DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Jun 8th, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 21 of REMARKS that “Jantunen and Tritschler fail to disclose wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the first microphone to form and sweep a first receiving beam for receiving a first sound signal and the second microphone to form and sweep a second receiving beam for receiving a second sound signal, wherein the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are independently formed toward the same direction or different directions, recognize a position of the external device based on at least one of (i) which of the first sound signal and the second sound signal is more accurately recognized when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in different directions, or (ii) a comparison between magnitudes of sound obtained based on the first sound signal and the second sound signal when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in the same direction, as recited in claim 1”.
In accordance with MPEP, “USPTO personnel to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure.
For instance case, the combination of Jantunen and Tritschler discloses the claimed feature in various embodiments. (See, e.g., Tritschler figs. 5a and 5b and col.6, lines 14-28 details functions of the beam pattern direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5, 8–16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jantunen (US 20140302773) in view of Tritschler (US 9820036).
As to claim 1, Jantunen discloses an electronic device (701 in fig. 7) comprising:
a display (707 in fig. 7);
a first microphone (711 in fig. 7; para. 101);
a wireless communication circuit (717 in fig. 7; para. 88, “wireless links may also be implemented”; also see para. 102);
memory (751 in fig. 7) storing one or more computer programs (para. 4); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the display (703 in fig. 7), and the memory (memory and processor in fig. 7 are communicatively coupled to each other in fig. 7 via the ASIC backplane),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (e.g., multiple processor 502, fig. 5), cause the electronic device to: detect activation of an extended display configuration function (para. 66; figs. 3a-f),
establish a wireless connection with an external device (i.e. 403a in fig. 4a) using the wireless communication circuit (fig. 4a; para. 74 “The device 401 detects the presence of the neighboring devices 403 via an ad-hoc network 405 and communicates with them via short broadcast messages.”),
transmit, via the wireless connection, a request for outputting sound (para 32 discloses transmission of messages that result in additional broadcasts; para. 42 details that the exchanged signals may be audio signals; para. 62 also details a master device submitting a request to slave devices to obtain video data including audio files) to the external device (para. 36 details ultrasonic audio signal outputting),
control the first microphone to receive a first sound signal (para. 36 details microphones to receive the ultrasonic audio),
detect the first sound signal using the first microphone (para. 36 details microphones to receive the ultrasonic audio),),
recognize a position of the external device, based on the first sound signal (para. 36 details use of emitted audio to determine proximity and orientation amongst the devices; para. 40 also details “audio-based proximity”; para. 56 also details additional details; para. 76 also includes relevant discussion),
produce a first screen to be displayed on the display and a second screen to be displayed on a display of the external device, based on the recognized position of the external device (fig. 4g; para. 80),
display the produced first screen on the display of the electronic device (screen displayed on 401 in fig. 4g), and
transmit the second screen to the external device using the wireless communication circuit (step 315 in fig. 3b details the transmission of respective portions of the media files to the devices in the subgroup; para. 68; para. 30; para. 31 discloses that the communication may be wireless).
Jantunen does not expressly disclose multiple microphones or the sweeping of the microphones to detect sounds.
However, Tritschler discloses, performing beamforming using a first microphone (242a in fig. 6a);
a second microphone (242n in fig. 6a) disposed to be spaced apart from the first microphone (fig. 3a discloses that the two microphones, 242, are spaced apart);
control the first microphone to form and sweep a first receiving beam for receiving a first sound signal and the second microphone to form and sweep a second receiving beam for receiving a second sound signal (fig. 4 details sweeping through receiving angles for the microphones; also see figs. 5a-b; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 1; col. 5, lines 25-29 detail unique weights applied to each microphone to achieve different receiving angles);
wherein the receiving beam is based on the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are independently formed toward the same direction or different directions, at least one of:(i) which of the first sound signal and the second sound signal is more accurately recognized when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in different directions, or (ii) a comparison between magnitudes of sound obtained based on the first sound signal and the second sound signal when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in the same direction (figs. 5A and 5B details beam pattern direction; also col.6, lines 14-28 details functions of the beam pattern direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the audio specific orientation and positioning taught by Jantunen with the beamforming structure and specifics taught by Tritschler, in order to improve human-computer interactions.
As to claim 12, Jantunen discloses a method performed by an electronic device (701 in fig. 7) for configuring an extended display of the electronic device, the method comprising:
detecting activation of an extended display configuration function (para. 66; figs. 3a-f),
establishing a wireless connection with an external device (i.e. 403a in fig. 4a; para. 74 “The device 401 detects the presence of the neighboring devices 403 via an ad-hoc network 405 and communicates with them via short broadcast messages.”),
transmitting, via the wireless connection, a request for outputting sound (para 32 discloses transmission of messages that result in additional broadcasts; para. 42 details that the exchanged signals may be audio signals; para. 62 also details a master device submitting a request to slave devices to obtain video data including audio files) to the external device (para. 36 details ultrasonic audio signal outputting),
control the first microphone to receive a first sound signal (para. 36 details microphones to receive the ultrasonic audio),
detecting the first sound signal using the first microphone (para. 36 details microphones to receive the ultrasonic audio),),
recognizing a position of the external device, based on the first sound signal (para. 36 details use of emitted audio to determine proximity and orientation amongst the devices; para. 40 also details “audio-based proximity”; para. 56 also details additional details; para. 76 also includes relevant discussion),
producing a first screen to be displayed on the display and a second screen to be displayed on a display of the external device, based on the recognized position of the external device (fig. 4g; para. 80),
displaying the produced first screen on the display of the electronic device (screen displayed on 401 in fig. 4g), and
transmitting the second screen to the external device using the wireless communication circuit (step 315 in fig. 3b details the transmission of respective portions of the media files to the devices in the subgroup; para. 68; para. 30; para. 31 discloses that the communication may be wireless).
Jantunen does not expressly disclose multiple microphones or the sweeping of the microphones to detect sounds.
However, Tritschler discloses, performing beamforming using a first microphone (242a in fig. 6a) and a second microphone (242n in fig. 6a); controlling the first microphone to form and sweep a first receiving beam for receiving a first sound signal and the second microphone to form and sweep a second receiving beam for receiving a second sound signal (fig. 4 details sweeping through receiving angles for the microphones; also see figs. 5a-b; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 1; col. 5, lines 25-29 detail unique weights applied to each microphone to achieve different receiving angles),
wherein the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are independently formed toward the same direction of different directions; at least one of:(i) which of the first sound signal and the second sound signal is more accurately recognized when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in different directions, or (ii) a comparison between magnitudes of sound obtained based on the first sound signal and the second sound signal when the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are formed in the same direction (figs. 5A and 5B details beam pattern direction; also col.6, lines 14-28 details functions of the beam pattern direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the audio specific orientation and positioning taught by Jantunen with the beamforming structure and specifics taught by Tritschler, in order to improve human-computer interactions.
As to claim 2, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the first microphone and the second microphone are configured to detect a predetermined sound (Jantunen discloses specific strength levels of emitted ultrasonic signals in para. 36; these strength levels would necessarily have had to be predetermined).
As to claim 3, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the first microphone and the second microphone are configured to detect a sound in an inaudible range (Jantunen discloses inaudible ultrasonic signals; para. 36).
As to claim 4, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to recognize the position of the external device, based on at least one of a time at which the first sound signal and the second sound signal are detected, or volume thereof (Jantunen; para. 36 details both time-of-flight as well as propagation difference detection).
As to claim 5, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to determine the position of the external device to be a left side or right side (Jantunen; figs. 4a-g; para. 55).
As to claim 8, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the first screen and the second screen are connected to each other (fig. 1; displays in UE101a-n are connected to each other wirelessly).”
As to claim 9, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose one or more compute programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: recognize the position of the external device (Jantunen; para. 36), based on a direction (130 in fig. 1) in which the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are disposed through sweeping (Tritschler; discloses, determining directionality of a source based on the sweeping direction detected magnitude; col. 5, lines 63-67).
As to claim 10, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to output a notification through the display in case that the position of the external device is not recognized for a predetermined time (Jantunen; para. 65 discusses display of a static or moving icon upon determination that one or more of the devices is no longer available.”
As to claim 11, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose the wireless communication circuit is configured to establish the wireless connection with the external device using Wi-Fi direct (para. 48).
As to claim 13, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the method of claim 12. The combination further disclose the detecting a predetermined sound comprises detecting a sound in an inaudible range (Jantunen discloses using inaudible ultrasonic signals in para. 36).
As to claim 14, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the method of claim 12. The combination further disclose the recognizing the position of the external device, based on at least one of a time at which the first sound signal and the second sound signal are detected, or volume thereof (Jantunen; para. 36 details both time-of-flight as well as propagation difference detection).
As to claim 15, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the method of claim 12. The combination further disclose the first microphone and the second microphone are configured to detect a predetermined sound (Jantunen discloses specific strength levels of emitted ultrasonic signals in para. 36; these strength levels would necessarily have had to be predetermined).
As to claim 16, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the method of claim 12. The combination further disclose determining the position of the external device to be a left side or right side (Jantunen; figs. 4a-g; para. 55).
As to claim 18, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the method of claim 12. The combination further disclose further comprising recognizing the position of the external device (Jantunen; para. 36), based on a direction (130 in fig. 1) in which the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam are disposed through sweeping (Tritschler; discloses, determining directionality of a source based on the sweeping direction detected magnitude; col. 5, lines 63-67).
As to claim 19, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further disclose positions of the first receiving beam and the second receiving beam sweep from left to right and from right to left at predetermined time intervals (Jantunen, fig. 4 details sweeping through receiving angles for the microphones; also see figs. 5a-b; col. 4, line 65 – col. 5, line 1; col. 5, lines 25-29 detail unique weights applied to each microphone to achieve different receiving angles).
Claims 6–7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jantunen and Tritschler further view of Wirasinghe, (US 20190174193).
As to claim 6, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen does not disclose the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: terminate an operation of detecting the sound using the first microphone and the second microphone in case that the recognition of the position of the external device is completed.
However, in the same endeavor, Jantunen discloses the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: terminate an operation of detecting the sound using the first microphone and the second microphone in case that the recognition of the position of the external device is completed (Figs. 2A and 2B and par. 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Jantunen and Tritschler to further include Wirasinghe’s turning display microphone on and off, in order to improve human-computer interactions.
As to claim 7, the combination of Jantunen, Tritschler and Wirasighe discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The combination further discloses the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: reactivate the first microphone and the second microphone (e.g., After the microphones of Jantunen/Tritschler are turned off, as taught by Wirasinghe, they are presumably turned on when needed to detect the position of the extended display); and detect a sound output from the external device in case that movement of the external device is identified after recognizing the position of the external device (Jantunen discloses, detection of change in device positioning and realigning the displays; para. 64).
As to claim 17, the combination of Tritschler and Jantunen does not disclose terminating an operation of detecting the sound using the first microphone and the second microphone in case that the recognition of the position of the external device is completed.
However, in the same endeavor, Wirasinghe discloses terminating an operation of detecting the sound using the first microphone and the second microphone in case that the recognition of the position of the external device is completed (Figs. 2A and 2B and par. 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Jantunen and Tritschler to further include Wirasinghe’s turning display microphone on and off, in order to improve human-computer interactions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu, US PGPUB 20150065113 discloses a portable electronic device includes a display unit, a first audio unit, a second audio unit, a first sensing unit, a second sensing unit, and a controlling unit. The first audio unit includes a first speaker and a first microphone. The second audio unit includes a second speaker and a second microphone. The first sensing unit senses an orientation of the portable electronic device. The second sensing unit senses whether a user is close to one of the first speaker and the second speaker. The controlling unit triggers one of the first audio unit and the second audio unit to output and input audio signals according to the orientation of the portable electronic device and turns off the display unit when the user is close to the one of the first speaker and the second speaker.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 7/21/2026