DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "not necessarily" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 11, the phrase "particularly" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the car" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaible (US 6,398,202)
In Re claim 1, Schaible disclose a motor vehicle (Abstract) with at least one suspension assembly (fig. 1) between a wheel and a vehicle body (20) comprising: an intermediate body (3) interposed between a second end (top, 6) of the suspension assembly (see fig. 2) and the vehicle body (20); a first elastic element (16) disposed between the second end of the suspension assembly and the intermediate body; and at least a second elastic element (12) disposed between the intermediate body and the vehicle body.
In Re claim 3, see elastic bushings (12, 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carabelli et al. (US 2008/0012262) in view of Elterman (US 2018/0370312).
In Re claim 1, Carabelli et al. disclose a motor vehicle (200) with at least one suspension assembly (fig. 2) between a wheel (2, 3) and a vehicle body (17) comprising: an intermediate body (14) interposed between the second end (top) of the suspension assembly (see 14a) and the vehicle body (17). Carabelli et al. fail to disclose elastic bodies between the suspension assembly, the intermediate body, and the vehicle body.
Elterman is related to the art of vehicle suspension assemblies (par. 0001), and teaches providing an elastic bushing (see elastomeric rings 30 in fig. 2) between relatively rotatable components (see 24 and 22 in fig. 2) to cushion any radial forces between the relatively rotatable components thus allowing free rotation and providing an improved operating life compared to other known bushing devices (par. 0005). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the relatively rotatable connections within the suspension of Carabelli et al. with elastic bushings, as taught by Elterman, to cushion any radial forces between the relatively rotatable components and provide an improved operating life compared to other known bushing devices.
In Re claim 3, see par. 0009 of Elterman.
In Re claim 4, with reference to figs. 1 and 2 of Carabelli et al., the elastic elements would be positioned parallel to the direction of vehicle travel.
In Re claims 5, 6, and 8, see shock absorbers (18); intermediate body (14); and pivotable connections (14a, 14b) of Carabelli et al..
In Re claim 7, see vehicle chassis (17); suspension forks (wishbone portions 10-13); and intermediate body (14) Carabelli et al..
In Re claim 9, see additional source of vibrations (see left and right-side suspension assemblies) of Carabelli et al..
In Re claim 10, the intermediate body (14) is a component of the vehicle (1).
In Re claim 11, see fig. 7 of Carabelli et al., which shows a front and rear suspension of the vehicle. The examiner notes that the intermediate member indirectly supports other vehicle components through it’s connection with the shock absorbers (18) of the suspension.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carabelli et al. (US 2008/0012262) in view of Elterman (US 2018/0370312) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Di Tanna et al. (US 2019/0232749).
In Re claim2, Carabelli et al. fail to specifically disclose a hub supporting the wheel.
Di Tanna et al. is related to the art of tilting vehicles (Abstract), and discloses that it was well known in the art to provide a suspension assembly (figs. 6+) with a wheel hub bracket (20L, 20R) connected with the shock absorber (24L, 24R) and supporting the wheel (12L, 12R). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the use of a wheel hub bracket in the suspension assembly of Carabelli et al., as taught by Di Tanna et al., simply to securely support and connect the wheel and bearing unit to the vehicle’s suspension system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616