Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 16, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vong (US 2015/0341400) in view of Jiang et al (US 2021/0157478).
As per claim 1 Vong discloses: An electronic device, comprising:
a display 112 including a touch module 118;
a communication interface 110;
a camera 122;
a sensor included in a { [0032] The input mechanisms 114 generally represent different functionalities for receiving input to the client device 102. Examples of the input mechanisms 114 include gesture-sensitive sensors and devices (e.g., such as touch-based sensors and movement-tracking sensors (e.g., camera-based)), a mouse, a keyboard, a stylus, a touch pad, accelerometers, a microphone with accompanying voice recognition software, and so forth.}; and
one or more processors configured to:
execute a video call application 108;
control the communication interface 110 to transmit a captured image 214 obtained through the camera 122 to at least one external device 132 connected through the video call application 108; and
based on a touch input 114 being received through the touch module 118 of the display 112 or the touch input 114 being predicted based on at least one of a signal detected through the sensor or a signal received from an input device enabled to receive the touch input 114, control the communication interface 110 to transmit a screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 { [0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}.
wherein the sensor is included in a
based on identifying that an electronic pen 128 is detached from the captured image 214 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}; and
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is mounted onto the display 112 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112 { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
Regarding claim 1 Vong is silent as to: a pen holder. With respect to claim 1 Jiang et al depicts in figure 2 and discloses: a pen holder 202 {[0047] When the sensing component 908 detects that a stylus S is picked up or placed back in a pen slot 202, a generated signal is transmitted to the processor 902 by using the bus 910 . . . The determining module or routine is configured to determine whether the signal generated by the sensing component 908 is used to start the writing interface, and the startup module or routine is configured to start or not start to display the writing interface based on a determining result of the determining module or routine.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device and the method thereof with a pen holder as taught by Vong. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with a pen holder to store and automatically keep track of the pen, as well as, have the pen readily available for use.
As per claim 3 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a proximity sensor, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
based on identifying that a user 202 is positioned within a preset distance from the electronic device based on the signal obtained by the proximity sensor while the captured image 214 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}; and
based on identifying that the user 202 is not positioned within the preset distance based on the signal obtained by the proximity sensor while the screen image of the display 112 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112, and wherein the preset distance is identified based on a view angle of the camera 122 and a preset size of a space { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
As per claim 4 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input device enabled to receive the touch input 114 is an electronic pen 128 that is of an active type, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is being used based on the signal received from the electronic pen 128 while the captured image 214 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}; and
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is not being used for a preset time or more based on the signal received from the electronic pen 128 while the screen image of the display 112 is being transmitted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112 { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
As per claim 5 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
control the display 112 to display an application screen received from an external source {[0027] The applications 106 represents functionalities for performing different tasks via the client device 102. Examples of the applications 106 include a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a web browser, a gaming application, and so forth. The applications 106 may be installed locally on the client device 102 to be executed via a local runtime environment, and/or may represent portals to remote functionality, such as cloud-based services, web apps, and so forth. Thus, the applications 106 may take a variety of forms, such as locally-executed code, portals to remotely hosted services, and so forth.}; and
based on the touch input 114 to the display 112 being identified or predicted, control the display 112 to display 112 the application screen received from the external source device and control the communication interface 110 to transmit the application screen to the at least one external device 132 { [0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user 202 device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user 202 image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 202 208 at the user 202 device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}.
As per claim 6 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
control the display 112 to display 112 an application screen received from an external source device {[0027] The applications 106 represents functionalities for performing different tasks via the client device 102. Examples of the applications 106 include a word processing application, a spreadsheet application, a web browser, a gaming application, and so forth. The applications 106 may be installed locally on the client device 102 to be executed via a local runtime environment, and/or may represent portals to remote functionality, such as cloud-based services, web apps, and so forth. Thus, the applications 106 may take a variety of forms, such as locally-executed code, portals to remotely hosted services, and so forth.}; and
based on the touch input 114 to the display 112 being identified or predicted in a state that a note function is on, control the communication interface 110 to capture and transmit the screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 { [0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user 202 device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user 202 image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 202 208 at the user 202 device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}.
As per claim 7 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
based on the touch input 114 to the display 112 being identified or predicted, control the communication interface 110 to transmit an image including the captured image 214 in one area of the screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 { [0046] The communications GUI 204 further includes a sub-window 212 in which various images and/or information can be displayed. In this particular implementation, the sub-window 212 displays a user image 214 of the user 202 as captured by the camera 122. For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100. [0062] Notice that the user image 214 continues to be displayed in the sub-window 212, even after the shared interactive space 216 is invoked.}.
As per claim 8 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
control the communication interface 110 to adjust a size of the one area including the captured image 214 based on a frequency of the touch input 114 to the display 112 and transmit the image including the captured image 214 in the one area of which size is adjusted to the at least one external device 132 {[0046] The communications GUI 204 further includes a sub-window 212 in which various images and/or information can be displayed. In this particular implementation, the sub-window 212 displays a user image 214 of the user 202 as captured by the camera 122. For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}.
As per claim 9 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
based on a preset motion of a user 202 included in the captured image 214 being identified while the screen image of the display 112 is being transmitted to the at least one external device 132, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the captured image 214 {[0032] The input mechanisms 114 generally represent different functionalities for receiving input to the client device 102. Examples of the input mechanisms 114 include gesture-sensitive sensors and devices (e.g., such as touch-based sensors and movement-tracking sensors (e.g., camera-based)), a mouse, a keyboard, a stylus, a touch pad, accelerometers, a microphone with accompanying voice recognition software, and so forth. The input mechanisms 114 may be separate or integral with the display 110; integral examples include gesture-sensitive displays with integrated touch-sensitive or motion-sensitive sensors. The digitizer 118 represents functionality for converting various types of input to the display device 112 and the touch input devices 120 into digital data that can be used by the client device 102 in various ways, such as for generating digital ink.}.
As per claim 10 Vong discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device includes an electronic board 116, wherein the video call application 108 includes a video conference application; and wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
based on the video conference application being executed, control the communication interface 110 to turn on the camera 122 and transmit the captured image 214 to the at least one external device 132 {[0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.} and based on the camera 122 being not turned on, control the communication interface 110 to transmit the screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 {figure 1}.
As per claim 11 Vong discloses: A method of controlling an electronic device, comprising:
execute a video call application 108;
transmit a captured image 214 obtained through a camera 122 to at least one external device 132 connected through the video call application 108; and
based on a touch input 114 being received by a display 112 being identified or the touch input 114 being predicted based on at least one of a signal detected through a sensor included in a touch input 114, transmitting a screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 { [0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}.
wherein the sensor is included in a external device 132 includes:
based on identifying that an electronic pen 128 is detached from the captured image 214 is being transmitted, transmitting the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214{ [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}, and
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is mounted onto the display 112 is being transmitted, transmitting the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112 { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
Regarding claim 11 Vong is silent as to: a pen holder. With respect to claim 11 Jiang et al depicts in figure 2 and discloses: a pen holder 202 {[0047] When the sensing component 908 detects that a stylus S is picked up or placed back in a pen slot 202, a generated signal is transmitted to the processor 902 by using the bus 910 . . . The determining module or routine is configured to determine whether the signal generated by the sensing component 908 is used to start the writing interface, and the startup module or routine is configured to start or not start to display the writing interface based on a determining result of the determining module or routine.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device and the method thereof with a pen holder as taught by Vong. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with a pen holder to store and automatically keep track of the pen, as well as, have the pen readily available for use.
As per claim 13 Vong discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the sensor is a proximity sensor, wherein transmitting the screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 includes:
based on identifying that a user 202 is positioned within a preset distance from the electronic device based on the signal obtained by the proximity sensor while the captured image 214 is being transmitted, transmitting the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}; and
based on identifying that the user 202 is not positioned within the preset distance based on the signal obtained by the proximity sensor while the screen image of the display 112 is being transmitted, transmitting the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112, and wherein the preset distance is identified based on a view angle of the camera 122 and a preset size of a space { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
As per claim 14 Vong discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the input device enabled to receive the touch input 114 is an electronic pen 128 of an active type, wherein the transmitting the screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 includes: based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is being used based on the signal received from the electronic pen 128 while the captured image 214 is being transmitted, transmitting the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}; and
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is not being used for a preset time or more based on the signal received from the electronic pen 128 while the screen image of the display 112 is being transmitted, transmitting the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112 { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
As per claim 15 Vong discloses: A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer instructions that when executed by a processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to:
execute an video call application 108; transmit a captured image 214 obtained through a camera 122 to at least one external device 132 connected through the video call application 108; and
based on a touch input 114 being received by a display 112 or the touch input 114 being predicted based on at least one of a signal detected through a sensor included in a touch input 114, transmit a screen image of the display 112 to the at least one external device 132 { [0045] Generally, the communication session 210 represents an exchange of different communication media between the client device 102 and the user device 132, such as audio, video, files, media content, and/or combinations thereof. [0046] For instance, the user image 214 duplicates (e.g., in a reduced size) a visual representation of the user 202 as presented in a communications GUI viewed by the user 208 at the user device 132, discussed above with reference to the environment 100.}
wherein the sensor is included in a external device 132 includes:
based on identifying that an electronic pen 128 is detached from the captured image 214 is being transmitted, transmitting the screen image of the display 112 instead of the captured image 214 { [0047] In the lower portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 places the pen 128 in proximity to the surface of the display device 112. The pen 128, for instance, is placed within a particular distance of the display device 112 (e.g., less than 2 centimeters) but not in contact with the display device 112. This behavior is generally referred to herein as “hovering” the pen 128. In response to detecting hovering of the pen 128 and/or contact of the pen 128 with the display device 112, a shared interactive space 216 is presented in the communications GUI 204. The user image 206, for example, is replaced with the shared interactive space 216. Alternatively, and as detailed below, the user image 206 may be visually deemphasized in the communications GUI 204. Generally, the shared interactive space 216 represents a portion of the communications GUI 204 in which the users 202, 208 can interact, such as to share content. For instance, and as detailed further below, the users 202, 208 can apply ink to the shared interactive space 216. Further, ink applied to the shared interactive space 216 is viewable by both users 202, 208 simultaneously and/or concurrently.}, and
based on identifying that the electronic pen 128 is mounted onto the display 112 is being transmitted, transmitting the captured image 214 instead of the screen image of the display 112 { [0050] According to various implementations, if the user removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. For instance, returning to the upper portion of the scenario 200, the user 202 removes the pen 128 from proximity to the display device 112. In response to the pen 128 being removed from proximity to the display device 112, the shared interactive space 216 is removed from display or visually deemphasized. Further, the user image 220 is replaced with the user image 214.}.
Regarding claim 15 Vong is silent as to: a pen holder. With respect to claim 15 Jiang et al depicts in figure 2 and discloses: a pen holder 202 {[0047] When the sensing component 908 detects that a stylus S is picked up or placed back in a pen slot 202, a generated signal is transmitted to the processor 902 by using the bus 910 . . . The determining module or routine is configured to determine whether the signal generated by the sensing component 908 is used to start the writing interface, and the startup module or routine is configured to start or not start to display the writing interface based on a determining result of the determining module or routine.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device and the method thereof with a pen holder as taught by Vong. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with a pen holder to store and automatically keep track of the pen, as well as, have the pen readily available for use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts in the ultimate paragraph of page 1 the following:
The present claims are directed not to the presence of a holder and detection of pen use, but to the functional relationship between the pen, the pen holder, and the controlled output of transmitting the screen image instead of the captured image. Vong and Jiang do not address this distinct technical problem and neither reference offers a solution.
The primary reference, as mapped supra, discloses the claimed functional relationship including the pen and a sensor. However, as stated supra, Vong is silent as to a pen holder for the pen. Jiang discloses a pen holder with a sensor. As a result, it would have been obvious to provide a pen with a pen holder and sensor so as to perform the claimed functional relationship as stated supra in the obviousness rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 2011/0234746 to Saleh et al depict in figure 22 and disclose in [0129] the following:
Alternatively, one of the buttons 510 on the device 500 may be dedicated to indicate the annotation/whiteboard mode of operation in response to user movement/selection. Finally, the device 500 may have a stylus or other user tool 630. A sensor 634 can detect movement of the user tool 630 (i.e., removal or replacement of the tool 630 in a receptacle 632 relative to the sensor 634). With the detected movement in response to the indication from the sensor 634, the device 500 can switch to the annotation/whiteboard mode (or revert to a previous mode).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD