DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment with arguments and remarks filed on 04/14/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 9 and 12 are amended.
Applicant's amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Applicant's amendments overcome the previous U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the examiner misunderstood the claims as directed to physical direction of the camera/Radar: The Applicant argues that the present claims are directed to using “the direction of a respective second object in relation to the camera, not the physical direction of the camera nor the radar” and submits that the Examiner may have misunderstood the problem that the Inventors set out to solve.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection is not based on adjusting the physical direction of the camera or radar. Rather, the rejection is based on the combination of references teaching the use of camera-detected object direction information to correct radar directional angle measurements for objects. Specifically, Niesen (‘198) teaches at [0052] that the system “determines which 2D visual features detected by the feature detector 340 correspond to the predicted 3D positions” and performs matching between camera-detected features and radar-detected positions. The camera detection provides directional information about the detected object (a second object direction in relation to the camera), and this information is used in conjunction with radar data. The combination with Emadi (‘759) teaches using such corresponding information to correct radar angular measurements. The Examiner maintains that the references, in combination, teach using the direction of a detected object as indicated by the camera to estimate a corrected directional angle for the radar detection of the same object.
Regarding the argument that Emadi teaches finding correct physical position of radar, not correcting directional angle of detected object: The Applicant argues that Emadi discloses a method of calibrating the physical position of a radar mounted on a vehicle by tuning the angle between the radar and an IMU, and that this is a process of finding the correct physical position of the radar, not correcting a directional angle of an object detected by the radar.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Emadi does describe physical calibration of radar position, the underlying principle taught by Emadi is that radar angular measurements contain errors that can be corrected through calibration processes. Emadi teaches at [0003] that “the angle usually needs to be calibrated to provide accurate radar sensing and measurement.” Emadi further teaches at [0030] that by “tuning the angle 123 in +0.1 degree increments, the clutter locations observed from radar images may change” and that tuning continues “until a convergence of the clutter locations is observed.” This teaches the concept of correcting radar angular measurements to achieve more accurate detection results.
The rejection does not rely on Emadi alone teaching all claim limitations. Rather, the rejection is based on the combination of Niesen and Emadi. Niesen provides the framework for matching radar and camera detections of the same object and performing coordinate transformations between sensor frames. Emadi contributes the teaching that radar angular measurements benefit from correction/calibration to improve accuracy. A person of ordinary skill in the art, recognizing from Emadi that radar angular measurements require correction for accuracy, and recognizing from Niesen that camera data provides accurate directional information for matched objects, would have been motivated to use the camera-derived directional information to correct the radar directional angle measurements. This is not impermissible hindsight because both references independently recognize limitations in radar angular accuracy and the benefits of correction/calibration.
Regarding the argument that the accumulated data of emadi is different from the claimed accumulated data: The Applicant argues that the accumulated data of Emadi includes radar scans with target points forming trajectory patterns, which is different from the claimed accumulated data that “associates a first directional angle and a distance of each of a plurality of identified radar detections with a respective corrected first directional angle.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the specific data structures differ, Emadi teaches the principle of accumulating calibration-related data over time and using that accumulated data to improve subsequent radar measurements. Emadi teaches at [0050] that “the process 408 including steps 502-520 can be performed dynamically, periodically or on demand while a vehicle is moving.” This teaches continuous/repeated calibration using accumulated data. Emadi further teaches at [0036]-[0037] that accumulated scan data is used to determine when convergence is achieved and to establish calibrated parameters.
The claim requires accumulating data that associates directional angles and distances with corrected directional angles. When Niesen’s teaching of matching radar and camera detections (where each detection includes directional and distance information) is combined with Emadi’s teaching of accumulating calibration data over time, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accumulated associations between radar measurements and camera-corrected angles form a calibration dataset. The specific organization of accumulated data (associating angle and distance with corrected angle) represents an obvious implementation choice for one seeking to apply accumulated camera corrections to future radar detections based on their measured parameters.
Regarding the argument that combining Niesen with Emadi would not yield the claimed invention: The Applicant argues that if a skilled person hypothetically combined Niesen with Emadi, the result would at most be a solution where either the radar or camera is moved physically, which would not alleviate the systematic distance-dependent error in directional angles measured by the radar.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of references is not limited to physical adjustment of sensor positions. Niesen teaches a system that matches radar and camera detections of the same object and performs coordinate transformations between sensor reference frames. Niesen specifically teaches at [0052] that the system computes correspondences between camera-detected 2D visual features and radar-predicted 3D positions, where the camera provides directional information and the radar provides depth information. Emadi teaches that radar angular measurements benefit from correction to improve accuracy.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, starting from Niesen’s radar-camera fusion system, and motivated by Emadi’s teaching that radar angular measurements require calibration for accuracy, would recognize that the camera’s more accurate directional measurement of a matched object could be used to correct the radar’s directional angle for that object. This correction is computational and it does not require physically moving either sensor. The skilled artisan would understand that when the camera and radar both detect the same object, the camera’s directional measurement (being inherently more accurate in angle) can serve as a reference to compute a corrected directional angle for the radar detection. Furthermore, the claimed accumulation of correction data (associating radar angle/distance with corrected angle) would naturally follow as the system processes multiple matched detections over time. This accumulated lookup table or correction function would then enable rapid correction of future radar detections without requiring real-time camera matching for every detection which is an obvious efficiency improvement.
The Applicant’s characterization that the combination would only yield physical sensor movement ignores the computational correction capabilities already present in Niesen’s coordinate transformation framework. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Niesen demonstrates the ability to transform measurements between radar and camera reference frames, and applying the camera’s directional measurement as the “correct” value is a straightforward extension of this existing capability.
The rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising computer program code and does not specify that the computer readable medium is a non-transitory computer readable medium. The Specification [0027] indicates that the memory can be non-transitory medium, but it leaves it open ended and does not exclude signals. According to the MPEP 2106.03, section II, “For example, the BRI of machine readable media can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007). When the BRI encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter would be appropriate." Applicant can modify the claims to recite a "non-transitory computer readable medium" to overcome the rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 15, 17, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Particularly they are directed to mathematical concepts.
Analysis Under Alice/Mayo Framework
Step 1: Statutory Category
Claims 1-10, 14-20 are directed to a method (process). Claim 11-12 are directed to an apparatus (machine). Claim 13 is directed to a computer-readable storage medium (manufacture). Therefore, the claims fall within statutory categories under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Abstract Idea
The independent claims (1, 11, and 13) recite (relevant parts noted):
“estimating a corrected first directional angle for the identified radar detection by using the direction of the identified camera detection and the known positions and orientations of the radar and the camera”
“wherein the method is repeated over time to accumulate data which associates a first directional angle and a distance of each of a plurality of identified radar detections with a respective corrected first directional angle“
“wherein the accumulated data is used to associate a first directional angle and a distance of a further radar detection with a corrected first directional angle“
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mathematical concepts. Specifically:
Estimating a corrected directional angle using the direction from a camera detection and known positions/orientations is a mathematical calculation involving coordinate transformations and trigonometric relationships.
Accumulating data which associates directional angles and distances with corrected directional angles is the mathematical concept of building a lookup table or mathematical function that maps input parameters to output values.
Using accumulated data to associate a radar detection with a corrected directional angle is applying a mathematical relationship (interpolation, lookup, or function evaluation) to determine an output from inputs.
These are mathematical relationships and calculations that fall within the “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas identified in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52). The claims recite estimating and associating corrected angles but do not recite actually applying the correction to improve radar detection functionality.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Practical Application
The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the independent claims include:
Receiving radar detections of objects (data gathering)
Receiving camera detections of objects (data gathering)
Identifying a radar detection and camera detection of a same object by comparing detections (data comparison/gathering)
A radar and camera having overlapping fields of view with known positions and orientations (generic sensor arrangement)
Processing circuitry (claim 11) and computer-readable storage medium (claim 13) (generic computer components)
These additional elements amount to mere data gathering activities and recitation of generic sensor/computer components used to perform the abstract mathematical calculations. The data gathering steps are recited at a high level of generality and are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Importantly, the independent claims recite estimating a corrected directional angle but do not recite using the corrected directional angle to actually correct radar detections or improve radar functionality. The claims stop at the mathematical estimation and data association steps without integrating the results into a practical improvement to radar technology. The corrected angle is merely calculated and stored - it is not applied. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Significantly More
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional elements of receiving radar and camera detections, comparing detections to identify matched objects, and using generic processing circuitry or computer-readable media are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the radar-camera sensor fusion art. As evidenced by the prior art of record:
Niesen (‘198) teaches receiving radar and camera detections simultaneously [0033-0034]
Niesen (‘198) teaches identifying matched radar and camera detections of the same object [0051-0052]
These elements, taken individually and in combination, do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Claims Eligible Under 101
Claims 3, 14, 16, and 19 are NOT rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 3 recites: “wherein, when the method is repeated, the data accumulated so far is used to correct the first directional angle indicated by the one or more received radar detections prior to comparing the received radar detections to the received camera detections.” This limitation integrates the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites actually using the accumulated correction data to correct the radar directional angle measurements before they are used in subsequent processing. This transforms the mathematical estimation into a practical improvement to radar detection functionality—the radar detections are actually corrected, improving the accuracy of the radar-camera comparison. This is a meaningful limitation that applies the mathematical concept to improve the functioning of the radar-camera system.
Claim 14 (depending from claim 2) recites limitations similar to claim 3 and similarly integrates the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 16 and 19 depend from claim 3 and therefore incorporate the practical application limitation of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niesen (US 2019/0163198 A1) in view of Emadi et al. (US 2021/0199759 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 13, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches:
Niesen (‘198) teaches: A method for estimating a corrected directional angle measured by a radar by using input from a camera having an overlapping field of view with the radar, wherein the radar and the camera have known positions and orientations in relation to each other, comprising: ([0027]: “there may be a substantial overlap between a RADAR sensor(s) 140 field of view and the one or more cameras 110a, 110b field of view.”; [0035]: “there may be a one-time alignment step (e.g., a calibration step) where regions in the RADAR’s reference frame may be translated into regions on the image plane of at least one camera.”; [0051]: “the translation between IMU 210 3D position and 3D orientation and the camera(s) 212 (110a, 110b) may be computed.”).
Niesen (‘198) teaches: receiving radar detections of one or more first objects in a scene, wherein each radar detection is indicative of a first directional angle and a distance of a respective first object in relation to the radar, ([0033]: “The one or more RADAR sensor(s) 220 may produce a three-dimensional (3D) RADAR (reference) depth map and/or a 3D RADAR velocity map.”; [0052]: “The associator may also use the aligned 3D RADAR depth image to compute a depth of the 2D visual feature.”).
Niesen (‘198) teaches: receiving camera detections of one or more second objects in the scene, wherein the radar and camera detections are simultaneous, and wherein each camera detection is indicative of a direction of a respective second object in relation to the camera, ([0034]: “the vehicle 100 may include one or more camera(s) 212, and in the field of view of the one or more camera(s) capture visual scenes and output multiple video frames.”; [0049]: “The feature detector 314 may extract and detect different types of features associated with an object. For example, the following different types of features may be detected: (a) an edge… (b) a corner… (c) a blob… or, a ridge.”).
Niesen (‘198) teaches: identifying a radar detection and a camera detection which are detections of a same object in the scene by comparing the received radar detections to the received camera detections, and ([0052]: “The RADAR-based feature associator 344 determines which 2D visual features detected by the feature detector 340 correspond to the predicted 3D positions provided by the predictor 370. The correspondence between the predicted 3D positions of the visual features and the 2D visual detected features may be based on an association list between the detected vs. predicted visual features. Matching the 2D detected visual features to the 3D predicted positions in the association list may be based on either a similarity measure (i.e., how similar are the visual features (detected vs. predicted)), or, distance error between positions of the 2D detected visual features and 3D predicted positions, or, a combination of both.”).
Niesen (‘198) teaches coordinate transformation between radar and camera reference frames: estimating a corrected first directional angle for the identified radar detection by using the direction of the identified camera detection and the known positions and orientations of the radar and the camera, ([0035]: “the RADAR-based image aligner may be used to translate the RADAR reference depth map into depth information into at least one image plane of at least one camera.”; [0051]: “A translation between the 3D world reference frame and the 3D camera frame is aided by the IMU 210… the 3D position and 3D orientation of the camera(s) 212 (110a, 110b) may also be estimated in a 3D world reference frame.”).
Niesen (‘198) does not explicitly teach using the camera direction to estimate a corrected directional angle for the radar detection, but Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches correcting radar directional measurements ([0030]: “When the angle 123 between the radar 122 and the IMU 121 is calibrated, e.g., by tuning the angle 123 in ±0.1 degree increments, the clutter locations observed from radar images may change. The angle 123 may continue to be tuned until a convergence of the clutter locations is observed.”; [0002]: “the angle usually needs to be calibrated to provide accurate radar sensing and measurement.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the radar-camera association system of Niesen (‘198) with the radar angle correction teachings of Emadi et al. (‘759). One would have been motivated to do so because Emadi et al. (‘759) explicitly recognizes that radar angular measurements require calibration to provide accurate sensing ([0003]), and Niesen (‘198) already teaches that camera-based measurements can provide more accurate positional information than uncorrected radar alone ([0030]: “The large initial uncertainty signifies that the tracked visual features may initially not be very useful”). There is a reasonable expectation of success because Niesen (‘198) already teaches the necessary infrastructure for matching radar and camera detections of the same object and performing coordinate transformations between sensor reference frames, making the application of camera-derived angular corrections technically feasible.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein the method is repeated over time to accumulate data ([0060]: “tracking of device position, device orientation, device velocity, and the tracking of the visual features (and the positions of the visual features) may take place over a current image frame… The tracking… continues in the next image frame based on the updater 330 and predictor 370.”).
Niesen (‘198) does not explicitly teach accumulating data which associates a first directional angle and a distance of each of a plurality of identified radar detections with a respective corrected first directional angle, and wherein the accumulated data is used to associate a first directional angle and a distance of a further radar detection with a corrected first directional angle, but Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches accumulating calibration data over time and using it for subsequent corrections ([0029]: “When vehicle 110 is in motion, e.g., travels along the street, the radar unit 122 is configured to generate radar scans or images 131 of the surroundings at fixed intervals, e.g., 50-100 ms apart.”; [0036]: “When the clutter pattern 302c converges, e.g., to a straight line, a spot, etc., showing a minimum average distance among the target points which corresponds to the minimum variance of the global coordinates of the target points, the corresponding position of the radar unit 122 can be considered as the newly calibrated position.”; [0050]: “the process 408 including steps 502-520 can be performed dynamically, periodically or on demand while a vehicle is moving.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the radar-camera system of Niesen (‘198) with the accumulated calibration data approach of Emadi et al. (‘759). One would have been motivated to do so because Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches that accumulated data improves calibration accuracy by tracking convergence patterns over multiple scans ([0036]), which would provide increasingly accurate radar corrections without requiring constant recomputation. There is a reasonable expectation of success because both references operate in the same technical field of vehicle-based radar systems and Niesen (‘198) already teaches continuous tracking over multiple frames, making the addition of data accumulation a straightforward extension of existing functionality.
Regarding Claim 2, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 1.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein the first directional angle is an azimuth angle or an elevation angle defined in relation to the radar ([0026]: “Each local reference frame may be defined by a z-axis, y-axis and x-axis. The z-y plane is perpendicular to the ‘forward’ direction of travel of the vehicle, depicted by the x-axis.”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 1.
Niesen (‘198) does not explicitly teach: wherein, when the method is repeated, the data accumulated so far is used to correct the first directional angle indicated by the one or more received radar detections prior to comparing the received radar detections to the received camera detections, but Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches using accumulated calibration data to correct subsequent measurements ([0037]: “the calibration may continue to increment the angle for more convergence of the clutter pattern. In some embodiments, the incremented angle may vary depending a desired convergence.”; [0050]: “the process 408 including steps 502-520 can be performed dynamically, periodically or on demand while a vehicle is moving.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the accumulated correction data to radar detections prior to comparison with camera detections in the combined system of Niesen (‘198) and Emadi et al. (‘759). One would have been motivated to do so because Niesen (‘198) teaches that matching is based on “distance error between positions of the 2D detected visual features and 3D predicted positions” ([0052]), and applying accumulated corrections first would reduce this error, thereby improving the matching accuracy for subsequent detections. There is a reasonable expectation of success because this represents a logical ordering of processing steps within the existing system architecture, and applying known corrections before comparison is a standard signal processing technique.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 1.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein a radar detection and a camera detection are identified to be detections of a same object in the scene in case a deviation measure between the radar detection and the camera detection when represented in a common coordinate system is below a deviation threshold ([0052]: “Matching the 2D detected visual features to the 3D predicted positions in the association list may be based on either a similarity measure (i.e., how similar are the visual features (detected vs. predicted)), or, distance error between positions of the 2D detected visual features and 3D predicted positions, or, a combination of both a similarity measure and distance error between visual feature (detected vs. predicted) positions.”; [0035]: “the RADAR-based image aligner may be used to translate the RADAR reference depth map into depth information into at least one image plane of at least one camera.”; [0053]: “The positions of the 2D matched visual features may include outliers, i.e., values of positions (or similarity values from the similarity measure) which are inordinate to the other 2D matched features.”).
Regarding Claim 5 and 16, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 4.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein the deviation measure includes a measure of deviation in speed between a first object associated with the radar detection and a second object associated with the camera detection ([0029]: “Using the Doppler frequency shifts, the RADAR measurements by the RADAR sensor(s) 140 provide information about the relative movement of object targets in the RADAR sensor(s) 140 field of view.”; [0033]: “The one or more RADAR sensor(s) 220 may produce a three-dimensional (3D) RADAR (reference) depth map and/or a 3D RADAR velocity map.”; [0029]: “Deviations from the prediction from a VIO are therefore caused by moving objects.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include speed deviation in the matching criteria. One would have been motivated to do so because Niesen (‘198) teaches that velocity information helps distinguish between static and moving objects ([0029]), which would improve matching accuracy by providing an additional discriminating factor. There is a reasonable expectation of success because both radar and camera systems in Niesen (‘198) are capable of tracking object motion over time.
Regarding Claim 6 and 17, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 4.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein a radar detection is only identified if there is a unique camera detection having a deviation measure with respect to the radar detection which is below the deviation threshold ([0053]: “The positions of the 2D matched visual features may include outliers, i.e., values of positions (or similarity values from the similarity measure) which are inordinate to the other 2D matched features. The inordinate values (positions or similarity values) may be detected with an outlier detector 346.”; [0052]: “The RADAR-based feature associator 344 determines which 2D visual features detected by the feature detector 340 correspond to the predicted 3D positions.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to require unique matching between radar and camera detections. One would have been motivated to do so because ambiguous matches would introduce errors into the correction data, and Niesen (‘198) already teaches outlier detection to remove unreliable associations ([0053]). There is a reasonable expectation of success because the uniqueness requirement is a straightforward constraint that can be implemented using existing matching infrastructure.
Regarding Claims 7, 18, 19, and 20, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 1.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein estimating a corrected first directional angle for the identified radar detection includes: converting the direction of the identified camera detection into a direction which is described in relation to the radar by using the known positions and orientations of the radar and the camera, and calculating a corrected first directional angle from the direction which is described in relation to the radar ([0035]: “there may be a one-time alignment step (e.g., a calibration step) where regions in the RADAR’s reference frame may be translated into regions on the image plane of at least one camera.”; [0051]: “A translation between the 3D world reference frame and the 3D camera frame is aided by the IMU 210. The IMU 210 may estimate its 3D position and 3D orientation. As the camera(s) 212 (110a, 110b) may be coupled to the vehicle 100 (or drone) by a lever, and the IMU 210 is mounted to the vehicle 100, the translation between IMU 210 3D position and 3D orientation and the camera(s) 212 (110a, 110b) may be computed.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to convert camera direction to radar reference frame and calculate a corrected angle. One would have been motivated to do so because Niesen (‘198) already teaches coordinate transformations between sensor frames, and expressing both measurements in a common frame is a prerequisite for computing angular corrections. There is a reasonable expectation of success because coordinate transformation mathematics are well-established and Niesen (‘198) demonstrates the capability to perform such transformations.
Regarding Claim 8, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 7.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein when the radar and the camera are arranged at the same position the converting includes compensating the direction of the identified camera detection in view of the known orientations of the radar and the camera ([0027]: “there may be a substantial overlap between a RADAR sensor(s) 140 field of view and the one or more cameras 110a, 110b field of view.”; [0035]: “there may be a one-time alignment step (e.g., a calibration step) where regions in the RADAR’s reference frame may be translated into regions on the image plane of at least one camera.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when sensors are co-located, only orientation compensation would be required. One would have been motivated to simplify the transformation in this case because eliminating position translation reduces computational complexity while maintaining accuracy. There is a reasonable expectation of success because this represents a simplified case of the general coordinate transformation already taught by Niesen (‘198).
Regarding Claim 9, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 7.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein the converting includes: determining a point in the scene which is at the distance in relation to the radar indicated by the identified radar detection and in the direction in relation to the camera indicated by the identified camera detection, and calculating a direction of the determined point in relation to the radar ([0052]: “The associator may also use the aligned 3D RADAR depth image to compute a depth of the 2D visual feature, which can then be directly compared with the predicted 3D positions.”; [0035]: “the RADAR-based image aligner may be used to translate the RADAR reference depth map into depth information into at least one image plane of at least one camera.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a point using radar distance and camera direction, then calculate the direction from the radar’s perspective. One would have been motivated to do so because this approach leverages the complementary strengths of each sensor—radar’s accurate distance measurement and camera’s accurate angular measurement. There is a reasonable expectation of success because Niesen (‘198) already teaches combining radar depth with camera direction for feature association, and calculating the direction back to radar frame is a straightforward geometric operation.
Regarding Claim 10, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 1.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: wherein each radar detection is further indicative of a second directional angle of a respective first object in relation to the radar, wherein the first directional angle is an azimuth angle of the object in relation to the radar and the second directional angle is an elevation angle of the object in relation to the radar, ([0033]: “The one or more RADAR sensor(s) 220 may produce a three-dimensional (3D) RADAR (reference) depth map.”; [0026]: “Each local reference frame may be defined by a z-axis, y-axis and x-axis.”).
Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches: and wherein the method further comprises estimating a corrected second directional angle for the identified radar detection by using the direction of the identified camera detection and the known positions and orientations of the radar and the camera (see rejection of claim 1 above regarding estimating corrected directional angles).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to correct both azimuth and elevation angles using the same methodology. One would have been motivated to do so because both are directional angles subject to the same sources of error, and correcting only one would leave residual angular errors. There is a reasonable expectation of success because the camera provides full directional information in both dimensions, and the correction methodology applies equally to both angles.
Regarding Claim 11, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches:
Niesen (‘198) teaches: An apparatus for estimating a corrected directional angle measured by a radar by using input from a camera having an overlapping field of view with the radar, wherein the radar and the camera have known positions and orientations in relation to each other, the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to carry out a method comprising: ([0065]: “the device 601 includes one or more processor(s) 628 which may include: a central processing unit (CPU); or a digital processor (DSP); or a graphics processing unit (GPU), coupled to the memory 626.”; [0069]: “the one or more processor(s) 628 may include a RADAR-based image aligner 214, and a RADAR-aided visual inertial odometer 225 (as previously described) that are coupled to each other.”).
The method limitations recited in claim 11 are substantially identical to those of claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the apparatus according to claim 11.
Niesen (‘198) teaches: further coupled to: a system for estimating a corrected directional angle measured by a radar by using input from a camera, comprising: the radar configured to make detections of one or more first objects in a scene, wherein each detection made by the radar is indicative of a first directional angle and a distance of a respective first object in relation to the radar, and the camera configured to simultaneously with the radar make detections of one or more second objects in the scene, wherein each detection made by the camera is indicative of a direction of a respective second object in relation to the camera. the apparatus is arranged to receive the detections form the camera and the radar ([0066]: “the one or more controllers 620 may be coupled to various peripheral devices (e.g., IMU 602, RADAR sensor(s) 604, camera(s) 606, display device 608, and loudspeaker(s) 610).”; [0068]: “each of the IMU 602, RADAR sensor(s) 604, camera(s) 606… may be coupled to a component of the system-on-chip device, such as one or more controller(s) 620, or the memory 626.”; [0033]-[0034] as cited in claim 1 regarding radar and camera detections).
Regarding Claim 13, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches:
Niesen (‘198) teaches: A computer-readable storage medium comprising computer program code which, when executed by a device with processing capability, causes the device to carry out a method ([0074]: “A software module may reside in random access memory (RAM), flash memory, read-only memory (ROM), programmable read-only memory (PROM)… or any other form of non-transient storage medium known in the art.”; [0065]: “The memory 626 includes instructions 630 (e.g., executable instructions) such as computer-readable instructions or processor-readable instructions.”).
The method limitations recited in claim 13 are substantially identical to those of claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 2. The claim depends from claim 2 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 2. The claim depends from claim 2 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 3. The claim depends from claim 3 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 3 and 4.
Regarding Claim 17, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 5. The claim depends from claim 5 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 6 with the added limitation of speed in claim 5. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 5 and 6.
Regarding Claim 18, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 2. The claim depends from claim 2 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 2 and 7.
Regarding Claim 19, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 3. The claim depends from claim 3 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 3 and 7.
Regarding Claim 20, Niesen (‘198) in view of Emadi et al. (‘759) teaches the method according to claim 4. The claim depends from claim 4 and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 4 and 7.
Conclusion
/REMASH R GUYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648