DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“bottle distancing element” in claim 4.
“primary attachment arrangement” in claim 8.
“secondary attachment arrangement” in claim 8.
“bottle attachment element” in claim 16.
“bottle attachment arrangement” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanfranco et al. (US 20120222837), hereinafter referred to as Lanfranco, in view of Ficek et al. (EP 4166885), hereinafter referred to as Ficek.
Re claim 1 and 10, Lanfranco teaches a heat exchanger device comprising a heat exchanger (e.g. 1) with a bottle (e.g. 7a and 7b), and a protective grid (e.g. 10) including a front face (face shown in Fig 5) and a rear face (face shown in Fig 6), opposed to the front face, the protective grid being attached to the heat exchanger so that the rear face faces a side of the heat exchanger (see Fig 1), wherein the protective grid extends over the bottle see Fig 1 where it shows 14a or 14b extending over the bottle).
Lanfranco does not teach the limitation of the bottle having a curvature and wherein the protective grid follows a curvature of said bottle.
However, Ficek teaches the limitation of a heat exchanger comprising a curvature bottle (110) and a protective grid (see Fig 3) extending over the bottle and following a curvature of the bottle (see Fig 1, 3-4).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lanfranco and integrated the bottle having a curvature and wherein the protective grid follows a curvature of said bottle, as taught by Ficek, in order to reduce installation effort (see Ficek ¶ 3).
Re claim 2 and 11, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 1 and the heat exchanger device according to claim 10. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the protective grid includes a first portion extending along a flat plane (see section with 11). Ficek further teaches the limitation of wherein the protective grid includes a second portion extending along a curved plane, with the second portion enveloping the bottle (see Fig 1 and 4).
Re claim 3, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 2. Ficek further teaches the limitation of wherein the second portion is tubular (see Fig 1 and 4).
Re claim 4, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 2. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the second portion (14a or 14b) includes a bottle distancing element (see Fig 6 element above 14e) protruding from the rear face, intended to ensure a distance between the rear face and the bottle (the examiner notes that the element is fully capable of performing said function).
Re claim 5, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 2. Ficek further teaches the limitation of wherein the front face and the rear face at the second portion extend along the curved plane in the same manner (see Fig 1 and 4).
Re claim 6, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 2. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the second portion (14a or 14b) extends beyond the first portion in a direction perpendicular to a general plane of extension of the front face (see Fig 5-6).
Re claim 7, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the protective grid according to claim 2. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the first portion includes a primary section (section having 11) configured to cover tubes (5) of the heat exchanger. Ficek teaches wherein the first portion includes a primary section (302A) and a secondary section (302B) remote with respect to the primary section and configured to extend beyond the bottle, with the second portion being arranged between the primary section and the secondary section (see Fig 3-4).
Re claim 12, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger device according to claim 10. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the heat exchanger includes a plurality of tubes (5) extending between a first collecting tank (7b) and a second collecting tank (7a), wherein the bottle is arranged by the second collecting tank, wherein the protective grid extends over the second collecting tank (see Fig 1).
Re claim 13, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger device according to claim 12. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the protective grid extends over the first collecting tank (see Fig 1).
Re claim 14, Lanfranco, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger device according to claim 12. Lanfranco further teaches the limitation of wherein the first collecting tank includes a fluid block (the examiner notes that is implicit that the header is a fluid block in this configuration and is either an inlet or an outlet) configured as an inlet or outlet for a heat exchange fluid, wherein the protective grid extends over the fluid block (see Fig 1).
Re claim 15, see rejection for claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 06/22/2026