap with the first extension portion, and the second wing plate 31B and the second sub-wing plate 27B overlap with the second extension portion, and wherein the first and second wing plates 31A & 31B and the first and second sub wing-plates 27A & 27B do not overlap with the curved portion CSP {figure 4C} . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID D DAVIS whose telephone number is (571)272-7572. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ke Xiao can be reached at 571-272-7776. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 DDD Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 2 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 3 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 4 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 5 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 6 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 7 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 8 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 9 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/984,192 Page 10 Art Unit: 2627